tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/02/2016 : THROW DOWN BONES - Thrown Down Bones

THROW DOWN BONES

Thrown Down Bones

MusicCD
Post PunkPost Rock

[84/100]   

Fuzz Club
03/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The idea is incredibly simple, but Throw Down Bones was the first band that came up with the idea to combine icy post-punk (think Factory) with traditional post-rock. The result is amazing. Not that Frankie Frankie and Dave Cocks care about raving words. Their previous band Piatcions had everything to be a success, but when one of the members left the band, the dream collapsed like a house of cards. Thrown Down Bones is their answer, and what a reaction it is!

A more frightening start than Exposure is impossible.The drums are icy cold and the bass crawls under your skin. The song is instrumental post-rock with a post-punk vision! The bass plays a prominent role in Our Home, The Holy Mountain. If you can imagine how Mogwai would sound if Peter Hook was part of it, complemented by all kinds of strange electronic sounds, then you have an idea how this sounds.

A Promise To Action goes a bit further. The repetitive drums (think Joy Division or The Cure during the Pornography-days) gnaw a way through your soul. Chillingly beautiful, and even though you won’t be any happier, you realize that you've heard a masterly piece of music.

The repetitive character is continued in the majestic Inner Lights. Imagine that you are driving on a highway at a dizzying speed with one bright spot before your eyes: the rear light of your predecessor. Hypnotic, with thefeeling that you can crash into a ravine every second now

Emitters makes us think of Electric Sound Of Joy, if you still remember them.

Eight songs long you are sucked into a dream world that lies between pure beauty and a nightmare! Fantastic!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


NL

Het idee is ongelooflijk eenvoudig, maar toch was Throw Down Bones de allereerste band die op het idee kwam om ijskoude postpunk (denk aan Factory) met traditionele postrock te combineren. Het resultaat is dan ook verbazingwekkend. Niet dat Frankie Frankie en Dave Cocks nog wakker liggen van lovende woorden. Hun vorige band Piatcions had alles in huis om het te maken, maar toen één van de leden de band verliet, stortte de droom als een kaartenhuisje ineen. Thrown Down Bones is hun reactie, en wat voor een!

Meer angstaanjagend kan een plaat niet beginnen als met Exposure. De drums klinken ijzig koud en het basgeluid kruipt door je huid heen. Het nummer is instrumentaal, post-rock met een post-punkvisie! De bas speelt een voorname rol in Our Home, The Holy Mountain. Als je je kan inbeelden hoe Mogwai zou klinken mocht Peter Hook erbij zitten, aangevuld met allerlei vreemde elektronische geluiden, dan heb je meteen een idee van hoe deze track klinkt.

A Promise To Action gaat nog een stukje verder. De repetitieve drums (denk aan Joy Division of The Cure tijdens hun Pornography-dagen) knagen zich een weg door je ziel. Ijzingwekkend mooi, en ook al word je er geen seconde gelukkiger van, besef je toch dat je een magistraal stukje muziek hebt gehoord. Het repetitieve karakter wordt gecontinueerd in het magistrale Inner Lights. Beeld je in dat je op een autosnelweg rijdt tegen een duizelingwekkende snelheid met dat ene lichtpunt in je oog: het achterlicht van je voorganger. Hypnotiserend, met een gevoel alsof je iedere seconde de ravijn kan indonderen.

Emitters doet ons wat denken aan de gloriedagen van Electric Sound of Joy, mocht je ze je nog herinneren.

Acht nummers lang word je in een droomwereld gezogen die zich tussen pure schoonheid en nachtmerrie afspeelt! Fantastisch!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


 

Next reviews
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
NICK MERTENS (DJ) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope
EXEC • The Limber Real
THE SAINT PAUL • Days Without Rain
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
MINUIT MACHINE • Violent Rains
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
PROTOMARTYR • The Agent Intellect

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + POST ROCK
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE • Exploding Head Syndrome
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD • The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation
CHRONOGRAPHS • D.O.T.S.
HELLWINNERS • HELLWINNERS
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
12
44 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
12
ANNA CALVI
Ghost Rider
04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life