tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/02/2016 : THROW DOWN BONES - Thrown Down Bones

THROW DOWN BONES

Thrown Down Bones

MusicCD
Post PunkPost Rock

[84/100]   

Fuzz Club
03/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The idea is incredibly simple, but Throw Down Bones was the first band that came up with the idea to combine icy post-punk (think Factory) with traditional post-rock. The result is amazing. Not that Frankie Frankie and Dave Cocks care about raving words. Their previous band Piatcions had everything to be a success, but when one of the members left the band, the dream collapsed like a house of cards. Thrown Down Bones is their answer, and what a reaction it is!

A more frightening start than Exposure is impossible.The drums are icy cold and the bass crawls under your skin. The song is instrumental post-rock with a post-punk vision! The bass plays a prominent role in Our Home, The Holy Mountain. If you can imagine how Mogwai would sound if Peter Hook was part of it, complemented by all kinds of strange electronic sounds, then you have an idea how this sounds.

A Promise To Action goes a bit further. The repetitive drums (think Joy Division or The Cure during the Pornography-days) gnaw a way through your soul. Chillingly beautiful, and even though you won’t be any happier, you realize that you've heard a masterly piece of music.

The repetitive character is continued in the majestic Inner Lights. Imagine that you are driving on a highway at a dizzying speed with one bright spot before your eyes: the rear light of your predecessor. Hypnotic, with thefeeling that you can crash into a ravine every second now

Emitters makes us think of Electric Sound Of Joy, if you still remember them.

Eight songs long you are sucked into a dream world that lies between pure beauty and a nightmare! Fantastic!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


NL

Het idee is ongelooflijk eenvoudig, maar toch was Throw Down Bones de allereerste band die op het idee kwam om ijskoude postpunk (denk aan Factory) met traditionele postrock te combineren. Het resultaat is dan ook verbazingwekkend. Niet dat Frankie Frankie en Dave Cocks nog wakker liggen van lovende woorden. Hun vorige band Piatcions had alles in huis om het te maken, maar toen één van de leden de band verliet, stortte de droom als een kaartenhuisje ineen. Thrown Down Bones is hun reactie, en wat voor een!

Meer angstaanjagend kan een plaat niet beginnen als met Exposure. De drums klinken ijzig koud en het basgeluid kruipt door je huid heen. Het nummer is instrumentaal, post-rock met een post-punkvisie! De bas speelt een voorname rol in Our Home, The Holy Mountain. Als je je kan inbeelden hoe Mogwai zou klinken mocht Peter Hook erbij zitten, aangevuld met allerlei vreemde elektronische geluiden, dan heb je meteen een idee van hoe deze track klinkt.

A Promise To Action gaat nog een stukje verder. De repetitieve drums (denk aan Joy Division of The Cure tijdens hun Pornography-dagen) knagen zich een weg door je ziel. Ijzingwekkend mooi, en ook al word je er geen seconde gelukkiger van, besef je toch dat je een magistraal stukje muziek hebt gehoord. Het repetitieve karakter wordt gecontinueerd in het magistrale Inner Lights. Beeld je in dat je op een autosnelweg rijdt tegen een duizelingwekkende snelheid met dat ene lichtpunt in je oog: het achterlicht van je voorganger. Hypnotiserend, met een gevoel alsof je iedere seconde de ravijn kan indonderen.

Emitters doet ons wat denken aan de gloriedagen van Electric Sound of Joy, mocht je ze je nog herinneren.

Acht nummers lang word je in een droomwereld gezogen die zich tussen pure schoonheid en nachtmerrie afspeelt! Fantastisch!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


 

Next reviews
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
NICK MERTENS (DJ) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope
EXEC • The Limber Real
THE SAINT PAUL • Days Without Rain
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
MINUIT MACHINE • Violent Rains
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
PROTOMARTYR • The Agent Intellect

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + POST ROCK
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE • Exploding Head Syndrome
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD • The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation
CHRONOGRAPHS • D.O.T.S.
HELLWINNERS • HELLWINNERS
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes