tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/02/2016 : THROW DOWN BONES - Thrown Down Bones

THROW DOWN BONES

Thrown Down Bones

MusicCD
Post PunkPost Rock

[84/100]   

Fuzz Club
03/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The idea is incredibly simple, but Throw Down Bones was the first band that came up with the idea to combine icy post-punk (think Factory) with traditional post-rock. The result is amazing. Not that Frankie Frankie and Dave Cocks care about raving words. Their previous band Piatcions had everything to be a success, but when one of the members left the band, the dream collapsed like a house of cards. Thrown Down Bones is their answer, and what a reaction it is!

A more frightening start than Exposure is impossible.The drums are icy cold and the bass crawls under your skin. The song is instrumental post-rock with a post-punk vision! The bass plays a prominent role in Our Home, The Holy Mountain. If you can imagine how Mogwai would sound if Peter Hook was part of it, complemented by all kinds of strange electronic sounds, then you have an idea how this sounds.

A Promise To Action goes a bit further. The repetitive drums (think Joy Division or The Cure during the Pornography-days) gnaw a way through your soul. Chillingly beautiful, and even though you won’t be any happier, you realize that you've heard a masterly piece of music.

The repetitive character is continued in the majestic Inner Lights. Imagine that you are driving on a highway at a dizzying speed with one bright spot before your eyes: the rear light of your predecessor. Hypnotic, with thefeeling that you can crash into a ravine every second now

Emitters makes us think of Electric Sound Of Joy, if you still remember them.

Eight songs long you are sucked into a dream world that lies between pure beauty and a nightmare! Fantastic!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


NL

Het idee is ongelooflijk eenvoudig, maar toch was Throw Down Bones de allereerste band die op het idee kwam om ijskoude postpunk (denk aan Factory) met traditionele postrock te combineren. Het resultaat is dan ook verbazingwekkend. Niet dat Frankie Frankie en Dave Cocks nog wakker liggen van lovende woorden. Hun vorige band Piatcions had alles in huis om het te maken, maar toen één van de leden de band verliet, stortte de droom als een kaartenhuisje ineen. Thrown Down Bones is hun reactie, en wat voor een!

Meer angstaanjagend kan een plaat niet beginnen als met Exposure. De drums klinken ijzig koud en het basgeluid kruipt door je huid heen. Het nummer is instrumentaal, post-rock met een post-punkvisie! De bas speelt een voorname rol in Our Home, The Holy Mountain. Als je je kan inbeelden hoe Mogwai zou klinken mocht Peter Hook erbij zitten, aangevuld met allerlei vreemde elektronische geluiden, dan heb je meteen een idee van hoe deze track klinkt.

A Promise To Action gaat nog een stukje verder. De repetitieve drums (denk aan Joy Division of The Cure tijdens hun Pornography-dagen) knagen zich een weg door je ziel. Ijzingwekkend mooi, en ook al word je er geen seconde gelukkiger van, besef je toch dat je een magistraal stukje muziek hebt gehoord. Het repetitieve karakter wordt gecontinueerd in het magistrale Inner Lights. Beeld je in dat je op een autosnelweg rijdt tegen een duizelingwekkende snelheid met dat ene lichtpunt in je oog: het achterlicht van je voorganger. Hypnotiserend, met een gevoel alsof je iedere seconde de ravijn kan indonderen.

Emitters doet ons wat denken aan de gloriedagen van Electric Sound of Joy, mocht je ze je nog herinneren.

Acht nummers lang word je in een droomwereld gezogen die zich tussen pure schoonheid en nachtmerrie afspeelt! Fantastisch!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


 

Next reviews
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
NICK MERTENS (DJ) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope
EXEC • The Limber Real
THE SAINT PAUL • Days Without Rain
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
MINUIT MACHINE • Violent Rains
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
PROTOMARTYR • The Agent Intellect

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + POST ROCK
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE • Exploding Head Syndrome
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD • The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation
CHRONOGRAPHS • D.O.T.S.
HELLWINNERS • HELLWINNERS
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)