tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/02/2016 : THROW DOWN BONES - Thrown Down Bones

THROW DOWN BONES

Thrown Down Bones

MusicCD
Post PunkPost Rock

[84/100]   

Fuzz Club
03/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The idea is incredibly simple, but Throw Down Bones was the first band that came up with the idea to combine icy post-punk (think Factory) with traditional post-rock. The result is amazing. Not that Frankie Frankie and Dave Cocks care about raving words. Their previous band Piatcions had everything to be a success, but when one of the members left the band, the dream collapsed like a house of cards. Thrown Down Bones is their answer, and what a reaction it is!

A more frightening start than Exposure is impossible.The drums are icy cold and the bass crawls under your skin. The song is instrumental post-rock with a post-punk vision! The bass plays a prominent role in Our Home, The Holy Mountain. If you can imagine how Mogwai would sound if Peter Hook was part of it, complemented by all kinds of strange electronic sounds, then you have an idea how this sounds.

A Promise To Action goes a bit further. The repetitive drums (think Joy Division or The Cure during the Pornography-days) gnaw a way through your soul. Chillingly beautiful, and even though you won’t be any happier, you realize that you've heard a masterly piece of music.

The repetitive character is continued in the majestic Inner Lights. Imagine that you are driving on a highway at a dizzying speed with one bright spot before your eyes: the rear light of your predecessor. Hypnotic, with thefeeling that you can crash into a ravine every second now

Emitters makes us think of Electric Sound Of Joy, if you still remember them.

Eight songs long you are sucked into a dream world that lies between pure beauty and a nightmare! Fantastic!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


NL

Het idee is ongelooflijk eenvoudig, maar toch was Throw Down Bones de allereerste band die op het idee kwam om ijskoude postpunk (denk aan Factory) met traditionele postrock te combineren. Het resultaat is dan ook verbazingwekkend. Niet dat Frankie Frankie en Dave Cocks nog wakker liggen van lovende woorden. Hun vorige band Piatcions had alles in huis om het te maken, maar toen één van de leden de band verliet, stortte de droom als een kaartenhuisje ineen. Thrown Down Bones is hun reactie, en wat voor een!

Meer angstaanjagend kan een plaat niet beginnen als met Exposure. De drums klinken ijzig koud en het basgeluid kruipt door je huid heen. Het nummer is instrumentaal, post-rock met een post-punkvisie! De bas speelt een voorname rol in Our Home, The Holy Mountain. Als je je kan inbeelden hoe Mogwai zou klinken mocht Peter Hook erbij zitten, aangevuld met allerlei vreemde elektronische geluiden, dan heb je meteen een idee van hoe deze track klinkt.

A Promise To Action gaat nog een stukje verder. De repetitieve drums (denk aan Joy Division of The Cure tijdens hun Pornography-dagen) knagen zich een weg door je ziel. Ijzingwekkend mooi, en ook al word je er geen seconde gelukkiger van, besef je toch dat je een magistraal stukje muziek hebt gehoord. Het repetitieve karakter wordt gecontinueerd in het magistrale Inner Lights. Beeld je in dat je op een autosnelweg rijdt tegen een duizelingwekkende snelheid met dat ene lichtpunt in je oog: het achterlicht van je voorganger. Hypnotiserend, met een gevoel alsof je iedere seconde de ravijn kan indonderen.

Emitters doet ons wat denken aan de gloriedagen van Electric Sound of Joy, mocht je ze je nog herinneren.

Acht nummers lang word je in een droomwereld gezogen die zich tussen pure schoonheid en nachtmerrie afspeelt! Fantastisch!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


 

Next reviews
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
NICK MERTENS (DJ) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope
EXEC • The Limber Real
THE SAINT PAUL • Days Without Rain
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
MINUIT MACHINE • Violent Rains
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
PROTOMARTYR • The Agent Intellect

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + POST ROCK
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE • Exploding Head Syndrome
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD • The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation
CHRONOGRAPHS • D.O.T.S.
HELLWINNERS • HELLWINNERS
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

Music reviews

16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains