tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/02/2016 : THROW DOWN BONES - Thrown Down Bones

THROW DOWN BONES

Thrown Down Bones

MusicCD
Post PunkPost Rock

[84/100]   

Fuzz Club
03/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

The idea is incredibly simple, but Throw Down Bones was the first band that came up with the idea to combine icy post-punk (think Factory) with traditional post-rock. The result is amazing. Not that Frankie Frankie and Dave Cocks care about raving words. Their previous band Piatcions had everything to be a success, but when one of the members left the band, the dream collapsed like a house of cards. Thrown Down Bones is their answer, and what a reaction it is!

A more frightening start than Exposure is impossible.The drums are icy cold and the bass crawls under your skin. The song is instrumental post-rock with a post-punk vision! The bass plays a prominent role in Our Home, The Holy Mountain. If you can imagine how Mogwai would sound if Peter Hook was part of it, complemented by all kinds of strange electronic sounds, then you have an idea how this sounds.

A Promise To Action goes a bit further. The repetitive drums (think Joy Division or The Cure during the Pornography-days) gnaw a way through your soul. Chillingly beautiful, and even though you won’t be any happier, you realize that you've heard a masterly piece of music.

The repetitive character is continued in the majestic Inner Lights. Imagine that you are driving on a highway at a dizzying speed with one bright spot before your eyes: the rear light of your predecessor. Hypnotic, with thefeeling that you can crash into a ravine every second now

Emitters makes us think of Electric Sound Of Joy, if you still remember them.

Eight songs long you are sucked into a dream world that lies between pure beauty and a nightmare! Fantastic!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


NL

Het idee is ongelooflijk eenvoudig, maar toch was Throw Down Bones de allereerste band die op het idee kwam om ijskoude postpunk (denk aan Factory) met traditionele postrock te combineren. Het resultaat is dan ook verbazingwekkend. Niet dat Frankie Frankie en Dave Cocks nog wakker liggen van lovende woorden. Hun vorige band Piatcions had alles in huis om het te maken, maar toen één van de leden de band verliet, stortte de droom als een kaartenhuisje ineen. Thrown Down Bones is hun reactie, en wat voor een!

Meer angstaanjagend kan een plaat niet beginnen als met Exposure. De drums klinken ijzig koud en het basgeluid kruipt door je huid heen. Het nummer is instrumentaal, post-rock met een post-punkvisie! De bas speelt een voorname rol in Our Home, The Holy Mountain. Als je je kan inbeelden hoe Mogwai zou klinken mocht Peter Hook erbij zitten, aangevuld met allerlei vreemde elektronische geluiden, dan heb je meteen een idee van hoe deze track klinkt.

A Promise To Action gaat nog een stukje verder. De repetitieve drums (denk aan Joy Division of The Cure tijdens hun Pornography-dagen) knagen zich een weg door je ziel. Ijzingwekkend mooi, en ook al word je er geen seconde gelukkiger van, besef je toch dat je een magistraal stukje muziek hebt gehoord. Het repetitieve karakter wordt gecontinueerd in het magistrale Inner Lights. Beeld je in dat je op een autosnelweg rijdt tegen een duizelingwekkende snelheid met dat ene lichtpunt in je oog: het achterlicht van je voorganger. Hypnotiserend, met een gevoel alsof je iedere seconde de ravijn kan indonderen.

Emitters doet ons wat denken aan de gloriedagen van Electric Sound of Joy, mocht je ze je nog herinneren.

Acht nummers lang word je in een droomwereld gezogen die zich tussen pure schoonheid en nachtmerrie afspeelt! Fantastisch!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


 

Next reviews
VEIL OF LIGHT • Talisman (EP)
THE HUMAN VOICE • Silent Heart
NICK MERTENS (DJ) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BRAVE TIMBERS • Hope
EXEC • The Limber Real
THE SAINT PAUL • Days Without Rain
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
MINUIT MACHINE • Violent Rains
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
PROTOMARTYR • The Agent Intellect

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + POST ROCK
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
RADICAL BOYS/PJARO • Business, Commerce and the Internet
THE STRZEBONSKY NOIZESCENE • Exploding Head Syndrome
THE BLACK HEART REBELLION • People, If You See The Smoke Do Not Think It Is Fields They're Burning.
THE TWILIGHT SAD • Nobody Wants To be Here, and Nobody Wants to Leave
BABY FIRE • The Red Robe
THE ALTERNATIVE WITH CHRIS ATWOOD • The Alternative With Chris Atwood Compilation
CHRONOGRAPHS • D.O.T.S.
HELLWINNERS • HELLWINNERS
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers

 

Same genre: POST ROCK
MOGWAI • Every Country's Sun
ALESKA • Aleska
WINTER DUST • Thresholds
CHOK TOW NATION • (S/T)
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
COLLAPSE.REBUILD • Fallen Again, Fallen Better
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
07
MINUIT MACHINE
BATTLES
20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside