tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

02/02/2016 : BRAVE TIMBERS - Hope

BRAVE TIMBERS

Hope

MusicCD
AcousticAmbientClassicalMinimal

[86/100]   

Gizeh Records
02/02/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

In 2010, For Every Day You Lost was released: the debut album of Brave Timbers, a project from Newcastle. The album was very well received and sold out quickly because of the limited edition. Five years later the versatile musicians Sarah Kemp and Andrew Scrogham return with their second album Hope.

Brave Timbers can be best described as atmospheric ambient with some post classic. Ethereal violins, complemented with an acoustic guitar and a piano. The music evokes a quiet atmosphere with eleven compositions, based on the feelings and sensations you feel when you’re exposed to nature.

The structures are calm and simple, it’s perfect for keeping the hectic chaotic daily life of modern man in balance. Ideal if you want to take a seat after another busy day, close your eyes and let all the stress flow away and dream away on the immersive sounds of these soundscapes.

On this second album, Brave Timbers hits the right chord again and turns this hectic world into a haven. The music feels like fresh air in a world, dominated by speed and power. The album was recorded in a Victorian music hall in Salford.

Ruben SAEY
02/02/2016


NL

In 2010 mochten we kennis maken met For Every Day You Lost : het debuutalbum van het uit Newcastle afkomstige project Brave Timbers. Het album werd heel goed ontvangen en mede door de beperkte oplage raakte het vlug uitverkocht. Vijf jaar later komen de veelzijdige muzikanten Sarah Kemp en Andrew Scrogham met hun tweede Brave Timbers album Hope naar buiten. 

Brave Timbers kan je best omschrijven als sfeerrijke ambient die naar postclassic neigt. Zweverige violen die worden begeleid door een getokkelde akoestische gitaar en een ondersteunende piano die een heel aangename en rustige sfeer creëren. Hope bevat elf composities die gebaseerd zijn op de gevoelens en gewaarwordingen die de uitgestrekte en ongerepte natuur oproepen.

Het brengt met zijn kalme eenvoudige structuren het jachtige chaotische dagelijkse leven van de hedendaagse mens weer in balans. Ideaal om na een drukke werkdag even onderuit te zakken in de zetel, de ogen te sluiten en alle stress te laten wegvloeien op de meeslepende klanken van deze soundscapes.

Brave Timbers weet dus ook met dit tweede album de juiste snaar te raken om deze hectische wereld even on hold te zetten. Een verademing in een wereld die wordt gedomineerd door snelheid en power. Het album is opgenomen in een Victoriaanse concertzaal in het Britse Salford.

Ruben SAEY
02/02/2016


 

Next reviews
EXEC • The Limber Real
THE SAINT PAUL • Days Without Rain
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
MINUIT MACHINE • Violent Rains
SUNFLOWER BEAN • Human Ceremony
PROTOMARTYR • The Agent Intellect
METROLAND • Things Will Never Sound The Same Again
ZA! • Loloismo
TOUCHING THE VOID • Love, Longing and Loss
LIZARD SMILE, 1919 • Eernegem, B52 (29/01/16)

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
ARMS & HEARTS • Set in Stone
EMMA SOLEIL • Time Falls

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BRIAN ENO • The Ship
BE • One
SCATTER FACTORY • Scatter Factory

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)
ANTONYMES • (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly
FOLIAS ANTIGUAS & CRIOLLAS (FROM THE OLD TO THE NEW WORLD) • Hesperion XXI & Tembembe Ensamble Continuo o.l.v. Jordi Savall (Antwerpen, deSingel, 20/4/2016)
MEILYR JONES • 2013
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
WIM MERTENS • Diest, Live @ CC Diest (16/02/2016)

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
BLACK SPIDER CLAN • Metamorphosis
NIGHT RIDERS • Meta
TRANQUIL EYES • Fact & Fiction
HANTE • No Hard Feelings
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
GRANDCHAOS • Memories

Music reviews

17
07
THE ART OF NOISE
In Visible Silence
15
07
KRAFTWERK
3-D Catalogue
13
07
DER PLAN
Unkapitulierbar
11
07
PENGUIN CAFE
The Imperfect Sea
09
07
PIG
Prey & Obey (EP)
05
07
SPECTRA PARIS
Retromachine Betty

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
07
INFEST 2017 LINE-UP COMPLETE with DIE KRUPPS & They Called him Zone!
20
07
BLACK LINE, the new (EBM) all - star band featuring Nitzer Ebb's Douglas McCarthy & Bon Harris!
19
07
Industrial Goth/Rock band PORN is back with their third album : The Ogre inside
18
07
New single from Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin’ online!
18
07
Tuxedomoon's bassist and co-composer, Peter Principle Dachert, died at the age of 63
17
07
Hot town - amphi in the city - part 3 final (PARTY / VARIOUS)

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
ELENA ALICE FOSSI (KIRLIAN CAMERA / SPECTRA*PARIS)
I can in total freedom listen to Joy Division, SPK, Muse and Britney Spears...
12
07
NYTT LAND
‘OUR MAIN SOURCES OF INSPIRATION ARE THE SIBERIAN NATURE’
10
07
LIFELESS PAST
'In October 2017 we are going on our first international tour. We are going for 10 days to California in October. We will play in L.A., Oakland, San Francisco and San Diego.'
16
06
SINE SILEX
‘A ROMANTIC YET DYNAMIC APPROACH TO ELECTRONIC MUSIC’
15
06
CLAN OF XYMOX
‘THE SONGS DICTATE ME INSTEAD OF ME DICTATING THE SONGS’

PHOTOS

02
07
COVENANT
Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
02
07
MILDREDA
Zappa, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ELM
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
VUDUVOX
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
X MOUTH SYNDROME
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
LLUMEN
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium
24
06
ARSENIC OF JABIR
Dark Demons Night, Het Oude Badhuis, Antwerp, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

25
07
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
23
07
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
ICOLATE
21
07
PSYCHE
Eternal
20
07
BLACK LINE
Snap
19
07
BLONDIE
Long Time
18
07
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
17
07
XOTOX
Eisenkiller