tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/02/2016 : EXEC - The Limber Real

EXEC

The Limber Real

MusicCD
Singer Songwriter

[80/100]   

Tambourhinoceros
02/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Pop music has produced some strange voices: Rod Stewart, Bob Dylan, John Fogerty, Kate Bush or Anthony Hegarty (Anthony And The Johnsons). That last voice reminds me of the Danish singer songwriter and producer Troels Abrahamsen, who also plays in the Danish electro rock band VETO.

With his solo project Exec he does something completely different: analogue, a piano and just some vocals. It is very basic and intense. During years he wrote music with his computer, until he realized that he needed a different way to write music. The piano was the solution and the instrument gave him such a creative boost that he made a whole albumt: 14 short and rather simple songs that penetrate deep. The Explanatory Gap is the single: a stylish song with a mesmerizing piano and emotional vocals. Something you can say about the rest of the album.

The Limber Real by Excec is a strong album. Despite the fact that you only hear a piano and some vocals, it has a rich sound. It surely isn’t the easiest album, but one that is worth discovering.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/02/2016


NL

De popmuziek heeft nogal wat rare, herkenbare stemmen voortgebracht. Ik denk bijv. aan Rod Stewart, Bob Dylan, John Fogerty, Kate Bush of Anthony Hegarty (van Anthony And The Johnsons). Die laatste stem doet mij denken aan de Deense zanger songschrijver en producer Troels Abrahamsen, die ook bij de Deense electrorock band VETO speelt.

Met zijn soloproject Exec tapt hij echter uit een heel ander vaatje: analoog ,een piano en wat zang. Het is heel basic en intens. Jaren schreef hij muziek met de computer, tot hij zich realiseerde dat hij een andere methode nodig had om muziek te schrijven. De piano was de oplossing, en die gaf hem een creatieve boost die resulteerde in dit album: 14 korte en eerder eenvoudige songs die dankzij de zang diep doordringen. The Explanatory Gap is de vooruitgeschoven single. Een sfeerrijke trrack met een bezwerende piano en emotionele zang. Iets wat je ook kan zeggen van de rest van het album.

Exec heeft met The Limber Real een sterk en doorleefd album gemaakt. Ondanks het feit dat je alleen maar een piano en zang hoort, klinkt het toch rijkelijk. Het is niet meteen het gemakkelijkste album. Eentje dat de moeite is om te ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/02/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque