tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/02/2016 : EXEC - The Limber Real

EXEC

The Limber Real

MusicCD
Singer Songwriter

[80/100]   

Tambourhinoceros
02/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Pop music has produced some strange voices: Rod Stewart, Bob Dylan, John Fogerty, Kate Bush or Anthony Hegarty (Anthony And The Johnsons). That last voice reminds me of the Danish singer songwriter and producer Troels Abrahamsen, who also plays in the Danish electro rock band VETO.

With his solo project Exec he does something completely different: analogue, a piano and just some vocals. It is very basic and intense. During years he wrote music with his computer, until he realized that he needed a different way to write music. The piano was the solution and the instrument gave him such a creative boost that he made a whole albumt: 14 short and rather simple songs that penetrate deep. The Explanatory Gap is the single: a stylish song with a mesmerizing piano and emotional vocals. Something you can say about the rest of the album.

The Limber Real by Excec is a strong album. Despite the fact that you only hear a piano and some vocals, it has a rich sound. It surely isn’t the easiest album, but one that is worth discovering.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/02/2016


NL

De popmuziek heeft nogal wat rare, herkenbare stemmen voortgebracht. Ik denk bijv. aan Rod Stewart, Bob Dylan, John Fogerty, Kate Bush of Anthony Hegarty (van Anthony And The Johnsons). Die laatste stem doet mij denken aan de Deense zanger songschrijver en producer Troels Abrahamsen, die ook bij de Deense electrorock band VETO speelt.

Met zijn soloproject Exec tapt hij echter uit een heel ander vaatje: analoog ,een piano en wat zang. Het is heel basic en intens. Jaren schreef hij muziek met de computer, tot hij zich realiseerde dat hij een andere methode nodig had om muziek te schrijven. De piano was de oplossing, en die gaf hem een creatieve boost die resulteerde in dit album: 14 korte en eerder eenvoudige songs die dankzij de zang diep doordringen. The Explanatory Gap is de vooruitgeschoven single. Een sfeerrijke trrack met een bezwerende piano en emotionele zang. Iets wat je ook kan zeggen van de rest van het album.

Exec heeft met The Limber Real een sterk en doorleefd album gemaakt. Ondanks het feit dat je alleen maar een piano en zang hoort, klinkt het toch rijkelijk. Het is niet meteen het gemakkelijkste album. Eentje dat de moeite is om te ontdekken.

Wim GUILLEMYN
02/02/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death