tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/02/2016 : MINUIT MACHINE - Violent Rains

MINUIT MACHINE

Violent Rains

MusicCD
Minimal

[94/100]   

No Ebm Blanc
02/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Yes, this CD is out for a while, but I must admit that I just discovered the beauty of Minuit Machine. Better late than never, and after the first notes of opener June 7 it was clear that I would fall in love. Minuit Machine makes melancholic, sexy minimal wave. Four words that should be enough to give this band a chance.

Minuit Machine is a duo from Paris, and even though Hélène de Thoury and Amandine Stioui are around for a while, it is only since Violent Rains that everything’s going fast. And yes, anyone with an interest in dark music noticed their name.

Rightly so, because everyone who hears one of the songs, becomes hopelessly addicted. Battles is perfect minimal pop that comes close to Keluar and Linea Aspera. Irresistible 80s minimal pop, although the duo is not satisfied with creating a sound only, it also wants to write songs that stay in the memory.

Everlasting is the perfect track to play when you drive at night on a deserted highway. The light from your dashboard is your only companion. Delicious!

Black Is My Anger is a wonderful statement: melodious, analogue synths and the powerful voice of Amandine. Punk, but punk in a minimal synth version! You hear it in Famous Or Dead. The text says enough: Do not wanna be another brick in this fucking wall!

The synth lines in Relapse have an almost perverse side, synthetic beats that explode in your brain, fed with a Weltschmerz feeling that you rarely heard in the music. Inner Self is genius, complemented with some paranoia.

Although the songs on this CD are extremely danceable and ideal fodder for the disco, Minuit Machine is still more than that. Just listen to Honey and you end up with a lump in the throat. The synthetic masterpiece ends perfectly with She Devil.

My apologizes to Minuit Machine for the late discovery, they get my eternal love in return.

Didier BECU
02/02/2016


NL

Neen, deze cd is al een tijdje uit en met rode kaken moet ik toegeven dat ik nu pas de schoonheid van Minuit Machine heb ontdekt. Beter laat dan nooit, en na de allereerste tonen van opener June 7 was het duidelijk dat ik meteen verliefd was. Minuit Machine maakt immers melancholische, sexy minimal wave. Vier woorden die je nu al zouden moeten doen besluiten om deze band een kans te gunnen.

Minuit Machine is een duo uit Parijs, en ook al zijn Hélène de Thoury en Amandine Stioui al een tijdje bezig, is het pas sinds Violent Rains dat ze volop zijn beginnen te toeren. En tja, iedereen die zich een beetje met wavemuziek bezig houdt zal ooit wel eens de naam hebben gehoord.

Terecht, want wie één nummer hoort, geraakt hopeloos verslaafd. Battles is perfecte minimal pop die mooi aanleunt bij Keluar en Linea Aspera. Onweerstaanbare 80s minimal pop, ofschoon het duo zich niet louter tevreden stelt met het scheppen van een geluid, het wil ook liedjes schrijven die in het geheugen als pop gegrift staan.

Everlasting wil je draaien als je ’s nachts met de auto op een verlaten snelweg rijdt. Het licht van je dashboard is je enige metgezel. Heerlijk!

Black Is My Anger is een prachtig statement: melodieuze, analoge synths en de krachtige stem van Amandine. Punk, maar dan wel punk in een minimal synthversie! Dat hoor je ook in Famous Or Dead: de tekst Don’t wanna be another brick in this fucking wall, zegt genoeg!

De synthlijnen van Relapse hebben een bijna pervers kantje, synthetische beats die in je hersenen ontploffen en die worden gevoed met een weltschmerzgevoel dat je tegenwoordig maar zelden in de muziek hoort. Inner Self is al even straf, maar dan wel met een extra portie paranoia.

Alhoewel de tracks op deze cd uiterst dansbaar zijn en ideaal voer voor de discotheek met de betere smaak, is Minuit Machine toch meer dan dat. Luister gewoon naar Honey en je zit met de spreekwoordelijke krop in de keel. Het synthestische meesterwerk wordt perfect afgesloten met She Devil.

Excuses aan Minuit Machine voor de wat late ontdekking, ze krijgen er mijn eeuwige verliefdheid voor terug.

Didier BECU
02/02/2016


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo