tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/02/2016 : MINUIT MACHINE - Violent Rains

MINUIT MACHINE

Violent Rains

MusicCD
Minimal

[94/100]   

No Ebm Blanc
02/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Yes, this CD is out for a while, but I must admit that I just discovered the beauty of Minuit Machine. Better late than never, and after the first notes of opener June 7 it was clear that I would fall in love. Minuit Machine makes melancholic, sexy minimal wave. Four words that should be enough to give this band a chance.

Minuit Machine is a duo from Paris, and even though Hélène de Thoury and Amandine Stioui are around for a while, it is only since Violent Rains that everything’s going fast. And yes, anyone with an interest in dark music noticed their name.

Rightly so, because everyone who hears one of the songs, becomes hopelessly addicted. Battles is perfect minimal pop that comes close to Keluar and Linea Aspera. Irresistible 80s minimal pop, although the duo is not satisfied with creating a sound only, it also wants to write songs that stay in the memory.

Everlasting is the perfect track to play when you drive at night on a deserted highway. The light from your dashboard is your only companion. Delicious!

Black Is My Anger is a wonderful statement: melodious, analogue synths and the powerful voice of Amandine. Punk, but punk in a minimal synth version! You hear it in Famous Or Dead. The text says enough: Do not wanna be another brick in this fucking wall!

The synth lines in Relapse have an almost perverse side, synthetic beats that explode in your brain, fed with a Weltschmerz feeling that you rarely heard in the music. Inner Self is genius, complemented with some paranoia.

Although the songs on this CD are extremely danceable and ideal fodder for the disco, Minuit Machine is still more than that. Just listen to Honey and you end up with a lump in the throat. The synthetic masterpiece ends perfectly with She Devil.

My apologizes to Minuit Machine for the late discovery, they get my eternal love in return.

Didier BECU
02/02/2016


NL

Neen, deze cd is al een tijdje uit en met rode kaken moet ik toegeven dat ik nu pas de schoonheid van Minuit Machine heb ontdekt. Beter laat dan nooit, en na de allereerste tonen van opener June 7 was het duidelijk dat ik meteen verliefd was. Minuit Machine maakt immers melancholische, sexy minimal wave. Vier woorden die je nu al zouden moeten doen besluiten om deze band een kans te gunnen.

Minuit Machine is een duo uit Parijs, en ook al zijn Hélène de Thoury en Amandine Stioui al een tijdje bezig, is het pas sinds Violent Rains dat ze volop zijn beginnen te toeren. En tja, iedereen die zich een beetje met wavemuziek bezig houdt zal ooit wel eens de naam hebben gehoord.

Terecht, want wie één nummer hoort, geraakt hopeloos verslaafd. Battles is perfecte minimal pop die mooi aanleunt bij Keluar en Linea Aspera. Onweerstaanbare 80s minimal pop, ofschoon het duo zich niet louter tevreden stelt met het scheppen van een geluid, het wil ook liedjes schrijven die in het geheugen als pop gegrift staan.

Everlasting wil je draaien als je ’s nachts met de auto op een verlaten snelweg rijdt. Het licht van je dashboard is je enige metgezel. Heerlijk!

Black Is My Anger is een prachtig statement: melodieuze, analoge synths en de krachtige stem van Amandine. Punk, maar dan wel punk in een minimal synthversie! Dat hoor je ook in Famous Or Dead: de tekst Don’t wanna be another brick in this fucking wall, zegt genoeg!

De synthlijnen van Relapse hebben een bijna pervers kantje, synthetische beats die in je hersenen ontploffen en die worden gevoed met een weltschmerzgevoel dat je tegenwoordig maar zelden in de muziek hoort. Inner Self is al even straf, maar dan wel met een extra portie paranoia.

Alhoewel de tracks op deze cd uiterst dansbaar zijn en ideaal voer voor de discotheek met de betere smaak, is Minuit Machine toch meer dan dat. Luister gewoon naar Honey en je zit met de spreekwoordelijke krop in de keel. Het synthestische meesterwerk wordt perfect afgesloten met She Devil.

Excuses aan Minuit Machine voor de wat late ontdekking, ze krijgen er mijn eeuwige verliefdheid voor terug.

Didier BECU
02/02/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static