tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/02/2016 : MINUIT MACHINE - Violent Rains

MINUIT MACHINE

Violent Rains

MusicCD
Minimal

[94/100]   

No Ebm Blanc
02/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Yes, this CD is out for a while, but I must admit that I just discovered the beauty of Minuit Machine. Better late than never, and after the first notes of opener June 7 it was clear that I would fall in love. Minuit Machine makes melancholic, sexy minimal wave. Four words that should be enough to give this band a chance.

Minuit Machine is a duo from Paris, and even though Hélène de Thoury and Amandine Stioui are around for a while, it is only since Violent Rains that everything’s going fast. And yes, anyone with an interest in dark music noticed their name.

Rightly so, because everyone who hears one of the songs, becomes hopelessly addicted. Battles is perfect minimal pop that comes close to Keluar and Linea Aspera. Irresistible 80s minimal pop, although the duo is not satisfied with creating a sound only, it also wants to write songs that stay in the memory.

Everlasting is the perfect track to play when you drive at night on a deserted highway. The light from your dashboard is your only companion. Delicious!

Black Is My Anger is a wonderful statement: melodious, analogue synths and the powerful voice of Amandine. Punk, but punk in a minimal synth version! You hear it in Famous Or Dead. The text says enough: Do not wanna be another brick in this fucking wall!

The synth lines in Relapse have an almost perverse side, synthetic beats that explode in your brain, fed with a Weltschmerz feeling that you rarely heard in the music. Inner Self is genius, complemented with some paranoia.

Although the songs on this CD are extremely danceable and ideal fodder for the disco, Minuit Machine is still more than that. Just listen to Honey and you end up with a lump in the throat. The synthetic masterpiece ends perfectly with She Devil.

My apologizes to Minuit Machine for the late discovery, they get my eternal love in return.

Didier BECU
02/02/2016


NL

Neen, deze cd is al een tijdje uit en met rode kaken moet ik toegeven dat ik nu pas de schoonheid van Minuit Machine heb ontdekt. Beter laat dan nooit, en na de allereerste tonen van opener June 7 was het duidelijk dat ik meteen verliefd was. Minuit Machine maakt immers melancholische, sexy minimal wave. Vier woorden die je nu al zouden moeten doen besluiten om deze band een kans te gunnen.

Minuit Machine is een duo uit Parijs, en ook al zijn Hélène de Thoury en Amandine Stioui al een tijdje bezig, is het pas sinds Violent Rains dat ze volop zijn beginnen te toeren. En tja, iedereen die zich een beetje met wavemuziek bezig houdt zal ooit wel eens de naam hebben gehoord.

Terecht, want wie één nummer hoort, geraakt hopeloos verslaafd. Battles is perfecte minimal pop die mooi aanleunt bij Keluar en Linea Aspera. Onweerstaanbare 80s minimal pop, ofschoon het duo zich niet louter tevreden stelt met het scheppen van een geluid, het wil ook liedjes schrijven die in het geheugen als pop gegrift staan.

Everlasting wil je draaien als je ’s nachts met de auto op een verlaten snelweg rijdt. Het licht van je dashboard is je enige metgezel. Heerlijk!

Black Is My Anger is een prachtig statement: melodieuze, analoge synths en de krachtige stem van Amandine. Punk, maar dan wel punk in een minimal synthversie! Dat hoor je ook in Famous Or Dead: de tekst Don’t wanna be another brick in this fucking wall, zegt genoeg!

De synthlijnen van Relapse hebben een bijna pervers kantje, synthetische beats die in je hersenen ontploffen en die worden gevoed met een weltschmerzgevoel dat je tegenwoordig maar zelden in de muziek hoort. Inner Self is al even straf, maar dan wel met een extra portie paranoia.

Alhoewel de tracks op deze cd uiterst dansbaar zijn en ideaal voer voor de discotheek met de betere smaak, is Minuit Machine toch meer dan dat. Luister gewoon naar Honey en je zit met de spreekwoordelijke krop in de keel. Het synthestische meesterwerk wordt perfect afgesloten met She Devil.

Excuses aan Minuit Machine voor de wat late ontdekking, ze krijgen er mijn eeuwige verliefdheid voor terug.

Didier BECU
02/02/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque