tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/02/2016 : MINUIT MACHINE - Violent Rains

MINUIT MACHINE

Violent Rains

MusicCD
Minimal

[94/100]   

No Ebm Blanc
02/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Yes, this CD is out for a while, but I must admit that I just discovered the beauty of Minuit Machine. Better late than never, and after the first notes of opener June 7 it was clear that I would fall in love. Minuit Machine makes melancholic, sexy minimal wave. Four words that should be enough to give this band a chance.

Minuit Machine is a duo from Paris, and even though Hélène de Thoury and Amandine Stioui are around for a while, it is only since Violent Rains that everything’s going fast. And yes, anyone with an interest in dark music noticed their name.

Rightly so, because everyone who hears one of the songs, becomes hopelessly addicted. Battles is perfect minimal pop that comes close to Keluar and Linea Aspera. Irresistible 80s minimal pop, although the duo is not satisfied with creating a sound only, it also wants to write songs that stay in the memory.

Everlasting is the perfect track to play when you drive at night on a deserted highway. The light from your dashboard is your only companion. Delicious!

Black Is My Anger is a wonderful statement: melodious, analogue synths and the powerful voice of Amandine. Punk, but punk in a minimal synth version! You hear it in Famous Or Dead. The text says enough: Do not wanna be another brick in this fucking wall!

The synth lines in Relapse have an almost perverse side, synthetic beats that explode in your brain, fed with a Weltschmerz feeling that you rarely heard in the music. Inner Self is genius, complemented with some paranoia.

Although the songs on this CD are extremely danceable and ideal fodder for the disco, Minuit Machine is still more than that. Just listen to Honey and you end up with a lump in the throat. The synthetic masterpiece ends perfectly with She Devil.

My apologizes to Minuit Machine for the late discovery, they get my eternal love in return.

Didier BECU
02/02/2016


NL

Neen, deze cd is al een tijdje uit en met rode kaken moet ik toegeven dat ik nu pas de schoonheid van Minuit Machine heb ontdekt. Beter laat dan nooit, en na de allereerste tonen van opener June 7 was het duidelijk dat ik meteen verliefd was. Minuit Machine maakt immers melancholische, sexy minimal wave. Vier woorden die je nu al zouden moeten doen besluiten om deze band een kans te gunnen.

Minuit Machine is een duo uit Parijs, en ook al zijn Hélène de Thoury en Amandine Stioui al een tijdje bezig, is het pas sinds Violent Rains dat ze volop zijn beginnen te toeren. En tja, iedereen die zich een beetje met wavemuziek bezig houdt zal ooit wel eens de naam hebben gehoord.

Terecht, want wie één nummer hoort, geraakt hopeloos verslaafd. Battles is perfecte minimal pop die mooi aanleunt bij Keluar en Linea Aspera. Onweerstaanbare 80s minimal pop, ofschoon het duo zich niet louter tevreden stelt met het scheppen van een geluid, het wil ook liedjes schrijven die in het geheugen als pop gegrift staan.

Everlasting wil je draaien als je ’s nachts met de auto op een verlaten snelweg rijdt. Het licht van je dashboard is je enige metgezel. Heerlijk!

Black Is My Anger is een prachtig statement: melodieuze, analoge synths en de krachtige stem van Amandine. Punk, maar dan wel punk in een minimal synthversie! Dat hoor je ook in Famous Or Dead: de tekst Don’t wanna be another brick in this fucking wall, zegt genoeg!

De synthlijnen van Relapse hebben een bijna pervers kantje, synthetische beats die in je hersenen ontploffen en die worden gevoed met een weltschmerzgevoel dat je tegenwoordig maar zelden in de muziek hoort. Inner Self is al even straf, maar dan wel met een extra portie paranoia.

Alhoewel de tracks op deze cd uiterst dansbaar zijn en ideaal voer voor de discotheek met de betere smaak, is Minuit Machine toch meer dan dat. Luister gewoon naar Honey en je zit met de spreekwoordelijke krop in de keel. Het synthestische meesterwerk wordt perfect afgesloten met She Devil.

Excuses aan Minuit Machine voor de wat late ontdekking, ze krijgen er mijn eeuwige verliefdheid voor terug.

Didier BECU
02/02/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir
09
06
DEZ MONA
Close To You