tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

03/02/2016 : OAKTREE - Dust

OAKTREE

Dust

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsNeoclassical

[83/100]   

PIAS
03/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Adriaan de Roover is a lucky guy as it is not so obvious to get outside the catacombs of the underground with experimental ambient that has a neoclassical layer. After two EP’s and a split EP with Avondlicht (the project of Matthias Dziwak), Oaktree is back with a brand new EP that includes seven songs.

Late Bloomer is intensely beautiful music and thanks to the violin of Hester Bolle and the trombone of Vincent Heirman, it almost sounds classical. On Calm On The Surface electronics dominate (although there is also the harp of Laura De Jongh). Adrian himself calls it a sound collage, we call it music that is close to Boards Of Canada.

At first hearing, A Little Tenderness sounds like electronic experimenting, but the more you listen to it, the more you hear different structures that go deeper then most music. How many synonyms do we have for “beautiful”? Because yes, we literally have not enough words to describe the magic of Oaktree!

On Encounter, Adrian gets the assistance of Pieter Nooten (a name that is quite known on our pages). Suddenly Oaktree becomes Pieter Nooten, and every music fan hopes that this cooperation will be repeated.

Things Of Glass is more danceable, well, you hear more beats, but it remains very dreamy. Unsettle sounds a bit experimental, but still accessible. The best track is saved for the end: And Leave Me Alone is an electronic sound carpet for dreamers, complemented by wonderful strings. Simply perfect!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


NL

We gunnen het de Antwerpenaar Adriaan de Roover, wan hij heeft geluk. Het is immers niet zo vanzelfsprekend dat experimentele ambient met een neoklassiek laagje buiten de catacomben van de underground raakt. Na twee ep’s en een split-ep met Avondlicht (het project van stadsgenoot Matthias Dziwak) is Oaktree er opnieuw met een gloednieuwe ep waarop zeven songs staan.

Late Bloomer is intens mooie muziek en klinkt mede door de viool van Hester Bolle en de trombone van Vincent Heirman bijna klassiek. Op Calm On The Surface heerst de elektronica (ook al is er tevens de harp van Laura De Jongh). Adriaan noemt het zelf een geluidscollage, wij noemen het muziek die verdraaid dicht in de buurt van Boards Of Canada komt.

A Little Tenderness klinkt op het eerste gehoor wat als elektronisch geknutsel, maar hoe meer je luistert, des te meer je er verschillende structuren in ontdekt die dieper gaan dan doorgaans het geval is. Hoeveel synoniemen bestaan er voor prachtig? Want jawel, we hebben letterlijk woorden tekort!

Op Encounter krijgt Adriaan de steun van Pieter Nooten (een naam die op onze pagina’s allesbehalve onbekend is). Oaktree wordt plots Pieter Nooten en het doet een muziekliefhebber alleen maar hopen dat deze samenwerking voor herhaling vatbaar is.

Things Of Glass is wat meer dansbaar, nou ja, je hoort meer beats, maar het blijft uiterst dromerig. Unsettle klinkt een beetje experimenteel, maar nog steeds toegankelijk. De parel wordt voor het einde bewaard: And Leave Me Alone is een elektronisch klanktapijt voor dagdromers, aangevuld met wondermooie strijkers. Prachtig dus!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses