tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

03/02/2016 : OAKTREE - Dust

OAKTREE

Dust

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsNeoclassical

[83/100]   

PIAS
03/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Adriaan de Roover is a lucky guy as it is not so obvious to get outside the catacombs of the underground with experimental ambient that has a neoclassical layer. After two EP’s and a split EP with Avondlicht (the project of Matthias Dziwak), Oaktree is back with a brand new EP that includes seven songs.

Late Bloomer is intensely beautiful music and thanks to the violin of Hester Bolle and the trombone of Vincent Heirman, it almost sounds classical. On Calm On The Surface electronics dominate (although there is also the harp of Laura De Jongh). Adrian himself calls it a sound collage, we call it music that is close to Boards Of Canada.

At first hearing, A Little Tenderness sounds like electronic experimenting, but the more you listen to it, the more you hear different structures that go deeper then most music. How many synonyms do we have for “beautiful”? Because yes, we literally have not enough words to describe the magic of Oaktree!

On Encounter, Adrian gets the assistance of Pieter Nooten (a name that is quite known on our pages). Suddenly Oaktree becomes Pieter Nooten, and every music fan hopes that this cooperation will be repeated.

Things Of Glass is more danceable, well, you hear more beats, but it remains very dreamy. Unsettle sounds a bit experimental, but still accessible. The best track is saved for the end: And Leave Me Alone is an electronic sound carpet for dreamers, complemented by wonderful strings. Simply perfect!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


NL

We gunnen het de Antwerpenaar Adriaan de Roover, wan hij heeft geluk. Het is immers niet zo vanzelfsprekend dat experimentele ambient met een neoklassiek laagje buiten de catacomben van de underground raakt. Na twee ep’s en een split-ep met Avondlicht (het project van stadsgenoot Matthias Dziwak) is Oaktree er opnieuw met een gloednieuwe ep waarop zeven songs staan.

Late Bloomer is intens mooie muziek en klinkt mede door de viool van Hester Bolle en de trombone van Vincent Heirman bijna klassiek. Op Calm On The Surface heerst de elektronica (ook al is er tevens de harp van Laura De Jongh). Adriaan noemt het zelf een geluidscollage, wij noemen het muziek die verdraaid dicht in de buurt van Boards Of Canada komt.

A Little Tenderness klinkt op het eerste gehoor wat als elektronisch geknutsel, maar hoe meer je luistert, des te meer je er verschillende structuren in ontdekt die dieper gaan dan doorgaans het geval is. Hoeveel synoniemen bestaan er voor prachtig? Want jawel, we hebben letterlijk woorden tekort!

Op Encounter krijgt Adriaan de steun van Pieter Nooten (een naam die op onze pagina’s allesbehalve onbekend is). Oaktree wordt plots Pieter Nooten en het doet een muziekliefhebber alleen maar hopen dat deze samenwerking voor herhaling vatbaar is.

Things Of Glass is wat meer dansbaar, nou ja, je hoort meer beats, maar het blijft uiterst dromerig. Unsettle klinkt een beetje experimenteel, maar nog steeds toegankelijk. De parel wordt voor het einde bewaard: And Leave Me Alone is een elektronisch klanktapijt voor dagdromers, aangevuld met wondermooie strijkers. Prachtig dus!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers