tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

03/02/2016 : OAKTREE - Dust

OAKTREE

Dust

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsNeoclassical

[83/100]   

PIAS
03/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Adriaan de Roover is a lucky guy as it is not so obvious to get outside the catacombs of the underground with experimental ambient that has a neoclassical layer. After two EP’s and a split EP with Avondlicht (the project of Matthias Dziwak), Oaktree is back with a brand new EP that includes seven songs.

Late Bloomer is intensely beautiful music and thanks to the violin of Hester Bolle and the trombone of Vincent Heirman, it almost sounds classical. On Calm On The Surface electronics dominate (although there is also the harp of Laura De Jongh). Adrian himself calls it a sound collage, we call it music that is close to Boards Of Canada.

At first hearing, A Little Tenderness sounds like electronic experimenting, but the more you listen to it, the more you hear different structures that go deeper then most music. How many synonyms do we have for “beautiful”? Because yes, we literally have not enough words to describe the magic of Oaktree!

On Encounter, Adrian gets the assistance of Pieter Nooten (a name that is quite known on our pages). Suddenly Oaktree becomes Pieter Nooten, and every music fan hopes that this cooperation will be repeated.

Things Of Glass is more danceable, well, you hear more beats, but it remains very dreamy. Unsettle sounds a bit experimental, but still accessible. The best track is saved for the end: And Leave Me Alone is an electronic sound carpet for dreamers, complemented by wonderful strings. Simply perfect!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


NL

We gunnen het de Antwerpenaar Adriaan de Roover, wan hij heeft geluk. Het is immers niet zo vanzelfsprekend dat experimentele ambient met een neoklassiek laagje buiten de catacomben van de underground raakt. Na twee ep’s en een split-ep met Avondlicht (het project van stadsgenoot Matthias Dziwak) is Oaktree er opnieuw met een gloednieuwe ep waarop zeven songs staan.

Late Bloomer is intens mooie muziek en klinkt mede door de viool van Hester Bolle en de trombone van Vincent Heirman bijna klassiek. Op Calm On The Surface heerst de elektronica (ook al is er tevens de harp van Laura De Jongh). Adriaan noemt het zelf een geluidscollage, wij noemen het muziek die verdraaid dicht in de buurt van Boards Of Canada komt.

A Little Tenderness klinkt op het eerste gehoor wat als elektronisch geknutsel, maar hoe meer je luistert, des te meer je er verschillende structuren in ontdekt die dieper gaan dan doorgaans het geval is. Hoeveel synoniemen bestaan er voor prachtig? Want jawel, we hebben letterlijk woorden tekort!

Op Encounter krijgt Adriaan de steun van Pieter Nooten (een naam die op onze pagina’s allesbehalve onbekend is). Oaktree wordt plots Pieter Nooten en het doet een muziekliefhebber alleen maar hopen dat deze samenwerking voor herhaling vatbaar is.

Things Of Glass is wat meer dansbaar, nou ja, je hoort meer beats, maar het blijft uiterst dromerig. Unsettle klinkt een beetje experimenteel, maar nog steeds toegankelijk. De parel wordt voor het einde bewaard: And Leave Me Alone is een elektronisch klanktapijt voor dagdromers, aangevuld met wondermooie strijkers. Prachtig dus!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 33 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
HYPERMOND.
Paranoia
25
09
PSY'AVIAH
Aftermath
24
09
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence
23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell