tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

03/02/2016 : OAKTREE - Dust

OAKTREE

Dust

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsNeoclassical

[83/100]   

PIAS
03/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Adriaan de Roover is a lucky guy as it is not so obvious to get outside the catacombs of the underground with experimental ambient that has a neoclassical layer. After two EP’s and a split EP with Avondlicht (the project of Matthias Dziwak), Oaktree is back with a brand new EP that includes seven songs.

Late Bloomer is intensely beautiful music and thanks to the violin of Hester Bolle and the trombone of Vincent Heirman, it almost sounds classical. On Calm On The Surface electronics dominate (although there is also the harp of Laura De Jongh). Adrian himself calls it a sound collage, we call it music that is close to Boards Of Canada.

At first hearing, A Little Tenderness sounds like electronic experimenting, but the more you listen to it, the more you hear different structures that go deeper then most music. How many synonyms do we have for “beautiful”? Because yes, we literally have not enough words to describe the magic of Oaktree!

On Encounter, Adrian gets the assistance of Pieter Nooten (a name that is quite known on our pages). Suddenly Oaktree becomes Pieter Nooten, and every music fan hopes that this cooperation will be repeated.

Things Of Glass is more danceable, well, you hear more beats, but it remains very dreamy. Unsettle sounds a bit experimental, but still accessible. The best track is saved for the end: And Leave Me Alone is an electronic sound carpet for dreamers, complemented by wonderful strings. Simply perfect!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


NL

We gunnen het de Antwerpenaar Adriaan de Roover, wan hij heeft geluk. Het is immers niet zo vanzelfsprekend dat experimentele ambient met een neoklassiek laagje buiten de catacomben van de underground raakt. Na twee ep’s en een split-ep met Avondlicht (het project van stadsgenoot Matthias Dziwak) is Oaktree er opnieuw met een gloednieuwe ep waarop zeven songs staan.

Late Bloomer is intens mooie muziek en klinkt mede door de viool van Hester Bolle en de trombone van Vincent Heirman bijna klassiek. Op Calm On The Surface heerst de elektronica (ook al is er tevens de harp van Laura De Jongh). Adriaan noemt het zelf een geluidscollage, wij noemen het muziek die verdraaid dicht in de buurt van Boards Of Canada komt.

A Little Tenderness klinkt op het eerste gehoor wat als elektronisch geknutsel, maar hoe meer je luistert, des te meer je er verschillende structuren in ontdekt die dieper gaan dan doorgaans het geval is. Hoeveel synoniemen bestaan er voor prachtig? Want jawel, we hebben letterlijk woorden tekort!

Op Encounter krijgt Adriaan de steun van Pieter Nooten (een naam die op onze pagina’s allesbehalve onbekend is). Oaktree wordt plots Pieter Nooten en het doet een muziekliefhebber alleen maar hopen dat deze samenwerking voor herhaling vatbaar is.

Things Of Glass is wat meer dansbaar, nou ja, je hoort meer beats, maar het blijft uiterst dromerig. Unsettle klinkt een beetje experimenteel, maar nog steeds toegankelijk. De parel wordt voor het einde bewaard: And Leave Me Alone is een elektronisch klanktapijt voor dagdromers, aangevuld met wondermooie strijkers. Prachtig dus!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid