tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

03/02/2016 : OAKTREE - Dust

OAKTREE

Dust

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsNeoclassical

[83/100]   

PIAS
03/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Adriaan de Roover is a lucky guy as it is not so obvious to get outside the catacombs of the underground with experimental ambient that has a neoclassical layer. After two EP’s and a split EP with Avondlicht (the project of Matthias Dziwak), Oaktree is back with a brand new EP that includes seven songs.

Late Bloomer is intensely beautiful music and thanks to the violin of Hester Bolle and the trombone of Vincent Heirman, it almost sounds classical. On Calm On The Surface electronics dominate (although there is also the harp of Laura De Jongh). Adrian himself calls it a sound collage, we call it music that is close to Boards Of Canada.

At first hearing, A Little Tenderness sounds like electronic experimenting, but the more you listen to it, the more you hear different structures that go deeper then most music. How many synonyms do we have for “beautiful”? Because yes, we literally have not enough words to describe the magic of Oaktree!

On Encounter, Adrian gets the assistance of Pieter Nooten (a name that is quite known on our pages). Suddenly Oaktree becomes Pieter Nooten, and every music fan hopes that this cooperation will be repeated.

Things Of Glass is more danceable, well, you hear more beats, but it remains very dreamy. Unsettle sounds a bit experimental, but still accessible. The best track is saved for the end: And Leave Me Alone is an electronic sound carpet for dreamers, complemented by wonderful strings. Simply perfect!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


NL

We gunnen het de Antwerpenaar Adriaan de Roover, wan hij heeft geluk. Het is immers niet zo vanzelfsprekend dat experimentele ambient met een neoklassiek laagje buiten de catacomben van de underground raakt. Na twee ep’s en een split-ep met Avondlicht (het project van stadsgenoot Matthias Dziwak) is Oaktree er opnieuw met een gloednieuwe ep waarop zeven songs staan.

Late Bloomer is intens mooie muziek en klinkt mede door de viool van Hester Bolle en de trombone van Vincent Heirman bijna klassiek. Op Calm On The Surface heerst de elektronica (ook al is er tevens de harp van Laura De Jongh). Adriaan noemt het zelf een geluidscollage, wij noemen het muziek die verdraaid dicht in de buurt van Boards Of Canada komt.

A Little Tenderness klinkt op het eerste gehoor wat als elektronisch geknutsel, maar hoe meer je luistert, des te meer je er verschillende structuren in ontdekt die dieper gaan dan doorgaans het geval is. Hoeveel synoniemen bestaan er voor prachtig? Want jawel, we hebben letterlijk woorden tekort!

Op Encounter krijgt Adriaan de steun van Pieter Nooten (een naam die op onze pagina’s allesbehalve onbekend is). Oaktree wordt plots Pieter Nooten en het doet een muziekliefhebber alleen maar hopen dat deze samenwerking voor herhaling vatbaar is.

Things Of Glass is wat meer dansbaar, nou ja, je hoort meer beats, maar het blijft uiterst dromerig. Unsettle klinkt een beetje experimenteel, maar nog steeds toegankelijk. De parel wordt voor het einde bewaard: And Leave Me Alone is een elektronisch klanktapijt voor dagdromers, aangevuld met wondermooie strijkers. Prachtig dus!

Didier BECU
03/02/2016


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser
25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell