tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/02/2016 : ANDI SEXGANG - Achilles In The Eurozone

ANDI SEXGANG

Achilles In The Eurozone

MusicCD
Avant-gardeBatcave

[83/100]   
03/02/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

You sometimes read that the term "goth" was used for the first time to describe the music of Andi Sex Gang after a gig in the famous Batcave club in the early 80s. I don’t know if it is true or not. What I do know, is that Andi Sex Gang had a major impact on the goth scene. Both solo, and with his band Sex Gang Children. He has been an inspiration for many bands that now lead the goth and/or batcave genre.

He never chose the easiest way and he always did it in his own style. Many musical (r) evolutions later, he's back with a new album: Achilles In The Eurozone. As the title suggests, this is not a happy album. It is his critical vision on today's Europe, which could be much better.

The opening track Achilles In The Eurozone is a little below the creative level of Andi Sex Gang, as the song is certainly not a reference for the rest of the album. The music fan who doesn’t give up and continues to listen, gets a very nice album. At first sight it seems all simple, but the creative compositions describe the emotions in a strong way. Those emotions are rather told than sung by Andi Sex Gang, but he does it in such a good way, that all the pieces fit together.

The album contains 14 tracks and apart from the opening track, they all earn their place on this album. Given the socially critical tone of the album, you might expect aggression. Nothing is less true, one song is playful, another sarcastic, but it’s nonetheless pure Andi Sex Gang. Thirty years after his first album Blind, he still succeeds in making a socially relevant and strong album in his own eccentric way.

Ruben SAEY
03/02/2016


NL

Er wordt wel eens beweerd dat de term “goth” voor het eerst gebruikt werd om de muziek van Andi Sex Gang te beschrijven na een optreden in de befaamde Batcave Club in het begin van de jaren 80. Of dat klopt of niet, laat ik in het midden. Wat ik wel weet is dat Andi Sex Gang een grote invloed heeft gehad op het hele gothfenomeen. De ene keer solo, de andere keer met zijn band Sexgang Children. Hij is een inspiratiebron geweest voor vele nu toonaangevende bands in het goth- en/of batcavegenre. Zelf heeft hij een rijk gevuld palmares in verschillende gedaantes.

Hij is nooit de gemakkelijkste geweest en heeft steeds zijn eigen wil doorgedreven waardoor zijn muziek zelfs vandaag nog echt zijn stempel draagt. Zo veel muzikale (r)evoluties later is hij er terug met een nieuw album: Achilles In The Eurozone. Zoals de titel laat vermoeden is dit geen vrolijke plaat. Het is zijn kritische visie op het huidige Europa, dat zo veel beter zou kunnen zijn.

De openingstrack Achilles In The Eurozone is een beetje onder het creatieve niveau van Andi Sex Gang en is zeker geen referentie voor de rest van het album. Een openingstrack moet de luisteraar honger doen krijgen naar de rest en daarvoor is dit lied niet echt goed gekozen. Voor de muziekfan die wel blijft luisteren volgt een heel mooi album. De op het eerste gezicht vrij eenvoudige, doch zeer creatieve composities beschrijven heel sterk de emoties. Die emoties worden door Andi Sex Gang meer verteld dan echt gezongen, maar dat doet hij dan weer op zo’n goeie manier dat alle stukjes mooi in elkaar vallen.

Het album bevat 14 tracks die, behalve misschien de openingstrack, hun plek op dit album verdienen. Gezien de maatschappijkritische toon van het album zou je agressie kunnen verwachten. Niets is minder waar, het ene nummer is wat speels, het andere wat sarcastisch, maar stuk voor stuk puur Andi Sex Gang. Dertig jaar na zijn eerste album Blind, slaagt hij er nog steeds in op zijn eigen, soms excentrieke, manier een maatschappijrelevant en sterk album te maken.

Ruben SAEY
03/02/2016


Music reviews

18
04
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Love Was Lies
16
04
AD:KEY
I can't feel you
16
04
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP3
15
04
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL
A New Dawn
15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
16
04
On this day, 36 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed ‘No Time to Cry’ on German TV
15
04
On this day, 20 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
04
BLEEDING RAVEN
Never really took myself serious... still don’t...
12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
04
SECRET ZOO
Enslaved
18
04
TROUBLE FAIT'
Beads of Emerald
17
04
LYNCELIA
Self-Mystery Girl
16
04
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life