tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/02/2016 : ANDI SEXGANG - Achilles In The Eurozone

ANDI SEXGANG

Achilles In The Eurozone

MusicCD
Avant-gardeBatcave

[83/100]   
03/02/2016, Ruben SAEY

EN

You sometimes read that the term "goth" was used for the first time to describe the music of Andi Sex Gang after a gig in the famous Batcave club in the early 80s. I don’t know if it is true or not. What I do know, is that Andi Sex Gang had a major impact on the goth scene. Both solo, and with his band Sex Gang Children. He has been an inspiration for many bands that now lead the goth and/or batcave genre.

He never chose the easiest way and he always did it in his own style. Many musical (r) evolutions later, he's back with a new album: Achilles In The Eurozone. As the title suggests, this is not a happy album. It is his critical vision on today's Europe, which could be much better.

The opening track Achilles In The Eurozone is a little below the creative level of Andi Sex Gang, as the song is certainly not a reference for the rest of the album. The music fan who doesn’t give up and continues to listen, gets a very nice album. At first sight it seems all simple, but the creative compositions describe the emotions in a strong way. Those emotions are rather told than sung by Andi Sex Gang, but he does it in such a good way, that all the pieces fit together.

The album contains 14 tracks and apart from the opening track, they all earn their place on this album. Given the socially critical tone of the album, you might expect aggression. Nothing is less true, one song is playful, another sarcastic, but it’s nonetheless pure Andi Sex Gang. Thirty years after his first album Blind, he still succeeds in making a socially relevant and strong album in his own eccentric way.

Ruben SAEY
03/02/2016


NL

Er wordt wel eens beweerd dat de term “goth” voor het eerst gebruikt werd om de muziek van Andi Sex Gang te beschrijven na een optreden in de befaamde Batcave Club in het begin van de jaren 80. Of dat klopt of niet, laat ik in het midden. Wat ik wel weet is dat Andi Sex Gang een grote invloed heeft gehad op het hele gothfenomeen. De ene keer solo, de andere keer met zijn band Sexgang Children. Hij is een inspiratiebron geweest voor vele nu toonaangevende bands in het goth- en/of batcavegenre. Zelf heeft hij een rijk gevuld palmares in verschillende gedaantes.

Hij is nooit de gemakkelijkste geweest en heeft steeds zijn eigen wil doorgedreven waardoor zijn muziek zelfs vandaag nog echt zijn stempel draagt. Zo veel muzikale (r)evoluties later is hij er terug met een nieuw album: Achilles In The Eurozone. Zoals de titel laat vermoeden is dit geen vrolijke plaat. Het is zijn kritische visie op het huidige Europa, dat zo veel beter zou kunnen zijn.

De openingstrack Achilles In The Eurozone is een beetje onder het creatieve niveau van Andi Sex Gang en is zeker geen referentie voor de rest van het album. Een openingstrack moet de luisteraar honger doen krijgen naar de rest en daarvoor is dit lied niet echt goed gekozen. Voor de muziekfan die wel blijft luisteren volgt een heel mooi album. De op het eerste gezicht vrij eenvoudige, doch zeer creatieve composities beschrijven heel sterk de emoties. Die emoties worden door Andi Sex Gang meer verteld dan echt gezongen, maar dat doet hij dan weer op zo’n goeie manier dat alle stukjes mooi in elkaar vallen.

Het album bevat 14 tracks die, behalve misschien de openingstrack, hun plek op dit album verdienen. Gezien de maatschappijkritische toon van het album zou je agressie kunnen verwachten. Niets is minder waar, het ene nummer is wat speels, het andere wat sarcastisch, maar stuk voor stuk puur Andi Sex Gang. Dertig jaar na zijn eerste album Blind, slaagt hij er nog steeds in op zijn eigen, soms excentrieke, manier een maatschappijrelevant en sterk album te maken.

Ruben SAEY
03/02/2016


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu