tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

22/12/2015 : WHISPERING SONS - Endless Party

WHISPERING SONS

Endless Party

MusicCassette
Post PunkShoegaze

[92/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
22/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The best thing that can happen to a band is that it acquires its reputation by word-of-mouth advertising. And yes, if in recent times one Belgian band succeed to do so, then that is undoubtedly the Limburg post-punk band Whispering Sons. Everyone has some post-punk legend in mind to compare this quintet with, but the final conclusion remains the same: everyone is deeply impressed!

Their demo got many good reviews on several music sites, and now Endless Party is released as a tape on Wool-E-Tapes. Six raw post-punk songs in which you hear shoegaze guitars and cold wave drums that seem to come from Laurence Tolhurst, even if it is Sander Pelsmaekers who plays them.

Opener Shadow is a winner. A song with an 80's sound that not even sounds retro, guitar sounds packed in melancholy. You hear the wistful sounds of Echo & The Bunnymen and the guitars of Comsat Angels. The delicious lament by Fenne Kuppens grabs you by the neck. Midlife is another post-punk blast, but the real beauty is yet to come! We do respect for tape releases, but it is strange that a world song like Time "only" lands on a tape. The track hosts the finest sounds of early And Also The Trees, Modern Eon and also some White Lies. Brilliant, as we simply can’t find another word! The Night is again an energetic song, but the Whispering Sons' pearls seem to be the slower songs. Insights sounds pretty dramatic, Fenne’s typical voice is surrounded by a wall of sound that is created by the guitar lines of Kobe, the cold bass sound of Lander Paesen and the doomy keyboards by Sander Hermans. The tape finishes with The Wall that sounds as good as, say, Modern English.

Yes, there is no shortage of names to compare Whispering Sons with. And actually, it is totally unnecessary: Whispering Sons is the only name that matters! Hearing is believing!

Didier BECU
22/12/2015


NL

Het beste wat een band kan overkomen is dat hij naambekendheid verwerft door mond-tot-mondreclame. En jawel, als er recent één Vlaamse band daar gebruik van heeft gemaakt dan is dat ongetwijfeld de Limburgse postpunkformatie Whispering Sons. Iedereen heeft wel één of andere postpunklegende in gedachten om dit vijftal mee te vergelijken, maar de eindconclusie blijft steevast dezelfde: men is diep onder de indruk!

Na een demo die tal van goede besprekingen kreeg op diverse muzieksites, is er nu Endless Party, de taperelease op Wool-E-Tapes. Zes rauwe postpunksongs waarin je ook shoegazegitaren hoort en de ijskoude coldwavedrums die wel van Laurence Tolhurst lijken te komen, ook al is het Sander Pelsmaekers die achter de drumkit zit.

Met opener Shadow is het meteen raak. Een nummer met een 80's geluid dat niet eens retro klinkt, gitaargeweld verpakt in melancholie. Je hoort er de weemoed van Echo & The Bunnymen en de gitaren van Comsat Angels in. De heerlijke klaagzang van Fenne Kuppens heeft ons meteen bij het nekvel. Midlife is alweer zo’n postpunkknaller, maar de echte pracht moet nog komen! We hebben wel respect voor tapereleases, toch is het vreemd dat een wereldnummer als Time “slechts” op een tape belandt. Het nummer herbergt het mooiste van de vroegere And Also The Trees, Modern Eon en voor ons part ook White Lies. Briljant, een ander woord kunnen we echt niet verzinnen! The Night is opnieuw een energieke song, maar de parels vind je bij Whispering Sons in de tragere nummers. Insights klinkt dramatisch mooi, Fennes typische stem wordt omringd door een geluidsmuur van de gitaar van Kobe Lijnen, de kille bas van Lander Paesen en de doomy keyboards van Sander Hermans. De tape wordt mooi afgesloten door The Wall dat net zo lekker klinkt als pakweg Modern English.

Jawel, aan namen is er geen gebrek om Whispering Sons mee te vergelijken. En eigenlijk zijn die volstrekt overbodig: Whispering Sons is uiteindelijk de enige naam die telt! Horen is geloven!

Didier BECU
22/12/2015


 

Next reviews
FLESH & FELL • Eernegem, B52 (20/12/2015)
LIV KRISTINE • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
END OF THE DREAM • Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
BIMFEST 2015 • Antwerp, Zappa (18-19 December 2015)
BRITTA PIRKKO • The Best Of 2015
WILLIAM LIENARD • The Best of 2015
CAUSTIC • Industrial Music
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)
DIE NERVEN • Out
THE WORLD GOES POP • London, Tate Modern (until/tot 24/1/2016)

 

Other reviews from WHISPERING SONS
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
WHISPERING SONS • Ghent, Kinky Star (23/12/2015)

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic
TEMPERS • Service

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
DISCO INFERNO • In Debt 91/92
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
RAZORLINE • Razorline
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
MEDIUM MEDIUM • The Glitterhouse
LES PANTIES • Cold Science
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle
DADE CITY DAYS • VHS
MASS GOTHIC • Mass Gothic

Music reviews

16
08
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND
Mercury Fountain
10
08
CONVERGE
I Can Tell You About Pain
05
08
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION
Split EP
03
08
NTTX
Of Beauty and Chaos'
01
08
KING GIZZARD AND THE LIZARD WIZARD
Murder Of The Universe
30
07
LIE DETECTOR
To Fly!

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Sinead O' Connor posts desperate help-call video on her Facebook
13
08
Kirlian Camera co-operate with Covenant and announce new album
11
08
Hocico - Spell of The Spider - German tour dates
08
08
Wool-E's physical shop closing down - Up to 50% discount on stock-sales!
07
08
Silken Tofu on yearly Atlantikwall nocturnal, 19th August
04
08
New single/video Gary Numan ‘My Name Is Ruin' online!

Concert reviews

28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller
26
06
KRYONIX, SYNTHATTACK, BLEIB MODERN, WHISPERING SONS, THE VISION BLEAK
Zondag 4 juni
09
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
08
DICEPEOPLE
'Electro with an Industrial/Gothic edge and broad range of other influences'
09
08
SEEMING
I'm trying to paint a world where humans are not the stars or the narrators—where it's not about us at all.
06
08
THE MESCALINE BABIES
'I love Christian death, but their first album is nearly 40 years old, we should try to evolve the concept.'
03
08
LIQUID TRAUMA
OUR MEMORIES OF A BETTER PAST ARE OFTEN FAKE
31
07
DEAD BORN BABIES
'They are about the livings who spoke us out. We adapted all the haunted and horror idioms to make them synonyms of “politicians”, “Global corporations”, “society “'

PHOTOS

28
07
EISBRECHER
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
COMBICHRIST
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
LETZTE INSTANZ
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
HOCICO
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
DAS ICH
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
STAHLMANN
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany
28
07
VNV NATION
Amphi Festival, Köln, Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
PSY'AVIAH
Reboot Reset Relay
17
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Virus
17
08
DIE KRUPPS
Nazis Auf Speed
15
08
VIRGIN IN VEIL
Of Tears and Poisons
14
08
JAMBINAI
They Keep Silence
13
08
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Exorcism
12
08
AEVERIUM
Hunted