tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

22/12/2015 : WHISPERING SONS - Endless Party

WHISPERING SONS

Endless Party

MusicCassette
Post PunkShoegaze

[92/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
22/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The best thing that can happen to a band is that it acquires its reputation by word-of-mouth advertising. And yes, if in recent times one Belgian band succeed to do so, then that is undoubtedly the Limburg post-punk band Whispering Sons. Everyone has some post-punk legend in mind to compare this quintet with, but the final conclusion remains the same: everyone is deeply impressed!

Their demo got many good reviews on several music sites, and now Endless Party is released as a tape on Wool-E-Tapes. Six raw post-punk songs in which you hear shoegaze guitars and cold wave drums that seem to come from Laurence Tolhurst, even if it is Sander Pelsmaekers who plays them.

Opener Shadow is a winner. A song with an 80's sound that not even sounds retro, guitar sounds packed in melancholy. You hear the wistful sounds of Echo & The Bunnymen and the guitars of Comsat Angels. The delicious lament by Fenne Kuppens grabs you by the neck. Midlife is another post-punk blast, but the real beauty is yet to come! We do respect for tape releases, but it is strange that a world song like Time "only" lands on a tape. The track hosts the finest sounds of early And Also The Trees, Modern Eon and also some White Lies. Brilliant, as we simply can’t find another word! The Night is again an energetic song, but the Whispering Sons' pearls seem to be the slower songs. Insights sounds pretty dramatic, Fenne’s typical voice is surrounded by a wall of sound that is created by the guitar lines of Kobe, the cold bass sound of Lander Paesen and the doomy keyboards by Sander Hermans. The tape finishes with The Wall that sounds as good as, say, Modern English.

Yes, there is no shortage of names to compare Whispering Sons with. And actually, it is totally unnecessary: Whispering Sons is the only name that matters! Hearing is believing!

Didier BECU
22/12/2015


NL

Het beste wat een band kan overkomen is dat hij naambekendheid verwerft door mond-tot-mondreclame. En jawel, als er recent één Vlaamse band daar gebruik van heeft gemaakt dan is dat ongetwijfeld de Limburgse postpunkformatie Whispering Sons. Iedereen heeft wel één of andere postpunklegende in gedachten om dit vijftal mee te vergelijken, maar de eindconclusie blijft steevast dezelfde: men is diep onder de indruk!

Na een demo die tal van goede besprekingen kreeg op diverse muzieksites, is er nu Endless Party, de taperelease op Wool-E-Tapes. Zes rauwe postpunksongs waarin je ook shoegazegitaren hoort en de ijskoude coldwavedrums die wel van Laurence Tolhurst lijken te komen, ook al is het Sander Pelsmaekers die achter de drumkit zit.

Met opener Shadow is het meteen raak. Een nummer met een 80's geluid dat niet eens retro klinkt, gitaargeweld verpakt in melancholie. Je hoort er de weemoed van Echo & The Bunnymen en de gitaren van Comsat Angels in. De heerlijke klaagzang van Fenne Kuppens heeft ons meteen bij het nekvel. Midlife is alweer zo’n postpunkknaller, maar de echte pracht moet nog komen! We hebben wel respect voor tapereleases, toch is het vreemd dat een wereldnummer als Time “slechts” op een tape belandt. Het nummer herbergt het mooiste van de vroegere And Also The Trees, Modern Eon en voor ons part ook White Lies. Briljant, een ander woord kunnen we echt niet verzinnen! The Night is opnieuw een energieke song, maar de parels vind je bij Whispering Sons in de tragere nummers. Insights klinkt dramatisch mooi, Fennes typische stem wordt omringd door een geluidsmuur van de gitaar van Kobe Lijnen, de kille bas van Lander Paesen en de doomy keyboards van Sander Hermans. De tape wordt mooi afgesloten door The Wall dat net zo lekker klinkt als pakweg Modern English.

Jawel, aan namen is er geen gebrek om Whispering Sons mee te vergelijken. En eigenlijk zijn die volstrekt overbodig: Whispering Sons is uiteindelijk de enige naam die telt! Horen is geloven!

Didier BECU
22/12/2015


 

Next reviews
FLESH & FELL • Eernegem, B52 (20/12/2015)
LIV KRISTINE • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
END OF THE DREAM • Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
BIMFEST 2015 • Antwerp, Zappa (18-19 December 2015)
BRITTA PIRKKO • The Best Of 2015
WILLIAM LIENARD • The Best of 2015
CAUSTIC • Industrial Music
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)
DIE NERVEN • Out
THE WORLD GOES POP • London, Tate Modern (until/tot 24/1/2016)

 

Other reviews from WHISPERING SONS
WHISPERING SONS • Image
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
WHISPERING SONS • Ghent, Kinky Star (23/12/2015)

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent
ORANJ SON • Psycho Disco Face
BLINDNESS • Wrapped In Plastic

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP

Music reviews

22
03
TINY FIGHTER
Tell Me
22
03
NEON ELECTRONICS
Apollo
21
03
ART DIKTATOR
Isola
20
03
LADYTRON
Ladytron
19
03
DER KLINKE
Decade
18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
03
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
Bone Machine | 31-Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s been 29 years since Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!
19
03
Just One Fix | Seventeen Years Since Ministry Unleashed Sphinctour
18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
03
EMBER TWIN
I Can't Turn You On
22
03
MYDGAR
We choose to go to the Moon
21
03
JO QUAIL
Gold
20
03
CLAN OF XYMOX
Clan Of Xymox - Vixen In Disguise (Official Video)
19
03
HANTE
Living In A French Movie
18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed