tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

22/12/2015 : WHISPERING SONS - Endless Party

WHISPERING SONS

Endless Party

MusicCassette
Post PunkShoegaze

[92/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
22/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The best thing that can happen to a band is that it acquires its reputation by word-of-mouth advertising. And yes, if in recent times one Belgian band succeed to do so, then that is undoubtedly the Limburg post-punk band Whispering Sons. Everyone has some post-punk legend in mind to compare this quintet with, but the final conclusion remains the same: everyone is deeply impressed!

Their demo got many good reviews on several music sites, and now Endless Party is released as a tape on Wool-E-Tapes. Six raw post-punk songs in which you hear shoegaze guitars and cold wave drums that seem to come from Laurence Tolhurst, even if it is Sander Pelsmaekers who plays them.

Opener Shadow is a winner. A song with an 80's sound that not even sounds retro, guitar sounds packed in melancholy. You hear the wistful sounds of Echo & The Bunnymen and the guitars of Comsat Angels. The delicious lament by Fenne Kuppens grabs you by the neck. Midlife is another post-punk blast, but the real beauty is yet to come! We do respect for tape releases, but it is strange that a world song like Time "only" lands on a tape. The track hosts the finest sounds of early And Also The Trees, Modern Eon and also some White Lies. Brilliant, as we simply can’t find another word! The Night is again an energetic song, but the Whispering Sons' pearls seem to be the slower songs. Insights sounds pretty dramatic, Fenne’s typical voice is surrounded by a wall of sound that is created by the guitar lines of Kobe, the cold bass sound of Lander Paesen and the doomy keyboards by Sander Hermans. The tape finishes with The Wall that sounds as good as, say, Modern English.

Yes, there is no shortage of names to compare Whispering Sons with. And actually, it is totally unnecessary: Whispering Sons is the only name that matters! Hearing is believing!

Didier BECU
22/12/2015


NL

Het beste wat een band kan overkomen is dat hij naambekendheid verwerft door mond-tot-mondreclame. En jawel, als er recent één Vlaamse band daar gebruik van heeft gemaakt dan is dat ongetwijfeld de Limburgse postpunkformatie Whispering Sons. Iedereen heeft wel één of andere postpunklegende in gedachten om dit vijftal mee te vergelijken, maar de eindconclusie blijft steevast dezelfde: men is diep onder de indruk!

Na een demo die tal van goede besprekingen kreeg op diverse muzieksites, is er nu Endless Party, de taperelease op Wool-E-Tapes. Zes rauwe postpunksongs waarin je ook shoegazegitaren hoort en de ijskoude coldwavedrums die wel van Laurence Tolhurst lijken te komen, ook al is het Sander Pelsmaekers die achter de drumkit zit.

Met opener Shadow is het meteen raak. Een nummer met een 80's geluid dat niet eens retro klinkt, gitaargeweld verpakt in melancholie. Je hoort er de weemoed van Echo & The Bunnymen en de gitaren van Comsat Angels in. De heerlijke klaagzang van Fenne Kuppens heeft ons meteen bij het nekvel. Midlife is alweer zo’n postpunkknaller, maar de echte pracht moet nog komen! We hebben wel respect voor tapereleases, toch is het vreemd dat een wereldnummer als Time “slechts” op een tape belandt. Het nummer herbergt het mooiste van de vroegere And Also The Trees, Modern Eon en voor ons part ook White Lies. Briljant, een ander woord kunnen we echt niet verzinnen! The Night is opnieuw een energieke song, maar de parels vind je bij Whispering Sons in de tragere nummers. Insights klinkt dramatisch mooi, Fennes typische stem wordt omringd door een geluidsmuur van de gitaar van Kobe Lijnen, de kille bas van Lander Paesen en de doomy keyboards van Sander Hermans. De tape wordt mooi afgesloten door The Wall dat net zo lekker klinkt als pakweg Modern English.

Jawel, aan namen is er geen gebrek om Whispering Sons mee te vergelijken. En eigenlijk zijn die volstrekt overbodig: Whispering Sons is uiteindelijk de enige naam die telt! Horen is geloven!

Didier BECU
22/12/2015


 

Next reviews
FLESH & FELL • Eernegem, B52 (20/12/2015)
LIV KRISTINE • Roeselare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
END OF THE DREAM • Roeslare, De Verlichte Geest (19/12/2015)
BIMFEST 2015 • Antwerp, Zappa (18-19 December 2015)
BRITTA PIRKKO • The Best Of 2015
WILLIAM LIENARD • The Best of 2015
CAUSTIC • Industrial Music
PURE BEAUTY • Pure Beauty (EP)
DIE NERVEN • Out
THE WORLD GOES POP • London, Tate Modern (until/tot 24/1/2016)

 

Other reviews from WHISPERING SONS
WHISPERING SONS • Image
WHISPERING SONS • BLACK EASTER 2016
WHISPERING SONS • Ghent, Kinky Star (23/12/2015)

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE KVB • Of Desire
DIIV • Is The Is Are
THE LUCID DREAM • The Lucid Dream

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp