tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/02/2016 : JOE JACKSON - Fast Forward

JOE JACKSON

Fast Forward

MusicCD
Pop

[85/100]   

EarMusic
05/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Joe Jackson had a long and erratic career. In the wake of the punk scene, it became clear that Jackson had much talent. This was reflected in his later work, and it was heartbreaking to see how he tried to break with hits like I'm the Man or Is She Really Going Out With Him?. The musician has an unstable mental health. Since some years he is at peace with itself and his environment, so we can enjoy his musical talent again.

Fast Forward is a poppy and accessible album with sixteen tracks, recorded in four different cities: New York, Amsterdam, New Orleans and his current residence Berlin. The first plan was to release them as four EPs, but eventually it became a full album.

There are a lot of irresistible melodies on this album. A Little Smile or If It Was not For You is Jackson at his best: lovely piano melody and elegant guitar work, presented as a pop song and complemented with cynical lyrics. See No Evil is a cover of Television and he gives the classic a new life. Far Away is a neo-classical kind of song that is sung by Mitchell Sink. Ethereal! Ode To Joy closes the album in a melancholic and graceful way.

Joe Jackson released one of his best pop albums ever. We had to wait a long time, but it was worth it. Those who like the compilation This Is It!, should definitely check out Fast Forward too.

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/02/2016


NL

Joe Jackson had een lange en grillige carrière. Reeds in de nasleep van de punk werd duidelijk dat hij meer in zich had. Dat bleek uit zijn latere werk, waarin hij soms wanhopig probeerde te breken met hits als I’m the Man of Is She Really Going Out With Him? Daarnaast heeft de man ook een labiele geestelijke gezondheid, wat hem geregeld parten speelde. Maar kijk, sedert een aantal jaren leeft hij in vrede met zichzelf en zijn omgeving waardoor we opnieuw van zijn muziektalent kunnen genieten.

Fast Forward is een poppy en toegankelijk album met maar liefst zestien tracks die telkens per vier in vier verschillende steden zijn opgenomen: New York, Amsterdam, New Orleans en zijn huidige woonplaats Berlijn. Het eerste plan was om ze als 4 ep’s uit te brengen, maar uiteindelijk werd het een volwaardig album.

Er staan heel wat onweerstaanbare melodieën op dit album, zoals A Little Smile of If It Wasn’t For You, waarin we hem op zijn best horen: lieftallige pianomelodietje en stijlvol gitaarwerk in een popsong is verpakt en vergezeld van een cynische of bijtende tekst. See No Evil is een cover van Television en hij geeft de song een nieuw leven. Prachtig gedaan. Far Away is een neoklassiekachtige song die wordt gezongen door Mitchell Sink. Een engelachtig nummer. Ode To Joy sluit het album melancholisch en gracieus af.

Joe Jackson levert één van zijn beste popalbums af. We hebben er lang op moeten wachten, maar het was het waard. Wie van zijn verzamelalbum This is It! houdt, moet beslist Fast Forward uitproberen.

.

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/02/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?