tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/02/2016 : JOE JACKSON - Fast Forward

JOE JACKSON

Fast Forward

MusicCD
Pop

[85/100]   

EarMusic
05/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Joe Jackson had a long and erratic career. In the wake of the punk scene, it became clear that Jackson had much talent. This was reflected in his later work, and it was heartbreaking to see how he tried to break with hits like I'm the Man or Is She Really Going Out With Him?. The musician has an unstable mental health. Since some years he is at peace with itself and his environment, so we can enjoy his musical talent again.

Fast Forward is a poppy and accessible album with sixteen tracks, recorded in four different cities: New York, Amsterdam, New Orleans and his current residence Berlin. The first plan was to release them as four EPs, but eventually it became a full album.

There are a lot of irresistible melodies on this album. A Little Smile or If It Was not For You is Jackson at his best: lovely piano melody and elegant guitar work, presented as a pop song and complemented with cynical lyrics. See No Evil is a cover of Television and he gives the classic a new life. Far Away is a neo-classical kind of song that is sung by Mitchell Sink. Ethereal! Ode To Joy closes the album in a melancholic and graceful way.

Joe Jackson released one of his best pop albums ever. We had to wait a long time, but it was worth it. Those who like the compilation This Is It!, should definitely check out Fast Forward too.

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/02/2016


NL

Joe Jackson had een lange en grillige carrière. Reeds in de nasleep van de punk werd duidelijk dat hij meer in zich had. Dat bleek uit zijn latere werk, waarin hij soms wanhopig probeerde te breken met hits als I’m the Man of Is She Really Going Out With Him? Daarnaast heeft de man ook een labiele geestelijke gezondheid, wat hem geregeld parten speelde. Maar kijk, sedert een aantal jaren leeft hij in vrede met zichzelf en zijn omgeving waardoor we opnieuw van zijn muziektalent kunnen genieten.

Fast Forward is een poppy en toegankelijk album met maar liefst zestien tracks die telkens per vier in vier verschillende steden zijn opgenomen: New York, Amsterdam, New Orleans en zijn huidige woonplaats Berlijn. Het eerste plan was om ze als 4 ep’s uit te brengen, maar uiteindelijk werd het een volwaardig album.

Er staan heel wat onweerstaanbare melodieën op dit album, zoals A Little Smile of If It Wasn’t For You, waarin we hem op zijn best horen: lieftallige pianomelodietje en stijlvol gitaarwerk in een popsong is verpakt en vergezeld van een cynische of bijtende tekst. See No Evil is een cover van Television en hij geeft de song een nieuw leven. Prachtig gedaan. Far Away is een neoklassiekachtige song die wordt gezongen door Mitchell Sink. Een engelachtig nummer. Ode To Joy sluit het album melancholisch en gracieus af.

Joe Jackson levert één van zijn beste popalbums af. We hebben er lang op moeten wachten, maar het was het waard. Wie van zijn verzamelalbum This is It! houdt, moet beslist Fast Forward uitproberen.

.

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/02/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death