tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/02/2016 : JOE JACKSON - Fast Forward

JOE JACKSON

Fast Forward

MusicCD
Pop

[85/100]   

EarMusic
05/02/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Joe Jackson had a long and erratic career. In the wake of the punk scene, it became clear that Jackson had much talent. This was reflected in his later work, and it was heartbreaking to see how he tried to break with hits like I'm the Man or Is She Really Going Out With Him?. The musician has an unstable mental health. Since some years he is at peace with itself and his environment, so we can enjoy his musical talent again.

Fast Forward is a poppy and accessible album with sixteen tracks, recorded in four different cities: New York, Amsterdam, New Orleans and his current residence Berlin. The first plan was to release them as four EPs, but eventually it became a full album.

There are a lot of irresistible melodies on this album. A Little Smile or If It Was not For You is Jackson at his best: lovely piano melody and elegant guitar work, presented as a pop song and complemented with cynical lyrics. See No Evil is a cover of Television and he gives the classic a new life. Far Away is a neo-classical kind of song that is sung by Mitchell Sink. Ethereal! Ode To Joy closes the album in a melancholic and graceful way.

Joe Jackson released one of his best pop albums ever. We had to wait a long time, but it was worth it. Those who like the compilation This Is It!, should definitely check out Fast Forward too.

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/02/2016


NL

Joe Jackson had een lange en grillige carrière. Reeds in de nasleep van de punk werd duidelijk dat hij meer in zich had. Dat bleek uit zijn latere werk, waarin hij soms wanhopig probeerde te breken met hits als I’m the Man of Is She Really Going Out With Him? Daarnaast heeft de man ook een labiele geestelijke gezondheid, wat hem geregeld parten speelde. Maar kijk, sedert een aantal jaren leeft hij in vrede met zichzelf en zijn omgeving waardoor we opnieuw van zijn muziektalent kunnen genieten.

Fast Forward is een poppy en toegankelijk album met maar liefst zestien tracks die telkens per vier in vier verschillende steden zijn opgenomen: New York, Amsterdam, New Orleans en zijn huidige woonplaats Berlijn. Het eerste plan was om ze als 4 ep’s uit te brengen, maar uiteindelijk werd het een volwaardig album.

Er staan heel wat onweerstaanbare melodieën op dit album, zoals A Little Smile of If It Wasn’t For You, waarin we hem op zijn best horen: lieftallige pianomelodietje en stijlvol gitaarwerk in een popsong is verpakt en vergezeld van een cynische of bijtende tekst. See No Evil is een cover van Television en hij geeft de song een nieuw leven. Prachtig gedaan. Far Away is een neoklassiekachtige song die wordt gezongen door Mitchell Sink. Een engelachtig nummer. Ode To Joy sluit het album melancholisch en gracieus af.

Joe Jackson levert één van zijn beste popalbums af. We hebben er lang op moeten wachten, maar het was het waard. Wie van zijn verzamelalbum This is It! houdt, moet beslist Fast Forward uitproberen.

.

Wim GUILLEMYN
05/02/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room