tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/04/2014 : FATAL CASUALTIES - SITM remixes

FATAL CASUALTIES

SITM remixes

MusicCD
Cold WaveDark WaveIndustrial

[80/100]   

Seja Records
02/04/2014, Chris KONINGS

Fatal Casualties, a band that was active between 1986 and 1991, has resurfaced since 2010. I never heard of them and I guess the same goes for you. If not, well then I take of my proverbial hat... They are a duo, Stefan Ljungdahl & Ivan Hirvonen and in 2012 they released their first EP "Paria" on the recent label Seja Records.

Since december they have a new EP, two songs and three remixes by none other then Traffic AM, Nothing But Noise and Beate Bartel. Impressive, since Nothing But Noise is none other than Daniel B. (Front242) and Beate used to be member of Liaisons Dangereuses. The single edit sounds a bit like an electro version of Virgin Prunes, haunting and expressive vocals with feverish rhythms. "Laika" is the b-side, an ominous film noir soundtrack, think Clock DVA (Advantage).

The remixes then, Traffic AM sticks with movie themes but now its a slow and sickening bass guitar, like a horror tune right before the slashing begins. I like the howling vocals, they really did a good job setting the atmosphere. Then it's Daniel B. and its a long track, again slowly developing from a minimal horror show into a moving electrotrack. Beate Bartel's version is even more subdued, but still good and compelling.

No crowdpleasers or floorfillers here, just a few different approaches and most of all good music! Nice stuff from Seja.

Chris KONINGS
02/04/2014


 

Next reviews
JACKSON FIREBIRD • Cock Rock
STUART BLUMBERG • Thanks For Sharing
NEURO-SENTENCE • The Shores of Anhedonia
JOEL & ETHAN COEN • Inside llewyn Davis
SOFT METALS • Lenses
WALLACE WORSLEY • The hunchback of Notre Dame
TEMPLES • live at the Botanique, 31/3/2014, Brussels, Belgium
ESSENCE OF MIND • Hate EP
TED V. MIKELS • The Corpse Grinders
[PRODUCT] • Shallow Graves

 

Other reviews from FATAL CASUALTIES
FATAL CASUALTIES • Psalm
FATAL CASUALTIES • Paria

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + DARK WAVE + INDUSTRIAL
AUTOPSIE D’UNE OMBRE • “Premier EP Éponyme”
FANTASTIQUE NIGHTS • Mona Mur & En Esch; Katz Kab; Le Baron 5

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
BLAC KOLOR • Nephi
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
XTORT • Nothing is real
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid