tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing

STUART BLUMBERG

Thanks For Sharing

Movie
Romantic

[63/100]   

Paradiso
02/04/2014, Didier BECU

EN

People who love stories about sex addicts can't complain these days if it comes to movies. We still remember the excellent, but heavy Shame and the funny (and brilliantas well) Don Jon. Now there's Thanks for Sharing joining the gang: a nice drama that floats between those two. The director is one Stuart Blumberg. This movie might be his debut as director, but he was also the writer of The Kids Are All Right from 2011 that got nominated for an Oscar. With such a title on your cv, it becomes easier to catch big names for your release. Unfortunately enough this movie never got its deserved attention though, and that's a pity.


Just like alcoholics do, sex addicts also gather in groups. Mike (Tim Robbins) can explain everything in a perfect way, but he's not able to help his own drug addicted son. Adam (Mark Ruffalo) is already "clean" for 5 years, but the old demons show up again when he falls in love with Phoebe (Gwyneth Paltrow). Plus, how do you tell your lover that you used to be a sex addict? Things are even getting worse with Neil (Josh Gad), this medic thinks it's a common thing to film with a camera what's happening underneath the skirt of his boss.


You never feel one moment that Thanks For Sharing is big cinema, but that's not a problem though. We even want to bet more than one beer that soon this movie will disappear in the great unknown, but that doesn't take away the fact that the result is much better than most of his Hollywood-contenders. Blumberg never forgets he's directing a Hollywood-movie, and you really feel that the forced happy end is undermining the end result. Nah good, at least the acting is more than decent. Nobody will be surprised that P!nk who makes her acting debut here is playing an oversexed bitch. In case you're wondering: she can act a little. Of course there is the indestructible Tim Robbins too.


Real sex addicts will probably recognize themselves more in Shame by Steve McQueen, but that doesn’t mean that Thanks For Sharing isn’t good though. Give it a change!

Didier BECU
02/04/2014


NL

Liefhebbers van verhalen over seksverslaving werden de laatste maanden ruimschoots op hun wenken bediend in de filmwereld. Het loodzware Shame en het luchtige Don Jon liggen ons nog vers in het geheugen en nu heb je ook Thanks for Sharing: een tragikomedie die ergens tussen deze twee zweeft. De regisseur van dienst is niet meteen de eerste de beste. Thanks For Sharing is weliswaar het regiedebuut van Stuart Blumberg, maar hij verdiende eerder zijn pluimen als schrijver van The Kids Are All Right uit 2011 die voor een Oscar werd genomineerd. Met zo’n titel op je palmares is het natuurlijk heel wat gemakkelijker om enkele grote namen te strikken. De meest opvallende verschijning is wellicht die van de excentrieke zangeres P!nk die hier haar acteerdebuut maakt. De film brak uiteindelijk maar weinig potten, en dat is een heel klein beetje jammer.


Net zoals alcoholici dat doen, vergaderen ook seksverslaafden in zelfhulpgroepen. Mike (Tim Robbins) kan het wel allemaal goed uitleggen, zelf slaagt hij er niet in om zijn aan drugs verslaafde zoon op te vangen. Adam (Mark Ruffalo) is al vijf jaar van zijn verslaving verlost, maar als hij halsoverkop verliefd wordt op Phoebe (Gwyneth Paltrow) duiken de oude demonen opnieuw op. En tja, hoe vertel je je nieuwe geliefde dat je ooit aan seks verslaafd was en alles ving wat voor het grijpen lag? Met Neil (Josh Gad) is het nog erger gesteld, deze verpleger vindt het de normaalste zaak van de wereld dat hij met een verborgen videocamera onder de rok van zijn bazin gaat filmen.


Op geen enkel moment heb je het gevoel dat Thanks For Sharing grootse cinema is. We durven er zelfs meer dan één pintje op te verwedden dat dit werk vliegensvlug in de vergetelheid zal belanden, desalniettemin is deze prent beter dan de meeste Hollywoodiaanse tragikomedies. Blumberg kan het niet laten om het hele verhaal met een geforceerde happy end te beëindigen. Op zich is dat niet zo erg omdat dit minpunt ruimschoots wordt opgevangen door degelijke vertolkingen. Het zal wellicht niemand verbazen dat P!nk de rol van oversekste bitch vertolkt. Voor wie het zich zou afvragen: ze bewijst dat ze (een beetje) kan acteren. Natuurlijk is er ook nog de onverwoestbare Tim Robbins wiens carrière meer en meer in het slop raakt.


Echte seksverslaafden zullen zichzelf wellicht meer in Shame van Steve McQueen herkennen, dat betekent evenwel niet dat Thanks For Sharing geen leuke film zou zijn. Integendeel. Dankzij de knappe vertolkingen stijgt deze tragikomedie zelfs boven de middelmaat uit. Een kansje gunnen is dus de boodschap.

Didier BECU
02/04/2014


02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing 02/04/2014 : STUART BLUMBERG - Thanks For Sharing

Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'
11
04
Celtic Circle Productions founder Alfred Kaenders past away...

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure
14
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Push
13
04
MILA MAR
Das steinerne Kind
12
04
ATTRITION
Silent Night
11
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra