tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

14/04/2015 : CLAUDIO FAH - Northmen - A Viking Saga

CLAUDIO FAH

Northmen - A Viking Saga

Movie
Action

[50/100]   

Splendid Films
14/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps in the wake of the wildly popular Fox series The Vikings, there is now a feature film about the Vikings. Probably you will not find any people that is treated in such a steroetype way as the Vikings, and the Swiss director Claudio Fäh reinforces that image in Northmen: A Viking Saga. It is obvious that the director of Sniper: Reloaded (no, we do not know that one either) and Hollow Man 2 had not a whit of interest in the real history of those bloodthirsty men. A wardrobe with some Viking appliances, a generous portion of violence, a weak script and a low budget should ensure that this film gets the attention of the Games Of Thrones-fan, at least the fans who are easily satisfied because Northmen: A Viking Saga is just an enjoyable adventure picture that you can hardly call a movie.

A group of Vikings under the leadership of Asbjörn ends up in a storm and strands with a boat on the coast of Alba (now Scotland). They realize that they have landed on enemy territory and therefore they want to return to their safe haven in Danelagh. Of course this is not a trip without danger, because the king of Alba sends his most feared mercenaries after them.

Actually, you already would be able to form an image of the film without seeing it. Fäh indeed uses all the clichés, and his film could actually come from the 90's. The actors are clearly selected for their muscles and the dialogues can be imagined by anyone. And yet, it is precisely that childlike innocence that makes Northmen: A Viking Saga enjoyable. Northmen: A Viking Saga is now out on DVD and Blu-ray via Splendid.

Didier BECU
14/04/2015


NL

Wellicht in het kielzog van de immens populaire Fox-reeks The Vikings, is er nu een speelfilm over de Noormannen. Waarschijnlijk vind je geen enkel volk dat zo stereotiep wordt behandeld als de Vikingen, en de Zwitserse regisseur Claudio Fäh doet daar in Northmen: A Viking Saga een mooi schepje bovenop. Het is overduidelijk dat de regisseur van Sniper: Reloaded (neen, wij kennen hem ook niet) en Hollow Man 2 geen sikkepit interesse had in de echte geschiedenis van deze bloeddorstige mannen. Een klerenkast met Vikingattributen, een flinke portie geweld, een mager script en een laag budget moeten ervoor zorgen dat deze film de aandacht van de Games Of Thrones-fan krijgt, ten minste van fans die de lat niet al te hoog leggen omdat Northmen: A Viking Saga gewoon een genietbare avonturenprent is die je eigenlijk nauwelijks een film kan noemen.

Een groep Vikingen onder leiding van Asbjörn komt in een storm terecht waardoor hun boot op de kust van Alba (het huidige Schotland) strandt. Ze beseffen dat ze op vijandelijk gebied zijn terechtgekomen en willen daarom terug naar hun veilige thuishaven in Danelagh. Natuurlijk is dit geen tocht zonder gevaren, want de koning van Alba stuurt zijn meest gevreesde huurlingen achter hun aan.

Eigenlijk zou je je nu al een beeld moeten kunnen vormen van de film zonder hem te hebben gezien. Fäh schuwt inderdaad de clichés niet, en zijn film kon eigenlijk uit de jaren 90 komen. De acteurs zijn duidelijk geselecteerd voor hun spieren en de dialogen kan iedereen bedenken. En toch is het net deze kinderlijke onschuld die Northmen: A Viking Saga genietbaar maakt. Van filmkunst is er weinig sprake, maar wie gewoon op zoek is naar wat hersenloos avontuur (soms moet dat kunnen), zal zich misschien ergeren aan de ondermaatse vertolkingen, maar zich niet vervelen. Voor de liefhebbers is Northmen: A Viking Saga nu uit op dvd en Blu-ray via Splendid.

Didier BECU
14/04/2015


14/04/2015 : CLAUDIO FAH - Northmen - A Viking Saga 14/04/2015 : CLAUDIO FAH - Northmen - A Viking Saga 14/04/2015 : CLAUDIO FAH - Northmen - A Viking Saga 14/04/2015 : CLAUDIO FAH - Northmen - A Viking Saga 14/04/2015 : CLAUDIO FAH - Northmen - A Viking Saga 14/04/2015 : CLAUDIO FAH - Northmen - A Viking Saga 14/04/2015 : CLAUDIO FAH - Northmen - A Viking Saga 14/04/2015 : CLAUDIO FAH - Northmen - A Viking Saga

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design