tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/06/2015 : FFS - Franz Ferdinand & Sparks

FFS

Franz Ferdinand & Sparks

MusicCD
IndiePost Punk

[75/100]   

Domino Records
25/06/2015, Paul PLEDGER

There was this Scottish art-rock outfit and an American operatic-pop duo who bumped into each other and made an album. After a few raised eyebrows and doubtful grimaces, that album was eventually acclaimed by critics and fans alike.

And that's as good a punchline as you're going to get because, ffs, FFS is really rather engaging, both for those old enough to remember Franz Ferdinand's arrival and older still to recall Chaplin-tached Ron and curly-permed brother Russell trilling their way through the most eccentric theatrics on seventies' TV. This Town Ain't Big Enough For The Both Of Us? Amazingly, it appears so.

Right from the off, FFS brims with kitsch and candour in equal measure, a bright, breezy and bubbly concoction of hi-energy indie-disco and flamboyant look-at-me art-pop that avoids the obvious band foibles - y'know, chin-stroking earnest lyrics or flouncy synth-operettas that both slip into their respective repertoires occasionally. Nowt wrong with that you might say but spread over a double album, well you might have been reaching for your trusty sawn-off.

As it is, side one (OK, the first four songs digital kids) are as pin-sharp as you'd imagine with Johnny Delusional and the wittily-titled Call Girl which features many a quotable one-liner - "I gave up blow and Adderall for you/ So I'd have enough dough to spend on you" being just an example. Supergroup FFS dress up paranoia in cotton-candy beats on Save Me From Myself, pack an element of comedy into The Man Without a Tan's musical trousers and Piss Off is a heartened plea to "Tell everybody to piss off tonight".

The arch Collaborations Don't Work couldn't be more wrong with its suggestive moniker while Things I Won't Get is a self-effacing list of untouchable shitnaks and the line "...when I see you lying by my side, I understand you well...". Aw, bless.

Not all of FFS should be here - the likes of Police Encounters and So Desu Ne are a bit too twee on first listen, but head to the four extra vinyl tracks and you get a quartet of less frenetic examples of the FFS oeuvre with mixed results. Try and find the sixteen track option, regardless of format.

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
25/06/2015


Music reviews

23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live
14
08
PETER GUNDRY
V Ö L U R

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo