tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/06/2015 : ATARAXIE - Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)

ATARAXIE

Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom

[86/100]   

Weird Truth Productions
24/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French extreme doom/death metal band Ataraxie released 10 years ago this album and celebrate that birthday. The word Ataraxia was used by the Greeks to describe when someone has no troubles. When you hear this band, you can’t say it sounds like that.

Slow Transcending Agony was their first official album and it was well received by the critics. Since then they released more albums and with every release they musically have grown a bit. So in a way, this album was the starting point for their original doom sound. They combine fast dark metal with slowly doom.

But this album still sounds good. A very slow opener (Step into the Gloom) followed by the fantastic Funeral Hymn. Just when you think by that it will be slow, we get some nice breaks. L’ Ataraxie is a nice piece of 12 minutes. Every song lasts between 9 and 12 minutes, but you will never lose the attention. There is excellent guitar work, the vocals are heavy but with variation, also the drums are splendid.

This edition will be released on 1000 copies by the Weird Truth label and will include an exclusive bonus: a cover of The Tree of Life and Death by the Australian band diSEMBOWELEMENT. Not for everyone, that’s for sure, but a tip for lovers of doom.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/06/2015


NL

 De Franse extreme doom /death metal band Ataraxie bracht 10 jaar geleden hun eerste officiële album uit. Dit willen ze vieren met de geremasterde heruitgave daarvan. Bij de oude Grieken betekende ‘Ataraxia’ dat je je in een staat bevindt waarin je geen zorgen hebt. Bij het horen van deze band is dat echter het laatste waaraan je denkt.

Slow Transcending Agony werd bij zijn release goed onthaald. Sindsdien zijn ze muzikaal nog gegroeid waardoor dit album dus een beetje aan de basis van hun latere carrière lag. Deze originele doom band combineert ritmische dark metal met trage en logge doom, vandaag nog meer dan tien jaar terug en met meer variatie.

Dit album klinkt nog altijd geweldig en episch. Van de trage opener (Step Into the Gloom) gevolgd door het fantastische Funeral Hymn. Wanneer je bij deze laatste denkt dat het te sloom wordt, komen er tempowissels. L’ Ataraxie is een mooi werkstukje van 12 minuten. Elke song duurt ergens tussen 9 en 12 minuten, toch verlies je nergens de aandacht. De rifjes zijn goed geplaatst en er is puik gitaarwerk. De stem is uitstekend: heavy,met veel afwisseling en ook een pluim voor de drums die de songs tot hun recht laten komen.

Deze uitgave bestaat uit 1000 gelimiteerde digipacks die door het Weird Truth label wordt uitgebracht. De bonus is een cover van The Tree of Life and Death van de Australische band diSEMBOWELEMENT. Niet geschikt voor het grote publiek, maar voor liefhebbers van dit genre.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/06/2015


Music reviews

25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night
20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
04
Dive releases Let Me In 12' vinyl on Out Of Line
25
04
Suicide Commando returns with a hard-hitting club EP release. “Death Will Find You”!
24
04
Rummelsnuff releases double album / best of - “Salzig schmeckt der Wind”
23
04
The Mexican-German band Rabia Sorda has recorded its hardest album to date “The World Ends Today
21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
04
GUNMAKER
Trust Me Or Lie
26
04
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
25
04
DIVE
Bloodmoney
24
04
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN
Lips Like Sugar
23
04
HOW TO DESTROY ANGELS
The Space In Between
22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos