tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/06/2015 : ATARAXIE - Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)

ATARAXIE

Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom

[86/100]   

Weird Truth Productions
24/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French extreme doom/death metal band Ataraxie released 10 years ago this album and celebrate that birthday. The word Ataraxia was used by the Greeks to describe when someone has no troubles. When you hear this band, you can’t say it sounds like that.

Slow Transcending Agony was their first official album and it was well received by the critics. Since then they released more albums and with every release they musically have grown a bit. So in a way, this album was the starting point for their original doom sound. They combine fast dark metal with slowly doom.

But this album still sounds good. A very slow opener (Step into the Gloom) followed by the fantastic Funeral Hymn. Just when you think by that it will be slow, we get some nice breaks. L’ Ataraxie is a nice piece of 12 minutes. Every song lasts between 9 and 12 minutes, but you will never lose the attention. There is excellent guitar work, the vocals are heavy but with variation, also the drums are splendid.

This edition will be released on 1000 copies by the Weird Truth label and will include an exclusive bonus: a cover of The Tree of Life and Death by the Australian band diSEMBOWELEMENT. Not for everyone, that’s for sure, but a tip for lovers of doom.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/06/2015


NL

 De Franse extreme doom /death metal band Ataraxie bracht 10 jaar geleden hun eerste officiële album uit. Dit willen ze vieren met de geremasterde heruitgave daarvan. Bij de oude Grieken betekende ‘Ataraxia’ dat je je in een staat bevindt waarin je geen zorgen hebt. Bij het horen van deze band is dat echter het laatste waaraan je denkt.

Slow Transcending Agony werd bij zijn release goed onthaald. Sindsdien zijn ze muzikaal nog gegroeid waardoor dit album dus een beetje aan de basis van hun latere carrière lag. Deze originele doom band combineert ritmische dark metal met trage en logge doom, vandaag nog meer dan tien jaar terug en met meer variatie.

Dit album klinkt nog altijd geweldig en episch. Van de trage opener (Step Into the Gloom) gevolgd door het fantastische Funeral Hymn. Wanneer je bij deze laatste denkt dat het te sloom wordt, komen er tempowissels. L’ Ataraxie is een mooi werkstukje van 12 minuten. Elke song duurt ergens tussen 9 en 12 minuten, toch verlies je nergens de aandacht. De rifjes zijn goed geplaatst en er is puik gitaarwerk. De stem is uitstekend: heavy,met veel afwisseling en ook een pluim voor de drums die de songs tot hun recht laten komen.

Deze uitgave bestaat uit 1000 gelimiteerde digipacks die door het Weird Truth label wordt uitgebracht. De bonus is een cover van The Tree of Life and Death van de Australische band diSEMBOWELEMENT. Niet geschikt voor het grote publiek, maar voor liefhebbers van dit genre.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/06/2015


Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me