tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/06/2015 : ATARAXIE - Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)

ATARAXIE

Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom

[86/100]   

Weird Truth Productions
24/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French extreme doom/death metal band Ataraxie released 10 years ago this album and celebrate that birthday. The word Ataraxia was used by the Greeks to describe when someone has no troubles. When you hear this band, you can’t say it sounds like that.

Slow Transcending Agony was their first official album and it was well received by the critics. Since then they released more albums and with every release they musically have grown a bit. So in a way, this album was the starting point for their original doom sound. They combine fast dark metal with slowly doom.

But this album still sounds good. A very slow opener (Step into the Gloom) followed by the fantastic Funeral Hymn. Just when you think by that it will be slow, we get some nice breaks. L’ Ataraxie is a nice piece of 12 minutes. Every song lasts between 9 and 12 minutes, but you will never lose the attention. There is excellent guitar work, the vocals are heavy but with variation, also the drums are splendid.

This edition will be released on 1000 copies by the Weird Truth label and will include an exclusive bonus: a cover of The Tree of Life and Death by the Australian band diSEMBOWELEMENT. Not for everyone, that’s for sure, but a tip for lovers of doom.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/06/2015


NL

 De Franse extreme doom /death metal band Ataraxie bracht 10 jaar geleden hun eerste officiële album uit. Dit willen ze vieren met de geremasterde heruitgave daarvan. Bij de oude Grieken betekende ‘Ataraxia’ dat je je in een staat bevindt waarin je geen zorgen hebt. Bij het horen van deze band is dat echter het laatste waaraan je denkt.

Slow Transcending Agony werd bij zijn release goed onthaald. Sindsdien zijn ze muzikaal nog gegroeid waardoor dit album dus een beetje aan de basis van hun latere carrière lag. Deze originele doom band combineert ritmische dark metal met trage en logge doom, vandaag nog meer dan tien jaar terug en met meer variatie.

Dit album klinkt nog altijd geweldig en episch. Van de trage opener (Step Into the Gloom) gevolgd door het fantastische Funeral Hymn. Wanneer je bij deze laatste denkt dat het te sloom wordt, komen er tempowissels. L’ Ataraxie is een mooi werkstukje van 12 minuten. Elke song duurt ergens tussen 9 en 12 minuten, toch verlies je nergens de aandacht. De rifjes zijn goed geplaatst en er is puik gitaarwerk. De stem is uitstekend: heavy,met veel afwisseling en ook een pluim voor de drums die de songs tot hun recht laten komen.

Deze uitgave bestaat uit 1000 gelimiteerde digipacks die door het Weird Truth label wordt uitgebracht. De bonus is een cover van The Tree of Life and Death van de Australische band diSEMBOWELEMENT. Niet geschikt voor het grote publiek, maar voor liefhebbers van dit genre.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/06/2015


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna