tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/06/2015 : ATARAXIE - Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)

ATARAXIE

Slow Transcending Agony (10 year anniversary release)

MusicCD
Death MetalDoom

[86/100]   

Weird Truth Productions
24/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The French extreme doom/death metal band Ataraxie released 10 years ago this album and celebrate that birthday. The word Ataraxia was used by the Greeks to describe when someone has no troubles. When you hear this band, you can’t say it sounds like that.

Slow Transcending Agony was their first official album and it was well received by the critics. Since then they released more albums and with every release they musically have grown a bit. So in a way, this album was the starting point for their original doom sound. They combine fast dark metal with slowly doom.

But this album still sounds good. A very slow opener (Step into the Gloom) followed by the fantastic Funeral Hymn. Just when you think by that it will be slow, we get some nice breaks. L’ Ataraxie is a nice piece of 12 minutes. Every song lasts between 9 and 12 minutes, but you will never lose the attention. There is excellent guitar work, the vocals are heavy but with variation, also the drums are splendid.

This edition will be released on 1000 copies by the Weird Truth label and will include an exclusive bonus: a cover of The Tree of Life and Death by the Australian band diSEMBOWELEMENT. Not for everyone, that’s for sure, but a tip for lovers of doom.

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/06/2015


NL

 De Franse extreme doom /death metal band Ataraxie bracht 10 jaar geleden hun eerste officiële album uit. Dit willen ze vieren met de geremasterde heruitgave daarvan. Bij de oude Grieken betekende ‘Ataraxia’ dat je je in een staat bevindt waarin je geen zorgen hebt. Bij het horen van deze band is dat echter het laatste waaraan je denkt.

Slow Transcending Agony werd bij zijn release goed onthaald. Sindsdien zijn ze muzikaal nog gegroeid waardoor dit album dus een beetje aan de basis van hun latere carrière lag. Deze originele doom band combineert ritmische dark metal met trage en logge doom, vandaag nog meer dan tien jaar terug en met meer variatie.

Dit album klinkt nog altijd geweldig en episch. Van de trage opener (Step Into the Gloom) gevolgd door het fantastische Funeral Hymn. Wanneer je bij deze laatste denkt dat het te sloom wordt, komen er tempowissels. L’ Ataraxie is een mooi werkstukje van 12 minuten. Elke song duurt ergens tussen 9 en 12 minuten, toch verlies je nergens de aandacht. De rifjes zijn goed geplaatst en er is puik gitaarwerk. De stem is uitstekend: heavy,met veel afwisseling en ook een pluim voor de drums die de songs tot hun recht laten komen.

Deze uitgave bestaat uit 1000 gelimiteerde digipacks die door het Weird Truth label wordt uitgebracht. De bonus is een cover van The Tree of Life and Death van de Australische band diSEMBOWELEMENT. Niet geschikt voor het grote publiek, maar voor liefhebbers van dit genre.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
24/06/2015


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem