tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/10/2015 : MAFF - Maff

MAFF

Maff

MusicCD (EP)
Alternative RockIndieShoegaze

[80/100]   

Self-released
15/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A Chilean alternative rock band that makes shoegaze, post punk/rock and grunge. Yes, it exists and the sound can be situated between Interpol and Ride. Even though I do not know much about it, I don’t hear any Chilean influences.

All the songs were written and recorded in their own studio which they call 'The Lab'. Opener Act One is more like a hypnotic instrumental. The second song Linger Around has vocals, but also the same approach. In Walking on Fire we hear some post punk and wave guitars. The vocals sound like in the other songs: a bit hazy…

The promo also has a radio edit of this song, a version that is more suitable as a single. Not that it's so much different from the original, but it sounds much more direct. Million Year Picnic has a true garage rock/punk sound and the vocals are completely different. The sound reminiscent of The Jesus and The Mary Chain or My Bloody Valentine. You is a wonderful track like only Dinosaur Jnr. can make it.

Eight songs plus a radio edit of Walking on Fire make this EP almost like a full CD. It sometimes sounds a bit rough, but illustrates their potential. Welcome to Chilean rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/10/2015


NL

Een Chileense alternatieve rockband die shoegaze, post punk/rock en grunge maakt. Jawel, en z'n geluid kan je tussen Interpol en Ride situeren. Ook al weet ik er niet zo veel over, hoor ik toch niet meteen Chileense invloeden.

Alle liedjes zijn geschreven en opgenomen in hun eigen studio die ze ‘The Lab’ noemen. Openingsnummer Act One is eerder een hypnotisch instrumentaaltje. De tweede song Linger Around heeft vocals, maar ook dezelfde aanpak. In Walking on Fire horen we wat meer postpunk en wave klinkende gitaren. De zang klinkt zoals op de andere nummers: wat mistig, wazig…

Op de promo staat er tevens een radio-edit van dit nummer, een versie die meer geschikt is als single. Niet dat die zo veel verschilt van het origineel, maar hij klinkt veel directer. Million Year Picnic is echte garagerock/punk en de vocalen klinken compleet anders. Het geluid dat doet denken aan The Jesus and The Mary Chain of My Bloody Valentine. You is een heerlijke track zoals alleen Dinosaur Jnr. die kan maken.

Acht nummers en daarbij nog eens de radio-edit van Walking on Fire maken van deze EP bijna een volwaardige cd. Het klinkt soms wat rauw, maar toont heel goed hun potentieel. Welkom aan de Chileense rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/10/2015


15/10/2015 : MAFF - Maff 15/10/2015 : MAFF - Maff

 

Next reviews
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant
BORN FOR BLISS • Falling Back To Never
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YABANCI • Chaoss
SHE PAST AWAY • B52, Eernegem (11/10/2015)
SKINDRED • Volume
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk
ANGÉLINE • Back To Pike Place
MIKE KEIRSBILCK (CONSOULING SOUNDS/9000 RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
IN DEED • Everest - Expanded Edition
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
02
12
Jah Wobble & The Invaders Of The Heart announced 2020 UK Tour!
30
11
This month it’s been 32 years since Electro / EBM heads Nitzer Ebb released the single Murderous!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before
02
12
LEBANON HANOVER
Gallowdance