tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/10/2015 : MAFF - Maff

MAFF

Maff

MusicCD (EP)
Alternative RockIndieShoegaze

[80/100]   

Self-released
15/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A Chilean alternative rock band that makes shoegaze, post punk/rock and grunge. Yes, it exists and the sound can be situated between Interpol and Ride. Even though I do not know much about it, I don’t hear any Chilean influences.

All the songs were written and recorded in their own studio which they call 'The Lab'. Opener Act One is more like a hypnotic instrumental. The second song Linger Around has vocals, but also the same approach. In Walking on Fire we hear some post punk and wave guitars. The vocals sound like in the other songs: a bit hazy…

The promo also has a radio edit of this song, a version that is more suitable as a single. Not that it's so much different from the original, but it sounds much more direct. Million Year Picnic has a true garage rock/punk sound and the vocals are completely different. The sound reminiscent of The Jesus and The Mary Chain or My Bloody Valentine. You is a wonderful track like only Dinosaur Jnr. can make it.

Eight songs plus a radio edit of Walking on Fire make this EP almost like a full CD. It sometimes sounds a bit rough, but illustrates their potential. Welcome to Chilean rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/10/2015


NL

Een Chileense alternatieve rockband die shoegaze, post punk/rock en grunge maakt. Jawel, en z'n geluid kan je tussen Interpol en Ride situeren. Ook al weet ik er niet zo veel over, hoor ik toch niet meteen Chileense invloeden.

Alle liedjes zijn geschreven en opgenomen in hun eigen studio die ze ‘The Lab’ noemen. Openingsnummer Act One is eerder een hypnotisch instrumentaaltje. De tweede song Linger Around heeft vocals, maar ook dezelfde aanpak. In Walking on Fire horen we wat meer postpunk en wave klinkende gitaren. De zang klinkt zoals op de andere nummers: wat mistig, wazig…

Op de promo staat er tevens een radio-edit van dit nummer, een versie die meer geschikt is als single. Niet dat die zo veel verschilt van het origineel, maar hij klinkt veel directer. Million Year Picnic is echte garagerock/punk en de vocalen klinken compleet anders. Het geluid dat doet denken aan The Jesus and The Mary Chain of My Bloody Valentine. You is een heerlijke track zoals alleen Dinosaur Jnr. die kan maken.

Acht nummers en daarbij nog eens de radio-edit van Walking on Fire maken van deze EP bijna een volwaardige cd. Het klinkt soms wat rauw, maar toont heel goed hun potentieel. Welkom aan de Chileense rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/10/2015


15/10/2015 : MAFF - Maff 15/10/2015 : MAFF - Maff

 

Next reviews
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant
BORN FOR BLISS • Falling Back To Never
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YABANCI • Chaoss
SHE PAST AWAY • B52, Eernegem (11/10/2015)
SKINDRED • Volume
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk
ANGÉLINE • Back To Pike Place
MIKE KEIRSBILCK (CONSOULING SOUNDS/9000 RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
RIDE • This Is Not a Safe Place
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
IN DEED • Everest - Expanded Edition
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND & NICO
21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)