tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

15/10/2015 : MAFF - Maff

MAFF

Maff

MusicCD (EP)
Alternative RockIndieShoegaze

[80/100]   

Self-released
15/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A Chilean alternative rock band that makes shoegaze, post punk/rock and grunge. Yes, it exists and the sound can be situated between Interpol and Ride. Even though I do not know much about it, I don’t hear any Chilean influences.

All the songs were written and recorded in their own studio which they call 'The Lab'. Opener Act One is more like a hypnotic instrumental. The second song Linger Around has vocals, but also the same approach. In Walking on Fire we hear some post punk and wave guitars. The vocals sound like in the other songs: a bit hazy…

The promo also has a radio edit of this song, a version that is more suitable as a single. Not that it's so much different from the original, but it sounds much more direct. Million Year Picnic has a true garage rock/punk sound and the vocals are completely different. The sound reminiscent of The Jesus and The Mary Chain or My Bloody Valentine. You is a wonderful track like only Dinosaur Jnr. can make it.

Eight songs plus a radio edit of Walking on Fire make this EP almost like a full CD. It sometimes sounds a bit rough, but illustrates their potential. Welcome to Chilean rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/10/2015


NL

Een Chileense alternatieve rockband die shoegaze, post punk/rock en grunge maakt. Jawel, en z'n geluid kan je tussen Interpol en Ride situeren. Ook al weet ik er niet zo veel over, hoor ik toch niet meteen Chileense invloeden.

Alle liedjes zijn geschreven en opgenomen in hun eigen studio die ze ‘The Lab’ noemen. Openingsnummer Act One is eerder een hypnotisch instrumentaaltje. De tweede song Linger Around heeft vocals, maar ook dezelfde aanpak. In Walking on Fire horen we wat meer postpunk en wave klinkende gitaren. De zang klinkt zoals op de andere nummers: wat mistig, wazig…

Op de promo staat er tevens een radio-edit van dit nummer, een versie die meer geschikt is als single. Niet dat die zo veel verschilt van het origineel, maar hij klinkt veel directer. Million Year Picnic is echte garagerock/punk en de vocalen klinken compleet anders. Het geluid dat doet denken aan The Jesus and The Mary Chain of My Bloody Valentine. You is een heerlijke track zoals alleen Dinosaur Jnr. die kan maken.

Acht nummers en daarbij nog eens de radio-edit van Walking on Fire maken van deze EP bijna een volwaardige cd. Het klinkt soms wat rauw, maar toont heel goed hun potentieel. Welkom aan de Chileense rock!

Wim GUILLEMYN
15/10/2015


15/10/2015 : MAFF - Maff 15/10/2015 : MAFF - Maff

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination