tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/10/2015 : LUMINANCE - Sans Visage

LUMINANCE

Sans Visage

MusicCD
Dark ElectroMinimalNew wave

[82/100]   

Manic Depression
15/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The best tunes can be discovered in the dark catacombs of the music, it's a fact that probably will never disappear. Sans Visage by Luminance hasn’t been out of my CD-player during the last few days. You already might have heard the name, as this project of David-Alexandre Parquier (guitarist of Soror Dolorossa) is actually a discovery of Wool-E-Tapes, that released Icons & Dead Fears last year. And of course it was kind of written in the stars that their album would be released on the French label Manic Depression (the refuge of numerous goth bands).

During 36 minutes you hear excellent music, even if it is very difficult to stick a genre on it. Sometimes it's goth rock, and then it’s minimal synth wave. But whatever the label is, Luminance always has an 80"s sound, and even the best of it!

The Bleeding Eye is a brilliant electronic dirge, that floats between psychedelics and cold wave. After just ten seconds you will be addicted and it remains a challenge to not to keep on pressing that repeat button!

The Second Act is electro clash that has the rhythm of Front Line Assembly, but with the sadness of a Xymox song. Right, indeed a perfect thing!

The best track is The Grey, with oppressive dark lyrics, even if you need a magnifying glass to decipher the tiny lyrics in the booklet. If there exists a hit parade of dark tracks, then The Grey would adorn the first place for months, and yes, in the chorus you hear very well that David-Alexandre Parquier likes La Fête Triste by Trisomie 21.

If you like Weird-tunes, then you immediately have to move the laser to the sixth song because Conjure The Spell is grandiose wave.

Sans Visage is the perfect album for dark times. He who does not want to experience that, must be blind, it's up to you to decide whether you want to see it or not!

Didier BECU
15/10/2015


NL

De beste muziek ontdek je natuurlijk in de donkere catacomben, het is een gegeven dat wellicht nooit zal verdwijnen. Zo is Sans Visage van Luminance de laatste dagen niet uit mijn cd-speler verdwenen. De naam heb je zeker al eens gehoord, want dit project van David-Alexandre Parquier (de gitarist van Soror Dolorossa) is eigenlijk ook een beetje de ontdekking van Wool-E-Tapes dat vorig jaar Icons & Dead Fears uitbracht. En het stond natuurlijk ook een heel klein beetje in de sterren geschreven, dat hun cd zou worden uitgebracht op het Franse label Manic Depression (de toevluchtsoord van talrijke gothbands).

De 36 minuten durende muziek die je op dit schijfje hoort, is ronduit uitmuntend, en het is zeer moeilijk om er een genre op te kleven. Soms is het heerlijke gothrock, en dan weer minimale synthwave. Maar wat ook het etiket is, steeds klinkt Luminance zoals in de jaren 80, en nog wel als het beste daaruit!

The Bleeding Eye is een briljante elektronische klaagzang die zweeft tussen psychedelica en cold wave. Neen, maak je geen illusies, na amper tien seconden ben je verslaafd en blijft het een hele uitdaging om niet steeds de repeattoets in te drukken.

The Second Act is electroclash met het ritme van Front Line Assembly, maar met de triestheid van een Xymox-song. Juist, zoiets klinkt inderdaad perfect en dat is het ook!

Het beste nummer is The Grey dat beklemmende donkere teksten bevat, ook al heb je een loep nodig om de piepkleine lyrics in het boekje te ontcijferen. Mocht er een hitparade van donkere nummers bestaan, dan zou The Grey maandenlang op de eerste plaats prijken, en jawel, in het refrein kan je zeer goed horen dat David-Alexandre Parquier verzot is op La Fête Triste van Trisomie 21.

Wie gek is op dansbare Wierd-deuntjes, moet meteen de laser naar het zesde nummer verplaatsen, want Conjure The Spell is grandioze wave.

Sans Visage is het perfecte album voor deze donkere tijden. Wie dat niet wil ontdekken is gewoon blind, de keuze is aan u of u wilt zien of niet!

Didier BECU
15/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER
MAFF • Maff
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant
BORN FOR BLISS • Falling Back To Never
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YABANCI • Chaoss
SHE PAST AWAY • B52, Eernegem (11/10/2015)
SKINDRED • Volume
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk

 

Other reviews from LUMINANCE
LUMINANCE • Coalescaremonium 2016
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SAMHAIN • Experiment
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design