tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/10/2015 : LUMINANCE - Sans Visage

LUMINANCE

Sans Visage

MusicCD
Dark ElectroMinimalNew wave

[82/100]   

Manic Depression
15/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The best tunes can be discovered in the dark catacombs of the music, it's a fact that probably will never disappear. Sans Visage by Luminance hasn’t been out of my CD-player during the last few days. You already might have heard the name, as this project of David-Alexandre Parquier (guitarist of Soror Dolorossa) is actually a discovery of Wool-E-Tapes, that released Icons & Dead Fears last year. And of course it was kind of written in the stars that their album would be released on the French label Manic Depression (the refuge of numerous goth bands).

During 36 minutes you hear excellent music, even if it is very difficult to stick a genre on it. Sometimes it's goth rock, and then it’s minimal synth wave. But whatever the label is, Luminance always has an 80"s sound, and even the best of it!

The Bleeding Eye is a brilliant electronic dirge, that floats between psychedelics and cold wave. After just ten seconds you will be addicted and it remains a challenge to not to keep on pressing that repeat button!

The Second Act is electro clash that has the rhythm of Front Line Assembly, but with the sadness of a Xymox song. Right, indeed a perfect thing!

The best track is The Grey, with oppressive dark lyrics, even if you need a magnifying glass to decipher the tiny lyrics in the booklet. If there exists a hit parade of dark tracks, then The Grey would adorn the first place for months, and yes, in the chorus you hear very well that David-Alexandre Parquier likes La Fête Triste by Trisomie 21.

If you like Weird-tunes, then you immediately have to move the laser to the sixth song because Conjure The Spell is grandiose wave.

Sans Visage is the perfect album for dark times. He who does not want to experience that, must be blind, it's up to you to decide whether you want to see it or not!

Didier BECU
15/10/2015


NL

De beste muziek ontdek je natuurlijk in de donkere catacomben, het is een gegeven dat wellicht nooit zal verdwijnen. Zo is Sans Visage van Luminance de laatste dagen niet uit mijn cd-speler verdwenen. De naam heb je zeker al eens gehoord, want dit project van David-Alexandre Parquier (de gitarist van Soror Dolorossa) is eigenlijk ook een beetje de ontdekking van Wool-E-Tapes dat vorig jaar Icons & Dead Fears uitbracht. En het stond natuurlijk ook een heel klein beetje in de sterren geschreven, dat hun cd zou worden uitgebracht op het Franse label Manic Depression (de toevluchtsoord van talrijke gothbands).

De 36 minuten durende muziek die je op dit schijfje hoort, is ronduit uitmuntend, en het is zeer moeilijk om er een genre op te kleven. Soms is het heerlijke gothrock, en dan weer minimale synthwave. Maar wat ook het etiket is, steeds klinkt Luminance zoals in de jaren 80, en nog wel als het beste daaruit!

The Bleeding Eye is een briljante elektronische klaagzang die zweeft tussen psychedelica en cold wave. Neen, maak je geen illusies, na amper tien seconden ben je verslaafd en blijft het een hele uitdaging om niet steeds de repeattoets in te drukken.

The Second Act is electroclash met het ritme van Front Line Assembly, maar met de triestheid van een Xymox-song. Juist, zoiets klinkt inderdaad perfect en dat is het ook!

Het beste nummer is The Grey dat beklemmende donkere teksten bevat, ook al heb je een loep nodig om de piepkleine lyrics in het boekje te ontcijferen. Mocht er een hitparade van donkere nummers bestaan, dan zou The Grey maandenlang op de eerste plaats prijken, en jawel, in het refrein kan je zeer goed horen dat David-Alexandre Parquier verzot is op La Fête Triste van Trisomie 21.

Wie gek is op dansbare Wierd-deuntjes, moet meteen de laser naar het zesde nummer verplaatsen, want Conjure The Spell is grandioze wave.

Sans Visage is het perfecte album voor deze donkere tijden. Wie dat niet wil ontdekken is gewoon blind, de keuze is aan u of u wilt zien of niet!

Didier BECU
15/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER
MAFF • Maff
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant
BORN FOR BLISS • Falling Back To Never
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YABANCI • Chaoss
SHE PAST AWAY • B52, Eernegem (11/10/2015)
SKINDRED • Volume
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk

 

Other reviews from LUMINANCE
LUMINANCE • Coalescaremonium 2016
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

Music reviews

17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)