tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/10/2015 : LUMINANCE - Sans Visage

LUMINANCE

Sans Visage

MusicCD
Dark ElectroMinimalNew wave

[82/100]   

Manic Depression
15/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The best tunes can be discovered in the dark catacombs of the music, it's a fact that probably will never disappear. Sans Visage by Luminance hasn’t been out of my CD-player during the last few days. You already might have heard the name, as this project of David-Alexandre Parquier (guitarist of Soror Dolorossa) is actually a discovery of Wool-E-Tapes, that released Icons & Dead Fears last year. And of course it was kind of written in the stars that their album would be released on the French label Manic Depression (the refuge of numerous goth bands).

During 36 minutes you hear excellent music, even if it is very difficult to stick a genre on it. Sometimes it's goth rock, and then it’s minimal synth wave. But whatever the label is, Luminance always has an 80"s sound, and even the best of it!

The Bleeding Eye is a brilliant electronic dirge, that floats between psychedelics and cold wave. After just ten seconds you will be addicted and it remains a challenge to not to keep on pressing that repeat button!

The Second Act is electro clash that has the rhythm of Front Line Assembly, but with the sadness of a Xymox song. Right, indeed a perfect thing!

The best track is The Grey, with oppressive dark lyrics, even if you need a magnifying glass to decipher the tiny lyrics in the booklet. If there exists a hit parade of dark tracks, then The Grey would adorn the first place for months, and yes, in the chorus you hear very well that David-Alexandre Parquier likes La Fête Triste by Trisomie 21.

If you like Weird-tunes, then you immediately have to move the laser to the sixth song because Conjure The Spell is grandiose wave.

Sans Visage is the perfect album for dark times. He who does not want to experience that, must be blind, it's up to you to decide whether you want to see it or not!

Didier BECU
15/10/2015


NL

De beste muziek ontdek je natuurlijk in de donkere catacomben, het is een gegeven dat wellicht nooit zal verdwijnen. Zo is Sans Visage van Luminance de laatste dagen niet uit mijn cd-speler verdwenen. De naam heb je zeker al eens gehoord, want dit project van David-Alexandre Parquier (de gitarist van Soror Dolorossa) is eigenlijk ook een beetje de ontdekking van Wool-E-Tapes dat vorig jaar Icons & Dead Fears uitbracht. En het stond natuurlijk ook een heel klein beetje in de sterren geschreven, dat hun cd zou worden uitgebracht op het Franse label Manic Depression (de toevluchtsoord van talrijke gothbands).

De 36 minuten durende muziek die je op dit schijfje hoort, is ronduit uitmuntend, en het is zeer moeilijk om er een genre op te kleven. Soms is het heerlijke gothrock, en dan weer minimale synthwave. Maar wat ook het etiket is, steeds klinkt Luminance zoals in de jaren 80, en nog wel als het beste daaruit!

The Bleeding Eye is een briljante elektronische klaagzang die zweeft tussen psychedelica en cold wave. Neen, maak je geen illusies, na amper tien seconden ben je verslaafd en blijft het een hele uitdaging om niet steeds de repeattoets in te drukken.

The Second Act is electroclash met het ritme van Front Line Assembly, maar met de triestheid van een Xymox-song. Juist, zoiets klinkt inderdaad perfect en dat is het ook!

Het beste nummer is The Grey dat beklemmende donkere teksten bevat, ook al heb je een loep nodig om de piepkleine lyrics in het boekje te ontcijferen. Mocht er een hitparade van donkere nummers bestaan, dan zou The Grey maandenlang op de eerste plaats prijken, en jawel, in het refrein kan je zeer goed horen dat David-Alexandre Parquier verzot is op La Fête Triste van Trisomie 21.

Wie gek is op dansbare Wierd-deuntjes, moet meteen de laser naar het zesde nummer verplaatsen, want Conjure The Spell is grandioze wave.

Sans Visage is het perfecte album voor deze donkere tijden. Wie dat niet wil ontdekken is gewoon blind, de keuze is aan u of u wilt zien of niet!

Didier BECU
15/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MIRLAND • SLEEP DISORDER
MAFF • Maff
EDITORS • In Dream
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Cividino: Sleeping Giant
BORN FOR BLISS • Falling Back To Never
ETHAN FAWKES • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
YABANCI • Chaoss
SHE PAST AWAY • B52, Eernegem (11/10/2015)
SKINDRED • Volume
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Robert Zemeckis: The Walk

 

Other reviews from LUMINANCE
LUMINANCE • Coalescaremonium 2016
LUMINANCE • The Light Is Ours (EP)

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
MIREXXX • Vault
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
DICEPEOPLE • One From Many
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life