tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/10/2015 : SOFT RIOT - You Never Know What Might Come Next

SOFT RIOT

You Never Know What Might Come Next

MusicCD

EXBTN Records
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Soft Riot is the solo project of Jack Duckworth of Vancouver: a busy bee that is making music for two decades. The list of projects and bands would just be too long to mention, but the most important name is undoubtedly Radio Berlin.

A few years ago the Canadian moved to the UK to start a new life in Sheffield. And yes, this choice is certainly not a coincidence as this city is actually the cradle of industrial music, and in each track of You Never Know What Might Come Next you hear a hint of Human League, Heaven 17 or the Dadaism of Cabaret Voltaire.

Meanwhile, You Never Know What Might Come Next is the fifth album of Soft Riot and again Jack surrounds himself with many analogue synths, with which he creates danceable and melancholic tunes. Jack actually does the same what James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem did: filtering the best out the 80s and creating with these sound patches a personal identity. And that he did, added with some sarcastic lyrics. 

"You never know what comes next", he mumbles in the title track, which is also true for the CD. You always have the idea that you've heard it before (from Paul Haig, Talking Heads to Severed Heads), but in the end you end up with Soft Riot. Is it art-punk or just ice cold Italo disco, who knows?

Soft Riot is the perfect proof that recycling still works and that you can even do something entirely new with it, at least if you choose the right names! A must for lovers of quirky synth music!

Click on the website of Soft Riot, because the man is doing an European tour.

 

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Soft Riot is het eenmansproject van Jack Duckworth uit Vancouver: een bezig baasje dat zich ondertussen al twee decennia lang dag in dag uit met muziek bezighoudt. De lijst van projecten en bands opnoemen zou net iets te veel tijd in beslag nemen, maar de belangrijkste naam daaruit is ongetwijfeld Radio Berlin.

Een paar jaar geleden trok de Canadees naar Groot-Brittannië om een nieuw leven in Sheffield te beginnen. En tja, het is wellicht geen toeval dat deze muzikant naar de stad trok die de bakermat is van de industriële muziek, want in iedere track van You Never Know What Might Come Next hoor je wel een vleugje Human League, Heaven 17 of het dadaïsme van Cabaret Voltaire.

You Never Know What Might Come Next is ondertussen het vijfde album van Soft Riot en opnieuw omringt Jack zich met allerlei analoge synths om er iets zeer dansbaars, mooi en melancholisch van te maken. Eigenlijk doet Jack wat James Murphy van LCD Soundsystem deed: het beste uit de jaren 80 filteren en met die geluidsflarden een eigen identiteit zoeken. En dat laatste heeft hij zeker, en je kan daar ook nog wat sarcastische teksten aan toevoegen. “You never know what comes next” mompelt Jack in de titeltrack en dat is ook zo op de cd. Je hebt steeds het gevoel dat je het ooit al eens eerder hebt gehoord (van Paul Haig, Talking Heads tot Severed Heads), maar uiteindelijk kom je toch bij Soft Riot terecht. Is het art-punk of gewoon ijskoude italodisco, wie zal het zeggen? 

Soft Riot is het perfecte bewijs dat recyclage nog steeds werkt en dat je er zelfs iets volslagen nieuws mee kan doen, zeker als je de juiste namen kiest! Een aanrader voor liefhebbers van eigenzinnige synthmuziek!

Klik op de website van Soft Riot, want de man is bezig aan een Europese toer.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead
14
10
VLIMMER
Angststand
13
10
VENTENNER
Killing Jar

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018
16
10
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play - out on iTunes today!
15
10
PEEK-A-BOO MAGAZINE N° 31 - OUT NOW!
15
10
Holygram announces debut 'Modern Cults' album!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had
06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me
16
10
DOOMSQUAD
Pyramids On Mars
15
10
NITZER EBB
Let Your Body Learn
14
10
CREMATORY
Ravens Calling