tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/10/2015 : SOFT RIOT - You Never Know What Might Come Next

SOFT RIOT

You Never Know What Might Come Next

MusicCD

EXBTN Records
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Soft Riot is the solo project of Jack Duckworth of Vancouver: a busy bee that is making music for two decades. The list of projects and bands would just be too long to mention, but the most important name is undoubtedly Radio Berlin.

A few years ago the Canadian moved to the UK to start a new life in Sheffield. And yes, this choice is certainly not a coincidence as this city is actually the cradle of industrial music, and in each track of You Never Know What Might Come Next you hear a hint of Human League, Heaven 17 or the Dadaism of Cabaret Voltaire.

Meanwhile, You Never Know What Might Come Next is the fifth album of Soft Riot and again Jack surrounds himself with many analogue synths, with which he creates danceable and melancholic tunes. Jack actually does the same what James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem did: filtering the best out the 80s and creating with these sound patches a personal identity. And that he did, added with some sarcastic lyrics. 

"You never know what comes next", he mumbles in the title track, which is also true for the CD. You always have the idea that you've heard it before (from Paul Haig, Talking Heads to Severed Heads), but in the end you end up with Soft Riot. Is it art-punk or just ice cold Italo disco, who knows?

Soft Riot is the perfect proof that recycling still works and that you can even do something entirely new with it, at least if you choose the right names! A must for lovers of quirky synth music!

Click on the website of Soft Riot, because the man is doing an European tour.

 

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Soft Riot is het eenmansproject van Jack Duckworth uit Vancouver: een bezig baasje dat zich ondertussen al twee decennia lang dag in dag uit met muziek bezighoudt. De lijst van projecten en bands opnoemen zou net iets te veel tijd in beslag nemen, maar de belangrijkste naam daaruit is ongetwijfeld Radio Berlin.

Een paar jaar geleden trok de Canadees naar Groot-Brittannië om een nieuw leven in Sheffield te beginnen. En tja, het is wellicht geen toeval dat deze muzikant naar de stad trok die de bakermat is van de industriële muziek, want in iedere track van You Never Know What Might Come Next hoor je wel een vleugje Human League, Heaven 17 of het dadaïsme van Cabaret Voltaire.

You Never Know What Might Come Next is ondertussen het vijfde album van Soft Riot en opnieuw omringt Jack zich met allerlei analoge synths om er iets zeer dansbaars, mooi en melancholisch van te maken. Eigenlijk doet Jack wat James Murphy van LCD Soundsystem deed: het beste uit de jaren 80 filteren en met die geluidsflarden een eigen identiteit zoeken. En dat laatste heeft hij zeker, en je kan daar ook nog wat sarcastische teksten aan toevoegen. “You never know what comes next” mompelt Jack in de titeltrack en dat is ook zo op de cd. Je hebt steeds het gevoel dat je het ooit al eens eerder hebt gehoord (van Paul Haig, Talking Heads tot Severed Heads), maar uiteindelijk kom je toch bij Soft Riot terecht. Is het art-punk of gewoon ijskoude italodisco, wie zal het zeggen? 

Soft Riot is het perfecte bewijs dat recyclage nog steeds werkt en dat je er zelfs iets volslagen nieuws mee kan doen, zeker als je de juiste namen kiest! Een aanrader voor liefhebbers van eigenzinnige synthmuziek!

Klik op de website van Soft Riot, want de man is bezig aan een Europese toer.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil