tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/10/2015 : SOFT RIOT - You Never Know What Might Come Next

SOFT RIOT

You Never Know What Might Come Next

MusicCD

EXBTN Records
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Soft Riot is the solo project of Jack Duckworth of Vancouver: a busy bee that is making music for two decades. The list of projects and bands would just be too long to mention, but the most important name is undoubtedly Radio Berlin.

A few years ago the Canadian moved to the UK to start a new life in Sheffield. And yes, this choice is certainly not a coincidence as this city is actually the cradle of industrial music, and in each track of You Never Know What Might Come Next you hear a hint of Human League, Heaven 17 or the Dadaism of Cabaret Voltaire.

Meanwhile, You Never Know What Might Come Next is the fifth album of Soft Riot and again Jack surrounds himself with many analogue synths, with which he creates danceable and melancholic tunes. Jack actually does the same what James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem did: filtering the best out the 80s and creating with these sound patches a personal identity. And that he did, added with some sarcastic lyrics. 

"You never know what comes next", he mumbles in the title track, which is also true for the CD. You always have the idea that you've heard it before (from Paul Haig, Talking Heads to Severed Heads), but in the end you end up with Soft Riot. Is it art-punk or just ice cold Italo disco, who knows?

Soft Riot is the perfect proof that recycling still works and that you can even do something entirely new with it, at least if you choose the right names! A must for lovers of quirky synth music!

Click on the website of Soft Riot, because the man is doing an European tour.

 

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Soft Riot is het eenmansproject van Jack Duckworth uit Vancouver: een bezig baasje dat zich ondertussen al twee decennia lang dag in dag uit met muziek bezighoudt. De lijst van projecten en bands opnoemen zou net iets te veel tijd in beslag nemen, maar de belangrijkste naam daaruit is ongetwijfeld Radio Berlin.

Een paar jaar geleden trok de Canadees naar Groot-Brittannië om een nieuw leven in Sheffield te beginnen. En tja, het is wellicht geen toeval dat deze muzikant naar de stad trok die de bakermat is van de industriële muziek, want in iedere track van You Never Know What Might Come Next hoor je wel een vleugje Human League, Heaven 17 of het dadaïsme van Cabaret Voltaire.

You Never Know What Might Come Next is ondertussen het vijfde album van Soft Riot en opnieuw omringt Jack zich met allerlei analoge synths om er iets zeer dansbaars, mooi en melancholisch van te maken. Eigenlijk doet Jack wat James Murphy van LCD Soundsystem deed: het beste uit de jaren 80 filteren en met die geluidsflarden een eigen identiteit zoeken. En dat laatste heeft hij zeker, en je kan daar ook nog wat sarcastische teksten aan toevoegen. “You never know what comes next” mompelt Jack in de titeltrack en dat is ook zo op de cd. Je hebt steeds het gevoel dat je het ooit al eens eerder hebt gehoord (van Paul Haig, Talking Heads tot Severed Heads), maar uiteindelijk kom je toch bij Soft Riot terecht. Is het art-punk of gewoon ijskoude italodisco, wie zal het zeggen? 

Soft Riot is het perfecte bewijs dat recyclage nog steeds werkt en dat je er zelfs iets volslagen nieuws mee kan doen, zeker als je de juiste namen kiest! Een aanrader voor liefhebbers van eigenzinnige synthmuziek!

Klik op de website van Soft Riot, want de man is bezig aan een Europese toer.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide