tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/10/2015 : SOFT RIOT - You Never Know What Might Come Next

SOFT RIOT

You Never Know What Might Come Next

MusicCD

EXBTN Records
16/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Soft Riot is the solo project of Jack Duckworth of Vancouver: a busy bee that is making music for two decades. The list of projects and bands would just be too long to mention, but the most important name is undoubtedly Radio Berlin.

A few years ago the Canadian moved to the UK to start a new life in Sheffield. And yes, this choice is certainly not a coincidence as this city is actually the cradle of industrial music, and in each track of You Never Know What Might Come Next you hear a hint of Human League, Heaven 17 or the Dadaism of Cabaret Voltaire.

Meanwhile, You Never Know What Might Come Next is the fifth album of Soft Riot and again Jack surrounds himself with many analogue synths, with which he creates danceable and melancholic tunes. Jack actually does the same what James Murphy of LCD Soundsystem did: filtering the best out the 80s and creating with these sound patches a personal identity. And that he did, added with some sarcastic lyrics. 

"You never know what comes next", he mumbles in the title track, which is also true for the CD. You always have the idea that you've heard it before (from Paul Haig, Talking Heads to Severed Heads), but in the end you end up with Soft Riot. Is it art-punk or just ice cold Italo disco, who knows?

Soft Riot is the perfect proof that recycling still works and that you can even do something entirely new with it, at least if you choose the right names! A must for lovers of quirky synth music!

Click on the website of Soft Riot, because the man is doing an European tour.

 

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


NL

Soft Riot is het eenmansproject van Jack Duckworth uit Vancouver: een bezig baasje dat zich ondertussen al twee decennia lang dag in dag uit met muziek bezighoudt. De lijst van projecten en bands opnoemen zou net iets te veel tijd in beslag nemen, maar de belangrijkste naam daaruit is ongetwijfeld Radio Berlin.

Een paar jaar geleden trok de Canadees naar Groot-Brittannië om een nieuw leven in Sheffield te beginnen. En tja, het is wellicht geen toeval dat deze muzikant naar de stad trok die de bakermat is van de industriële muziek, want in iedere track van You Never Know What Might Come Next hoor je wel een vleugje Human League, Heaven 17 of het dadaïsme van Cabaret Voltaire.

You Never Know What Might Come Next is ondertussen het vijfde album van Soft Riot en opnieuw omringt Jack zich met allerlei analoge synths om er iets zeer dansbaars, mooi en melancholisch van te maken. Eigenlijk doet Jack wat James Murphy van LCD Soundsystem deed: het beste uit de jaren 80 filteren en met die geluidsflarden een eigen identiteit zoeken. En dat laatste heeft hij zeker, en je kan daar ook nog wat sarcastische teksten aan toevoegen. “You never know what comes next” mompelt Jack in de titeltrack en dat is ook zo op de cd. Je hebt steeds het gevoel dat je het ooit al eens eerder hebt gehoord (van Paul Haig, Talking Heads tot Severed Heads), maar uiteindelijk kom je toch bij Soft Riot terecht. Is het art-punk of gewoon ijskoude italodisco, wie zal het zeggen? 

Soft Riot is het perfecte bewijs dat recyclage nog steeds werkt en dat je er zelfs iets volslagen nieuws mee kan doen, zeker als je de juiste namen kiest! Een aanrader voor liefhebbers van eigenzinnige synthmuziek!

Klik op de website van Soft Riot, want de man is bezig aan een Europese toer.

Didier BECU
16/10/2015


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string