tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining

CASEY LA SCALA

The Remaining

Movie
Found FootageHorror

[30/100]   

SONY SPHE
26/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Just when we thought we had seen everything, we get The Remaining, the first Christian horror film. No, this is not a joke. Casey La Scala, who was previously the producer of films like Donnie Darko, A Walk to Remember and What a Girl Wants, not only tries with his second film to make us shiver, but also to repent us! Even if we do not underestimate the knowledge of our dear readers, we are quite sure that they have never heard of this genre. Before the release of The Remaining, we didn’t know either. In any case, Casey La Scala failed to send us weekly to church, because even though this horror film isn’t as horrible (ha!) as you would imagine, a masterpiece it isn't either!

The first part of the film seems looks like the opening scene of Cloverfield. We are at the wedding of Skylar (Alexa Vega) and Dan (Bryan Dechart), a couple that at first sight does not fit together. While Skylar can quote the first till the last page of the Bible, Dan hasn’t read one page of the Holy Book. During the reception everything goes wrong: people suddenly drop dead and a lot of demons appear. Most do not know what is going on, but the devouted Skylar understands it: these are the predictions of the Revelation of John coming true, and so they go to the library to see if the Apocalypse really has begun.

Frowning? We did that in fairness too, and if you are not a Catholic, then it is damn hard to take this film seriously. We even assume that it is not easy to understand what went through La Scale’s mind, even if you are a devoted Catholic. The special effects and performances are not bad, but of course there are those dialogues. If you are not open for them, then you will be quickly annoyed, simple as that! Horror for catholics!

The Remaining is now out on DVD via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
26/02/2015


NL

Net op het moment dat we dachten alles te hebben gezien, krijgen we met The Remaining de allereerste christelijke horrorfilm. Neen, dit is geen grap. Casey La Scale, die voorheen producer was van Donnie Darko, A Walk to Remember en What a Girl Wants, probeert je met zijn tweede film niet alleen de stuipen op het lijf te jagen, maar je ook te bekeren! Ook al willen we de kennis van onze dierbare lezers niet onderschatten, durven we er toch een paar bakken bier op verwedden dat je nog nooit van dit genre hebt gehoord. Neen, voor de release van The Remaining wisten ook wij niet dat dit soort films bestond. In ieder geval is Casey La Scale er niet in geslaagd om ons voortaan wekelijks naar de mis te lokken, want ook al is deze horrorfilm (nou ja, zeg maar rampenfilm) best te bekijken, heeft hij ons nu ook weer niet van onze stoel geblazen.

Het eerste deel van de film lijkt verdraaid veel op Cloverfield. We zijn op het huwelijksfeest van Skylar (Alexa Vega) en Dan (Bryan Dechart), een koppel dat eigenlijk niet bij elkaar past. Terwijl Skylar de eerste tot de laatste pagina uit de Bijbel kent, heeft Dan nog geen bladzijde uit het Heilige Boek gelezen. Tijdens de receptie loopt alles mis: mensen vallen plots dood en er duiken demonen op. De meesten weten niet wat er gaande is, maar de diepgelovige Skylar heeft het ondertussen wel begrepen: het zijn de voorspellingen uit de Openbaring van Johannes, en dus gaan ze naar de bibliotheek om te bewijzen dat de Apocalypse is begonnen.

Je fronst de wenkbrauwen? Dat deden wij eerlijkheidshalve ook, en als je geen pilaarbijter bent is het verdomd moeilijk om deze film serieus te nemen. De special effects en de vertolkingen vallen best mee in deze film, die om begrijpelijke redenen bij ons niet in de bioscoop is uitgebracht, maar natuurlijk zijn er die dialogen. Indien je er niet voor open staat, dan erger je je eraan, zo simpel is dat, maar geef toe: ongelovigen via een horrorprent de weg naar de kerk tonen is op zijn minst verbazingwekkend! Horror voor EO-kijkers!

The Remaining is vanaf nu uit op dvd via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
26/02/2015


26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
20
05
THE ARCH
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
16
05
ABDOMEN
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
BOJACKS
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
THE OTHER
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo
16
05
CLAN OF XYMOX
Poppodium Grenswerk,Venlo

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover
15
05
DELEYAMAN
Secret Treasures