tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining

CASEY LA SCALA

The Remaining

Movie
Found FootageHorror

[30/100]   

SONY SPHE
26/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Just when we thought we had seen everything, we get The Remaining, the first Christian horror film. No, this is not a joke. Casey La Scala, who was previously the producer of films like Donnie Darko, A Walk to Remember and What a Girl Wants, not only tries with his second film to make us shiver, but also to repent us! Even if we do not underestimate the knowledge of our dear readers, we are quite sure that they have never heard of this genre. Before the release of The Remaining, we didn’t know either. In any case, Casey La Scala failed to send us weekly to church, because even though this horror film isn’t as horrible (ha!) as you would imagine, a masterpiece it isn't either!

The first part of the film seems looks like the opening scene of Cloverfield. We are at the wedding of Skylar (Alexa Vega) and Dan (Bryan Dechart), a couple that at first sight does not fit together. While Skylar can quote the first till the last page of the Bible, Dan hasn’t read one page of the Holy Book. During the reception everything goes wrong: people suddenly drop dead and a lot of demons appear. Most do not know what is going on, but the devouted Skylar understands it: these are the predictions of the Revelation of John coming true, and so they go to the library to see if the Apocalypse really has begun.

Frowning? We did that in fairness too, and if you are not a Catholic, then it is damn hard to take this film seriously. We even assume that it is not easy to understand what went through La Scale’s mind, even if you are a devoted Catholic. The special effects and performances are not bad, but of course there are those dialogues. If you are not open for them, then you will be quickly annoyed, simple as that! Horror for catholics!

The Remaining is now out on DVD via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
26/02/2015


NL

Net op het moment dat we dachten alles te hebben gezien, krijgen we met The Remaining de allereerste christelijke horrorfilm. Neen, dit is geen grap. Casey La Scale, die voorheen producer was van Donnie Darko, A Walk to Remember en What a Girl Wants, probeert je met zijn tweede film niet alleen de stuipen op het lijf te jagen, maar je ook te bekeren! Ook al willen we de kennis van onze dierbare lezers niet onderschatten, durven we er toch een paar bakken bier op verwedden dat je nog nooit van dit genre hebt gehoord. Neen, voor de release van The Remaining wisten ook wij niet dat dit soort films bestond. In ieder geval is Casey La Scale er niet in geslaagd om ons voortaan wekelijks naar de mis te lokken, want ook al is deze horrorfilm (nou ja, zeg maar rampenfilm) best te bekijken, heeft hij ons nu ook weer niet van onze stoel geblazen.

Het eerste deel van de film lijkt verdraaid veel op Cloverfield. We zijn op het huwelijksfeest van Skylar (Alexa Vega) en Dan (Bryan Dechart), een koppel dat eigenlijk niet bij elkaar past. Terwijl Skylar de eerste tot de laatste pagina uit de Bijbel kent, heeft Dan nog geen bladzijde uit het Heilige Boek gelezen. Tijdens de receptie loopt alles mis: mensen vallen plots dood en er duiken demonen op. De meesten weten niet wat er gaande is, maar de diepgelovige Skylar heeft het ondertussen wel begrepen: het zijn de voorspellingen uit de Openbaring van Johannes, en dus gaan ze naar de bibliotheek om te bewijzen dat de Apocalypse is begonnen.

Je fronst de wenkbrauwen? Dat deden wij eerlijkheidshalve ook, en als je geen pilaarbijter bent is het verdomd moeilijk om deze film serieus te nemen. De special effects en de vertolkingen vallen best mee in deze film, die om begrijpelijke redenen bij ons niet in de bioscoop is uitgebracht, maar natuurlijk zijn er die dialogen. Indien je er niet voor open staat, dan erger je je eraan, zo simpel is dat, maar geef toe: ongelovigen via een horrorprent de weg naar de kerk tonen is op zijn minst verbazingwekkend! Horror voor EO-kijkers!

The Remaining is vanaf nu uit op dvd via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
26/02/2015


26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design