tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining

CASEY LA SCALA

The Remaining

Movie
Found FootageHorror

[30/100]   

SONY SPHE
26/02/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Just when we thought we had seen everything, we get The Remaining, the first Christian horror film. No, this is not a joke. Casey La Scala, who was previously the producer of films like Donnie Darko, A Walk to Remember and What a Girl Wants, not only tries with his second film to make us shiver, but also to repent us! Even if we do not underestimate the knowledge of our dear readers, we are quite sure that they have never heard of this genre. Before the release of The Remaining, we didn’t know either. In any case, Casey La Scala failed to send us weekly to church, because even though this horror film isn’t as horrible (ha!) as you would imagine, a masterpiece it isn't either!

The first part of the film seems looks like the opening scene of Cloverfield. We are at the wedding of Skylar (Alexa Vega) and Dan (Bryan Dechart), a couple that at first sight does not fit together. While Skylar can quote the first till the last page of the Bible, Dan hasn’t read one page of the Holy Book. During the reception everything goes wrong: people suddenly drop dead and a lot of demons appear. Most do not know what is going on, but the devouted Skylar understands it: these are the predictions of the Revelation of John coming true, and so they go to the library to see if the Apocalypse really has begun.

Frowning? We did that in fairness too, and if you are not a Catholic, then it is damn hard to take this film seriously. We even assume that it is not easy to understand what went through La Scale’s mind, even if you are a devoted Catholic. The special effects and performances are not bad, but of course there are those dialogues. If you are not open for them, then you will be quickly annoyed, simple as that! Horror for catholics!

The Remaining is now out on DVD via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
26/02/2015


NL

Net op het moment dat we dachten alles te hebben gezien, krijgen we met The Remaining de allereerste christelijke horrorfilm. Neen, dit is geen grap. Casey La Scale, die voorheen producer was van Donnie Darko, A Walk to Remember en What a Girl Wants, probeert je met zijn tweede film niet alleen de stuipen op het lijf te jagen, maar je ook te bekeren! Ook al willen we de kennis van onze dierbare lezers niet onderschatten, durven we er toch een paar bakken bier op verwedden dat je nog nooit van dit genre hebt gehoord. Neen, voor de release van The Remaining wisten ook wij niet dat dit soort films bestond. In ieder geval is Casey La Scale er niet in geslaagd om ons voortaan wekelijks naar de mis te lokken, want ook al is deze horrorfilm (nou ja, zeg maar rampenfilm) best te bekijken, heeft hij ons nu ook weer niet van onze stoel geblazen.

Het eerste deel van de film lijkt verdraaid veel op Cloverfield. We zijn op het huwelijksfeest van Skylar (Alexa Vega) en Dan (Bryan Dechart), een koppel dat eigenlijk niet bij elkaar past. Terwijl Skylar de eerste tot de laatste pagina uit de Bijbel kent, heeft Dan nog geen bladzijde uit het Heilige Boek gelezen. Tijdens de receptie loopt alles mis: mensen vallen plots dood en er duiken demonen op. De meesten weten niet wat er gaande is, maar de diepgelovige Skylar heeft het ondertussen wel begrepen: het zijn de voorspellingen uit de Openbaring van Johannes, en dus gaan ze naar de bibliotheek om te bewijzen dat de Apocalypse is begonnen.

Je fronst de wenkbrauwen? Dat deden wij eerlijkheidshalve ook, en als je geen pilaarbijter bent is het verdomd moeilijk om deze film serieus te nemen. De special effects en de vertolkingen vallen best mee in deze film, die om begrijpelijke redenen bij ons niet in de bioscoop is uitgebracht, maar natuurlijk zijn er die dialogen. Indien je er niet voor open staat, dan erger je je eraan, zo simpel is dat, maar geef toe: ongelovigen via een horrorprent de weg naar de kerk tonen is op zijn minst verbazingwekkend! Horror voor EO-kijkers!

The Remaining is vanaf nu uit op dvd via Sony SPHE.

Didier BECU
26/02/2015


26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining 26/02/2015 : CASEY LA SCALA - The Remaining

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein