tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted

CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE

Afflicted

Movie
Found FootageHorror

[70/100]   

A-Film
30/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

This month the horror fans are treated well by A-Film. Earlier there was Deadly Virtues by Ate de Jong, and now comes Afflicted by Derek Lee and Clif Prowse, a movie of the dreaded found footage kind. The genre has proved that it can work, Cloverfield by J.J. Abrams being the best example. Of course you can argue that Abrams had a huge budget, but Lee and Prowse show that they can do the same with much less money, as long as you have talent and they surely have.

The two directors actually play (well) themselves. The duo plans a world trip that will be financed by writing their adventures on a webblog. Just before leaving the doctors discover a strange brain disease by Lee: or his brain will explode or he risks paralysis. The doctors advised him to forget the world trip, but the young guy has no ears for that. He does not want to regret the things he has not done someday. In Barcelona nearly everything goes spotless, but in Paris something strange happens: Lee is very proud that he can charm the local beauty, Audrey (Baya Rehaz), but after spending one night with her everything goes wrong. Lee seems to possess terrifying supernatural powers that he can barely control, and he also has a big appetite for blood.

Spiderman without a budget!, we hear you think. Not so, it is obvious that these two gentlemen have seen Chronicle a few times, but the result is nothing short of fantastic. At the moment you least expect it, the most frightening things show ups. The use of the handheld camera is no excuse to make a cheap movie this time, but to make you feel as if you are involved in it and that has its effect. Too bad the last few minutes have not become a dream final, but apart from that Afflicted is one of the horror highlights of the year 2014. Now out on A-Film, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
30/11/2014


NL

Deze maand worden de horrorfans bij A-Film op hun wenken bediend. Eerder was er Deadly Virtues van Ate De Jong, maar ook Afflicted van Derek Lee en Clif Prowse is er eentje om in te lijsten. Het zijn woorden waarvan we zelf een beetje versteld staan, Afflicted is immers een film van de gevreesde found footage soort. Dat het genre wel kan werken bewees J.J. Abrams met Cloverfield. Je kan natuurlijk wel argumenteren dat Abrams over een hoog budget beschikte, maar Lee en Prowse tonen dat het ook met veel minder poen kan, zolang je maar talent hebt en dat hebben deze twee zeker.

De twee regisseurs spelen eigenlijk (nou ja) zichzelf. Het duo plant een heuse wereldreis die ze kunnen financieren dankzij een webblog waarop ze al hun avonturen publiceren. Net voor het vertrek ontdekken de dokters bij Lee een vreemde hersenziekte: of zijn brein zal exploderen ofwel riskeert hij een verlamming. De geneesheren raden hem een wereldreis af, maar de jonge kerel heeft daar helemaal geen oren naar. Hij wil niet op het einde van zijn leven geconfronteerd worden met spijt over dingen die hij niet heeft gedaan. In Barcelona verloopt bijna alles vlekkeloos, maar in Parijs gebeurt er iets vreemds: Lee is er apetrots op dat hij de plaatselijke schone, Audrey (Baya Rehaz) kan versieren, maar na één nacht met haar te hebben doorgebracht loopt alles mis. Lee beschikt over schrikwekkende bovennatuurlijke krachten die hij nauwelijks kan controleren én hij dorst naar bloed.

Een Spiderman zonder budget, horen we je denken. Lekker niet dus, het is wel overduidelijk dat deze twee heren verschillende keren naar Chronicle hebben gekeken, maar het resultaat is ronduit fantastisch. Op momenten dat je het niet verwacht, gebeuren er de meest schrikwekkende dingen. Het gebruik van de handcamera is deze keer geen excuus om een goedkope film te maken, wel om je het gevoel te geven dat je er zelf bij betrokken bent en dat heeft zo zijn effect. Jammer dat de laatste minuten geen gedroomde finale zijn geworden, maar los daarvan is Afflicted één van de hoogtepunten van het horrorjaar 2014. Uit op A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
30/11/2014


30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted

Music reviews

18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut