tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted

CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE

Afflicted

Movie
Found FootageHorror

[70/100]   

A-Film
30/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

This month the horror fans are treated well by A-Film. Earlier there was Deadly Virtues by Ate de Jong, and now comes Afflicted by Derek Lee and Clif Prowse, a movie of the dreaded found footage kind. The genre has proved that it can work, Cloverfield by J.J. Abrams being the best example. Of course you can argue that Abrams had a huge budget, but Lee and Prowse show that they can do the same with much less money, as long as you have talent and they surely have.

The two directors actually play (well) themselves. The duo plans a world trip that will be financed by writing their adventures on a webblog. Just before leaving the doctors discover a strange brain disease by Lee: or his brain will explode or he risks paralysis. The doctors advised him to forget the world trip, but the young guy has no ears for that. He does not want to regret the things he has not done someday. In Barcelona nearly everything goes spotless, but in Paris something strange happens: Lee is very proud that he can charm the local beauty, Audrey (Baya Rehaz), but after spending one night with her everything goes wrong. Lee seems to possess terrifying supernatural powers that he can barely control, and he also has a big appetite for blood.

Spiderman without a budget!, we hear you think. Not so, it is obvious that these two gentlemen have seen Chronicle a few times, but the result is nothing short of fantastic. At the moment you least expect it, the most frightening things show ups. The use of the handheld camera is no excuse to make a cheap movie this time, but to make you feel as if you are involved in it and that has its effect. Too bad the last few minutes have not become a dream final, but apart from that Afflicted is one of the horror highlights of the year 2014. Now out on A-Film, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
30/11/2014


NL

Deze maand worden de horrorfans bij A-Film op hun wenken bediend. Eerder was er Deadly Virtues van Ate De Jong, maar ook Afflicted van Derek Lee en Clif Prowse is er eentje om in te lijsten. Het zijn woorden waarvan we zelf een beetje versteld staan, Afflicted is immers een film van de gevreesde found footage soort. Dat het genre wel kan werken bewees J.J. Abrams met Cloverfield. Je kan natuurlijk wel argumenteren dat Abrams over een hoog budget beschikte, maar Lee en Prowse tonen dat het ook met veel minder poen kan, zolang je maar talent hebt en dat hebben deze twee zeker.

De twee regisseurs spelen eigenlijk (nou ja) zichzelf. Het duo plant een heuse wereldreis die ze kunnen financieren dankzij een webblog waarop ze al hun avonturen publiceren. Net voor het vertrek ontdekken de dokters bij Lee een vreemde hersenziekte: of zijn brein zal exploderen ofwel riskeert hij een verlamming. De geneesheren raden hem een wereldreis af, maar de jonge kerel heeft daar helemaal geen oren naar. Hij wil niet op het einde van zijn leven geconfronteerd worden met spijt over dingen die hij niet heeft gedaan. In Barcelona verloopt bijna alles vlekkeloos, maar in Parijs gebeurt er iets vreemds: Lee is er apetrots op dat hij de plaatselijke schone, Audrey (Baya Rehaz) kan versieren, maar na één nacht met haar te hebben doorgebracht loopt alles mis. Lee beschikt over schrikwekkende bovennatuurlijke krachten die hij nauwelijks kan controleren én hij dorst naar bloed.

Een Spiderman zonder budget, horen we je denken. Lekker niet dus, het is wel overduidelijk dat deze twee heren verschillende keren naar Chronicle hebben gekeken, maar het resultaat is ronduit fantastisch. Op momenten dat je het niet verwacht, gebeuren er de meest schrikwekkende dingen. Het gebruik van de handcamera is deze keer geen excuus om een goedkope film te maken, wel om je het gevoel te geven dat je er zelf bij betrokken bent en dat heeft zo zijn effect. Jammer dat de laatste minuten geen gedroomde finale zijn geworden, maar los daarvan is Afflicted één van de hoogtepunten van het horrorjaar 2014. Uit op A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
30/11/2014


30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete