tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted

CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE

Afflicted

Movie
Found FootageHorror

[70/100]   

A-Film
30/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

This month the horror fans are treated well by A-Film. Earlier there was Deadly Virtues by Ate de Jong, and now comes Afflicted by Derek Lee and Clif Prowse, a movie of the dreaded found footage kind. The genre has proved that it can work, Cloverfield by J.J. Abrams being the best example. Of course you can argue that Abrams had a huge budget, but Lee and Prowse show that they can do the same with much less money, as long as you have talent and they surely have.

The two directors actually play (well) themselves. The duo plans a world trip that will be financed by writing their adventures on a webblog. Just before leaving the doctors discover a strange brain disease by Lee: or his brain will explode or he risks paralysis. The doctors advised him to forget the world trip, but the young guy has no ears for that. He does not want to regret the things he has not done someday. In Barcelona nearly everything goes spotless, but in Paris something strange happens: Lee is very proud that he can charm the local beauty, Audrey (Baya Rehaz), but after spending one night with her everything goes wrong. Lee seems to possess terrifying supernatural powers that he can barely control, and he also has a big appetite for blood.

Spiderman without a budget!, we hear you think. Not so, it is obvious that these two gentlemen have seen Chronicle a few times, but the result is nothing short of fantastic. At the moment you least expect it, the most frightening things show ups. The use of the handheld camera is no excuse to make a cheap movie this time, but to make you feel as if you are involved in it and that has its effect. Too bad the last few minutes have not become a dream final, but apart from that Afflicted is one of the horror highlights of the year 2014. Now out on A-Film, both on DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
30/11/2014


NL

Deze maand worden de horrorfans bij A-Film op hun wenken bediend. Eerder was er Deadly Virtues van Ate De Jong, maar ook Afflicted van Derek Lee en Clif Prowse is er eentje om in te lijsten. Het zijn woorden waarvan we zelf een beetje versteld staan, Afflicted is immers een film van de gevreesde found footage soort. Dat het genre wel kan werken bewees J.J. Abrams met Cloverfield. Je kan natuurlijk wel argumenteren dat Abrams over een hoog budget beschikte, maar Lee en Prowse tonen dat het ook met veel minder poen kan, zolang je maar talent hebt en dat hebben deze twee zeker.

De twee regisseurs spelen eigenlijk (nou ja) zichzelf. Het duo plant een heuse wereldreis die ze kunnen financieren dankzij een webblog waarop ze al hun avonturen publiceren. Net voor het vertrek ontdekken de dokters bij Lee een vreemde hersenziekte: of zijn brein zal exploderen ofwel riskeert hij een verlamming. De geneesheren raden hem een wereldreis af, maar de jonge kerel heeft daar helemaal geen oren naar. Hij wil niet op het einde van zijn leven geconfronteerd worden met spijt over dingen die hij niet heeft gedaan. In Barcelona verloopt bijna alles vlekkeloos, maar in Parijs gebeurt er iets vreemds: Lee is er apetrots op dat hij de plaatselijke schone, Audrey (Baya Rehaz) kan versieren, maar na één nacht met haar te hebben doorgebracht loopt alles mis. Lee beschikt over schrikwekkende bovennatuurlijke krachten die hij nauwelijks kan controleren én hij dorst naar bloed.

Een Spiderman zonder budget, horen we je denken. Lekker niet dus, het is wel overduidelijk dat deze twee heren verschillende keren naar Chronicle hebben gekeken, maar het resultaat is ronduit fantastisch. Op momenten dat je het niet verwacht, gebeuren er de meest schrikwekkende dingen. Het gebruik van de handcamera is deze keer geen excuus om een goedkope film te maken, wel om je het gevoel te geven dat je er zelf bij betrokken bent en dat heeft zo zijn effect. Jammer dat de laatste minuten geen gedroomde finale zijn geworden, maar los daarvan is Afflicted één van de hoogtepunten van het horrorjaar 2014. Uit op A-Film, zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
30/11/2014


30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted 30/11/2014 : CLIF PROWSE & DEREK LEE - Afflicted

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked