tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

18/01/2016 : MARC ALMOND - The Velvet Trail

MARC ALMOND

The Velvet Trail

MusicCD


[90/100]   

Cherry Red Records
18/01/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Marc Almond, the British pop icon, started his career in the 80s as the part of the legendary and controversial duo Soft Cell. Marc later continued working on his solo career, releasing numerous albums and working on a number of projects. Diverse, but always with a touch of his own style which has defined his work throughout the years.

This year he made a come back to the pop style flirting with the sound from his early work, perhaps even Soft Cell inspired, that fans who follow Marc will recognise in some of the songs on the album. This is the album with the catchy choruses and great beats, but also with a melancholic feel, that can be found both in the music and lyrics. The album consists of 16 songs, of which four are instrumentals. But as a whole, it tells a story, a story only Marc can tell. The album was made as a “strange” collaboration with producer Chris Braide. The two of them didn’t even meet or speak on the phone before the album was completed. After receiving some tunes from Chris, Marc felt inspired to do another author’s album. Marc and Chris worked online, Marc sending Chris the vocals to mix them in his studio in Los Angeles, and that’s how The Velvet Trail was made.

Bad to Me, Zipped Black Leather Jacket and Demon Lover are uplifting and joyful moments on the album, where Soft Cell lovers can renew their love for Marc’s work. Earthly brings you to the new world of Marc’s with a powerful chorus, marvellous lyrics that even those not familiar with Marc’s previous work can easily fall in love with, but with a bit more of a modern touch. Life In My Own Way, Velvet Trail and Scar make up the core of the general feel of the album which is of a personal retrospective of someone’s life, either Marc’s or your own.

Scar I personally consider as a flagship of the emotional side of Marc on this album. It tells a story of the broken relationships. Although there are many melancholic moments on the album, it is also joyful as well. It is a retrospective album, but celebrating Marc’s life at this moment in time. The album Velvet Trail is this year’s recommendation for all Soft Cell and Marc Almond fans, but also to those who would like a journey through their own life, with a soundtrack.

Marija BULJETA
18/01/2016


NL

Het Britse popicoon Marc Almond begon zijn carrière in de jaren 80 in het legendarische en controversiële duo Soft Cell. Later werkte Marc aan zijn solocarrière met een groot aantal albums en heel wat projecten als resultaat. Alles was steeds divers, weliswaar altijd in een eigen stijl.

Marc is terug en hij flirt opnieuw met pop die zijn vroegere werk benadert, misschien zelfs dat van Soft Cell! Fans die Marc volgen zullen dat zeker in een aantal van de nummers kunnen herkennen. Het album staat vol met knappe refreinen en geweldige beats, maar het bezit ook een melancholische sfeer, zowel in de muziek als in de teksten. Het album bestaat uit 16 nummer waarvan er vier instrumentaal zijn. Als een geheel vertelt het een verhaal, eentje dat trouwens alleen Marc kan vertellen. Het album is een samenwerking met producer Chris Braide. Het gebeurde wel op een vreemde manier. De twee hebben elkaar nooit ontmoet of met elkaar gebeld voordat het album af was. Nadat Marc een aantal nummers van Chris kreeg, voelde hij zich geïnspireerd om opnieuw een auteursalbum te maken. Marc en Chris werkten online, Marc zond Chris de zang die hij nadien in zijn studio in Los Angeles mixte, en zo werd The Velvet Trail gemaakt.

Bad to Me, Zipped Black Leather Jacket en Demon Lover zijn opbeurende momenten waarop de Soft Cell-fans hun liefde voor Marcs werk kunnen herontdekken. Earthly brengt je met zijn krachtig refrein en prachtige tekst naar een nieuwe wereld. Zelfs diegenen die niet vertrouwd zijn met Marcs werk, kunnen hierop zeer gemakkelijk verliefd worden, ook al is het met een moderner tintje. Life In My Own Way, Velvet Trail en Scar bepalen de algemene sfeer van dit album. Het is een persoonlijke terugblik op het leven van iemand, ofwel dat van Marc ofwel het jouwe.

Scar beschouw ik persoonlijk als het vlaggenschip van dit album, ten minste op emotioneel vlak toch. Het nummer vertelt het verhaal over gebroken relaties. Hoewel er veel melancholische momenten op deze plaat staan, zijn ze dat niet allemaal. Het is een retrospectief album dat gaat over een bepaald moment uit Marcs leven. The Velvet Trail is de tip bij uitstek voor alle Soft Cell- en Marc Almond-fans, zelfs voor diegenen die graag een soundtrack hebben als ze van plan zijn om een reis door hun eigen leven te maken.

Marija BULJETA
18/01/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself