tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

18/01/2016 : (((S))) - Welcome to the Heartland

(((S)))

Welcome to the Heartland

MusicDigital
Post PunkPsychedelicRock

[85/100]   

Poisonic
18/01/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

In 2009, the Danish musician (((S))) was praised for his album Ghost, which received a place among the best albums of the British music journalist Mick Mercer. Now, six years later, the successor Welcome to the Heartland is ready. The album contains eight tracks and it is available as a digital download via the German label Poisonic.

Welcome to the Heartland is the personal story of (((S))) about his life in the Heartland. I have spent more than 43 years in the dream of Heartland, he says in the press release, and this is what I have to tell about it and what I have put down in these tracks. Each song is introduced with a short story against a background of violin-like synths and small sounds as fragmented human voices, so it sounds a bit like an auditory selection from a dark and at times magical novel.

The compositions are of a different kind, but they never sound dark. These are full-blooded rock songs, great sounding, melodic and never loud or bombastic. You think of an English indie band from the post-punk era, but (((S))) is of Danish origin and that makes this album a lot more intriguing. House starts with distorted guitars that insinuate a hellish sequel, but we hear a soft rock song with firm guitars, emphatic drums and beautiful vocals, backed by a choir in the chorus and a generous portion of synths during the instrumental interlude. A slick rock ballad that ends with a brief industrial-like passage. After a brief spoken introduction - in which the voice moves from left to right through the soundscape – House resounds, an earwig from the very beginning, a track with a similar musical accompaniment and doubled vocals that sound very nice. We hear bells, dark guitars, a magnificent choir in the background and gently meandering synths. Beautiful.

Perfectly Imperfect gets a slower pace. The track sounds more spacious by the use of reverb and the artist builds an attractive rock ballad in which the guitars produce erratic but harmonics sounds, while the gently added female vocals create a heavenly atmosphere. The intro of Caravaggio on My Mind resonates against the background of what sounds like a dark saxophone and a loud laughing woman. The pace is faster, but the track sounds at once calm and relaxed as a result of the equally quiet orchestration and gets its strength from the beautiful melody, while the emotions flare in Madhouse, making the song develop into a heavy rock composition with whistling guitars and popping percussion. Exactly what you expect from a madhouse! While listening to Over and Out, images of Bowie in his early experimental and theatrical period drift by, and Sons of the Defeated also gets a seventies atmosphere, again with magnificent doubled vocals, dark percussion and bell-like guitar sounds for contrast. What happens in the Heartland stays in the Heartland, (((S))) says in the intro to the last track of this collection, and so, all we hear may be no more than an echo or a reverberation. In Hey Echo, (((S))) goes full speed once more in a thumping rock song with dark guitars and a fiercely chorus as support. Again a song with a strong melody.

Very strong this Welcome to the Heartland and if you want to remove the spoken intros after a while, that problem is easily solved with this digital download.

Tracklist:
1 Welcome to the Heartland
2 Snakebite
3 Echo Descending
4 House
5 I’ve Got the Melody Deep in my Heart
6 Perfectly Imperfect
7 The Naked Nude
8 Caravaggio on my Mind
9 The Walker
10 Madhouse
11 The Lions Weep
12 Over and Out
13 A Romance with Your own Monologue
14 Sons of the Defeated
15 What Happens in the Heartland Stays in the Heartland
16 Hey Echo

www.poisonic.de

William LIÉNARD
18/01/2016


NL

In 2009 oogstte de Deense muzikant (((S))) veel bijval met zijn album Ghost, dat een plaatsje kreeg tussen de best albums van de Britse muziekjournalist Mick Mercer. Nu, zes jaar later is de opvolger klaar en die heet Welcome to the Heartland. Het album bevat 8 tracks en is via digitale weg verkrijgbaar op het Duitse label Poisonic.

Welcome tot he Heartland is het persoonlijke relaas van (((S))) over zijn leven in Heartland. I have spent more than 43 years in the dream of Heartland, zegt hij in het persbericht, and that’s what I have to tell you about it and have put down in these tracks. Elke song wordt geïntroduceerd met een kort verhaaltje tegen een achtergrond van vioolachtige synths en kleine geluidjes als versplinterde menselijke stemmen, waardoor het een beetje klinkt als een auditieve selectie uit een donkere en bij momenten sprookjesachtige roman.

De composities zijn van een heel andere soort, maar ze klinken nooit donker. Het zijn volbloed rocksongs, goed klinkend, melodisch en nooit hard of bombastisch. Je denkt aan een Engelse indieband uit het postpunktijdperk, maar (((S))) is van Deense afkomst en dat maakt dit album nog een stuk intrigerender. Snakebite begint met distorted gitaren die een hels vervolg insinueren, maar verrassend genoeg horen we een soepele rocksong met ferme rockgitaren, nadrukkelijk slagwerk en mooie vocalen, gesteund door een koortje tijdens het refrein en een flinke portie synths tijdens het instrumentaal intermezzo. Een gehaaide rockballade die eindigt met een korte industrialachtige passage. Na een korte gesproken introductie – waarbij de stem van links naar rechts door het soundscape beweegt – volgt House, een oorworm vanaf het prille begin, een track met een gelijksoortige muzikale begeleiding en verdubbelde vocalen die heel erg mooi klinken. We horen bellen, donkere gitaren, een prachtig koortje op de achtergrond en zachtjes meanderende synths. Heel mooi.

In Perfectly Imperfect kiest (((S))) voor een trager tempo. De track klinkt ruimtelijker door het gebruik van reverb en de artiest bouwt een aantrekkelijke rockballade waarin de gitaren grillige maar harmonische klanken laten galmen en het voorzichtig toegevoegde vrouwenkoortje voor een bij momenten hemelse sfeer zorgt. Het intro van Carravagio on My Mind resoneert tegen de achtergrond van wat klinkt als een donkere saxofoon en een luid lachende vrouwenstem. De compositie zelf krijgt een hoger tempo, maar klinkt tegelijk rustig en ontspannen als gevolg van de al even rustige orkestratie en ze haalt haar kracht uit de mooie melodie, terwijl de emoties in Madhouse flink oplaaien, waardoor de song uitgroeit tot een heftige rockcompositie met fluitende gitaren en ploffend slagwerk. Precies wat je van een gekkenhuis verwacht! Tijdens het beluisteren van Over and Out dreven beelden voorbij van Bowie in z’n vroege experimentele en theatrale periode en ook Sons of the Defeated baadt in die seventiessfeer, opnieuw met prachtige verdubbelde vocalen, donker slagwerk en belachtige gitaargeluid als contrast. What happens in the Heartland stays in the Heartland, zegt (((S))) in het intro van de laatste track in deze collectie en dus kan alles wat we horen niet meer zijn dan een galm of een weerkaatsing. In Hey Echo gaat (((S))) nog één keer voluit, een pompende rocksong met donkere gitaren en een heftig koortje ter ondersteuning, en opnieuw met een sterke melodie.

Heel sterk deze Welcome to the Heartland en mocht u de gesproken intro’s na een tijdje liever niet meer horen, dan is dat probleem met deze digitale download makkelijk op te lossen.

William LIÉNARD
18/01/2016


 

Next reviews
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
FRAGILE GODS • The Future Never Came
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room
THE PASSIONS • Michael & Miranda
LAMB • 5
THE SWEETEST CONDITION • Edge Of The World
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • LOLA KUMTUS
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
QUAL • Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

 

Other reviews from (((S)))
(((S))) • Carcrash
(((S))) • The moon is my sun

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + PSYCHEDELIC + ROCK
(((S))) • Carcrash

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
DEAD HIGH WIRE • Pray for us
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

 

Same genre: ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto
PAUL MCCARTNEY • Werchter, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)

Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)