tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

18/01/2016 : (((S))) - Welcome to the Heartland

(((S)))

Welcome to the Heartland

MusicDigital
Post PunkPsychedelicRock

[85/100]   

Poisonic
18/01/2016, William LIÉNARD

EN

In 2009, the Danish musician (((S))) was praised for his album Ghost, which received a place among the best albums of the British music journalist Mick Mercer. Now, six years later, the successor Welcome to the Heartland is ready. The album contains eight tracks and it is available as a digital download via the German label Poisonic.

Welcome to the Heartland is the personal story of (((S))) about his life in the Heartland. I have spent more than 43 years in the dream of Heartland, he says in the press release, and this is what I have to tell about it and what I have put down in these tracks. Each song is introduced with a short story against a background of violin-like synths and small sounds as fragmented human voices, so it sounds a bit like an auditory selection from a dark and at times magical novel.

The compositions are of a different kind, but they never sound dark. These are full-blooded rock songs, great sounding, melodic and never loud or bombastic. You think of an English indie band from the post-punk era, but (((S))) is of Danish origin and that makes this album a lot more intriguing. House starts with distorted guitars that insinuate a hellish sequel, but we hear a soft rock song with firm guitars, emphatic drums and beautiful vocals, backed by a choir in the chorus and a generous portion of synths during the instrumental interlude. A slick rock ballad that ends with a brief industrial-like passage. After a brief spoken introduction - in which the voice moves from left to right through the soundscape – House resounds, an earwig from the very beginning, a track with a similar musical accompaniment and doubled vocals that sound very nice. We hear bells, dark guitars, a magnificent choir in the background and gently meandering synths. Beautiful.

Perfectly Imperfect gets a slower pace. The track sounds more spacious by the use of reverb and the artist builds an attractive rock ballad in which the guitars produce erratic but harmonics sounds, while the gently added female vocals create a heavenly atmosphere. The intro of Caravaggio on My Mind resonates against the background of what sounds like a dark saxophone and a loud laughing woman. The pace is faster, but the track sounds at once calm and relaxed as a result of the equally quiet orchestration and gets its strength from the beautiful melody, while the emotions flare in Madhouse, making the song develop into a heavy rock composition with whistling guitars and popping percussion. Exactly what you expect from a madhouse! While listening to Over and Out, images of Bowie in his early experimental and theatrical period drift by, and Sons of the Defeated also gets a seventies atmosphere, again with magnificent doubled vocals, dark percussion and bell-like guitar sounds for contrast. What happens in the Heartland stays in the Heartland, (((S))) says in the intro to the last track of this collection, and so, all we hear may be no more than an echo or a reverberation. In Hey Echo, (((S))) goes full speed once more in a thumping rock song with dark guitars and a fiercely chorus as support. Again a song with a strong melody.

Very strong this Welcome to the Heartland and if you want to remove the spoken intros after a while, that problem is easily solved with this digital download.

Tracklist:
1 Welcome to the Heartland
2 Snakebite
3 Echo Descending
4 House
5 I’ve Got the Melody Deep in my Heart
6 Perfectly Imperfect
7 The Naked Nude
8 Caravaggio on my Mind
9 The Walker
10 Madhouse
11 The Lions Weep
12 Over and Out
13 A Romance with Your own Monologue
14 Sons of the Defeated
15 What Happens in the Heartland Stays in the Heartland
16 Hey Echo

www.poisonic.de

William LIÉNARD
18/01/2016


NL

In 2009 oogstte de Deense muzikant (((S))) veel bijval met zijn album Ghost, dat een plaatsje kreeg tussen de best albums van de Britse muziekjournalist Mick Mercer. Nu, zes jaar later is de opvolger klaar en die heet Welcome to the Heartland. Het album bevat 8 tracks en is via digitale weg verkrijgbaar op het Duitse label Poisonic.

Welcome tot he Heartland is het persoonlijke relaas van (((S))) over zijn leven in Heartland. I have spent more than 43 years in the dream of Heartland, zegt hij in het persbericht, and that’s what I have to tell you about it and have put down in these tracks. Elke song wordt geïntroduceerd met een kort verhaaltje tegen een achtergrond van vioolachtige synths en kleine geluidjes als versplinterde menselijke stemmen, waardoor het een beetje klinkt als een auditieve selectie uit een donkere en bij momenten sprookjesachtige roman.

De composities zijn van een heel andere soort, maar ze klinken nooit donker. Het zijn volbloed rocksongs, goed klinkend, melodisch en nooit hard of bombastisch. Je denkt aan een Engelse indieband uit het postpunktijdperk, maar (((S))) is van Deense afkomst en dat maakt dit album nog een stuk intrigerender. Snakebite begint met distorted gitaren die een hels vervolg insinueren, maar verrassend genoeg horen we een soepele rocksong met ferme rockgitaren, nadrukkelijk slagwerk en mooie vocalen, gesteund door een koortje tijdens het refrein en een flinke portie synths tijdens het instrumentaal intermezzo. Een gehaaide rockballade die eindigt met een korte industrialachtige passage. Na een korte gesproken introductie – waarbij de stem van links naar rechts door het soundscape beweegt – volgt House, een oorworm vanaf het prille begin, een track met een gelijksoortige muzikale begeleiding en verdubbelde vocalen die heel erg mooi klinken. We horen bellen, donkere gitaren, een prachtig koortje op de achtergrond en zachtjes meanderende synths. Heel mooi.

In Perfectly Imperfect kiest (((S))) voor een trager tempo. De track klinkt ruimtelijker door het gebruik van reverb en de artiest bouwt een aantrekkelijke rockballade waarin de gitaren grillige maar harmonische klanken laten galmen en het voorzichtig toegevoegde vrouwenkoortje voor een bij momenten hemelse sfeer zorgt. Het intro van Carravagio on My Mind resoneert tegen de achtergrond van wat klinkt als een donkere saxofoon en een luid lachende vrouwenstem. De compositie zelf krijgt een hoger tempo, maar klinkt tegelijk rustig en ontspannen als gevolg van de al even rustige orkestratie en ze haalt haar kracht uit de mooie melodie, terwijl de emoties in Madhouse flink oplaaien, waardoor de song uitgroeit tot een heftige rockcompositie met fluitende gitaren en ploffend slagwerk. Precies wat je van een gekkenhuis verwacht! Tijdens het beluisteren van Over and Out dreven beelden voorbij van Bowie in z’n vroege experimentele en theatrale periode en ook Sons of the Defeated baadt in die seventiessfeer, opnieuw met prachtige verdubbelde vocalen, donker slagwerk en belachtige gitaargeluid als contrast. What happens in the Heartland stays in the Heartland, zegt (((S))) in het intro van de laatste track in deze collectie en dus kan alles wat we horen niet meer zijn dan een galm of een weerkaatsing. In Hey Echo gaat (((S))) nog één keer voluit, een pompende rocksong met donkere gitaren en een heftig koortje ter ondersteuning, en opnieuw met een sterke melodie.

Heel sterk deze Welcome to the Heartland en mocht u de gesproken intro’s na een tijdje liever niet meer horen, dan is dat probleem met deze digitale download makkelijk op te lossen.

William LIÉNARD
18/01/2016


 

Next reviews
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
CENTIPEDE • Sarnath
FRAGILE GODS • The Future Never Came
PARA NORMAL • The Cold Room
THE PASSIONS • Michael & Miranda
LAMB • 5
THE SWEETEST CONDITION • Edge Of The World
DISCOVER NEW MUSIC • LOLA KUMTUS
ULTRAVOX • Vienna
QUAL • Brussels, Beursschouwburg (11/01/16)

 

Other reviews from (((S)))
(((S))) • Carcrash
(((S))) • The moon is my sun

 

Same combination of genres: POST PUNK + PSYCHEDELIC + ROCK
(((S))) • Carcrash

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: ROCK
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day