tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

19/01/2016 : HARLOWE - Harlowe

HARLOWE

Harlowe

MusicCD (EP)
FolkPsychedelic

[81/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
19/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Again Consouling Sounds proves with this release that it is one of the most versatile current Belgian labels. This release is another project of CHVE (Colin H. Van Eeckhout) in which we hear (once again) a different side of the Amenra-man.

It rarely happens that a Consouling Sounds release is easy listening, as it indeed takes a lot of efforts from the listener (for which he later is rewarded), but Harlowe is different. Not that it is pop music, but the five tracks are catchy and somewhere between dreamy ethereal pop (This Mortal Coil), fragile singer-songwriter and psychedelics.

Even if Colin sings and plays some guitar, the hypnotic voice of Lucy Ann Kinsella gets the lead role. Her singing sounds a bit like that of Anja Plaschg (Soap & Skin).

The five songs on this EP are simple, but they carve a deep wound in your soul. Beside Colin and Lucy, there's also Tim Byron (The Black Heart Rebellion) on drums and Lennart Bossu (former Janez Detd and now with Amenra) on guitar.

Saying that Harlow made a nice record is part of the truth, on the other hand it is much more than that. This release is available on both CD and vinyl, both on 300 copies.

Didier BECU
19/01/2016


NL

Met deze release bewijst Consouling Sounds dat het één van de meest veelzijdige Belgische labels van dit moment is. Deze release is alweer een project van CHVE (Colin H. Van Eeckhout) waarin we nog maar eens een andere kant van de Amenra-man zien.

Het gebeurt maar zelden dat een Consouling Sounds-release een hapklare brok is, het vergt immers heel wat inspanningen van de luisteraar (die daar natuurlijk nadien rijkelijk voor beloond wordt), maar bij Harlowe is dat toch anders. Niet dat het om popmuziek gaat, maar de vijf tracks liggen lekker in het gehoor en houden ergens het midden tussen zweverige ethereal pop (This Mortal Coil), fragiele singer-songwriter en psychedelica.

Ook al zingt en tokkelt Colin wat op de gitaar, is het de bezwerende stem van Lucy Ann Kinsella die de hoofdrol krijgt. Haar zang lijkt wat op die van Anja Plaschg (Soap & Skin).

De vijf composities op deze ep zijn eenvoudig, wel kerven ze een diepe wonde in je ziel. Naast Colin en Lucy, is er ook Tim Byron (The Black Heart Rebellion ) op drums en Lennart Bossu (ex-Janez Detd en nu ook bij Amenra) op gitaar.

Zeggen dat Harlow een mooi fijn plaatje heeft gemaakt is wel een deel van de waarheid, anderzijds is het zoveel meer dan dat. Deze release is zowel op cd als vinyl beschikbaar, beide op 300 exemplaren.

Didier BECU
19/01/2016


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete