tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
21/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It has been said before on our pages, but Peek-A-Boo really loves the post-punk and cold wave of the Belgian band Whispering Sons. We asked Sander Hermans (synthesizers) which ten records influenced his life.

1. THE SOUND - From The Lion's Mouth
Unknown Pleasures, okay, but for me this record undoubtedly is the world's best post-punk record. That power, passion and alternation between introvert and bombastic moments is simply brilliant. I have no words for it, except: "I was going down/Then I started winning!".

2. THE CHAMELEONS - Script Of The Bridge
I think this is the record that sucked me in post-punk some years ago. A very intense ride. One perfect song follows the other, it seems like a best of. Probably I use the term too easy, but the description 'masterpiece' is justified here. I'm glad I saw Chameleons Vox live during a tour in which they played the whole album from beginning to end. Magic.

3. THE CURE - Pornography
One of the darkest albums ever? Probably, but also beautiful! I used to listen a lot to this album during rainy winter days with the repeat button on, and I don't regret it.

4. TALKING HEADS - Fear Of Music
With Brian Eno, wacky David Byrne and his band made a dark album of oppressive and hunted tracks. For me personally, it is the most consistent collection of music Talking Heads made.

 5. CAN - Tago Mago
Krautrock at its best. Hypnotic drums, psychedelic guitar lines and totally improvised vocals of Damo Suzuki. Halleluwah!

6.THE SOFT MOON - The Soft Moon
A quite recent album, but it made a deep impression on me. The ominous atmosphere, the whispering vocals, the driving bass lines and sharp guitar riffs come together beautifully. It inspires me and it makes me dance 'till I drop.

7. SLOWDIVE – Souvlaki
On Souvlaki, Slowdive found a way to blend hypnotic beauty with loud, almost aggressive guitar noise. No album gives me more shivers than this one. When The Sun Hits is probably one of my favourite songs ever.

8. DAVID BOWIE – Low
An intriguing album of Bowie from his Berlin period. On the A-side you hear hunting guitars, pulsating synths and krautrock rhythms; the B-side is a collection of wonderful ambient adventures, composed with his friend Eno.

9. GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR - Life Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven
The absolute kings of long, epic and dark post-rock symphonies. They’re an anarchist musical collective that impresses me. LYSFLATH is their magnum opus, I can listen to it endlessly.

10. MY BLOODY VALENTINE – Loveless
"What the fuck did I just listen to!", that is what I thought when I heard Loveless for the first time. There would be many more spins afterwards! Many shoegaze bands copy their sound in one way or another, but no one comes close to them. Truly unique.

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


NL

Het is al vaker gezegd, maar Peek-A-Boo vindt de postpunk en coldwave van de Belgische band Whispering Sons lichtjes fantastisch. We vroeger aan Sander Hermans (synthesizers) naar de tien platen die zijn leven hebben beïnvloed.

1. THE SOUND – From The Lion’s Mouth
Unknown Pleasures, allemaal goed en wel, maar dit is voor mij ongetwijfeld ‘s werelds beste postpunkplaat. Die kracht, passie en afwisseling tussen de ingetogen en bombastische momenten is gewoonweg geniaal. Ik heb er geen woorden voor, behalve: “I was going down/Then I started winning!”

2. THE CHAMELEONS – Script Of The Bridge
Ik denk dat dit de plaat is die mij een aantal jaar geleden in de postpunk heeft gezogen. Een zeer intense rit. Het ene perfecte nummer volgt na het andere, het lijkt wel een best-of. Ik gebruik de term misschien te gemakkelijk, maar de omschrijving ‘meesterwerk’ is hier wel op zijn plaats, denk ik. Ik ben blij dat ik Chameleons Vox live zag tijdens een tour tijdens dewelke ze deze plaat van het begin tot het einde speelden. Magisch.

3. THE CURE – Pornography
Één van de duisterste platen ooit? Waarschijnlijk wel, maar er schuilt ook zoveel pracht in. Menig regenachtige winterdag versleet ik met deze plaat op de herhalingstoets en daar heb ik geen spijt van.

4. TALKING HEADS – Fear Of Music
De prettig gestoorde David Byrne en zijn bende maken samen met Brian Eno een donkere plaat vol benauwende en opgejaagde nummers. Voor mij persoonlijk de meest consistente verzameling muziek van Talking Heads.

5. CAN – Tago Mago
Krautrock op zijn best. Hypnotiserende drums, psychedelische gitaarlijnen en totaal geïmproviseerde vocals van Damo Suzuki. Halleluwah!

6. THE SOFT MOON – The Soft Moon
Een album dat nog niet zo lang geleden verscheen, maar toch al een diepe indruk op mij heeft gemaakt. De onheilspellende sfeer, de fluisterende vocals, de stuwende baslijnen en de scherpe gitaarriffs komen prachtig samen in een geheel dat mij tegelijk inspireert en doet dansen tot ik erbij neerval.

7. SLOWDIVE – Souvlaki
Op Souvlaki vond Slowdive een manier om hypnotiserende schoonheid te mengen met een luide, bijna agressieve muur van gitaarnoise. Geen album dat meer rillingen over mijn rug laat lopen dan dit. When The Sun Hits is waarschijnlijk één van mijn favoriete nummers ooit.

8. DAVID BOWIE – Low
Een intrigerende plaat van Bowie uit zijn Berlijn-periode. Aan de ene kant opgejaagde gitaren, pulserende synths en krautrockritmes; op de andere prachtige ambientavonturen met zijn goede vriend Eno.

9. GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR – Life Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven
De absolute koningen van de lange, epische en vooral duistere postrocksymfonieën. Een openlijk anarchistisch muzikaal collectief dat mij al geruime tijd in de ban houdt. LYSFLATH, hun magnum opus dat tachtig minuten over vier nummers verdeelt, is een gevarieerd werk dat ik eindeloos kan blijven beluisteren.

10. MY BLOODY VALENTINE – Loveless
“What the fuck heb ik net gehoord”, dacht ik na de eerste luisterbeurt van Loveless. Er zouden er nog héél véél volgen. Veel shoegazebands kopiëren hun geluid op de een of andere manier, maar niemand komt in de buurt. Waarlijk uniek.

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
19
05
42 years of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!
30
04
DAVID GEDGE (THE WEDDING PRESENT)
'I do like to make the song as personal as possible!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo