tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
21/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It has been said before on our pages, but Peek-A-Boo really loves the post-punk and cold wave of the Belgian band Whispering Sons. We asked Sander Hermans (synthesizers) which ten records influenced his life.

1. THE SOUND - From The Lion's Mouth
Unknown Pleasures, okay, but for me this record undoubtedly is the world's best post-punk record. That power, passion and alternation between introvert and bombastic moments is simply brilliant. I have no words for it, except: "I was going down/Then I started winning!".

2. THE CHAMELEONS - Script Of The Bridge
I think this is the record that sucked me in post-punk some years ago. A very intense ride. One perfect song follows the other, it seems like a best of. Probably I use the term too easy, but the description 'masterpiece' is justified here. I'm glad I saw Chameleons Vox live during a tour in which they played the whole album from beginning to end. Magic.

3. THE CURE - Pornography
One of the darkest albums ever? Probably, but also beautiful! I used to listen a lot to this album during rainy winter days with the repeat button on, and I don't regret it.

4. TALKING HEADS - Fear Of Music
With Brian Eno, wacky David Byrne and his band made a dark album of oppressive and hunted tracks. For me personally, it is the most consistent collection of music Talking Heads made.

 5. CAN - Tago Mago
Krautrock at its best. Hypnotic drums, psychedelic guitar lines and totally improvised vocals of Damo Suzuki. Halleluwah!

6.THE SOFT MOON - The Soft Moon
A quite recent album, but it made a deep impression on me. The ominous atmosphere, the whispering vocals, the driving bass lines and sharp guitar riffs come together beautifully. It inspires me and it makes me dance 'till I drop.

7. SLOWDIVE – Souvlaki
On Souvlaki, Slowdive found a way to blend hypnotic beauty with loud, almost aggressive guitar noise. No album gives me more shivers than this one. When The Sun Hits is probably one of my favourite songs ever.

8. DAVID BOWIE – Low
An intriguing album of Bowie from his Berlin period. On the A-side you hear hunting guitars, pulsating synths and krautrock rhythms; the B-side is a collection of wonderful ambient adventures, composed with his friend Eno.

9. GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR - Life Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven
The absolute kings of long, epic and dark post-rock symphonies. They’re an anarchist musical collective that impresses me. LYSFLATH is their magnum opus, I can listen to it endlessly.

10. MY BLOODY VALENTINE – Loveless
"What the fuck did I just listen to!", that is what I thought when I heard Loveless for the first time. There would be many more spins afterwards! Many shoegaze bands copy their sound in one way or another, but no one comes close to them. Truly unique.

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


NL

Het is al vaker gezegd, maar Peek-A-Boo vindt de postpunk en coldwave van de Belgische band Whispering Sons lichtjes fantastisch. We vroeger aan Sander Hermans (synthesizers) naar de tien platen die zijn leven hebben beïnvloed.

1. THE SOUND – From The Lion’s Mouth
Unknown Pleasures, allemaal goed en wel, maar dit is voor mij ongetwijfeld ‘s werelds beste postpunkplaat. Die kracht, passie en afwisseling tussen de ingetogen en bombastische momenten is gewoonweg geniaal. Ik heb er geen woorden voor, behalve: “I was going down/Then I started winning!”

2. THE CHAMELEONS – Script Of The Bridge
Ik denk dat dit de plaat is die mij een aantal jaar geleden in de postpunk heeft gezogen. Een zeer intense rit. Het ene perfecte nummer volgt na het andere, het lijkt wel een best-of. Ik gebruik de term misschien te gemakkelijk, maar de omschrijving ‘meesterwerk’ is hier wel op zijn plaats, denk ik. Ik ben blij dat ik Chameleons Vox live zag tijdens een tour tijdens dewelke ze deze plaat van het begin tot het einde speelden. Magisch.

3. THE CURE – Pornography
Één van de duisterste platen ooit? Waarschijnlijk wel, maar er schuilt ook zoveel pracht in. Menig regenachtige winterdag versleet ik met deze plaat op de herhalingstoets en daar heb ik geen spijt van.

4. TALKING HEADS – Fear Of Music
De prettig gestoorde David Byrne en zijn bende maken samen met Brian Eno een donkere plaat vol benauwende en opgejaagde nummers. Voor mij persoonlijk de meest consistente verzameling muziek van Talking Heads.

5. CAN – Tago Mago
Krautrock op zijn best. Hypnotiserende drums, psychedelische gitaarlijnen en totaal geïmproviseerde vocals van Damo Suzuki. Halleluwah!

6. THE SOFT MOON – The Soft Moon
Een album dat nog niet zo lang geleden verscheen, maar toch al een diepe indruk op mij heeft gemaakt. De onheilspellende sfeer, de fluisterende vocals, de stuwende baslijnen en de scherpe gitaarriffs komen prachtig samen in een geheel dat mij tegelijk inspireert en doet dansen tot ik erbij neerval.

7. SLOWDIVE – Souvlaki
Op Souvlaki vond Slowdive een manier om hypnotiserende schoonheid te mengen met een luide, bijna agressieve muur van gitaarnoise. Geen album dat meer rillingen over mijn rug laat lopen dan dit. When The Sun Hits is waarschijnlijk één van mijn favoriete nummers ooit.

8. DAVID BOWIE – Low
Een intrigerende plaat van Bowie uit zijn Berlijn-periode. Aan de ene kant opgejaagde gitaren, pulserende synths en krautrockritmes; op de andere prachtige ambientavonturen met zijn goede vriend Eno.

9. GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR – Life Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven
De absolute koningen van de lange, epische en vooral duistere postrocksymfonieën. Een openlijk anarchistisch muzikaal collectief dat mij al geruime tijd in de ban houdt. LYSFLATH, hun magnum opus dat tachtig minuten over vier nummers verdeelt, is een gevarieerd werk dat ik eindeloos kan blijven beluisteren.

10. MY BLOODY VALENTINE – Loveless
“What the fuck heb ik net gehoord”, dacht ik na de eerste luisterbeurt van Loveless. Er zouden er nog héél véél volgen. Veel shoegazebands kopiëren hun geluid op de een of andere manier, maar niemand komt in de buurt. Waarlijk uniek.

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain