tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
21/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

It has been said before on our pages, but Peek-A-Boo really loves the post-punk and cold wave of the Belgian band Whispering Sons. We asked Sander Hermans (synthesizers) which ten records influenced his life.

1. THE SOUND - From The Lion's Mouth
Unknown Pleasures, okay, but for me this record undoubtedly is the world's best post-punk record. That power, passion and alternation between introvert and bombastic moments is simply brilliant. I have no words for it, except: "I was going down/Then I started winning!".

2. THE CHAMELEONS - Script Of The Bridge
I think this is the record that sucked me in post-punk some years ago. A very intense ride. One perfect song follows the other, it seems like a best of. Probably I use the term too easy, but the description 'masterpiece' is justified here. I'm glad I saw Chameleons Vox live during a tour in which they played the whole album from beginning to end. Magic.

3. THE CURE - Pornography
One of the darkest albums ever? Probably, but also beautiful! I used to listen a lot to this album during rainy winter days with the repeat button on, and I don't regret it.

4. TALKING HEADS - Fear Of Music
With Brian Eno, wacky David Byrne and his band made a dark album of oppressive and hunted tracks. For me personally, it is the most consistent collection of music Talking Heads made.

 5. CAN - Tago Mago
Krautrock at its best. Hypnotic drums, psychedelic guitar lines and totally improvised vocals of Damo Suzuki. Halleluwah!

6.THE SOFT MOON - The Soft Moon
A quite recent album, but it made a deep impression on me. The ominous atmosphere, the whispering vocals, the driving bass lines and sharp guitar riffs come together beautifully. It inspires me and it makes me dance 'till I drop.

7. SLOWDIVE – Souvlaki
On Souvlaki, Slowdive found a way to blend hypnotic beauty with loud, almost aggressive guitar noise. No album gives me more shivers than this one. When The Sun Hits is probably one of my favourite songs ever.

8. DAVID BOWIE – Low
An intriguing album of Bowie from his Berlin period. On the A-side you hear hunting guitars, pulsating synths and krautrock rhythms; the B-side is a collection of wonderful ambient adventures, composed with his friend Eno.

9. GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR - Life Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven
The absolute kings of long, epic and dark post-rock symphonies. They’re an anarchist musical collective that impresses me. LYSFLATH is their magnum opus, I can listen to it endlessly.

10. MY BLOODY VALENTINE – Loveless
"What the fuck did I just listen to!", that is what I thought when I heard Loveless for the first time. There would be many more spins afterwards! Many shoegaze bands copy their sound in one way or another, but no one comes close to them. Truly unique.

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


NL

Het is al vaker gezegd, maar Peek-A-Boo vindt de postpunk en coldwave van de Belgische band Whispering Sons lichtjes fantastisch. We vroeger aan Sander Hermans (synthesizers) naar de tien platen die zijn leven hebben beïnvloed.

1. THE SOUND – From The Lion’s Mouth
Unknown Pleasures, allemaal goed en wel, maar dit is voor mij ongetwijfeld ‘s werelds beste postpunkplaat. Die kracht, passie en afwisseling tussen de ingetogen en bombastische momenten is gewoonweg geniaal. Ik heb er geen woorden voor, behalve: “I was going down/Then I started winning!”

2. THE CHAMELEONS – Script Of The Bridge
Ik denk dat dit de plaat is die mij een aantal jaar geleden in de postpunk heeft gezogen. Een zeer intense rit. Het ene perfecte nummer volgt na het andere, het lijkt wel een best-of. Ik gebruik de term misschien te gemakkelijk, maar de omschrijving ‘meesterwerk’ is hier wel op zijn plaats, denk ik. Ik ben blij dat ik Chameleons Vox live zag tijdens een tour tijdens dewelke ze deze plaat van het begin tot het einde speelden. Magisch.

3. THE CURE – Pornography
Één van de duisterste platen ooit? Waarschijnlijk wel, maar er schuilt ook zoveel pracht in. Menig regenachtige winterdag versleet ik met deze plaat op de herhalingstoets en daar heb ik geen spijt van.

4. TALKING HEADS – Fear Of Music
De prettig gestoorde David Byrne en zijn bende maken samen met Brian Eno een donkere plaat vol benauwende en opgejaagde nummers. Voor mij persoonlijk de meest consistente verzameling muziek van Talking Heads.

5. CAN – Tago Mago
Krautrock op zijn best. Hypnotiserende drums, psychedelische gitaarlijnen en totaal geïmproviseerde vocals van Damo Suzuki. Halleluwah!

6. THE SOFT MOON – The Soft Moon
Een album dat nog niet zo lang geleden verscheen, maar toch al een diepe indruk op mij heeft gemaakt. De onheilspellende sfeer, de fluisterende vocals, de stuwende baslijnen en de scherpe gitaarriffs komen prachtig samen in een geheel dat mij tegelijk inspireert en doet dansen tot ik erbij neerval.

7. SLOWDIVE – Souvlaki
Op Souvlaki vond Slowdive een manier om hypnotiserende schoonheid te mengen met een luide, bijna agressieve muur van gitaarnoise. Geen album dat meer rillingen over mijn rug laat lopen dan dit. When The Sun Hits is waarschijnlijk één van mijn favoriete nummers ooit.

8. DAVID BOWIE – Low
Een intrigerende plaat van Bowie uit zijn Berlijn-periode. Aan de ene kant opgejaagde gitaren, pulserende synths en krautrockritmes; op de andere prachtige ambientavonturen met zijn goede vriend Eno.

9. GODSPEED YOU! BLACK EMPEROR – Life Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven
De absolute koningen van de lange, epische en vooral duistere postrocksymfonieën. Een openlijk anarchistisch muzikaal collectief dat mij al geruime tijd in de ban houdt. LYSFLATH, hun magnum opus dat tachtig minuten over vier nummers verdeelt, is een gevarieerd werk dat ik eindeloos kan blijven beluisteren.

10. MY BLOODY VALENTINE – Loveless
“What the fuck heb ik net gehoord”, dacht ik na de eerste luisterbeurt van Loveless. Er zouden er nog héél véél volgen. Veel shoegazebands kopiëren hun geluid op de een of andere manier, maar niemand komt in de buurt. Waarlijk uniek.

Didier BECU
21/01/2016


21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 21/01/2016 : SANDER HERMANS (WHISPERING SONS) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16