tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/01/2016 : BURNING GATES - Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001

BURNING GATES

Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[80/100]   

Strobelight Records
22/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

When I got Shadows Of The Past in my hands, I felt a strange sense of nostalgia. Immediately I thought of past days when I tried to expand my musical territory by searching bands that released their music on tape as in a way, during the 80s, tapes were the mp3s from now. When a band released a demo, or (even worse) when it was not accepted by any label, it opted for the DIY-way and released a tape.

Through an Italian goth fan I got the cassette Nel Profondo, and even though I did not understand one word of the Italian texts, the music made a deep impression on me. Then I knew that Michele Piccolo, Andrea Cannella, Giulio Forsi and Davide Bo had everything to make it in the goth rock world.

A year later, the first CD (Risvegli) was released and while the foursome continued to sing in Italian, it conquered the international underground scene and shared the stage with renowned acts such as Corpus Delicti and Altered States.

The second LP was in English, because this was a condition for newcomer Danny Tartaglia who replaced bassist Giulo. A correct choice, because with Aurora Borealis the band played at several European stages: from Leipzig to Strasbourg (a concert your reviewer saw with his own eyes!).

There was a third LP (Wounds, that features the Killing Joke cover The Wait), but from then on Burning Gates was finished. Too bad, though although most of the members are still busy with goth rock. Soon Michele Piccolo will release new material with From The Fire, while Danny starred in many British goth rock bands such as Vendemmian and The Faces Of Sarah.

In all fairness, the young generation forgot about Burning Gates, and Strobelight Records wants to do something about that by releasing a compilation that features the best songs. Those who love traditional goth rock (think of Fields Of The Nephilim, but with a death rock sound), definitely will want to hear more after hearing the twelve songs on this compilation. No, this is not a trip to the past, rather a refresh of the memory!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


NL

Toen ik Shadows Of The Past in mijn handen had, kreeg ik een vreemd gevoel van heimwee. Onmiddellijk moest ik denken aan de dagen waarin ik mijn muzikaal territorium probeerde uit te breiden door wereldwijd op zoek te gaan naar bands die hun muziek op tape uitbrachten. Want jawel, in de jaren 80 waren de tapes gewoon de mp3’s van nu. Als een band een demo uitbracht, of (nog erger) door geen enkel label werd aanvaard, koos men voor de DIY-weg en bracht men een tape uit.

Via een Italiaanse gothfan kreeg ik ooit de cassette Nel Profondo, en ook al begreep ik geen snars van de Italiaanse teksten, maakte de muziek toch diepe indruk op mij. Toen wist ik al dat Michele Piccolo, Andrea Cannella, Giulio Forsi en Davide Bo alles in huis hadden om het in de gothrockwereld te maken.

Een jaartje later verscheen de eerste cd (Risvegli) en hoewel het viertal z'n moedertaal trouw bleef, veroverde het beetje bij beetje de internationale undergroundscène en deelde het podium met gerenommeerde acts als Corpus Delicti en Altered States.

De tweede lp werd in het Engels gezongen omdat dit een voorwaarde was voor nieuwkomer Danny Tartaglia die bassist Giulo verving. Een terechte keuze, want dankzij Aurora Borealis stond de band op alle Europese podia: van Leipzig tot Strasbourg (een concert dat jullie recensent met eigen ogen mocht aanschouwen!).

Er volgde nog een derde lp (Wounds, met daarop The Wait van Killing Joke), maar toen bleek dat het liedje van Burning Gates uitgezongen was. Jammer, ofschoon de meeste leden nog steeds met gothrock bezig zijn. Binnenkort brengt Michele Piccolo met From The Fire nieuw werk uit, terwijl Danny in heel wat Britse gothrockbands speelde (o.a. Vendemmian en The Faces Of Sarah).

Eerlijkheidshalve is de jonge gothgeneratie Burning Gates wat vergeten en daar wil Strobelight Records wat aan doen door een compilatie uit te brengen met daarop de beste nummers. Wie van traditionele gothrock houdt (denk aan Fields Of The Nephilim, maar dan met een deathrockgeluid) zal beslist meer willen horen na de twaalf nummers die je op deze compilatie vindt. Neen, dit is geen trip naar het verleden, eerder een opfrissing van het geheugen!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You