tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/01/2016 : BURNING GATES - Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001

BURNING GATES

Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[80/100]   

Strobelight Records
22/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

When I got Shadows Of The Past in my hands, I felt a strange sense of nostalgia. Immediately I thought of past days when I tried to expand my musical territory by searching bands that released their music on tape as in a way, during the 80s, tapes were the mp3s from now. When a band released a demo, or (even worse) when it was not accepted by any label, it opted for the DIY-way and released a tape.

Through an Italian goth fan I got the cassette Nel Profondo, and even though I did not understand one word of the Italian texts, the music made a deep impression on me. Then I knew that Michele Piccolo, Andrea Cannella, Giulio Forsi and Davide Bo had everything to make it in the goth rock world.

A year later, the first CD (Risvegli) was released and while the foursome continued to sing in Italian, it conquered the international underground scene and shared the stage with renowned acts such as Corpus Delicti and Altered States.

The second LP was in English, because this was a condition for newcomer Danny Tartaglia who replaced bassist Giulo. A correct choice, because with Aurora Borealis the band played at several European stages: from Leipzig to Strasbourg (a concert your reviewer saw with his own eyes!).

There was a third LP (Wounds, that features the Killing Joke cover The Wait), but from then on Burning Gates was finished. Too bad, though although most of the members are still busy with goth rock. Soon Michele Piccolo will release new material with From The Fire, while Danny starred in many British goth rock bands such as Vendemmian and The Faces Of Sarah.

In all fairness, the young generation forgot about Burning Gates, and Strobelight Records wants to do something about that by releasing a compilation that features the best songs. Those who love traditional goth rock (think of Fields Of The Nephilim, but with a death rock sound), definitely will want to hear more after hearing the twelve songs on this compilation. No, this is not a trip to the past, rather a refresh of the memory!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


NL

Toen ik Shadows Of The Past in mijn handen had, kreeg ik een vreemd gevoel van heimwee. Onmiddellijk moest ik denken aan de dagen waarin ik mijn muzikaal territorium probeerde uit te breiden door wereldwijd op zoek te gaan naar bands die hun muziek op tape uitbrachten. Want jawel, in de jaren 80 waren de tapes gewoon de mp3’s van nu. Als een band een demo uitbracht, of (nog erger) door geen enkel label werd aanvaard, koos men voor de DIY-weg en bracht men een tape uit.

Via een Italiaanse gothfan kreeg ik ooit de cassette Nel Profondo, en ook al begreep ik geen snars van de Italiaanse teksten, maakte de muziek toch diepe indruk op mij. Toen wist ik al dat Michele Piccolo, Andrea Cannella, Giulio Forsi en Davide Bo alles in huis hadden om het in de gothrockwereld te maken.

Een jaartje later verscheen de eerste cd (Risvegli) en hoewel het viertal z'n moedertaal trouw bleef, veroverde het beetje bij beetje de internationale undergroundscène en deelde het podium met gerenommeerde acts als Corpus Delicti en Altered States.

De tweede lp werd in het Engels gezongen omdat dit een voorwaarde was voor nieuwkomer Danny Tartaglia die bassist Giulo verving. Een terechte keuze, want dankzij Aurora Borealis stond de band op alle Europese podia: van Leipzig tot Strasbourg (een concert dat jullie recensent met eigen ogen mocht aanschouwen!).

Er volgde nog een derde lp (Wounds, met daarop The Wait van Killing Joke), maar toen bleek dat het liedje van Burning Gates uitgezongen was. Jammer, ofschoon de meeste leden nog steeds met gothrock bezig zijn. Binnenkort brengt Michele Piccolo met From The Fire nieuw werk uit, terwijl Danny in heel wat Britse gothrockbands speelde (o.a. Vendemmian en The Faces Of Sarah).

Eerlijkheidshalve is de jonge gothgeneratie Burning Gates wat vergeten en daar wil Strobelight Records wat aan doen door een compilatie uit te brengen met daarop de beste nummers. Wie van traditionele gothrock houdt (denk aan Fields Of The Nephilim, maar dan met een deathrockgeluid) zal beslist meer willen horen na de twaalf nummers die je op deze compilatie vindt. Neen, dit is geen trip naar het verleden, eerder een opfrissing van het geheugen!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still