tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/01/2016 : BURNING GATES - Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001

BURNING GATES

Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[80/100]   

Strobelight Records
22/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

When I got Shadows Of The Past in my hands, I felt a strange sense of nostalgia. Immediately I thought of past days when I tried to expand my musical territory by searching bands that released their music on tape as in a way, during the 80s, tapes were the mp3s from now. When a band released a demo, or (even worse) when it was not accepted by any label, it opted for the DIY-way and released a tape.

Through an Italian goth fan I got the cassette Nel Profondo, and even though I did not understand one word of the Italian texts, the music made a deep impression on me. Then I knew that Michele Piccolo, Andrea Cannella, Giulio Forsi and Davide Bo had everything to make it in the goth rock world.

A year later, the first CD (Risvegli) was released and while the foursome continued to sing in Italian, it conquered the international underground scene and shared the stage with renowned acts such as Corpus Delicti and Altered States.

The second LP was in English, because this was a condition for newcomer Danny Tartaglia who replaced bassist Giulo. A correct choice, because with Aurora Borealis the band played at several European stages: from Leipzig to Strasbourg (a concert your reviewer saw with his own eyes!).

There was a third LP (Wounds, that features the Killing Joke cover The Wait), but from then on Burning Gates was finished. Too bad, though although most of the members are still busy with goth rock. Soon Michele Piccolo will release new material with From The Fire, while Danny starred in many British goth rock bands such as Vendemmian and The Faces Of Sarah.

In all fairness, the young generation forgot about Burning Gates, and Strobelight Records wants to do something about that by releasing a compilation that features the best songs. Those who love traditional goth rock (think of Fields Of The Nephilim, but with a death rock sound), definitely will want to hear more after hearing the twelve songs on this compilation. No, this is not a trip to the past, rather a refresh of the memory!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


NL

Toen ik Shadows Of The Past in mijn handen had, kreeg ik een vreemd gevoel van heimwee. Onmiddellijk moest ik denken aan de dagen waarin ik mijn muzikaal territorium probeerde uit te breiden door wereldwijd op zoek te gaan naar bands die hun muziek op tape uitbrachten. Want jawel, in de jaren 80 waren de tapes gewoon de mp3’s van nu. Als een band een demo uitbracht, of (nog erger) door geen enkel label werd aanvaard, koos men voor de DIY-weg en bracht men een tape uit.

Via een Italiaanse gothfan kreeg ik ooit de cassette Nel Profondo, en ook al begreep ik geen snars van de Italiaanse teksten, maakte de muziek toch diepe indruk op mij. Toen wist ik al dat Michele Piccolo, Andrea Cannella, Giulio Forsi en Davide Bo alles in huis hadden om het in de gothrockwereld te maken.

Een jaartje later verscheen de eerste cd (Risvegli) en hoewel het viertal z'n moedertaal trouw bleef, veroverde het beetje bij beetje de internationale undergroundscène en deelde het podium met gerenommeerde acts als Corpus Delicti en Altered States.

De tweede lp werd in het Engels gezongen omdat dit een voorwaarde was voor nieuwkomer Danny Tartaglia die bassist Giulo verving. Een terechte keuze, want dankzij Aurora Borealis stond de band op alle Europese podia: van Leipzig tot Strasbourg (een concert dat jullie recensent met eigen ogen mocht aanschouwen!).

Er volgde nog een derde lp (Wounds, met daarop The Wait van Killing Joke), maar toen bleek dat het liedje van Burning Gates uitgezongen was. Jammer, ofschoon de meeste leden nog steeds met gothrock bezig zijn. Binnenkort brengt Michele Piccolo met From The Fire nieuw werk uit, terwijl Danny in heel wat Britse gothrockbands speelde (o.a. Vendemmian en The Faces Of Sarah).

Eerlijkheidshalve is de jonge gothgeneratie Burning Gates wat vergeten en daar wil Strobelight Records wat aan doen door een compilatie uit te brengen met daarop de beste nummers. Wie van traditionele gothrock houdt (denk aan Fields Of The Nephilim, maar dan met een deathrockgeluid) zal beslist meer willen horen na de twaalf nummers die je op deze compilatie vindt. Neen, dit is geen trip naar het verleden, eerder een opfrissing van het geheugen!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
A Date In Camden | On this day 41 ago The Fall recorded Live At The Witch Trials!
14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
12
TAINA
Seelenfresser
14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes