tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/01/2016 : BURNING GATES - Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001

BURNING GATES

Shadows Of The Past: A Retrospective 1995-2001

MusicCD
Gothic Rock

[80/100]   

Strobelight Records
22/01/2016, Didier BECU

EN

When I got Shadows Of The Past in my hands, I felt a strange sense of nostalgia. Immediately I thought of past days when I tried to expand my musical territory by searching bands that released their music on tape as in a way, during the 80s, tapes were the mp3s from now. When a band released a demo, or (even worse) when it was not accepted by any label, it opted for the DIY-way and released a tape.

Through an Italian goth fan I got the cassette Nel Profondo, and even though I did not understand one word of the Italian texts, the music made a deep impression on me. Then I knew that Michele Piccolo, Andrea Cannella, Giulio Forsi and Davide Bo had everything to make it in the goth rock world.

A year later, the first CD (Risvegli) was released and while the foursome continued to sing in Italian, it conquered the international underground scene and shared the stage with renowned acts such as Corpus Delicti and Altered States.

The second LP was in English, because this was a condition for newcomer Danny Tartaglia who replaced bassist Giulo. A correct choice, because with Aurora Borealis the band played at several European stages: from Leipzig to Strasbourg (a concert your reviewer saw with his own eyes!).

There was a third LP (Wounds, that features the Killing Joke cover The Wait), but from then on Burning Gates was finished. Too bad, though although most of the members are still busy with goth rock. Soon Michele Piccolo will release new material with From The Fire, while Danny starred in many British goth rock bands such as Vendemmian and The Faces Of Sarah.

In all fairness, the young generation forgot about Burning Gates, and Strobelight Records wants to do something about that by releasing a compilation that features the best songs. Those who love traditional goth rock (think of Fields Of The Nephilim, but with a death rock sound), definitely will want to hear more after hearing the twelve songs on this compilation. No, this is not a trip to the past, rather a refresh of the memory!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


NL

Toen ik Shadows Of The Past in mijn handen had, kreeg ik een vreemd gevoel van heimwee. Onmiddellijk moest ik denken aan de dagen waarin ik mijn muzikaal territorium probeerde uit te breiden door wereldwijd op zoek te gaan naar bands die hun muziek op tape uitbrachten. Want jawel, in de jaren 80 waren de tapes gewoon de mp3’s van nu. Als een band een demo uitbracht, of (nog erger) door geen enkel label werd aanvaard, koos men voor de DIY-weg en bracht men een tape uit.

Via een Italiaanse gothfan kreeg ik ooit de cassette Nel Profondo, en ook al begreep ik geen snars van de Italiaanse teksten, maakte de muziek toch diepe indruk op mij. Toen wist ik al dat Michele Piccolo, Andrea Cannella, Giulio Forsi en Davide Bo alles in huis hadden om het in de gothrockwereld te maken.

Een jaartje later verscheen de eerste cd (Risvegli) en hoewel het viertal z'n moedertaal trouw bleef, veroverde het beetje bij beetje de internationale undergroundscène en deelde het podium met gerenommeerde acts als Corpus Delicti en Altered States.

De tweede lp werd in het Engels gezongen omdat dit een voorwaarde was voor nieuwkomer Danny Tartaglia die bassist Giulo verving. Een terechte keuze, want dankzij Aurora Borealis stond de band op alle Europese podia: van Leipzig tot Strasbourg (een concert dat jullie recensent met eigen ogen mocht aanschouwen!).

Er volgde nog een derde lp (Wounds, met daarop The Wait van Killing Joke), maar toen bleek dat het liedje van Burning Gates uitgezongen was. Jammer, ofschoon de meeste leden nog steeds met gothrock bezig zijn. Binnenkort brengt Michele Piccolo met From The Fire nieuw werk uit, terwijl Danny in heel wat Britse gothrockbands speelde (o.a. Vendemmian en The Faces Of Sarah).

Eerlijkheidshalve is de jonge gothgeneratie Burning Gates wat vergeten en daar wil Strobelight Records wat aan doen door een compilatie uit te brengen met daarop de beste nummers. Wie van traditionele gothrock houdt (denk aan Fields Of The Nephilim, maar dan met een deathrockgeluid) zal beslist meer willen horen na de twaalf nummers die je op deze compilatie vindt. Neen, dit is geen trip naar het verleden, eerder een opfrissing van het geheugen!

Didier BECU
22/01/2016


Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem