tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : RETRIEVER - The Rattle and the Hiss

RETRIEVER

The Rattle and the Hiss

MusicCD
GaragerockIndieShoegaze

[73/100]   

Desire Records
20/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Retriever is a garage band from Newcastle,UK, who link themselves with bands like The Kills and The Horrors. In an interview they also said their biggest inspiration is the past.

They released their first single ‘Murder/Lion’ in September 2010 and have currently released their first EP ‘The Rattle & The Hiss’.

The band describes their own music as ‘simple but effective’, and I think they pretty much nailed it with that statement. The guitars take me right back to the eighties and if I didn’t know any better (and wasn’t born about 20 years too late), I’d have thought this band started out supporting Joy Division.

It has to be said, after a couple of listens the songs do sound quite alike and kind of blend together, but you just can’t get bothered by it. You just can’t help being overwhelmed by the smashing guitars, accompanied by stunning vocals.

‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ is so refreshingly pure, something that is hard to come by these days, that by the time the final note of ‘The Engine’ resonates, you’ll be picturing yourself sitting in a dodgy dark room somewhere filled with smoke just being blown away by a massive wall of sound.

Watch this space people, and remember the name, because this is only the beginning for Retriever.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


NL

Retriever is een ‘Garage’ band uit Newcastle upon Tyne, UK. In eerdere interviews linkten ze zichzelf aan bands als The Kills en The Horrors, en verklaarden ze dat hun grootste inspiratie het verleden is.

In september 2010 brachten ze reeds hun eerste single, ‘Murder/Lion’ uit. Maar nu hebben ze hun eerste volledige EP ‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ uit.

De band beschrijft hun eigen muziek als ‘simpel maar doeltreffend’ en daarmee slaan ze de nagel op de kop. De gitaren nemen je zo terug mee naar de jaren tachtig en als ik niet beter wist en niet ongeveer 20 jaar te laat geboren was, zou ik denken dat de band begon ergens als voorprogramma van Joy Division.

Het moet wel gezegd, na een paar keer luisteren beginnen de nummers nogal op elkaar te lijken, maar je kan je er gewoon niet druk in maken. Het is onmogelijk om niet onder de indruk te raken van de gitaren en de prachtige vocals.

‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ is zo verfrissend en zo puur, iets wat heel zeldzaam is tegenwoordig. Als de laatste noot van ‘The Engine’ weerklinkt, kun je je zo inbeelden dat je ergens in een groezelig, rokerig zaaltje staat met je ogen dicht en gewoon omver geblazen wordt door al dat gitaargeweld.

Hou deze plek maar in de gaten en onthoud de naam, want dit is nog maar het begin voor Retriever.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
13
09
DIVINE SHADE
Something Bad (In The Dust | Part 1)
12
09
SPANKRAGHT
N16