tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : RETRIEVER - The Rattle and the Hiss

RETRIEVER

The Rattle and the Hiss

MusicCD
GaragerockIndieShoegaze

[73/100]   

Desire Records
20/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Retriever is a garage band from Newcastle,UK, who link themselves with bands like The Kills and The Horrors. In an interview they also said their biggest inspiration is the past.

They released their first single ‘Murder/Lion’ in September 2010 and have currently released their first EP ‘The Rattle & The Hiss’.

The band describes their own music as ‘simple but effective’, and I think they pretty much nailed it with that statement. The guitars take me right back to the eighties and if I didn’t know any better (and wasn’t born about 20 years too late), I’d have thought this band started out supporting Joy Division.

It has to be said, after a couple of listens the songs do sound quite alike and kind of blend together, but you just can’t get bothered by it. You just can’t help being overwhelmed by the smashing guitars, accompanied by stunning vocals.

‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ is so refreshingly pure, something that is hard to come by these days, that by the time the final note of ‘The Engine’ resonates, you’ll be picturing yourself sitting in a dodgy dark room somewhere filled with smoke just being blown away by a massive wall of sound.

Watch this space people, and remember the name, because this is only the beginning for Retriever.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


NL

Retriever is een ‘Garage’ band uit Newcastle upon Tyne, UK. In eerdere interviews linkten ze zichzelf aan bands als The Kills en The Horrors, en verklaarden ze dat hun grootste inspiratie het verleden is.

In september 2010 brachten ze reeds hun eerste single, ‘Murder/Lion’ uit. Maar nu hebben ze hun eerste volledige EP ‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ uit.

De band beschrijft hun eigen muziek als ‘simpel maar doeltreffend’ en daarmee slaan ze de nagel op de kop. De gitaren nemen je zo terug mee naar de jaren tachtig en als ik niet beter wist en niet ongeveer 20 jaar te laat geboren was, zou ik denken dat de band begon ergens als voorprogramma van Joy Division.

Het moet wel gezegd, na een paar keer luisteren beginnen de nummers nogal op elkaar te lijken, maar je kan je er gewoon niet druk in maken. Het is onmogelijk om niet onder de indruk te raken van de gitaren en de prachtige vocals.

‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ is zo verfrissend en zo puur, iets wat heel zeldzaam is tegenwoordig. Als de laatste noot van ‘The Engine’ weerklinkt, kun je je zo inbeelden dat je ergens in een groezelig, rokerig zaaltje staat met je ogen dicht en gewoon omver geblazen wordt door al dat gitaargeweld.

Hou deze plek maar in de gaten en onthoud de naam, want dit is nog maar het begin voor Retriever.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life