tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : RETRIEVER - The Rattle and the Hiss

RETRIEVER

The Rattle and the Hiss

MusicCD
GaragerockIndieShoegaze

[73/100]   

Desire Records
20/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Retriever is a garage band from Newcastle,UK, who link themselves with bands like The Kills and The Horrors. In an interview they also said their biggest inspiration is the past.

They released their first single ‘Murder/Lion’ in September 2010 and have currently released their first EP ‘The Rattle & The Hiss’.

The band describes their own music as ‘simple but effective’, and I think they pretty much nailed it with that statement. The guitars take me right back to the eighties and if I didn’t know any better (and wasn’t born about 20 years too late), I’d have thought this band started out supporting Joy Division.

It has to be said, after a couple of listens the songs do sound quite alike and kind of blend together, but you just can’t get bothered by it. You just can’t help being overwhelmed by the smashing guitars, accompanied by stunning vocals.

‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ is so refreshingly pure, something that is hard to come by these days, that by the time the final note of ‘The Engine’ resonates, you’ll be picturing yourself sitting in a dodgy dark room somewhere filled with smoke just being blown away by a massive wall of sound.

Watch this space people, and remember the name, because this is only the beginning for Retriever.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


NL

Retriever is een ‘Garage’ band uit Newcastle upon Tyne, UK. In eerdere interviews linkten ze zichzelf aan bands als The Kills en The Horrors, en verklaarden ze dat hun grootste inspiratie het verleden is.

In september 2010 brachten ze reeds hun eerste single, ‘Murder/Lion’ uit. Maar nu hebben ze hun eerste volledige EP ‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ uit.

De band beschrijft hun eigen muziek als ‘simpel maar doeltreffend’ en daarmee slaan ze de nagel op de kop. De gitaren nemen je zo terug mee naar de jaren tachtig en als ik niet beter wist en niet ongeveer 20 jaar te laat geboren was, zou ik denken dat de band begon ergens als voorprogramma van Joy Division.

Het moet wel gezegd, na een paar keer luisteren beginnen de nummers nogal op elkaar te lijken, maar je kan je er gewoon niet druk in maken. Het is onmogelijk om niet onder de indruk te raken van de gitaren en de prachtige vocals.

‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ is zo verfrissend en zo puur, iets wat heel zeldzaam is tegenwoordig. Als de laatste noot van ‘The Engine’ weerklinkt, kun je je zo inbeelden dat je ergens in een groezelig, rokerig zaaltje staat met je ogen dicht en gewoon omver geblazen wordt door al dat gitaargeweld.

Hou deze plek maar in de gaten en onthoud de naam, want dit is nog maar het begin voor Retriever.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes