tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : RETRIEVER - The Rattle and the Hiss

RETRIEVER

The Rattle and the Hiss

MusicCD
GaragerockIndieShoegaze

[73/100]   

Desire Records
20/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Retriever is a garage band from Newcastle,UK, who link themselves with bands like The Kills and The Horrors. In an interview they also said their biggest inspiration is the past.

They released their first single ‘Murder/Lion’ in September 2010 and have currently released their first EP ‘The Rattle & The Hiss’.

The band describes their own music as ‘simple but effective’, and I think they pretty much nailed it with that statement. The guitars take me right back to the eighties and if I didn’t know any better (and wasn’t born about 20 years too late), I’d have thought this band started out supporting Joy Division.

It has to be said, after a couple of listens the songs do sound quite alike and kind of blend together, but you just can’t get bothered by it. You just can’t help being overwhelmed by the smashing guitars, accompanied by stunning vocals.

‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ is so refreshingly pure, something that is hard to come by these days, that by the time the final note of ‘The Engine’ resonates, you’ll be picturing yourself sitting in a dodgy dark room somewhere filled with smoke just being blown away by a massive wall of sound.

Watch this space people, and remember the name, because this is only the beginning for Retriever.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


NL

Retriever is een ‘Garage’ band uit Newcastle upon Tyne, UK. In eerdere interviews linkten ze zichzelf aan bands als The Kills en The Horrors, en verklaarden ze dat hun grootste inspiratie het verleden is.

In september 2010 brachten ze reeds hun eerste single, ‘Murder/Lion’ uit. Maar nu hebben ze hun eerste volledige EP ‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ uit.

De band beschrijft hun eigen muziek als ‘simpel maar doeltreffend’ en daarmee slaan ze de nagel op de kop. De gitaren nemen je zo terug mee naar de jaren tachtig en als ik niet beter wist en niet ongeveer 20 jaar te laat geboren was, zou ik denken dat de band begon ergens als voorprogramma van Joy Division.

Het moet wel gezegd, na een paar keer luisteren beginnen de nummers nogal op elkaar te lijken, maar je kan je er gewoon niet druk in maken. Het is onmogelijk om niet onder de indruk te raken van de gitaren en de prachtige vocals.

‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ is zo verfrissend en zo puur, iets wat heel zeldzaam is tegenwoordig. Als de laatste noot van ‘The Engine’ weerklinkt, kun je je zo inbeelden dat je ergens in een groezelig, rokerig zaaltje staat met je ogen dicht en gewoon omver geblazen wordt door al dat gitaargeweld.

Hou deze plek maar in de gaten en onthoud de naam, want dit is nog maar het begin voor Retriever.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


Music reviews

15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love