tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : RETRIEVER - The Rattle and the Hiss

RETRIEVER

The Rattle and the Hiss

MusicCD
GaragerockIndieShoegaze

[73/100]   

Desire Records
20/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

Retriever is a garage band from Newcastle,UK, who link themselves with bands like The Kills and The Horrors. In an interview they also said their biggest inspiration is the past.

They released their first single ‘Murder/Lion’ in September 2010 and have currently released their first EP ‘The Rattle & The Hiss’.

The band describes their own music as ‘simple but effective’, and I think they pretty much nailed it with that statement. The guitars take me right back to the eighties and if I didn’t know any better (and wasn’t born about 20 years too late), I’d have thought this band started out supporting Joy Division.

It has to be said, after a couple of listens the songs do sound quite alike and kind of blend together, but you just can’t get bothered by it. You just can’t help being overwhelmed by the smashing guitars, accompanied by stunning vocals.

‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ is so refreshingly pure, something that is hard to come by these days, that by the time the final note of ‘The Engine’ resonates, you’ll be picturing yourself sitting in a dodgy dark room somewhere filled with smoke just being blown away by a massive wall of sound.

Watch this space people, and remember the name, because this is only the beginning for Retriever.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


NL

Retriever is een ‘Garage’ band uit Newcastle upon Tyne, UK. In eerdere interviews linkten ze zichzelf aan bands als The Kills en The Horrors, en verklaarden ze dat hun grootste inspiratie het verleden is.

In september 2010 brachten ze reeds hun eerste single, ‘Murder/Lion’ uit. Maar nu hebben ze hun eerste volledige EP ‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ uit.

De band beschrijft hun eigen muziek als ‘simpel maar doeltreffend’ en daarmee slaan ze de nagel op de kop. De gitaren nemen je zo terug mee naar de jaren tachtig en als ik niet beter wist en niet ongeveer 20 jaar te laat geboren was, zou ik denken dat de band begon ergens als voorprogramma van Joy Division.

Het moet wel gezegd, na een paar keer luisteren beginnen de nummers nogal op elkaar te lijken, maar je kan je er gewoon niet druk in maken. Het is onmogelijk om niet onder de indruk te raken van de gitaren en de prachtige vocals.

‘The Rattle & The Hiss’ is zo verfrissend en zo puur, iets wat heel zeldzaam is tegenwoordig. Als de laatste noot van ‘The Engine’ weerklinkt, kun je je zo inbeelden dat je ergens in een groezelig, rokerig zaaltje staat met je ogen dicht en gewoon omver geblazen wordt door al dat gitaargeweld.

Hou deze plek maar in de gaten en onthoud de naam, want dit is nog maar het begin voor Retriever.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger