tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/06/2011 : HAUJOBB - Dead Market EP

HAUJOBB

Dead Market EP

MusicCD
ElectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Techno

[71/100]   

Zweieck Recordings
19/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

If you have to sum up everything Daniel Myer has been involved in, over the last two deacades then you're going to have a massive list. Cleaner, Destroid, Architect, Dots + Dashes are just a few of them (and we didn't even want to mention his producing), but of course he will always be remembered as the man from Haujobb.

It seems like Daniel can't sit still (if you've seen him live, you know he can't), as in the middle of Covenant's "Modern Ruin", Daniel has again teamed up with his old buddy Dejan Samardzic to break the Haujobb-silence of 8 years (if we don't count the remix album from "Vertical Theory" of course).

There's even more as this EP mainly exists from remixes that are taken from the forthcoming album "New World March" that will be released later this year.

This German electronic outfit were never easy to classify and they always liked to flirt with genres like drum 'n bass and IMD which made them perhaps a band that might seem like some enfant terrible of the electronic scene. Still they managed to created their very own sound.

According to the two, industrial is dead and it's their goal to redefine it. Well, mind you, such things make us laugh as well, but still "Dead Market" is a killer of a song.

The song is presented in seven versions (no less) and the original version can be best described as an IMD version of the later sound from Depeche Mode. The song has a subdued atmosphere but like so many songs, the more you play it, the more it sticks in your brain.

Of the other remixes, Nomenklatur and Absolute Body Control stand out as the best.

It's perhaps a shame that eight years of waiting have to be filled with an EP full of remixes, but it's still a good teaser. The track "Letting The Demons Sleep" makes us look forward to the album release.

 

TRACKLIST :

1 Dead Market

2 Dead Market (Extended Remix)

3 Dead Market (The Horrorist-Remix)

4 Dead Market (Exes-Remix)

5 Letting The Demons Sleep (Nightmare)

6 Dead Market (Nomenklatür-Remix)

7 Dead Market (Absolute Body Control-Remix)

8 Dead Market (Engineer's Dub) (By Paul Kendall)

Didier BECU
19/06/2011


NL

Indien men je zou vragen om eens op te sommen waar Daniel Myer zoal in betrokken was, moet je niet alleen over een olifantengeheugen beschikken maar heb je bovendien ook nog eens de gebruikelijke waslijst nodig want het aantal is dus enorm.

Cleaner, Destroid, Architect, Dots + Dashes zijn maar een paar voorbeelden en dan hebben we het niet eens gehad over diens producerswerk, maar natuurlijk zal hij voor vele electro fans bekend blijven als de bezieler van Haujobb.

Blijkbaar is hij ook niet van het soort dat kan stilzitten (en wie hem ooit op een podium zag, weet dat dit inderdaad zo niet is) want middenin de "Modern Ruin"-tour van Covenant (waar hij dus ook deel van uitmaakt) besloot hij om samen met zijn oud maatje Dejan Samardzic acht jaar Haujobb-stilte te gaan doorbreken, tenminste als we de remix plaat "Vertical Theory" niet meerekenen.

En er is zelfs meer, deze EP (die jammer genoeg hoofdzakelijk uit remixes bestaat) is tevens de voorbode van het binnenkort te verschijnen "New world march"-album.

Deze Duitse electro formatie was nooit makkelijk in één of andere categorie onder te brengen want doorheen hun carrière waren ze niet vies van wat drum 'n bass of IMD. Ze mogen dan wel het enfant terrible uit de scene zijn toch is het net die brede kijk die hun tot één van de interessantste acts heeft gemaakt. Het is een geluid dat grotendeels op deze nieuwe EP bewaard bleef.

Volgens de mannen zelf is het hun bedoeling om de industriële muziek wat te gaan verfijnen, en geloof ons maar vrij: wij vinden dergelijke uitspraken ook maar prietpraat van jewelste maar dat neemt niet weg dat "Dead Market" een nummer is die je van je sokken wegblaast.

Misschien kan het nummer het best omschreven worden als een IMD-achtige versie van het latere Depeche Mode-werk. In ieder geval, is het wel een nummer dat zich aan je brein vastbijt ook al is het nummer eerder ingetogen van sfeer.

Tussen de remixes door, hebben Nomenklatur en Absolute Body Control zeker de beste job uitgevoerd.

Het is inderdaad wel een domper dat je jaren van stilte moet opvullen met een EP boordevol remixes (weliswaar van een dijk van een nummer) maar dat belet ons niet om te zeggen dat "Letting the demon sleep", het enige andere nummer op de EP, ons deed besluiten dat dit een aardig voorproefje is van een plaat waar we nu al naar uitkijken.

 

TRACKLIST :

1 Dead Market

2 Dead Market (Extended Remix)

3 Dead Market (The Horrorist-Remix)

4 Dead Market (Exes-Remix)

5 Letting The Demons Sleep (Nightmare)

6 Dead Market (Nomenklatür-Remix)

7 Dead Market (Absolute Body Control-Remix)

8 Dead Market (Engineer's Dub) (By Paul Kendall)

Didier BECU
19/06/2011


 

Next reviews
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Mein Eigentliches Element
MESH • An Alternative Solution
LED BIB • Bring Your Own
SUEDE • Suede
SNOWY RED • 1980-1984: The ultimate edition | 5 LP Box
VIGILANTE • The New Resistance
WAITING IN VAIN • Awake again EP
DISPLACER • Night gallery
MANUFACTURA • The pleasures of the damned
VARIOUS ARTISTS • BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]

 

Other reviews from HAUJOBB
HAUJOBB • New World March

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + TECHNO
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On