tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/06/2011 : HAUJOBB - Dead Market EP

HAUJOBB

Dead Market EP

MusicCD
ElectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Techno

[71/100]   

Zweieck Recordings
19/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

If you have to sum up everything Daniel Myer has been involved in, over the last two deacades then you're going to have a massive list. Cleaner, Destroid, Architect, Dots + Dashes are just a few of them (and we didn't even want to mention his producing), but of course he will always be remembered as the man from Haujobb.

It seems like Daniel can't sit still (if you've seen him live, you know he can't), as in the middle of Covenant's "Modern Ruin", Daniel has again teamed up with his old buddy Dejan Samardzic to break the Haujobb-silence of 8 years (if we don't count the remix album from "Vertical Theory" of course).

There's even more as this EP mainly exists from remixes that are taken from the forthcoming album "New World March" that will be released later this year.

This German electronic outfit were never easy to classify and they always liked to flirt with genres like drum 'n bass and IMD which made them perhaps a band that might seem like some enfant terrible of the electronic scene. Still they managed to created their very own sound.

According to the two, industrial is dead and it's their goal to redefine it. Well, mind you, such things make us laugh as well, but still "Dead Market" is a killer of a song.

The song is presented in seven versions (no less) and the original version can be best described as an IMD version of the later sound from Depeche Mode. The song has a subdued atmosphere but like so many songs, the more you play it, the more it sticks in your brain.

Of the other remixes, Nomenklatur and Absolute Body Control stand out as the best.

It's perhaps a shame that eight years of waiting have to be filled with an EP full of remixes, but it's still a good teaser. The track "Letting The Demons Sleep" makes us look forward to the album release.

 

TRACKLIST :

1 Dead Market

2 Dead Market (Extended Remix)

3 Dead Market (The Horrorist-Remix)

4 Dead Market (Exes-Remix)

5 Letting The Demons Sleep (Nightmare)

6 Dead Market (Nomenklatür-Remix)

7 Dead Market (Absolute Body Control-Remix)

8 Dead Market (Engineer's Dub) (By Paul Kendall)

Didier BECU
19/06/2011


NL

Indien men je zou vragen om eens op te sommen waar Daniel Myer zoal in betrokken was, moet je niet alleen over een olifantengeheugen beschikken maar heb je bovendien ook nog eens de gebruikelijke waslijst nodig want het aantal is dus enorm.

Cleaner, Destroid, Architect, Dots + Dashes zijn maar een paar voorbeelden en dan hebben we het niet eens gehad over diens producerswerk, maar natuurlijk zal hij voor vele electro fans bekend blijven als de bezieler van Haujobb.

Blijkbaar is hij ook niet van het soort dat kan stilzitten (en wie hem ooit op een podium zag, weet dat dit inderdaad zo niet is) want middenin de "Modern Ruin"-tour van Covenant (waar hij dus ook deel van uitmaakt) besloot hij om samen met zijn oud maatje Dejan Samardzic acht jaar Haujobb-stilte te gaan doorbreken, tenminste als we de remix plaat "Vertical Theory" niet meerekenen.

En er is zelfs meer, deze EP (die jammer genoeg hoofdzakelijk uit remixes bestaat) is tevens de voorbode van het binnenkort te verschijnen "New world march"-album.

Deze Duitse electro formatie was nooit makkelijk in één of andere categorie onder te brengen want doorheen hun carrière waren ze niet vies van wat drum 'n bass of IMD. Ze mogen dan wel het enfant terrible uit de scene zijn toch is het net die brede kijk die hun tot één van de interessantste acts heeft gemaakt. Het is een geluid dat grotendeels op deze nieuwe EP bewaard bleef.

Volgens de mannen zelf is het hun bedoeling om de industriële muziek wat te gaan verfijnen, en geloof ons maar vrij: wij vinden dergelijke uitspraken ook maar prietpraat van jewelste maar dat neemt niet weg dat "Dead Market" een nummer is die je van je sokken wegblaast.

Misschien kan het nummer het best omschreven worden als een IMD-achtige versie van het latere Depeche Mode-werk. In ieder geval, is het wel een nummer dat zich aan je brein vastbijt ook al is het nummer eerder ingetogen van sfeer.

Tussen de remixes door, hebben Nomenklatur en Absolute Body Control zeker de beste job uitgevoerd.

Het is inderdaad wel een domper dat je jaren van stilte moet opvullen met een EP boordevol remixes (weliswaar van een dijk van een nummer) maar dat belet ons niet om te zeggen dat "Letting the demon sleep", het enige andere nummer op de EP, ons deed besluiten dat dit een aardig voorproefje is van een plaat waar we nu al naar uitkijken.

 

TRACKLIST :

1 Dead Market

2 Dead Market (Extended Remix)

3 Dead Market (The Horrorist-Remix)

4 Dead Market (Exes-Remix)

5 Letting The Demons Sleep (Nightmare)

6 Dead Market (Nomenklatür-Remix)

7 Dead Market (Absolute Body Control-Remix)

8 Dead Market (Engineer's Dub) (By Paul Kendall)

Didier BECU
19/06/2011


 

Next reviews
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Mein Eigentliches Element
MESH • An Alternative Solution
LED BIB • Bring Your Own
SUEDE • Suede
SNOWY RED • 1980-1984: The ultimate edition | 5 LP Box
VIGILANTE • The New Resistance
WAITING IN VAIN • Awake again EP
DISPLACER • Night gallery
MANUFACTURA • The pleasures of the damned
VARIOUS ARTISTS • BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]

 

Other reviews from HAUJOBB
HAUJOBB • New World March

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + TECHNO
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination