tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

19/06/2011 : HAUJOBB - Dead Market EP

HAUJOBB

Dead Market EP

MusicCD
ElectroIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Techno

[71/100]   

Zweieck Recordings
19/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

If you have to sum up everything Daniel Myer has been involved in, over the last two deacades then you're going to have a massive list. Cleaner, Destroid, Architect, Dots + Dashes are just a few of them (and we didn't even want to mention his producing), but of course he will always be remembered as the man from Haujobb.

It seems like Daniel can't sit still (if you've seen him live, you know he can't), as in the middle of Covenant's "Modern Ruin", Daniel has again teamed up with his old buddy Dejan Samardzic to break the Haujobb-silence of 8 years (if we don't count the remix album from "Vertical Theory" of course).

There's even more as this EP mainly exists from remixes that are taken from the forthcoming album "New World March" that will be released later this year.

This German electronic outfit were never easy to classify and they always liked to flirt with genres like drum 'n bass and IMD which made them perhaps a band that might seem like some enfant terrible of the electronic scene. Still they managed to created their very own sound.

According to the two, industrial is dead and it's their goal to redefine it. Well, mind you, such things make us laugh as well, but still "Dead Market" is a killer of a song.

The song is presented in seven versions (no less) and the original version can be best described as an IMD version of the later sound from Depeche Mode. The song has a subdued atmosphere but like so many songs, the more you play it, the more it sticks in your brain.

Of the other remixes, Nomenklatur and Absolute Body Control stand out as the best.

It's perhaps a shame that eight years of waiting have to be filled with an EP full of remixes, but it's still a good teaser. The track "Letting The Demons Sleep" makes us look forward to the album release.

 

TRACKLIST :

1 Dead Market

2 Dead Market (Extended Remix)

3 Dead Market (The Horrorist-Remix)

4 Dead Market (Exes-Remix)

5 Letting The Demons Sleep (Nightmare)

6 Dead Market (Nomenklatür-Remix)

7 Dead Market (Absolute Body Control-Remix)

8 Dead Market (Engineer's Dub) (By Paul Kendall)

Didier BECU
19/06/2011


NL

Indien men je zou vragen om eens op te sommen waar Daniel Myer zoal in betrokken was, moet je niet alleen over een olifantengeheugen beschikken maar heb je bovendien ook nog eens de gebruikelijke waslijst nodig want het aantal is dus enorm.

Cleaner, Destroid, Architect, Dots + Dashes zijn maar een paar voorbeelden en dan hebben we het niet eens gehad over diens producerswerk, maar natuurlijk zal hij voor vele electro fans bekend blijven als de bezieler van Haujobb.

Blijkbaar is hij ook niet van het soort dat kan stilzitten (en wie hem ooit op een podium zag, weet dat dit inderdaad zo niet is) want middenin de "Modern Ruin"-tour van Covenant (waar hij dus ook deel van uitmaakt) besloot hij om samen met zijn oud maatje Dejan Samardzic acht jaar Haujobb-stilte te gaan doorbreken, tenminste als we de remix plaat "Vertical Theory" niet meerekenen.

En er is zelfs meer, deze EP (die jammer genoeg hoofdzakelijk uit remixes bestaat) is tevens de voorbode van het binnenkort te verschijnen "New world march"-album.

Deze Duitse electro formatie was nooit makkelijk in één of andere categorie onder te brengen want doorheen hun carrière waren ze niet vies van wat drum 'n bass of IMD. Ze mogen dan wel het enfant terrible uit de scene zijn toch is het net die brede kijk die hun tot één van de interessantste acts heeft gemaakt. Het is een geluid dat grotendeels op deze nieuwe EP bewaard bleef.

Volgens de mannen zelf is het hun bedoeling om de industriële muziek wat te gaan verfijnen, en geloof ons maar vrij: wij vinden dergelijke uitspraken ook maar prietpraat van jewelste maar dat neemt niet weg dat "Dead Market" een nummer is die je van je sokken wegblaast.

Misschien kan het nummer het best omschreven worden als een IMD-achtige versie van het latere Depeche Mode-werk. In ieder geval, is het wel een nummer dat zich aan je brein vastbijt ook al is het nummer eerder ingetogen van sfeer.

Tussen de remixes door, hebben Nomenklatur en Absolute Body Control zeker de beste job uitgevoerd.

Het is inderdaad wel een domper dat je jaren van stilte moet opvullen met een EP boordevol remixes (weliswaar van een dijk van een nummer) maar dat belet ons niet om te zeggen dat "Letting the demon sleep", het enige andere nummer op de EP, ons deed besluiten dat dit een aardig voorproefje is van een plaat waar we nu al naar uitkijken.

 

TRACKLIST :

1 Dead Market

2 Dead Market (Extended Remix)

3 Dead Market (The Horrorist-Remix)

4 Dead Market (Exes-Remix)

5 Letting The Demons Sleep (Nightmare)

6 Dead Market (Nomenklatür-Remix)

7 Dead Market (Absolute Body Control-Remix)

8 Dead Market (Engineer's Dub) (By Paul Kendall)

Didier BECU
19/06/2011


 

Next reviews
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Mein Eigentliches Element
MESH • An Alternative Solution
LED BIB • Bring Your Own
SUEDE • Suede
SNOWY RED • 1980-1984: The ultimate edition | 5 LP Box
VIGILANTE • The New Resistance
WAITING IN VAIN • Awake again EP
DISPLACER • Night gallery
MANUFACTURA • The pleasures of the damned
VARIOUS ARTISTS • BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]

 

Other reviews from HAUJOBB
HAUJOBB • New World March

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + TECHNO
CRUISE [CTRL] • Red or blue? (Remixes)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: TECHNO
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
XOSAR • Xymeria
PRESENCE I OF I MIND • Pure
MIRLAND • Greyscale Controller (charity-EP)
FACTORY FLOOR • 25 25
GRANDCHAOS • Memories
CLOCK DVA • Neoteric MiniMax

Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes