tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

17/06/2011 : SUEDE - Suede

SUEDE

Suede

MusicCD
IndiePopRock

[90/100]   

Edsel Records
17/06/2011, Dennis OHRT

Remastered and a tacky badge... how many times has one thought about this when being lead to buy an album again after a certain amount of years? Luckily, with Suede, the situation is a bit different. Edsel are now re-releasing all 5 studio albums that the band has released so far. Weekly one after the other.
Suede were already hyped in the UK music press before they even released a single - not uncommon back in the early 1990's, before the days of Britpop, when the weekly magazines always tried to find the next big thing (anyone remembering 'New Wave Of New Wave' or 'Romo'?). One simply didn't do Suede justice with that hype, as the band was way more, which they proved over 10 years. Their debut went straight to number 1 in the UK album charts.

Now, some 18 years later, we see a massive 2CD+DVD reissue of the album and it is well worth the money, if you ask me. Kicking off with one of their strongest singles 'So Young' and ending with the beautiful 'The Next Life', 11 classic Brett Anderson / Bernard Butler compositions are filling the room once again, having lost nothing of their appeal. Suede were always a band with multiple b-sides that some fans considered to be among the best stuff they ever put out. This release sees the b-sides being added on a second disc, among them such Suede classics as 'To The Birds' or 'My Insatiable One'. You'll get songs/versions that were recorded for compilations as well, including their cover of The Pretenders 'Brass In Pocket'.

Suede fans may already have all of those songs, but for them, digging in the archives took place and 10 demos and outtakes were found, among them a demo with Justine Frischmann (Elastica), who was a member of the band in their early days and where is that tacky badge I hear some of you asking? Sorry to disappoint, no tacky badge included, but what about a massive dvd with videos for the singles, a Brit Award appearance and a recent interview with Bernard & Brett? Sounds good? Exactly, plus additionally you can find 2 live gigs: one from Brixton (has been available before on VHS 'Love And Poison' and a recently discovered, previously unreleased concert frrom Sheffield that took place before the album was even released). Definetely recommended!
 

Dennis OHRT
17/06/2011


 

Next reviews
SNOWY RED • 1980-1984: The ultimate edition | 5 LP Box
VIGILANTE • The New Resistance
WAITING IN VAIN • Awake again EP
DISPLACER • Night gallery
MANUFACTURA • The pleasures of the damned
VARIOUS ARTISTS • BART [Bay Area Retrograde (Vol. 1)]
DEPECHE MODE • Remixes 2: 81-11
LES FLEURS DU MAL • Les fleurs du mal : I EP
DIVINE MUZAK • Maison Skinny
VERDIANA RAW • Demo

 

Other reviews from SUEDE
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
SUEDE • Night Thoughts
SUEDE • Brussels, AB 06/02/16

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP + ROCK
ELISA WAUT • Portraits And Landscapes
PETE AND THE PIRATES • One Thousand Pictures
WHITE ROSE TRANSMISSION • Spinning webs at night

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger