tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/10/2015 : ELISA WAUT - Portraits And Landscapes

ELISA WAUT

Portraits And Landscapes

MusicCD
IndiePopRock

[82/100]   

Starman Records
12/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let’s go back to the year 1986. Life was beautiful then (well, millions of people were exposed to harmful radiation from the detonated nuclear power plant in Chernobyl) but how we wonderfully danced on the tune Four Times More by the Belgian band Elisa Waut. It all seemed so simple back then (which it obviously was not), but one spin on the radio by a famous DJ or once a week (and then never again) on television and before you knew it, a brand new Belgian hit was born.

We called it Belpop over here, and indeed, the band had enough to rule over the tiny country that is called Belgium. But let us be honest: the group that won the Rock Rally Contest in 1984 also had a front woman who made the hearts of many boys beat faster. Elsje Helewaut was worshiped by everyone, but after four albums Chery Derycke along with Hans and Elsje Helewaut decided to stop. The 90s would start without Elisa Waut...

At least in commercial terms. Together with her partner Chery, Elsje started an affiliate of the Body Shop and a bed and breakfast in Bruges, but there was also music, but of the spiritual kind (Ark). In all fairness, Elisa Waut seemed nothing more than just a memory from the 80s until the moment that the trio, after seventeen years, popped up with a brand new record: Portraits and Landscapes.

And to simultaneously answer two questions: Elsje Helewaut still looks enchanting after all these years, and the new CD is one of the best records of their repertoire, even one that is as strong as their debut in 1985. Really!

Portrait and Landscapes is pop music that needs to grow. The first time you think "well, this is okay", but before you realize, you keep on pushing the repeat button and after each listening the music has more and more impact.

The new disc contains twelve songs that easily can be described as twelve perfect pop songs. It is nothing more, but in the case of Elisa Waut this is how it has to be, as the band always was known for its quality pop.

The opener Blossom is the right track to start the album with, simply because it is a song like only Elisa Waut can make and that statement still means something today. Portrait has an 80's touch, while Come Back To Me is a great pop song that is both melancholic and a bit naughty. The Key is a nice up tempo song, and How Many Stars? has a dark Nick Cave side. Why Things Must Come To An End? (that title alone) is perhaps the best thing Elisa Waut has done, while I Do not Mind The Rain reminds you of the sadly forgotten soundtrack Sailors Do not Cry.

With Portait And Landscapes this Bruges trio prove that it is back, and how!

Didier BECU
12/10/2015


NL

We draaien eventjes het geheugen terug naar het jaartal 1986. Het leven was mooi (nou ja, miljoenen mensen werden aan de schadelijke straling blootgesteld van een ontplofte kerncentrale in Tsjernobyl) en we dansten heerlijk op het deuntje Four Times More. Het leek toen allemaal zo simpel te zijn (wat het uiteraard niet was), maar een plaatje werd een paar keer op de radio gedraaid, het werd op televisie één keer per week (en daarna nooit meer) door Kurt Van Eeghem de woonkamer ingestuurd en voor je het wist was er wederom een wereldhit in België geboren.

We noemden het met trots Belpop. Het waren de plaatjes waar Gust De Coster ons van liet houden, en laten we maar meteen de waarheid boven water halen: het Belgische groepje dat in 1984 de Rock Rally won had een frontvrouw die menig jongensharten op hol liet slaan. Elsje Helewaut werd door iedereen aanbeden (en zelfs door Luc De Vos zaliger bezongen in Het Einde Is Nabij ), maar na vier platen stopten Chery Derycke samen met Hans en Elsje Helewaut er plotseling mee. De jaren 90 zouden zonder Elisa Waut zijn…

Ten minste op commercieel vlak toch. Elsje startte samen met haar partner Chery een filiaal van de Body Shop op, deed iets met een bed and breakfast in Brugge en maakte ook nog muziek, maar dan wel spirituele (Ark). Eerlijkheidshalve leek Elisa Waut gewoon een herinnering uit de jaren 80 te zijn geworden, tot op het moment dat er vanuit het niets, na zeventien jaar, een nieuwe plaat opduikt: Portraits and Landscapes.

En om meteen op twee vragen tegelijkertijd te antwoorden, Elsje Helewaut ziet er nog steeds betoverend mooi uit, en de nieuwe cd is één van de beste platen uit hun repertoire, eentje die zelfs zo sterk is als hun debuut uit 1985. Echt waar!

Portrait And Landscapes is popmuziek die je moet laten groeien. De eerste keer denk je “nou ja, dit is leuk”, maar voor je het beseft, draai je de plaat grijs en krijgen de nummers na iedere beluistering meer en meer impact.

Je vindt op het nieuwe schijfje twaalf nummers die je gemakshalve als twaalf perfecte popnummers zou kunnen omschrijven. Meer is het niet, maar meer moet het ook niet zijn, want Elisa Waut stond nu eenmaal altijd garant voor kwaliteitspop.

Met de opener Blossom is het meteen raak: een nummer zoals alleen Elisa Waut het kan maken en dat betekent anno 2015 nog heel wat. Dat geldt ook voor het prachtige Portrait dat een vrij hoog eightiesgehalte heeft. Come Back To Me is een heerlijk popliedje dat tegelijkertijd melancholisch en een tikkeltje ondeugend is. The Key is een leuk uptempo nummertje, terwijl How Many Stars? een donker Nick Cave-kantje heeft. Why Must Things Come To An End? (de titel alleen al) is misschien het mooiste wat Elisa Waut ooit heeft gedaan, terwijl I Don’t Mind The Rain wat herinneringen oproept aan de jammer genoeg vergeten soundtrack van Sailors Don’t Cry.

Met Portait And Landscapes bewijst dit Brugse trio dat het nog lang niet is uitgeteld. Elisa Waut is terug (hoera!) en hoe!

Didier BECU
12/10/2015


 

Next reviews
ANTIMATTER • The Judas Table
CATHERINE DUC • Voyager
VOGON POETRY • The Perfect Stories
GEORGE MILLER • Mad Max: Fury Road
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES (UNKNOWN PLEASURES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PARADISE LOST • Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)
HOLLY MACVE • The Corner Of My Mind
HELALYN FLOWERS • Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP
LAURA STEVENSON • Cocksure
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum

 

Other reviews from ELISA WAUT
ELISA WAUT • Brugge, Stadsschouwburg (31/10/2015)
ELISA WAUT • Portraits and Landscapes

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP + ROCK
PETE AND THE PIRATES • One Thousand Pictures
SUEDE • Suede
WHITE ROSE TRANSMISSION • Spinning webs at night

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless
20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten