tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/10/2015 : ELISA WAUT - Portraits And Landscapes

ELISA WAUT

Portraits And Landscapes

MusicCD
IndiePopRock

[82/100]   

Starman Records
12/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let’s go back to the year 1986. Life was beautiful then (well, millions of people were exposed to harmful radiation from the detonated nuclear power plant in Chernobyl) but how we wonderfully danced on the tune Four Times More by the Belgian band Elisa Waut. It all seemed so simple back then (which it obviously was not), but one spin on the radio by a famous DJ or once a week (and then never again) on television and before you knew it, a brand new Belgian hit was born.

We called it Belpop over here, and indeed, the band had enough to rule over the tiny country that is called Belgium. But let us be honest: the group that won the Rock Rally Contest in 1984 also had a front woman who made the hearts of many boys beat faster. Elsje Helewaut was worshiped by everyone, but after four albums Chery Derycke along with Hans and Elsje Helewaut decided to stop. The 90s would start without Elisa Waut...

At least in commercial terms. Together with her partner Chery, Elsje started an affiliate of the Body Shop and a bed and breakfast in Bruges, but there was also music, but of the spiritual kind (Ark). In all fairness, Elisa Waut seemed nothing more than just a memory from the 80s until the moment that the trio, after seventeen years, popped up with a brand new record: Portraits and Landscapes.

And to simultaneously answer two questions: Elsje Helewaut still looks enchanting after all these years, and the new CD is one of the best records of their repertoire, even one that is as strong as their debut in 1985. Really!

Portrait and Landscapes is pop music that needs to grow. The first time you think "well, this is okay", but before you realize, you keep on pushing the repeat button and after each listening the music has more and more impact.

The new disc contains twelve songs that easily can be described as twelve perfect pop songs. It is nothing more, but in the case of Elisa Waut this is how it has to be, as the band always was known for its quality pop.

The opener Blossom is the right track to start the album with, simply because it is a song like only Elisa Waut can make and that statement still means something today. Portrait has an 80's touch, while Come Back To Me is a great pop song that is both melancholic and a bit naughty. The Key is a nice up tempo song, and How Many Stars? has a dark Nick Cave side. Why Things Must Come To An End? (that title alone) is perhaps the best thing Elisa Waut has done, while I Do not Mind The Rain reminds you of the sadly forgotten soundtrack Sailors Do not Cry.

With Portait And Landscapes this Bruges trio prove that it is back, and how!

Didier BECU
12/10/2015


NL

We draaien eventjes het geheugen terug naar het jaartal 1986. Het leven was mooi (nou ja, miljoenen mensen werden aan de schadelijke straling blootgesteld van een ontplofte kerncentrale in Tsjernobyl) en we dansten heerlijk op het deuntje Four Times More. Het leek toen allemaal zo simpel te zijn (wat het uiteraard niet was), maar een plaatje werd een paar keer op de radio gedraaid, het werd op televisie één keer per week (en daarna nooit meer) door Kurt Van Eeghem de woonkamer ingestuurd en voor je het wist was er wederom een wereldhit in België geboren.

We noemden het met trots Belpop. Het waren de plaatjes waar Gust De Coster ons van liet houden, en laten we maar meteen de waarheid boven water halen: het Belgische groepje dat in 1984 de Rock Rally won had een frontvrouw die menig jongensharten op hol liet slaan. Elsje Helewaut werd door iedereen aanbeden (en zelfs door Luc De Vos zaliger bezongen in Het Einde Is Nabij ), maar na vier platen stopten Chery Derycke samen met Hans en Elsje Helewaut er plotseling mee. De jaren 90 zouden zonder Elisa Waut zijn…

Ten minste op commercieel vlak toch. Elsje startte samen met haar partner Chery een filiaal van de Body Shop op, deed iets met een bed and breakfast in Brugge en maakte ook nog muziek, maar dan wel spirituele (Ark). Eerlijkheidshalve leek Elisa Waut gewoon een herinnering uit de jaren 80 te zijn geworden, tot op het moment dat er vanuit het niets, na zeventien jaar, een nieuwe plaat opduikt: Portraits and Landscapes.

En om meteen op twee vragen tegelijkertijd te antwoorden, Elsje Helewaut ziet er nog steeds betoverend mooi uit, en de nieuwe cd is één van de beste platen uit hun repertoire, eentje die zelfs zo sterk is als hun debuut uit 1985. Echt waar!

Portrait And Landscapes is popmuziek die je moet laten groeien. De eerste keer denk je “nou ja, dit is leuk”, maar voor je het beseft, draai je de plaat grijs en krijgen de nummers na iedere beluistering meer en meer impact.

Je vindt op het nieuwe schijfje twaalf nummers die je gemakshalve als twaalf perfecte popnummers zou kunnen omschrijven. Meer is het niet, maar meer moet het ook niet zijn, want Elisa Waut stond nu eenmaal altijd garant voor kwaliteitspop.

Met de opener Blossom is het meteen raak: een nummer zoals alleen Elisa Waut het kan maken en dat betekent anno 2015 nog heel wat. Dat geldt ook voor het prachtige Portrait dat een vrij hoog eightiesgehalte heeft. Come Back To Me is een heerlijk popliedje dat tegelijkertijd melancholisch en een tikkeltje ondeugend is. The Key is een leuk uptempo nummertje, terwijl How Many Stars? een donker Nick Cave-kantje heeft. Why Must Things Come To An End? (de titel alleen al) is misschien het mooiste wat Elisa Waut ooit heeft gedaan, terwijl I Don’t Mind The Rain wat herinneringen oproept aan de jammer genoeg vergeten soundtrack van Sailors Don’t Cry.

Met Portait And Landscapes bewijst dit Brugse trio dat het nog lang niet is uitgeteld. Elisa Waut is terug (hoera!) en hoe!

Didier BECU
12/10/2015


 

Next reviews
ANTIMATTER • The Judas Table
CATHERINE DUC • Voyager
VOGON POETRY • The Perfect Stories
GEORGE MILLER • Mad Max: Fury Road
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES (UNKNOWN PLEASURES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PARADISE LOST • Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)
HOLLY MACVE • The Corner Of My Mind
HELALYN FLOWERS • Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP
LAURA STEVENSON • Cocksure
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum

 

Other reviews from ELISA WAUT
ELISA WAUT • Brugge, Stadsschouwburg (31/10/2015)
ELISA WAUT • Portraits and Landscapes

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP + ROCK
PETE AND THE PIRATES • One Thousand Pictures
SUEDE • Suede
WHITE ROSE TRANSMISSION • Spinning webs at night

 

Same genre: INDIE
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

 

Same genre: ROCK
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
DAVID GILMOUR • Tienen, Grote Markt (27/07/2016)
ROXY MUSIC • Manifesto

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)