tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/10/2015 : ELISA WAUT - Portraits And Landscapes

ELISA WAUT

Portraits And Landscapes

MusicCD
IndiePopRock

[82/100]   

Starman Records
12/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Let’s go back to the year 1986. Life was beautiful then (well, millions of people were exposed to harmful radiation from the detonated nuclear power plant in Chernobyl) but how we wonderfully danced on the tune Four Times More by the Belgian band Elisa Waut. It all seemed so simple back then (which it obviously was not), but one spin on the radio by a famous DJ or once a week (and then never again) on television and before you knew it, a brand new Belgian hit was born.

We called it Belpop over here, and indeed, the band had enough to rule over the tiny country that is called Belgium. But let us be honest: the group that won the Rock Rally Contest in 1984 also had a front woman who made the hearts of many boys beat faster. Elsje Helewaut was worshiped by everyone, but after four albums Chery Derycke along with Hans and Elsje Helewaut decided to stop. The 90s would start without Elisa Waut...

At least in commercial terms. Together with her partner Chery, Elsje started an affiliate of the Body Shop and a bed and breakfast in Bruges, but there was also music, but of the spiritual kind (Ark). In all fairness, Elisa Waut seemed nothing more than just a memory from the 80s until the moment that the trio, after seventeen years, popped up with a brand new record: Portraits and Landscapes.

And to simultaneously answer two questions: Elsje Helewaut still looks enchanting after all these years, and the new CD is one of the best records of their repertoire, even one that is as strong as their debut in 1985. Really!

Portrait and Landscapes is pop music that needs to grow. The first time you think "well, this is okay", but before you realize, you keep on pushing the repeat button and after each listening the music has more and more impact.

The new disc contains twelve songs that easily can be described as twelve perfect pop songs. It is nothing more, but in the case of Elisa Waut this is how it has to be, as the band always was known for its quality pop.

The opener Blossom is the right track to start the album with, simply because it is a song like only Elisa Waut can make and that statement still means something today. Portrait has an 80's touch, while Come Back To Me is a great pop song that is both melancholic and a bit naughty. The Key is a nice up tempo song, and How Many Stars? has a dark Nick Cave side. Why Things Must Come To An End? (that title alone) is perhaps the best thing Elisa Waut has done, while I Do not Mind The Rain reminds you of the sadly forgotten soundtrack Sailors Do not Cry.

With Portait And Landscapes this Bruges trio prove that it is back, and how!

Didier BECU
12/10/2015


NL

We draaien eventjes het geheugen terug naar het jaartal 1986. Het leven was mooi (nou ja, miljoenen mensen werden aan de schadelijke straling blootgesteld van een ontplofte kerncentrale in Tsjernobyl) en we dansten heerlijk op het deuntje Four Times More. Het leek toen allemaal zo simpel te zijn (wat het uiteraard niet was), maar een plaatje werd een paar keer op de radio gedraaid, het werd op televisie één keer per week (en daarna nooit meer) door Kurt Van Eeghem de woonkamer ingestuurd en voor je het wist was er wederom een wereldhit in België geboren.

We noemden het met trots Belpop. Het waren de plaatjes waar Gust De Coster ons van liet houden, en laten we maar meteen de waarheid boven water halen: het Belgische groepje dat in 1984 de Rock Rally won had een frontvrouw die menig jongensharten op hol liet slaan. Elsje Helewaut werd door iedereen aanbeden (en zelfs door Luc De Vos zaliger bezongen in Het Einde Is Nabij ), maar na vier platen stopten Chery Derycke samen met Hans en Elsje Helewaut er plotseling mee. De jaren 90 zouden zonder Elisa Waut zijn…

Ten minste op commercieel vlak toch. Elsje startte samen met haar partner Chery een filiaal van de Body Shop op, deed iets met een bed and breakfast in Brugge en maakte ook nog muziek, maar dan wel spirituele (Ark). Eerlijkheidshalve leek Elisa Waut gewoon een herinnering uit de jaren 80 te zijn geworden, tot op het moment dat er vanuit het niets, na zeventien jaar, een nieuwe plaat opduikt: Portraits and Landscapes.

En om meteen op twee vragen tegelijkertijd te antwoorden, Elsje Helewaut ziet er nog steeds betoverend mooi uit, en de nieuwe cd is één van de beste platen uit hun repertoire, eentje die zelfs zo sterk is als hun debuut uit 1985. Echt waar!

Portrait And Landscapes is popmuziek die je moet laten groeien. De eerste keer denk je “nou ja, dit is leuk”, maar voor je het beseft, draai je de plaat grijs en krijgen de nummers na iedere beluistering meer en meer impact.

Je vindt op het nieuwe schijfje twaalf nummers die je gemakshalve als twaalf perfecte popnummers zou kunnen omschrijven. Meer is het niet, maar meer moet het ook niet zijn, want Elisa Waut stond nu eenmaal altijd garant voor kwaliteitspop.

Met de opener Blossom is het meteen raak: een nummer zoals alleen Elisa Waut het kan maken en dat betekent anno 2015 nog heel wat. Dat geldt ook voor het prachtige Portrait dat een vrij hoog eightiesgehalte heeft. Come Back To Me is een heerlijk popliedje dat tegelijkertijd melancholisch en een tikkeltje ondeugend is. The Key is een leuk uptempo nummertje, terwijl How Many Stars? een donker Nick Cave-kantje heeft. Why Must Things Come To An End? (de titel alleen al) is misschien het mooiste wat Elisa Waut ooit heeft gedaan, terwijl I Don’t Mind The Rain wat herinneringen oproept aan de jammer genoeg vergeten soundtrack van Sailors Don’t Cry.

Met Portait And Landscapes bewijst dit Brugse trio dat het nog lang niet is uitgeteld. Elisa Waut is terug (hoera!) en hoe!

Didier BECU
12/10/2015


 

Next reviews
ANTIMATTER • The Judas Table
CATHERINE DUC • Voyager
VOGON POETRY • The Perfect Stories
GEORGE MILLER • Mad Max: Fury Road
PEDRO PENAS ROBLES (UNKNOWN PLEASURES RECORDS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
PARADISE LOST • Antwerp, Trix (10/06/2015)
HOLLY MACVE • The Corner Of My Mind
HELALYN FLOWERS • Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP
LAURA STEVENSON • Cocksure
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum

 

Other reviews from ELISA WAUT
ELISA WAUT • Brugge, Stadsschouwburg (31/10/2015)
ELISA WAUT • Portraits and Landscapes

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + POP + ROCK
PETE AND THE PIRATES • One Thousand Pictures
SUEDE • Suede
WHITE ROSE TRANSMISSION • Spinning webs at night

 

Same genre: INDIE
WHISPERING SONS • The Great Calm
DEZ MONA • LOOSE ENDS
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: POP
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

 

Same genre: ROCK
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone

Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
TRAGIC VISIONS Confronts Mental Health Struggles With First New Album In 15 Years
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
05
LIVERNOIS
An Interview With Industrial Band, Livernois
27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
VOITH
Kraftwerk (Roboterkönige)
28
05
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission