tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : SUEDE - Night Thoughts

SUEDE

Night Thoughts

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Warner Bros. Records
07/02/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

After such a great come back with Bloodsports in 2013, I was very curious about their Night Thoughts album. Will Suede come back to their former glory, the sound I loved so much on their first album and Dog Man Star? After hearing Bloodsports and seeing them live, I thought the guys are completely back. How much back they are, they are proving once again with this year's release.

What I have loved about their early work was their genuine selves in their music and writing, their awareness of the world, a complete understanding of a human nature, time, weaknesses and glory; all that is inside us, the universe at our palms. Their proud guitars, their slow death and life mixed together, their love, their drugs, and their troubled and clean minds, all in one. I could feel all of that in their work; all the secrets you won't tell, revealed in their music making and words. There was only truth to be faced. This album has it all! They say: Fight the sorrow, like there's no tomorrow. Sometimes that is all that takes to feel alive, someone to tell you Fight The Sorrow. No, it's not the title, it's a line from No Tomorrow giving a hope to all you lost on the streets, as Suede always did.

No great joy on this album, not many happy endings here. At times it becomes difficult to listen to this deep melancholy in their guitars; Brett being fabulous as always. You can hear they have aged, but time made them ripe, like the wine; they taste like the greatest mixture of pleasures on your tongue.

This is no ordinary review, maybe better a retrospective of the band I've loved for so long. And if you really want to get to their bottom point, go visit their show, they give it all. To you.

Love has never been nearer and further... listen to Night Thoughts as they are the night thoughts indeed. 

Marija BULJETA
07/02/2016


NL

Na de geweldige terugkeer met Bloodsports uit 2013, was ik erg benieuwd naar Night Thoughts. Zal dit Suede opnieuw naar de oude gloriedagen stuwen, is het opnieuw het geluid van het eerste album waarvan ik zo veel hield of zou het zoals Dog Man Star worden? Na het horen van Bloodsports en het zien van hun optreden, meen ik dat de jongens helemaal terug zijn. Hoe ze dat zijn, bewijzen ze met deze release.

Wat ik zo bewonderde aan hun vroegere werk is dat ze echt zichzelf waren. Ze waren zich bewust van de wereld, ze begrepen de menselijke natuur, de tijd, de zwakke en sterke punten: alles wat in ons zit, het universum dat in onze handpalmen ligt. Hun trotse gitaren, de dood en het leven door elkaar verweven, hun liefde, hun drugs, hun onrustige demon, alles in één. Ik kon dit alles in Suede voelen: geheimen die je niet wil vertellen, maar die gewoon in hun muziek en woorden zitten. Waarheid waarmee je wordt geconfronteerd. En kijk, dit album heeft dat allemaal! Bestrijd het verdriet, net alsof er geen morgen is. Soms is dat alles wat je nodig hebt om in leven te blijven, iemand die je zegt: Fight The Sorrow. Nee, het is niet de titel van een song, het komt uit de tekst van No Tomorrow. Het geeft je hoop voor alles wat je op straat verloren bent, net zoals Suede altijd deed.Vreugde vind je op dit album niet, van happy endings is geen sprake. Op sommige momenten wordt het moeilijk om naar de melancholische gitaren te luisteren; Brett is zoals altijd fantastisch. Je hoort de leeftijd, de tijd heeft ze rijp gemaakt, net als wijn; ze smaken als de mooiste genoegens die op je tong liggen.

Dit is geen gewone recensie, ik weet het, misschien een terugblik op een band die ik zo liefhad. En als je ze echt wil doorgronden, bezoek dan een optreden van Suede, die geeft het je allemaal. Aan jou

Liefde is nooit zo dichtbij geweest... luister naar Night Thoughts, het zijn inderdaad nachtgedachten.

Marija BULJETA
07/02/2016


Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets
20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence