tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : SUEDE - Night Thoughts

SUEDE

Night Thoughts

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Warner Bros. Records
07/02/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

After such a great come back with Bloodsports in 2013, I was very curious about their Night Thoughts album. Will Suede come back to their former glory, the sound I loved so much on their first album and Dog Man Star? After hearing Bloodsports and seeing them live, I thought the guys are completely back. How much back they are, they are proving once again with this year's release.

What I have loved about their early work was their genuine selves in their music and writing, their awareness of the world, a complete understanding of a human nature, time, weaknesses and glory; all that is inside us, the universe at our palms. Their proud guitars, their slow death and life mixed together, their love, their drugs, and their troubled and clean minds, all in one. I could feel all of that in their work; all the secrets you won't tell, revealed in their music making and words. There was only truth to be faced. This album has it all! They say: Fight the sorrow, like there's no tomorrow. Sometimes that is all that takes to feel alive, someone to tell you Fight The Sorrow. No, it's not the title, it's a line from No Tomorrow giving a hope to all you lost on the streets, as Suede always did.

No great joy on this album, not many happy endings here. At times it becomes difficult to listen to this deep melancholy in their guitars; Brett being fabulous as always. You can hear they have aged, but time made them ripe, like the wine; they taste like the greatest mixture of pleasures on your tongue.

This is no ordinary review, maybe better a retrospective of the band I've loved for so long. And if you really want to get to their bottom point, go visit their show, they give it all. To you.

Love has never been nearer and further... listen to Night Thoughts as they are the night thoughts indeed. 

Marija BULJETA
07/02/2016


NL

Na de geweldige terugkeer met Bloodsports uit 2013, was ik erg benieuwd naar Night Thoughts. Zal dit Suede opnieuw naar de oude gloriedagen stuwen, is het opnieuw het geluid van het eerste album waarvan ik zo veel hield of zou het zoals Dog Man Star worden? Na het horen van Bloodsports en het zien van hun optreden, meen ik dat de jongens helemaal terug zijn. Hoe ze dat zijn, bewijzen ze met deze release.

Wat ik zo bewonderde aan hun vroegere werk is dat ze echt zichzelf waren. Ze waren zich bewust van de wereld, ze begrepen de menselijke natuur, de tijd, de zwakke en sterke punten: alles wat in ons zit, het universum dat in onze handpalmen ligt. Hun trotse gitaren, de dood en het leven door elkaar verweven, hun liefde, hun drugs, hun onrustige demon, alles in één. Ik kon dit alles in Suede voelen: geheimen die je niet wil vertellen, maar die gewoon in hun muziek en woorden zitten. Waarheid waarmee je wordt geconfronteerd. En kijk, dit album heeft dat allemaal! Bestrijd het verdriet, net alsof er geen morgen is. Soms is dat alles wat je nodig hebt om in leven te blijven, iemand die je zegt: Fight The Sorrow. Nee, het is niet de titel van een song, het komt uit de tekst van No Tomorrow. Het geeft je hoop voor alles wat je op straat verloren bent, net zoals Suede altijd deed.Vreugde vind je op dit album niet, van happy endings is geen sprake. Op sommige momenten wordt het moeilijk om naar de melancholische gitaren te luisteren; Brett is zoals altijd fantastisch. Je hoort de leeftijd, de tijd heeft ze rijp gemaakt, net als wijn; ze smaken als de mooiste genoegens die op je tong liggen.

Dit is geen gewone recensie, ik weet het, misschien een terugblik op een band die ik zo liefhad. En als je ze echt wil doorgronden, bezoek dan een optreden van Suede, die geeft het je allemaal. Aan jou

Liefde is nooit zo dichtbij geweest... luister naar Night Thoughts, het zijn inderdaad nachtgedachten.

Marija BULJETA
07/02/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)