tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : SUEDE - Night Thoughts

SUEDE

Night Thoughts

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Warner Bros. Records
07/02/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

After such a great come back with Bloodsports in 2013, I was very curious about their Night Thoughts album. Will Suede come back to their former glory, the sound I loved so much on their first album and Dog Man Star? After hearing Bloodsports and seeing them live, I thought the guys are completely back. How much back they are, they are proving once again with this year's release.

What I have loved about their early work was their genuine selves in their music and writing, their awareness of the world, a complete understanding of a human nature, time, weaknesses and glory; all that is inside us, the universe at our palms. Their proud guitars, their slow death and life mixed together, their love, their drugs, and their troubled and clean minds, all in one. I could feel all of that in their work; all the secrets you won't tell, revealed in their music making and words. There was only truth to be faced. This album has it all! They say: Fight the sorrow, like there's no tomorrow. Sometimes that is all that takes to feel alive, someone to tell you Fight The Sorrow. No, it's not the title, it's a line from No Tomorrow giving a hope to all you lost on the streets, as Suede always did.

No great joy on this album, not many happy endings here. At times it becomes difficult to listen to this deep melancholy in their guitars; Brett being fabulous as always. You can hear they have aged, but time made them ripe, like the wine; they taste like the greatest mixture of pleasures on your tongue.

This is no ordinary review, maybe better a retrospective of the band I've loved for so long. And if you really want to get to their bottom point, go visit their show, they give it all. To you.

Love has never been nearer and further... listen to Night Thoughts as they are the night thoughts indeed. 

Marija BULJETA
07/02/2016


NL

Na de geweldige terugkeer met Bloodsports uit 2013, was ik erg benieuwd naar Night Thoughts. Zal dit Suede opnieuw naar de oude gloriedagen stuwen, is het opnieuw het geluid van het eerste album waarvan ik zo veel hield of zou het zoals Dog Man Star worden? Na het horen van Bloodsports en het zien van hun optreden, meen ik dat de jongens helemaal terug zijn. Hoe ze dat zijn, bewijzen ze met deze release.

Wat ik zo bewonderde aan hun vroegere werk is dat ze echt zichzelf waren. Ze waren zich bewust van de wereld, ze begrepen de menselijke natuur, de tijd, de zwakke en sterke punten: alles wat in ons zit, het universum dat in onze handpalmen ligt. Hun trotse gitaren, de dood en het leven door elkaar verweven, hun liefde, hun drugs, hun onrustige demon, alles in één. Ik kon dit alles in Suede voelen: geheimen die je niet wil vertellen, maar die gewoon in hun muziek en woorden zitten. Waarheid waarmee je wordt geconfronteerd. En kijk, dit album heeft dat allemaal! Bestrijd het verdriet, net alsof er geen morgen is. Soms is dat alles wat je nodig hebt om in leven te blijven, iemand die je zegt: Fight The Sorrow. Nee, het is niet de titel van een song, het komt uit de tekst van No Tomorrow. Het geeft je hoop voor alles wat je op straat verloren bent, net zoals Suede altijd deed.Vreugde vind je op dit album niet, van happy endings is geen sprake. Op sommige momenten wordt het moeilijk om naar de melancholische gitaren te luisteren; Brett is zoals altijd fantastisch. Je hoort de leeftijd, de tijd heeft ze rijp gemaakt, net als wijn; ze smaken als de mooiste genoegens die op je tong liggen.

Dit is geen gewone recensie, ik weet het, misschien een terugblik op een band die ik zo liefhad. En als je ze echt wil doorgronden, bezoek dan een optreden van Suede, die geeft het je allemaal. Aan jou

Liefde is nooit zo dichtbij geweest... luister naar Night Thoughts, het zijn inderdaad nachtgedachten.

Marija BULJETA
07/02/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses