tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/02/2016 : SUEDE - Night Thoughts

SUEDE

Night Thoughts

MusicCD


[96/100]   

Warner Bros. Records
07/02/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

After such a great come back with Bloodsports in 2013, I was very curious about their Night Thoughts album. Will Suede come back to their former glory, the sound I loved so much on their first album and Dog Man Star? After hearing Bloodsports and seeing them live, I thought the guys are completely back. How much back they are, they are proving once again with this year's release.

What I have loved about their early work was their genuine selves in their music and writing, their awareness of the world, a complete understanding of a human nature, time, weaknesses and glory; all that is inside us, the universe at our palms. Their proud guitars, their slow death and life mixed together, their love, their drugs, and their troubled and clean minds, all in one. I could feel all of that in their work; all the secrets you won't tell, revealed in their music making and words. There was only truth to be faced. This album has it all! They say: Fight the sorrow, like there's no tomorrow. Sometimes that is all that takes to feel alive, someone to tell you Fight The Sorrow. No, it's not the title, it's a line from No Tomorrow giving a hope to all you lost on the streets, as Suede always did.

No great joy on this album, not many happy endings here. At times it becomes difficult to listen to this deep melancholy in their guitars; Brett being fabulous as always. You can hear they have aged, but time made them ripe, like the wine; they taste like the greatest mixture of pleasures on your tongue.

This is no ordinary review, maybe better a retrospective of the band I've loved for so long. And if you really want to get to their bottom point, go visit their show, they give it all. To you.

Love has never been nearer and further... listen to Night Thoughts as they are the night thoughts indeed. 

Marija BULJETA
07/02/2016


NL

Na de geweldige terugkeer met Bloodsports uit 2013, was ik erg benieuwd naar Night Thoughts. Zal dit Suede opnieuw naar de oude gloriedagen stuwen, is het opnieuw het geluid van het eerste album waarvan ik zo veel hield of zou het zoals Dog Man Star worden? Na het horen van Bloodsports en het zien van hun optreden, meen ik dat de jongens helemaal terug zijn. Hoe ze dat zijn, bewijzen ze met deze release.

Wat ik zo bewonderde aan hun vroegere werk is dat ze echt zichzelf waren. Ze waren zich bewust van de wereld, ze begrepen de menselijke natuur, de tijd, de zwakke en sterke punten: alles wat in ons zit, het universum dat in onze handpalmen ligt. Hun trotse gitaren, de dood en het leven door elkaar verweven, hun liefde, hun drugs, hun onrustige demon, alles in één. Ik kon dit alles in Suede voelen: geheimen die je niet wil vertellen, maar die gewoon in hun muziek en woorden zitten. Waarheid waarmee je wordt geconfronteerd. En kijk, dit album heeft dat allemaal! Bestrijd het verdriet, net alsof er geen morgen is. Soms is dat alles wat je nodig hebt om in leven te blijven, iemand die je zegt: Fight The Sorrow. Nee, het is niet de titel van een song, het komt uit de tekst van No Tomorrow. Het geeft je hoop voor alles wat je op straat verloren bent, net zoals Suede altijd deed.Vreugde vind je op dit album niet, van happy endings is geen sprake. Op sommige momenten wordt het moeilijk om naar de melancholische gitaren te luisteren; Brett is zoals altijd fantastisch. Je hoort de leeftijd, de tijd heeft ze rijp gemaakt, net als wijn; ze smaken als de mooiste genoegens die op je tong liggen.

Dit is geen gewone recensie, ik weet het, misschien een terugblik op een band die ik zo liefhad. En als je ze echt wil doorgronden, bezoek dan een optreden van Suede, die geeft het je allemaal. Aan jou

Liefde is nooit zo dichtbij geweest... luister naar Night Thoughts, het zijn inderdaad nachtgedachten.

Marija BULJETA
07/02/2016


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith