tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : ARCTIC MONKEYS - Suck it and see

ARCTIC MONKEYS

Suck it and see

MusicCD
Indie

[73/100]   

Domino Records
20/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

After April’s single, ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’, the Arctic Monkeys fourth studio album ‘Suck It And See’ was finally released on June 6th.

From the first listen, you get the feeling that the single is also the highlight of the album. ‘Suck It And See’ starts off rather slow and predictable with guitar- and drum solo’s added with 'that' Alex Turner voice, we’ve all come to know and love. It isn’t until ‘Brick by Brick’ that the album starts to build up a bit of speed. Half way through, it really manages to catch your full and undivided attention, and after that, the gloves come off at last.

‘Reckless Serenade’ and especially ‘Love is a Laserquest’ finally make your heart skip a beat and ‘Suck it and See’ is the real highlight of the album. This is Artic Monkeys at their best.

‘That’s where you’re wrong’, makes a worthy finale to a surprising album. It takes a bit of patience, but eventually they do get to one hell of a finish line. I for one am already looking forward to their set at Rock Werchter in July. Arctic Monkeys are definitely bound to get the crowd rocking.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


NL

Arctic Monkeys, de band uit Sheffield rond zanger Alex Turner hoeft eigenlijk niet meer voorgesteld te worden. Ze zijn reeds actief sinds 2002, en werden wereldwijd bekend door het delen van hun demo’s via het internet. Hun eerste album ‘Whatever people say I am, that’s what I am not’ werd het bestverkopende debuut album ooit in de UK in 2006.

Op 6 juni verscheen hun vierde album ‘Suckt it and see’. De eerste single daaruit, ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’ kwam al uit in april en zette hoge verwachtingen voor het langverwachte album.

Tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt kreeg ik het gevoel dat de single ook ineens het hoogtepunt van het album was. ‘Suck it and see’ kent niet bepaald een wervelende start en we moeten het stellen met het traditionele en nogal voorspelbare gitaar- en drumwerk en Alex Turners stem die we allemaal reeds kennen. Het duurt tot ‘Brick by brick’ voor het album een beetje vaart krijgt. En tot halverwege is ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’ inderdaad het hoogtepunt van het album. Al trekken Turner en dezijnen nadien wel alle registers open. Eindelijk!

‘Reckless Serenade’ en vooral ‘Love is a Laserquest’ zijn prachtige, breekbare nummers die je naar adem doen happen. En met de titeltrack ‘Suck it and see’ komen we aan mijn persoonlijke hoogtepunt van het album. Dit is Artic Monkeys op hun best.

Met ‘That’s where you’re wrong’ schrijven ze een mooie finale aan een verrassend album. Het duurt even, maar uiteindelijk halen ze de eindstreep op memorabele wijze. Ik kijk alvast uit naar hun optreden op Rock Werchter volgende maand. Artcic Monkeys zullen ongetwijfeld voor vuurwerk zorgen op de main stage.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis