tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : ARCTIC MONKEYS - Suck it and see

ARCTIC MONKEYS

Suck it and see

MusicCD
Indie

[73/100]   

Domino Records
20/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

After April’s single, ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’, the Arctic Monkeys fourth studio album ‘Suck It And See’ was finally released on June 6th.

From the first listen, you get the feeling that the single is also the highlight of the album. ‘Suck It And See’ starts off rather slow and predictable with guitar- and drum solo’s added with 'that' Alex Turner voice, we’ve all come to know and love. It isn’t until ‘Brick by Brick’ that the album starts to build up a bit of speed. Half way through, it really manages to catch your full and undivided attention, and after that, the gloves come off at last.

‘Reckless Serenade’ and especially ‘Love is a Laserquest’ finally make your heart skip a beat and ‘Suck it and See’ is the real highlight of the album. This is Artic Monkeys at their best.

‘That’s where you’re wrong’, makes a worthy finale to a surprising album. It takes a bit of patience, but eventually they do get to one hell of a finish line. I for one am already looking forward to their set at Rock Werchter in July. Arctic Monkeys are definitely bound to get the crowd rocking.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


NL

Arctic Monkeys, de band uit Sheffield rond zanger Alex Turner hoeft eigenlijk niet meer voorgesteld te worden. Ze zijn reeds actief sinds 2002, en werden wereldwijd bekend door het delen van hun demo’s via het internet. Hun eerste album ‘Whatever people say I am, that’s what I am not’ werd het bestverkopende debuut album ooit in de UK in 2006.

Op 6 juni verscheen hun vierde album ‘Suckt it and see’. De eerste single daaruit, ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’ kwam al uit in april en zette hoge verwachtingen voor het langverwachte album.

Tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt kreeg ik het gevoel dat de single ook ineens het hoogtepunt van het album was. ‘Suck it and see’ kent niet bepaald een wervelende start en we moeten het stellen met het traditionele en nogal voorspelbare gitaar- en drumwerk en Alex Turners stem die we allemaal reeds kennen. Het duurt tot ‘Brick by brick’ voor het album een beetje vaart krijgt. En tot halverwege is ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’ inderdaad het hoogtepunt van het album. Al trekken Turner en dezijnen nadien wel alle registers open. Eindelijk!

‘Reckless Serenade’ en vooral ‘Love is a Laserquest’ zijn prachtige, breekbare nummers die je naar adem doen happen. En met de titeltrack ‘Suck it and see’ komen we aan mijn persoonlijke hoogtepunt van het album. Dit is Artic Monkeys op hun best.

Met ‘That’s where you’re wrong’ schrijven ze een mooie finale aan een verrassend album. Het duurt even, maar uiteindelijk halen ze de eindstreep op memorabele wijze. Ik kijk alvast uit naar hun optreden op Rock Werchter volgende maand. Artcic Monkeys zullen ongetwijfeld voor vuurwerk zorgen op de main stage.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain
20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets