tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : ARCTIC MONKEYS - Suck it and see

ARCTIC MONKEYS

Suck it and see

MusicCD
Indie

[73/100]   

Domino Records
20/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

After April’s single, ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’, the Arctic Monkeys fourth studio album ‘Suck It And See’ was finally released on June 6th.

From the first listen, you get the feeling that the single is also the highlight of the album. ‘Suck It And See’ starts off rather slow and predictable with guitar- and drum solo’s added with 'that' Alex Turner voice, we’ve all come to know and love. It isn’t until ‘Brick by Brick’ that the album starts to build up a bit of speed. Half way through, it really manages to catch your full and undivided attention, and after that, the gloves come off at last.

‘Reckless Serenade’ and especially ‘Love is a Laserquest’ finally make your heart skip a beat and ‘Suck it and See’ is the real highlight of the album. This is Artic Monkeys at their best.

‘That’s where you’re wrong’, makes a worthy finale to a surprising album. It takes a bit of patience, but eventually they do get to one hell of a finish line. I for one am already looking forward to their set at Rock Werchter in July. Arctic Monkeys are definitely bound to get the crowd rocking.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


NL

Arctic Monkeys, de band uit Sheffield rond zanger Alex Turner hoeft eigenlijk niet meer voorgesteld te worden. Ze zijn reeds actief sinds 2002, en werden wereldwijd bekend door het delen van hun demo’s via het internet. Hun eerste album ‘Whatever people say I am, that’s what I am not’ werd het bestverkopende debuut album ooit in de UK in 2006.

Op 6 juni verscheen hun vierde album ‘Suckt it and see’. De eerste single daaruit, ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’ kwam al uit in april en zette hoge verwachtingen voor het langverwachte album.

Tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt kreeg ik het gevoel dat de single ook ineens het hoogtepunt van het album was. ‘Suck it and see’ kent niet bepaald een wervelende start en we moeten het stellen met het traditionele en nogal voorspelbare gitaar- en drumwerk en Alex Turners stem die we allemaal reeds kennen. Het duurt tot ‘Brick by brick’ voor het album een beetje vaart krijgt. En tot halverwege is ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’ inderdaad het hoogtepunt van het album. Al trekken Turner en dezijnen nadien wel alle registers open. Eindelijk!

‘Reckless Serenade’ en vooral ‘Love is a Laserquest’ zijn prachtige, breekbare nummers die je naar adem doen happen. En met de titeltrack ‘Suck it and see’ komen we aan mijn persoonlijke hoogtepunt van het album. Dit is Artic Monkeys op hun best.

Met ‘That’s where you’re wrong’ schrijven ze een mooie finale aan een verrassend album. Het duurt even, maar uiteindelijk halen ze de eindstreep op memorabele wijze. Ik kijk alvast uit naar hun optreden op Rock Werchter volgende maand. Artcic Monkeys zullen ongetwijfeld voor vuurwerk zorgen op de main stage.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


Music reviews

14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love
08
10
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?