tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : ARCTIC MONKEYS - Suck it and see

ARCTIC MONKEYS

Suck it and see

MusicCD
Indie

[73/100]   

Domino Records
20/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

After April’s single, ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’, the Arctic Monkeys fourth studio album ‘Suck It And See’ was finally released on June 6th.

From the first listen, you get the feeling that the single is also the highlight of the album. ‘Suck It And See’ starts off rather slow and predictable with guitar- and drum solo’s added with 'that' Alex Turner voice, we’ve all come to know and love. It isn’t until ‘Brick by Brick’ that the album starts to build up a bit of speed. Half way through, it really manages to catch your full and undivided attention, and after that, the gloves come off at last.

‘Reckless Serenade’ and especially ‘Love is a Laserquest’ finally make your heart skip a beat and ‘Suck it and See’ is the real highlight of the album. This is Artic Monkeys at their best.

‘That’s where you’re wrong’, makes a worthy finale to a surprising album. It takes a bit of patience, but eventually they do get to one hell of a finish line. I for one am already looking forward to their set at Rock Werchter in July. Arctic Monkeys are definitely bound to get the crowd rocking.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


NL

Arctic Monkeys, de band uit Sheffield rond zanger Alex Turner hoeft eigenlijk niet meer voorgesteld te worden. Ze zijn reeds actief sinds 2002, en werden wereldwijd bekend door het delen van hun demo’s via het internet. Hun eerste album ‘Whatever people say I am, that’s what I am not’ werd het bestverkopende debuut album ooit in de UK in 2006.

Op 6 juni verscheen hun vierde album ‘Suckt it and see’. De eerste single daaruit, ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’ kwam al uit in april en zette hoge verwachtingen voor het langverwachte album.

Tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt kreeg ik het gevoel dat de single ook ineens het hoogtepunt van het album was. ‘Suck it and see’ kent niet bepaald een wervelende start en we moeten het stellen met het traditionele en nogal voorspelbare gitaar- en drumwerk en Alex Turners stem die we allemaal reeds kennen. Het duurt tot ‘Brick by brick’ voor het album een beetje vaart krijgt. En tot halverwege is ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’ inderdaad het hoogtepunt van het album. Al trekken Turner en dezijnen nadien wel alle registers open. Eindelijk!

‘Reckless Serenade’ en vooral ‘Love is a Laserquest’ zijn prachtige, breekbare nummers die je naar adem doen happen. En met de titeltrack ‘Suck it and see’ komen we aan mijn persoonlijke hoogtepunt van het album. Dit is Artic Monkeys op hun best.

Met ‘That’s where you’re wrong’ schrijven ze een mooie finale aan een verrassend album. Het duurt even, maar uiteindelijk halen ze de eindstreep op memorabele wijze. Ik kijk alvast uit naar hun optreden op Rock Werchter volgende maand. Artcic Monkeys zullen ongetwijfeld voor vuurwerk zorgen op de main stage.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent