tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : ARCTIC MONKEYS - Suck it and see

ARCTIC MONKEYS

Suck it and see

MusicCD
Indie

[73/100]   

Domino Records
20/06/2011, Melissa BAUWENS

EN

After April’s single, ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’, the Arctic Monkeys fourth studio album ‘Suck It And See’ was finally released on June 6th.

From the first listen, you get the feeling that the single is also the highlight of the album. ‘Suck It And See’ starts off rather slow and predictable with guitar- and drum solo’s added with 'that' Alex Turner voice, we’ve all come to know and love. It isn’t until ‘Brick by Brick’ that the album starts to build up a bit of speed. Half way through, it really manages to catch your full and undivided attention, and after that, the gloves come off at last.

‘Reckless Serenade’ and especially ‘Love is a Laserquest’ finally make your heart skip a beat and ‘Suck it and See’ is the real highlight of the album. This is Artic Monkeys at their best.

‘That’s where you’re wrong’, makes a worthy finale to a surprising album. It takes a bit of patience, but eventually they do get to one hell of a finish line. I for one am already looking forward to their set at Rock Werchter in July. Arctic Monkeys are definitely bound to get the crowd rocking.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


NL

Arctic Monkeys, de band uit Sheffield rond zanger Alex Turner hoeft eigenlijk niet meer voorgesteld te worden. Ze zijn reeds actief sinds 2002, en werden wereldwijd bekend door het delen van hun demo’s via het internet. Hun eerste album ‘Whatever people say I am, that’s what I am not’ werd het bestverkopende debuut album ooit in de UK in 2006.

Op 6 juni verscheen hun vierde album ‘Suckt it and see’. De eerste single daaruit, ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’ kwam al uit in april en zette hoge verwachtingen voor het langverwachte album.

Tijdens de eerste luisterbeurt kreeg ik het gevoel dat de single ook ineens het hoogtepunt van het album was. ‘Suck it and see’ kent niet bepaald een wervelende start en we moeten het stellen met het traditionele en nogal voorspelbare gitaar- en drumwerk en Alex Turners stem die we allemaal reeds kennen. Het duurt tot ‘Brick by brick’ voor het album een beetje vaart krijgt. En tot halverwege is ‘Don’t sit down cause I moved your chair’ inderdaad het hoogtepunt van het album. Al trekken Turner en dezijnen nadien wel alle registers open. Eindelijk!

‘Reckless Serenade’ en vooral ‘Love is a Laserquest’ zijn prachtige, breekbare nummers die je naar adem doen happen. En met de titeltrack ‘Suck it and see’ komen we aan mijn persoonlijke hoogtepunt van het album. Dit is Artic Monkeys op hun best.

Met ‘That’s where you’re wrong’ schrijven ze een mooie finale aan een verrassend album. Het duurt even, maar uiteindelijk halen ze de eindstreep op memorabele wijze. Ik kijk alvast uit naar hun optreden op Rock Werchter volgende maand. Artcic Monkeys zullen ongetwijfeld voor vuurwerk zorgen op de main stage.

Melissa BAUWENS
20/06/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque