tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : DISMANTLED - The war inside me

DISMANTLED

The war inside me

MusicCD
IndustrialMetalNoise

[71/100]   

Dependent
20/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

The goal from Gary Zorn aka Dismantled was always clear, it was his dream to create something that was similar to his heroes, Front Line Assembly.

Ten years ago everybody was putting their demos on the famous www.mp3.com site and as did Gary, with success. Immediately they caught the attention of Dependent and managed to land on some samplers like Septic II.

Five albums later, Gary is still on the famous German electro-label and "The war inside me" is his newest offering.

The new album is described by the band as the missing link between the dark "Post-Nuclear" and the more club-oriented "Standard Issue".

This Californian project that now has become a trio are the kind of band who hate to accept compromises and so it happens, that this is the type of album that might shock people and will be crowned in the US with the famous 'Parental Advisory' sticker. It still makes us wonder what parents will say though, as this indus/metal/noise album is a fist full of anger, where agression rules. I mean, how do you advise your kids with a track that's named "The whore inside me?".

Before we got confronted with noise anthems in the tradition of 16 Volt or Combichrist, you hear a sort of intro that is more like a soundtrack. (think the terminator after he meets his demise), but mind you, that rest is only for some minutes, as tracks that have titles like: "Death or be killed" or "Kill or be killed" sound like their titles suggest: raw power that's been taught by the likes of Skinny Puppy.

Brutal, bad to the bone, noisy or in other words : just what we expected from Dismantled!

Didier BECU
20/06/2011


NL

Sommige artiesten vertikken het om hun invloeden prijs te geven, maar niet Gary Zorn. Deze Amerikaan heeft er nooit doekjes om gewonden dat zijn doel er in bestond om muzikaal te klinken als Front Line Assembly.

Met deze gedachte maakte hij zo'n tien jaar geleden een aantal demo’s die op de destijds druk bezochte www.mp3.com-site terecht kwamen. Bijna meteen wekte dit interesse op bij het Duitse electro-label Dependent die Dismantled een plaatsje gaf op de verzamelaar Septic II.

Vijf albums later prijkt Gary nog steeds op de Dependent-catalogus waarbij "The war inside me" hun nieuwste wapenfeit is.

Zelf omschrijven deze Amerikanen, die ondertussen een trio geworden zijn, hun nieuwe plaat als de ontbrekende schakel tussen het donker geluid van "Post-Nuclear" en het meer clubgerichte "Standard Issue".

Wie deze groep een beetje kent, weet meteen ook dat dit het soort groep is die niet te gauw een blad voor de mond neemt en daardoor komt het dat deze cd in de Verenigde Staten het bekende Parental Advisory stickertje zal toegedeeld krijgen.

Op zich best grappig, want hoe kun je nu als ouder je kind gaan uitleggen waar een nummer als "The whore inside me" om draait?

Iedere noise plaat heeft meestal een goede intro en dat is hier ook het geval want "Intro" (tja) klinkt als de ideale soundtrack voor een film waarbij één of andere terminator alle leven uit de aarde heeft getrokken.

De angstaanjagende rust duurt echter voor een paar minuten want al gauw word je in een indusmetalnoise-wereldje ondergedompeld die meerdere luisteraars zullen doen denken aan het hardere werk van 16 Volt of Combichrist.

"Death or be killed" or "Kill or be killed" klinken trouwens als de titels doen vermoeden: een keiharde mokerslag die overheerst wordt door gevoelens van frustraties en woede.

"The war inside me" is een geslaagde plaat van een groep die duidelijk geluisterd heeft naar wat grootmeesters als Skinny Puppy hun ooit hebben geleerd.

Didier BECU
20/06/2011


 

Next reviews
RETRIEVER • The Rattle and the Hiss
ARCTIC MONKEYS • Suck it and see
JEWELS OF THE NILE • Pleasure
THE FEELIES • Here before
HAUJOBB • Dead Market EP
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Mein Eigentliches Element
MESH • An Alternative Solution
LED BIB • Bring Your Own
SUEDE • Suede
SNOWY RED • 1980-1984: The ultimate edition | 5 LP Box

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + METAL + NOISE
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain