tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/06/2011 : DISMANTLED - The war inside me

DISMANTLED

The war inside me

MusicCD
IndustrialMetalNoise

[71/100]   

Dependent
20/06/2011, Didier BECU

EN

The goal from Gary Zorn aka Dismantled was always clear, it was his dream to create something that was similar to his heroes, Front Line Assembly.

Ten years ago everybody was putting their demos on the famous www.mp3.com site and as did Gary, with success. Immediately they caught the attention of Dependent and managed to land on some samplers like Septic II.

Five albums later, Gary is still on the famous German electro-label and "The war inside me" is his newest offering.

The new album is described by the band as the missing link between the dark "Post-Nuclear" and the more club-oriented "Standard Issue".

This Californian project that now has become a trio are the kind of band who hate to accept compromises and so it happens, that this is the type of album that might shock people and will be crowned in the US with the famous 'Parental Advisory' sticker. It still makes us wonder what parents will say though, as this indus/metal/noise album is a fist full of anger, where agression rules. I mean, how do you advise your kids with a track that's named "The whore inside me?".

Before we got confronted with noise anthems in the tradition of 16 Volt or Combichrist, you hear a sort of intro that is more like a soundtrack. (think the terminator after he meets his demise), but mind you, that rest is only for some minutes, as tracks that have titles like: "Death or be killed" or "Kill or be killed" sound like their titles suggest: raw power that's been taught by the likes of Skinny Puppy.

Brutal, bad to the bone, noisy or in other words : just what we expected from Dismantled!

Didier BECU
20/06/2011


NL

Sommige artiesten vertikken het om hun invloeden prijs te geven, maar niet Gary Zorn. Deze Amerikaan heeft er nooit doekjes om gewonden dat zijn doel er in bestond om muzikaal te klinken als Front Line Assembly.

Met deze gedachte maakte hij zo'n tien jaar geleden een aantal demo’s die op de destijds druk bezochte www.mp3.com-site terecht kwamen. Bijna meteen wekte dit interesse op bij het Duitse electro-label Dependent die Dismantled een plaatsje gaf op de verzamelaar Septic II.

Vijf albums later prijkt Gary nog steeds op de Dependent-catalogus waarbij "The war inside me" hun nieuwste wapenfeit is.

Zelf omschrijven deze Amerikanen, die ondertussen een trio geworden zijn, hun nieuwe plaat als de ontbrekende schakel tussen het donker geluid van "Post-Nuclear" en het meer clubgerichte "Standard Issue".

Wie deze groep een beetje kent, weet meteen ook dat dit het soort groep is die niet te gauw een blad voor de mond neemt en daardoor komt het dat deze cd in de Verenigde Staten het bekende Parental Advisory stickertje zal toegedeeld krijgen.

Op zich best grappig, want hoe kun je nu als ouder je kind gaan uitleggen waar een nummer als "The whore inside me" om draait?

Iedere noise plaat heeft meestal een goede intro en dat is hier ook het geval want "Intro" (tja) klinkt als de ideale soundtrack voor een film waarbij één of andere terminator alle leven uit de aarde heeft getrokken.

De angstaanjagende rust duurt echter voor een paar minuten want al gauw word je in een indusmetalnoise-wereldje ondergedompeld die meerdere luisteraars zullen doen denken aan het hardere werk van 16 Volt of Combichrist.

"Death or be killed" or "Kill or be killed" klinken trouwens als de titels doen vermoeden: een keiharde mokerslag die overheerst wordt door gevoelens van frustraties en woede.

"The war inside me" is een geslaagde plaat van een groep die duidelijk geluisterd heeft naar wat grootmeesters als Skinny Puppy hun ooit hebben geleerd.

Didier BECU
20/06/2011


 

Next reviews
RETRIEVER • The Rattle and the Hiss
ARCTIC MONKEYS • Suck it and see
JEWELS OF THE NILE • Pleasure
THE FEELIES • Here before
HAUJOBB • Dead Market EP
GRAUSAME TOCHTER • Mein Eigentliches Element
MESH • An Alternative Solution
LED BIB • Bring Your Own
SUEDE • Suede
SNOWY RED • 1980-1984: The ultimate edition | 5 LP Box

 

Same combination of genres: INDUSTRIAL + METAL + NOISE
LARVA • Und sie assen sich selbst

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
JESU • When I Was Small
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
ALSO • Live in Celovec
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith