tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/04/2014 : ARKONA - Yav

ARKONA

Yav

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalHeavy Metal

[85/100]   

Napalm Records
16/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Arkona returns after three long years and finally releases the new album "Yav". The Russian warriors revolving around the impressive front lady Masha "Scream" Arkhipova have perfected their unique style. Like never before, the band interweaves brutal Metal riffs, pounding drums and folk melodies, the latter played mostly on authentic and medieval instruments. Sweeping and profound songs, epic compositions and dream-like atmospheres create the distinctive and enthralling sound of Arkona. "Yav" offers 70 minutes of original, majestic and unique Pagan Folk Metal!

'Zarozhdeni' contains a lot of different voices and is driven by a lot of instruments (heck even some special medieval ones and even an orgue that reminds me of the Doors). The Russian vocals seems to be well fitting. This one reminds me of a pagan festival or a demonic feast!

'Na Strazhe Novyh let' sounds more chaotic & demonic. Love the flute and the more folky instruments. This one somehow reminds me of Ruslana (but that's not really a good thing in these times).

'Serbia' sounds like a real epic song, for the first time I really regret that I don't understand Russian.

'Zov Pustyh Dereven' is a very explosive song with lots of old instruments in it. All kind of voices jump in creating an explosive sound.

Gorod Snov' sounds in the start very Irish or at least very folky until the vocals take over and the screaming creates a more melancholic sound.

'Ved'ma' starts like a horror story with folky roots and gets heavy screaming once it's heatened up! Somehow this one sounds like the heavy version of Metsatöll or even Winny Puhh! Love the synths and the acoustic guitar in it! After a while it gets a bit more like an epic sound, despite the ragging drums!

'Chado Indigo' has even a real piano in it and sounds as dramatic as in the first years of Lacrimosa before it explodes into a screaming hell!

'Jav' starts also very dramatic and with a medieval piano (a clavecimble, I think) before some electronics give it some pathos. Soft guitars render it a weeping sound and then the raging and screaming vocals tear it all apart!

'V Ob'jat'jah Kramoly' starts acoustic, gets taken over by a monster and doesn't sound healthy. The sound is a bit like weeping, ready to say goodbye to life! The end is pretty hypnotic and very melancholic!

It's still strange to hear Russian vocals, for sure in these strange times. I'm not going to pose any political comments, so I'll just stick to my review... I enjoyed the change in setting and this new sound...

They played a great set at Metal Female Voices Fest. 2014, here's what we gathered:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/aria-flame/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xandria/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/xandria-sacrificum/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/diabulus-in-musica/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/diabulus-in-musica-argia/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/ancient-bards/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/ancient-bards-a-new-dawn-ending/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/skeptical-minds/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/skeptical-minds-run-for-your-live-2014/

for those who missed them at one of the finest festivals of Belgium, here's a rematch:

Arkona + Skálmöld supporting Eluveitie:

09-11-2014 BE,

Vosselaar @ Biebob (this show has been moved to Trix in Borgerhout/Antwerp: http://www.biebob.be/concerts/?ee=100)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
16/04/2014


 

Next reviews
• Quirke
BROTHER FIRETRIBE • Diamond in the Firepit
AMBASSADOR 21 • Riot Generation
PHILIPPE CLAUDEL • Avant l'hiver
HELL:SECTOR • The Rise Of The Apocalypse
CAZZURILLO • Ghosts Are Surfing Now
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bluetown Electronica
DANIEL ALFREDSON • Echoes From The Dead (Skumtimmen)
FREEDOM CALL • Beyond
GODHEAD • The Shadow Realigned

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + HEAVY METAL
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
ALESTORM • Sunset on the Golden Age
SYLVATICA • Evil Seeds
METSATÖLL • Karjajuht
METSATÖLL • Tõrrede Kõhtudes (In the Bellies of Barrels) - Single
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • 29/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Haggard, Stille Volk, Rastaban & Dark Poem

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

Music reviews

25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn
19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 41-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 32 years ago!
21
11
Isn't Anything (album) by My Bloody Valentine turns 32 today!
17
11
40 years of Grotesque by The Fall

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins
20
11
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
19
11
WULFBAND
Kalt Blut