tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/04/2014 : ARKONA - Yav

ARKONA

Yav

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalHeavy Metal

[85/100]   

Napalm Records
16/04/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Arkona returns after three long years and finally releases the new album "Yav". The Russian warriors revolving around the impressive front lady Masha "Scream" Arkhipova have perfected their unique style. Like never before, the band interweaves brutal Metal riffs, pounding drums and folk melodies, the latter played mostly on authentic and medieval instruments. Sweeping and profound songs, epic compositions and dream-like atmospheres create the distinctive and enthralling sound of Arkona. "Yav" offers 70 minutes of original, majestic and unique Pagan Folk Metal!

'Zarozhdeni' contains a lot of different voices and is driven by a lot of instruments (heck even some special medieval ones and even an orgue that reminds me of the Doors). The Russian vocals seems to be well fitting. This one reminds me of a pagan festival or a demonic feast!

'Na Strazhe Novyh let' sounds more chaotic & demonic. Love the flute and the more folky instruments. This one somehow reminds me of Ruslana (but that's not really a good thing in these times).

'Serbia' sounds like a real epic song, for the first time I really regret that I don't understand Russian.

'Zov Pustyh Dereven' is a very explosive song with lots of old instruments in it. All kind of voices jump in creating an explosive sound.

Gorod Snov' sounds in the start very Irish or at least very folky until the vocals take over and the screaming creates a more melancholic sound.

'Ved'ma' starts like a horror story with folky roots and gets heavy screaming once it's heatened up! Somehow this one sounds like the heavy version of Metsatöll or even Winny Puhh! Love the synths and the acoustic guitar in it! After a while it gets a bit more like an epic sound, despite the ragging drums!

'Chado Indigo' has even a real piano in it and sounds as dramatic as in the first years of Lacrimosa before it explodes into a screaming hell!

'Jav' starts also very dramatic and with a medieval piano (a clavecimble, I think) before some electronics give it some pathos. Soft guitars render it a weeping sound and then the raging and screaming vocals tear it all apart!

'V Ob'jat'jah Kramoly' starts acoustic, gets taken over by a monster and doesn't sound healthy. The sound is a bit like weeping, ready to say goodbye to life! The end is pretty hypnotic and very melancholic!

It's still strange to hear Russian vocals, for sure in these strange times. I'm not going to pose any political comments, so I'll just stick to my review... I enjoyed the change in setting and this new sound...

They played a great set at Metal Female Voices Fest. 2014, here's what we gathered:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/aria-flame/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/xandria/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/xandria-sacrificum/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/diabulus-in-musica/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/diabulus-in-musica-argia/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/ancient-bards/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/ancient-bards-a-new-dawn-ending/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/skeptical-minds/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/skeptical-minds-run-for-your-live-2014/

for those who missed them at one of the finest festivals of Belgium, here's a rematch:

Arkona + Skálmöld supporting Eluveitie:

09-11-2014 BE,

Vosselaar @ Biebob (this show has been moved to Trix in Borgerhout/Antwerp: http://www.biebob.be/concerts/?ee=100)

Filip VAN MUYLEM
16/04/2014


 

Next reviews
• Quirke
BROTHER FIRETRIBE • Diamond in the Firepit
AMBASSADOR 21 • Riot Generation
PHILIPPE CLAUDEL • Avant l'hiver
HELL:SECTOR • The Rise Of The Apocalypse
CAZZURILLO • Ghosts Are Surfing Now
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bluetown Electronica
DANIEL ALFREDSON • Echoes From The Dead (Skumtimmen)
FREEDOM CALL • Beyond
GODHEAD • The Shadow Realigned

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + HEAVY METAL
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben
ELUVEITIE, ARKONA AND SKáLMöLD • Trix, Antwerp (09/11/2014)
ELUVEITIE • Origins
ALESTORM • Sunset on the Golden Age
SYLVATICA • Evil Seeds
METSATÖLL • Karjajuht
METSATÖLL • Tõrrede Kõhtudes (In the Bellies of Barrels) - Single
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • 29/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Haggard, Stille Volk, Rastaban & Dark Poem

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire