tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

01/04/2013 : TROLLS ET LÉGENDES - 29/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Haggard, Stille Volk, Rastaban & Dark Poem

TROLLS ET LÉGENDES

29/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium

Haggard, Stille Volk, Rastaban & Dark Poem

Concert
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalHeavy MetalMedieval

[95/100]   
01/04/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Trolls et Légendes is the biggest event in Belgium in this category if you know what I mean … And I’m very glad I was there!

I missed the first day, but it was a good day and looking at what the second day presents, it looks even better. The fairy fair, the trolls, dragons, card games, animations, signing sessions, the spirit... everything is there to make it worth it and around 3pm, the venue is sold out so that the organisation had to refuse people. That's kind of clear, isn't it?

We are here to see the gigs. In this huge arena in Mons, they have built a castle around the stage to give it a more medieval touch.

Dark Poem has the honor to open the night with their faery electro and cool percussions. I saw these two elves a year ago in a little venue called the Kinky Star, in Ghent, and right after that they where signed to record a CD. I must say that a big venue as this one is much more fitting for them and I hope they will have as much people as here in their next gig in Antwerp. It’s just a bit strange to hear electro (pre-recorded) sounds in this medieval environment, but the two female voices blend well and it was good that they brought an extra girl to give some show and get more visuals than just a video and two sexy fairy girls who are singing and giving all their best. It was a good, but slow starter as you could feel that the audience wanted more action and more energy.

With Rastaban everybody got what they asked for: a good challenge! Rastaban brought a lot of different things and captivated everybody’s attention. They stole our hearts, for sure. The violin player (Stéphan Kesenne) and the slideridoo player (Luka Aubri) fired up the crowd and the pregnant singer (Marine Libert) did the rest. Very evocative and enchanting folk! The audience responded in a very positive and energetic way: there was a real party and lots of fun on stage and in the public! People where dancing, clapping hands, shouting, singing... Can’t wait for their new CD, which will be out in autumn!

As we are only 20 km away from the border with France, it’s a bit normal that Stille Volk built an even bigger party. Their name wasn’t fitting their action. The whole venue was on fire with their warm Folk. A lot of dancing, even a huge 'polonaise' and massive singing-a-long, clapping hands, screaming and shouting. For a lot of people this was the true headliner. There was something magic in the air and we all felt it. The old instruments worked well and the 3 vocalists blended in well. Great work and what a party!

Honestly: i was looking forward to see Haggard on stage, but I felt right away that it was needed to plug in and play very hard and loud. The symphonic metal and medieval mix somehow didn’t blend in for the audience as it does on the CD’s. The audience wanted to rock and made it very clear, but the slower moments and some talking in between sometimes killed the good vibe. A good example was the fact that they wanted everybody to sing correctly along to 'the final victory', which only worked after a few try outs and after letting aside for a few songs. The crowd started doing a wall of death and a moshpit whilst there was even no music at that time. It's clear: the audience wanted grunting, powerful metal and everything that was rocking or hard and heavy. The softer side wasn't their cup of tea and presented me the downside of this gig. So during the hard and heavy moments the crowd went berserk, for sure! I will still love their CD's and want to see them back on stage, despite the reaction of the audience.

On to the next day...

Here are the full interviews of the bands:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/haggard/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/rastaban/

Here you find an overview of what can be found on our website about The Trolls et Légendes-Festival 2015:

Trolls et Légendes VI

Friday:

Naheulband (f), Feuerschwanz (d), La Horde (b)

Interview with Naheulband

Interview Feuerschwanz

album review Feuerschwanz

interview La Horde

Saturday:

Eluveitie (ch), Tanzwut (d), Huldre (dk), Nook Karavan (b)

Promo links:

interview Eluveitie

album review Eluveitie

live pics Eulveitie

live review Eluveitie

album review Tanzwut Freitag der 13.

album review Tanzwut (Eselmesse)

Tanzwut interview

album review Huldre

Huldre interview

interview Nook Karavan

Sunday:

Corvus Corax (d), Rastaban (b), Cuélebre (sp), Cesair (nl)

Promo links:

interview Corvus Corax

album review Corvus Corax

interview Rastaban

album review Rastaban

interview Cuélebre

album review Cuélebre

interview Cesair at Trolls

album review Cesair

These bands will play during daytime:

interview Acus Vacuum

Interview Gny

A great compilation:

La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III with Cesair, Rastaban, Cuèlebre … Click here

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/04/2013


 

Next reviews
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
NITON DECAY • Cage
FATAL CASUALTIES • Paria
AIRCRASH BUREAU • Pack leader
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Corporate power
CHAINREACTOR • The silence & The noise
MRDTC • #2 [We transfer]
SPETSNAZ • For Generations To Come
:CODES • All The Tragic Heroines
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 4 in 1 volume 3

 

Other reviews from TROLLS ET LÉGENDES
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • 30/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Saltatio Mortis, Daemonia Nymphe, Folk Noir & Asynje

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
03
0KONTROL
Gologramma
08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies