tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

01/04/2013 : TROLLS ET LÉGENDES - 29/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Haggard, Stille Volk, Rastaban & Dark Poem

TROLLS ET LÉGENDES

29/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium

Haggard, Stille Volk, Rastaban & Dark Poem

Concert
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / TribalHeavy MetalMedieval

[95/100]   
01/04/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Trolls et Légendes is the biggest event in Belgium in this category if you know what I mean … And I’m very glad I was there!

I missed the first day, but it was a good day and looking at what the second day presents, it looks even better. The fairy fair, the trolls, dragons, card games, animations, signing sessions, the spirit... everything is there to make it worth it and around 3pm, the venue is sold out so that the organisation had to refuse people. That's kind of clear, isn't it?

We are here to see the gigs. In this huge arena in Mons, they have built a castle around the stage to give it a more medieval touch.

Dark Poem has the honor to open the night with their faery electro and cool percussions. I saw these two elves a year ago in a little venue called the Kinky Star, in Ghent, and right after that they where signed to record a CD. I must say that a big venue as this one is much more fitting for them and I hope they will have as much people as here in their next gig in Antwerp. It’s just a bit strange to hear electro (pre-recorded) sounds in this medieval environment, but the two female voices blend well and it was good that they brought an extra girl to give some show and get more visuals than just a video and two sexy fairy girls who are singing and giving all their best. It was a good, but slow starter as you could feel that the audience wanted more action and more energy.

With Rastaban everybody got what they asked for: a good challenge! Rastaban brought a lot of different things and captivated everybody’s attention. They stole our hearts, for sure. The violin player (Stéphan Kesenne) and the slideridoo player (Luka Aubri) fired up the crowd and the pregnant singer (Marine Libert) did the rest. Very evocative and enchanting folk! The audience responded in a very positive and energetic way: there was a real party and lots of fun on stage and in the public! People where dancing, clapping hands, shouting, singing... Can’t wait for their new CD, which will be out in autumn!

As we are only 20 km away from the border with France, it’s a bit normal that Stille Volk built an even bigger party. Their name wasn’t fitting their action. The whole venue was on fire with their warm Folk. A lot of dancing, even a huge 'polonaise' and massive singing-a-long, clapping hands, screaming and shouting. For a lot of people this was the true headliner. There was something magic in the air and we all felt it. The old instruments worked well and the 3 vocalists blended in well. Great work and what a party!

Honestly: i was looking forward to see Haggard on stage, but I felt right away that it was needed to plug in and play very hard and loud. The symphonic metal and medieval mix somehow didn’t blend in for the audience as it does on the CD’s. The audience wanted to rock and made it very clear, but the slower moments and some talking in between sometimes killed the good vibe. A good example was the fact that they wanted everybody to sing correctly along to 'the final victory', which only worked after a few try outs and after letting aside for a few songs. The crowd started doing a wall of death and a moshpit whilst there was even no music at that time. It's clear: the audience wanted grunting, powerful metal and everything that was rocking or hard and heavy. The softer side wasn't their cup of tea and presented me the downside of this gig. So during the hard and heavy moments the crowd went berserk, for sure! I will still love their CD's and want to see them back on stage, despite the reaction of the audience.

On to the next day...

Here are the full interviews of the bands:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/haggard/

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/interviews/rastaban/

Here you find an overview of what can be found on our website about The Trolls et Légendes-Festival 2015:

Trolls et Légendes VI

Friday:

Naheulband (f), Feuerschwanz (d), La Horde (b)

Interview with Naheulband

Interview Feuerschwanz

album review Feuerschwanz

interview La Horde

Saturday:

Eluveitie (ch), Tanzwut (d), Huldre (dk), Nook Karavan (b)

Promo links:

interview Eluveitie

album review Eluveitie

live pics Eulveitie

live review Eluveitie

album review Tanzwut Freitag der 13.

album review Tanzwut (Eselmesse)

Tanzwut interview

album review Huldre

Huldre interview

interview Nook Karavan

Sunday:

Corvus Corax (d), Rastaban (b), Cuélebre (sp), Cesair (nl)

Promo links:

interview Corvus Corax

album review Corvus Corax

interview Rastaban

album review Rastaban

interview Cuélebre

album review Cuélebre

interview Cesair at Trolls

album review Cesair

These bands will play during daytime:

interview Acus Vacuum

Interview Gny

A great compilation:

La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III with Cesair, Rastaban, Cuèlebre … Click here

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/04/2013


 

Next reviews
HENKE • HENKE & Lisa Morgenstern @ Kulturbahnhof Langendreer, Bochum, 28/03/2013
NITON DECAY • Cage
FATAL CASUALTIES • Paria
AIRCRASH BUREAU • Pack leader
ROBOTIKO REJEKTO • Corporate power
CHAINREACTOR • The silence & The noise
MRDTC • #2 [We transfer]
SPETSNAZ • For Generations To Come
:CODES • All The Tragic Heroines
VARIOUS ARTISTS • 4 in 1 volume 3

 

Other reviews from TROLLS ET LÉGENDES
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • 30/3/2013 at Mons, Belgium | Saltatio Mortis, Daemonia Nymphe, Folk Noir & Asynje

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way

 

Same genre: HEAVY METAL
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
KRASHKARMA • Paint The Devil
GIRLSCHOOL • Nightmare At Maple Cross
GIRLSCHOOL • Take A Bite
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
DYSCORDIA • Words in Ruin
SHIVERS ADDICTION • Choose Your Prison
YTHON • Titanomachy

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan

Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes