tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

10/12/2016 : AN DANZZA - Whispers of the Forest

AN DANZZA

Whispers of the Forest

MusicMP3/Download
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFantasyMedieval

[85/100]   

Self-released
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Those who love epic, medieval or fantasy, surely must take the time to discover the fifth album of An Danzza. The project is essentially the brain of the Spaniard Andrés Campuzano with vocals by Haydée Marinoso (ex Waldheim, former Rememberances). Octavio Molano (flutes, bagpipes), Jaime Sanz (oboe), Alba Sola (violins) and a long list of guest musicians all ensure a high-quality content. Whispers Of The Forest contains 15 tracks.

On this album, Andrés delves into the dark woods and creates myths by use of music. A rather traditional sounding album that at times sounds medieval with a fabulous touch. The voice of Haydée has a reinforcing effect. She sings mainly in English, which makes it sound universal. Hekate is the first single from the new album and begins with mesmerizing vocals and percussion. The song sounds atmospheric with a clear theme. Beautifully done. When The Wind Moans is a strong song, but actually all compositions are of a fairly high level.

Some may think it sounds too magical, but when you love bands like Qntal or Blackmore's Night, then you will like this album. Note the beautiful artwork which fits the atmosphere.

Digital only available through http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/AnDanzza.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

Wie van epic, medieval of fantasy houdt, moet zeker de tijd nemen om het vijfde album van An Danzza te ontdekken. Het project is hoofdzakelijk het brein van de Spanjaard Andrés Campuzano en de zang wordt verzorgd door Haydée Marinoso (ex-Waldheim, het voormalige Rememberances). Octavio Molano (fluiten, doedelzak), Jaime Sanz (hobo), Alba Sola (violen) en nog een waslijst van gastmuzikanten, zorgen voor een kwaliteitsvolle muzikale invulling. Whispers Of The Forest bevat maar liefst 15 tracks.

Op dit album duikt Andrés in de donkere wouden om mythes via zijn muziek tot leven te brengen. Hij slaagt daar aardig in en brengt een vrij traditioneel klinkend album dat soms een middeleeuwse en dan een sprookjesachtige inkleuring krijgt. De stem van Haydée heeft een versterkend effect. Ze zingt hoofdzakelijk in het Engels, wat ervoor zorgt dat het meteen een stuk toegankelijker en universeler klinkt. Hekate is de eerste single uit het nieuwe album en begint met bezwerende gezang en percussie. Het nummer klinkt vrij opgewekt en atmosferisch met een duidelijk thema. Mooi uitgewerkt. Ook When The Wind Moans is een sterke song, maar eigenlijk zijn alle composities van een vrij hoog niveau.

Sommigen zullen het misschien wat te feeëriek vinden klinken, maar als je smaak die richting uitgaat en je houdt van bands zoals Qntal, Blackmore’s Night… dan zal je aan dit album veel plezier beleven. Let ook op het mooie artwork dat helemaal in de sfeer past. Alleen digitaal verkrijgbaar via http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/AnDanzza.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


10/12/2016 : AN DANZZA - Whispers of the Forest

 

Next reviews
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
BRUNO SANFILIPPO • The Poet
NU:N • Nothing Unveils Nothing
PSYCHIC TV • Brussels, Recyclart (21/05/2016)
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery
NASH THE SLASH • Children of the Night/Dreams and Nightmares:
STEVEN BROWN • Music For Film and Theatre
RADIOHEAD • A Moon Shaped Pool

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: FANTASY
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
ELVYA • Untold Stories
ROLANDO SIMMONS • Magical Crystal
KARSTEN PFLUM • Dode
COLIN TEAGUE • Dragonheart 3: The Sorcerer's Curse
ACCOLADE • Catharsis of Rhetorik
PETER JACKSON • The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug (Extended Edition)
KAREL ZEMAN • A Jester's Tale
GARY SHORE • CINEMA: Dracula Untold
RON HOWARD • Willow

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
EPHYRA • Along The Path
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)