tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale

KAREL ZEMAN

A Jester's Tale

Movie
Fantasy

[74/100]   

Second Run DVD
07/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Who wants to know where Terry Gilliam took his inspiration for his Monty Python-animations, should definitely watch a film by Karel Zeman. Recently Second Run DVD released A Jester Tale ( Bláznova kronika ) on DVD from this master. It is without doubt the most famous work of this legendary Czech filmmaker. After 80 minutes you know why Tim Burton or the Brothers Quay cite him as their source of inspiration. Zeman has made it his ​​ trademark to mix live action with animation. The result is astounding. Although this film is over 40 years old, the result looks far from dated.

The screenplay was written by Pavel Juráček (Ikarie XB1). The story of the joker and the deserting mercenary during the Thirty Years' War of 1618-1648 in Moravia seems at first sight an innocent fairy tale, but is a hard satire that denounces all despots in history. Zeman himself describes his work as pseudo-historical. More than once you notice influences of cinema pioneer George Melies because Zeman uses everything to create a stunning animated spectacle: a simple inkblot can become a miracle.

A Jester Tale is funny, but above all it is a visual extravaganza. It makes you think of times when there were no CG-effects around. Everything looked less realistic, but more beautiful. The film was unfindable for years? Thanks to Second Run DVD it is restored and released on DVD.

Technical Details:

Country: Czechoslovakia ( 1964)
Length : 81 minutes
Sound: Original mono (restored)
Picture: Black and white, 1.85: 1/16 : 9 anamorphic
Language: Czech
Subtitles : English

Didier BECU
07/11/2014


NL

Wie wil weten waar Terry Gilliam de mosterd haalde voor zijn Monty Python-animaties, moet beslist eens een film van Karel Zeman bekijken. Onlangs bracht het Briste Second Run DVD A Jester Tale (Bláznova kronika) uit 1964 op dvd uit. Het is zonder twijfel het bekendste werk van deze legendarische Tsjechische filmmaker. Na 80 minuten weet je meteen waarom bijv. Tim Burton of de Quay Brothers hem als inspiratiebron aanhalen. Zeman heeft er in zijn carrière een handelsmerk van gemaakt om live-action met animatie te mengen. Het resultaat is ronduit verbluffend. Ofschoon deze film al meer dan 40 jaar oud is, oogt het resultaat verre van gedateerd.

Het scenario is geschreven door Pavel Juráček ( Ikarie XB1 ). Het verhaal van de joker en de deserterende huurling dat zich tijdens de Dertigjarige Oorlog van 1618-1648 in Moravië afspeelt, lijkt op het eerste gezicht misschien op een onschuldig sprookje, eigenlijk is het een keiharde satire die alle despoten uit de geschiedenis hekelt. Zelf omschrijft Zeman zijn werk als een 'pseudo - historische' film. Meer dan eens merk je invloeden van cinemapionier George Melies omdat Zeman zo wat alles gebruikt om van zijn film een verbluffend geanimeerd spektakel te maken, zo kan bijv. een simpele inktvlek voor wonderen zorgen.

A Jester Tale is grappig, maar het is vooral een visueel festijn waarbij je zonder meer terugdenkt aan tijden toen de film- en animatiewereld er zonder CG-effecten wel minder realistisch, maar toch mooier uitzag. De film was jarenlang onvindbaar, maar dankzij Second Run DVD weer van onder het stof gehaald en nu op een piekfijne gerestaureerde dvd uitgebracht.

Technische Gegevens:

Land: Tsjecho-Slowakije (1964)
Lengte : 81 minuten
Geluid : Original mono ( hersteld )
Beeld: Zwart en wit, 1.85 : 1/16 : 9 anamorphic
Taal: Tsjechisch
Ondertitels : Engels 

Didier BECU
07/11/2014


07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale 07/11/2014 : KAREL ZEMAN - A Jester's Tale

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid