tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this documentary review

06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali

CLARE LEWINS

I Am Ali

MovieDocumentary
DocumentarySport
Universal Pictures
06/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Forty years after Muhammad Ali recaptured his title of heavyweight-champion, thanks to a victory against George Foreman in The Rumble in the Jungle, Clare Lewin releases the documentary I Am Ali.

Family members and boxing legends like Mike Tyson, George Foreman and Gene Kilroy are interviewed, except Ali himself. The athlete is suffering from Parkinson's disease since the 80’s. The film is a documentary, but ii is actually more a tribute to a man who sometimes was incredibly arrogant, but who is also easily intimidatedt and who dedicated himself to charity work for minorities. In I Am Ali we interviews and a lot of unreleased material, but most important we discover Cassius Marcellus Clay (he changed his name to Muhammad Ali because Clay was his slave name ) as a human being, not as a sporter.

There is of course attention paid to his sporting achievements, but the film is mainly about his protest against the Vietnam War (as a result he lost his boxer's license for four years), his sympathy for the Nation of Islam and the masterful way in which he dealt with the media. Not everyone cherished him. When he entered the boxing ring with a crown on his head, he was pelted by many supporters and his statements were clear: I Am The Greatest , I Am The King...

Question is whether I Am Ali is also interesting for people who are not a boxing fan. Yes, because even if you do not understand why anyone has the teeth knocked out of his mouth for money, this is still a fascinating portrait.

On both the DVD and the Blu-ray you find these extras :

FIGHTER - The Legendary Boxer

BROTHER - The Civil Rights Supporter

LOVER - The People's Champion

FATHER - The Family Man

THE MUSIC - Telling The Story

 

Technical specifications:

DVD :

Running time : 107 '
Picture: 1.78: 1
Audio : French Dolby Digital 5.1 / English Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English for the hearing impaired , French, Dutch

Blu-ray :

Running time : 111 '
Picture: 1.78: 1 - 1080p
Sound: English DTS -HD Master Audio 5.1 / French Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English for the hearing impaired , French, Dutch

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


NL

Veertig jaar nadat Muhammad Ali zijn wereldtitel bij de zwaargewichten heroverde dankzij een overwinning tegen George Foreman in The Rumble in the Jungle, brengt Clare Lewins de documentaire I Am Ali op de markt. Iedereen komt aan het woord (familieleden en bokslegendes Mike Tyson, George Foreman en Gene Kilroy), behalve Ali zelf. De in 1942 geboren sporter lijdt aan de ziekte van Parkinson, een aandoening die bij hem al in de jaren 80 is geconstateerd.

De film is een documentaire, maar eigenlijk is het meer een eerbetoon aan een man die tegelijkertijd ongelooflijk arrogant was, die anderzijds een heel klein hartje had en zich heel zijn leven inzette voor minderheden. In I Am Ali krijgen we naast een heleboel interviews, ook heel wat onuitgebracht beeldmateriaal te zien, maar wat het belangrijkste is: we leren Cassius Marcellus Clay (hij veranderde z'n naam in Muhammad Ali omdat Clay zijn slavennaam was) als mens kennen.

Natuurlijk wordt er aandacht besteed aan zijn sportprestaties, maar het gaat vooral over hoe de bokser zich afzette tegen de Vietnamoorlog (en daardoor zijn bokservergunning voor vier jaar kwijt speelde), zijn sympathie voor de Nation of Islam en hoe hij meester was van de media. Niet iedereen liep hoog op met Ali. Toen hij de boksring met een kroon op zijn hoofd betrad werd hij door menig supporters bekogeld en ook zijn uitspraken logen er niet om: I Am The Greatest, I Am The King…

Vraag is nu of I Am Ali ook interessant is voor mensen die geen fan zijn van de man. Jazeker, want zelfs indien u niet begrijpt waarom iemand zijn tanden uit zijn bek laat slaan, is dit toch een fascinerend portret. De makers kozen wel een zeer veilige route, want een traditionelere aanpak is wellicht niet mogelijk, toch is deze documentaire meer dan de moeite waard.

Zowel op de dvd als de Blu-ray vind je deze extra's:

FIGHTER – The Legendary Boxer
BROTHER – The Civil Rights Supporter
LOVER – The People’s Champion
FATHER – The Family Man
THE MUSIC – Telling The Story

Technische specificaties:

DVD:

Speelduur: 107′
Beeld: 1.78:1
Geluid: Frans Dolby Digital 5.1/Engels Dolby Digital 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels voor doven en slechthorenden, Frans, Nederlands

Blu-ray:

Speelduur: 111′
Beeld: 1.78:1 – 1080p
Geluid: Engels DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1/Frans Dolby Digital 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels voor doven en slechthorenden, Frans, Nederlands

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
10
MIND & FLESH
Krigserklæring
15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession