tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this documentary review

06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali

CLARE LEWINS

I Am Ali

MovieDocumentary
DocumentarySport
Universal Pictures
06/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Forty years after Muhammad Ali recaptured his title of heavyweight-champion, thanks to a victory against George Foreman in The Rumble in the Jungle, Clare Lewin releases the documentary I Am Ali.

Family members and boxing legends like Mike Tyson, George Foreman and Gene Kilroy are interviewed, except Ali himself. The athlete is suffering from Parkinson's disease since the 80’s. The film is a documentary, but ii is actually more a tribute to a man who sometimes was incredibly arrogant, but who is also easily intimidatedt and who dedicated himself to charity work for minorities. In I Am Ali we interviews and a lot of unreleased material, but most important we discover Cassius Marcellus Clay (he changed his name to Muhammad Ali because Clay was his slave name ) as a human being, not as a sporter.

There is of course attention paid to his sporting achievements, but the film is mainly about his protest against the Vietnam War (as a result he lost his boxer's license for four years), his sympathy for the Nation of Islam and the masterful way in which he dealt with the media. Not everyone cherished him. When he entered the boxing ring with a crown on his head, he was pelted by many supporters and his statements were clear: I Am The Greatest , I Am The King...

Question is whether I Am Ali is also interesting for people who are not a boxing fan. Yes, because even if you do not understand why anyone has the teeth knocked out of his mouth for money, this is still a fascinating portrait.

On both the DVD and the Blu-ray you find these extras :

FIGHTER - The Legendary Boxer

BROTHER - The Civil Rights Supporter

LOVER - The People's Champion

FATHER - The Family Man

THE MUSIC - Telling The Story

 

Technical specifications:

DVD :

Running time : 107 '
Picture: 1.78: 1
Audio : French Dolby Digital 5.1 / English Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English for the hearing impaired , French, Dutch

Blu-ray :

Running time : 111 '
Picture: 1.78: 1 - 1080p
Sound: English DTS -HD Master Audio 5.1 / French Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English for the hearing impaired , French, Dutch

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


NL

Veertig jaar nadat Muhammad Ali zijn wereldtitel bij de zwaargewichten heroverde dankzij een overwinning tegen George Foreman in The Rumble in the Jungle, brengt Clare Lewins de documentaire I Am Ali op de markt. Iedereen komt aan het woord (familieleden en bokslegendes Mike Tyson, George Foreman en Gene Kilroy), behalve Ali zelf. De in 1942 geboren sporter lijdt aan de ziekte van Parkinson, een aandoening die bij hem al in de jaren 80 is geconstateerd.

De film is een documentaire, maar eigenlijk is het meer een eerbetoon aan een man die tegelijkertijd ongelooflijk arrogant was, die anderzijds een heel klein hartje had en zich heel zijn leven inzette voor minderheden. In I Am Ali krijgen we naast een heleboel interviews, ook heel wat onuitgebracht beeldmateriaal te zien, maar wat het belangrijkste is: we leren Cassius Marcellus Clay (hij veranderde z'n naam in Muhammad Ali omdat Clay zijn slavennaam was) als mens kennen.

Natuurlijk wordt er aandacht besteed aan zijn sportprestaties, maar het gaat vooral over hoe de bokser zich afzette tegen de Vietnamoorlog (en daardoor zijn bokservergunning voor vier jaar kwijt speelde), zijn sympathie voor de Nation of Islam en hoe hij meester was van de media. Niet iedereen liep hoog op met Ali. Toen hij de boksring met een kroon op zijn hoofd betrad werd hij door menig supporters bekogeld en ook zijn uitspraken logen er niet om: I Am The Greatest, I Am The King…

Vraag is nu of I Am Ali ook interessant is voor mensen die geen fan zijn van de man. Jazeker, want zelfs indien u niet begrijpt waarom iemand zijn tanden uit zijn bek laat slaan, is dit toch een fascinerend portret. De makers kozen wel een zeer veilige route, want een traditionelere aanpak is wellicht niet mogelijk, toch is deze documentaire meer dan de moeite waard.

Zowel op de dvd als de Blu-ray vind je deze extra's:

FIGHTER – The Legendary Boxer
BROTHER – The Civil Rights Supporter
LOVER – The People’s Champion
FATHER – The Family Man
THE MUSIC – Telling The Story

Technische specificaties:

DVD:

Speelduur: 107′
Beeld: 1.78:1
Geluid: Frans Dolby Digital 5.1/Engels Dolby Digital 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels voor doven en slechthorenden, Frans, Nederlands

Blu-ray:

Speelduur: 111′
Beeld: 1.78:1 – 1080p
Geluid: Engels DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1/Frans Dolby Digital 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels voor doven en slechthorenden, Frans, Nederlands

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now