tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this documentary review

06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali

CLARE LEWINS

I Am Ali

MovieDocumentary
DocumentarySport
Universal Pictures
06/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Forty years after Muhammad Ali recaptured his title of heavyweight-champion, thanks to a victory against George Foreman in The Rumble in the Jungle, Clare Lewin releases the documentary I Am Ali.

Family members and boxing legends like Mike Tyson, George Foreman and Gene Kilroy are interviewed, except Ali himself. The athlete is suffering from Parkinson's disease since the 80’s. The film is a documentary, but ii is actually more a tribute to a man who sometimes was incredibly arrogant, but who is also easily intimidatedt and who dedicated himself to charity work for minorities. In I Am Ali we interviews and a lot of unreleased material, but most important we discover Cassius Marcellus Clay (he changed his name to Muhammad Ali because Clay was his slave name ) as a human being, not as a sporter.

There is of course attention paid to his sporting achievements, but the film is mainly about his protest against the Vietnam War (as a result he lost his boxer's license for four years), his sympathy for the Nation of Islam and the masterful way in which he dealt with the media. Not everyone cherished him. When he entered the boxing ring with a crown on his head, he was pelted by many supporters and his statements were clear: I Am The Greatest , I Am The King...

Question is whether I Am Ali is also interesting for people who are not a boxing fan. Yes, because even if you do not understand why anyone has the teeth knocked out of his mouth for money, this is still a fascinating portrait.

On both the DVD and the Blu-ray you find these extras :

FIGHTER - The Legendary Boxer

BROTHER - The Civil Rights Supporter

LOVER - The People's Champion

FATHER - The Family Man

THE MUSIC - Telling The Story

 

Technical specifications:

DVD :

Running time : 107 '
Picture: 1.78: 1
Audio : French Dolby Digital 5.1 / English Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English for the hearing impaired , French, Dutch

Blu-ray :

Running time : 111 '
Picture: 1.78: 1 - 1080p
Sound: English DTS -HD Master Audio 5.1 / French Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English for the hearing impaired , French, Dutch

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


NL

Veertig jaar nadat Muhammad Ali zijn wereldtitel bij de zwaargewichten heroverde dankzij een overwinning tegen George Foreman in The Rumble in the Jungle, brengt Clare Lewins de documentaire I Am Ali op de markt. Iedereen komt aan het woord (familieleden en bokslegendes Mike Tyson, George Foreman en Gene Kilroy), behalve Ali zelf. De in 1942 geboren sporter lijdt aan de ziekte van Parkinson, een aandoening die bij hem al in de jaren 80 is geconstateerd.

De film is een documentaire, maar eigenlijk is het meer een eerbetoon aan een man die tegelijkertijd ongelooflijk arrogant was, die anderzijds een heel klein hartje had en zich heel zijn leven inzette voor minderheden. In I Am Ali krijgen we naast een heleboel interviews, ook heel wat onuitgebracht beeldmateriaal te zien, maar wat het belangrijkste is: we leren Cassius Marcellus Clay (hij veranderde z'n naam in Muhammad Ali omdat Clay zijn slavennaam was) als mens kennen.

Natuurlijk wordt er aandacht besteed aan zijn sportprestaties, maar het gaat vooral over hoe de bokser zich afzette tegen de Vietnamoorlog (en daardoor zijn bokservergunning voor vier jaar kwijt speelde), zijn sympathie voor de Nation of Islam en hoe hij meester was van de media. Niet iedereen liep hoog op met Ali. Toen hij de boksring met een kroon op zijn hoofd betrad werd hij door menig supporters bekogeld en ook zijn uitspraken logen er niet om: I Am The Greatest, I Am The King…

Vraag is nu of I Am Ali ook interessant is voor mensen die geen fan zijn van de man. Jazeker, want zelfs indien u niet begrijpt waarom iemand zijn tanden uit zijn bek laat slaan, is dit toch een fascinerend portret. De makers kozen wel een zeer veilige route, want een traditionelere aanpak is wellicht niet mogelijk, toch is deze documentaire meer dan de moeite waard.

Zowel op de dvd als de Blu-ray vind je deze extra's:

FIGHTER – The Legendary Boxer
BROTHER – The Civil Rights Supporter
LOVER – The People’s Champion
FATHER – The Family Man
THE MUSIC – Telling The Story

Technische specificaties:

DVD:

Speelduur: 107′
Beeld: 1.78:1
Geluid: Frans Dolby Digital 5.1/Engels Dolby Digital 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels voor doven en slechthorenden, Frans, Nederlands

Blu-ray:

Speelduur: 111′
Beeld: 1.78:1 – 1080p
Geluid: Engels DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1/Frans Dolby Digital 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels voor doven en slechthorenden, Frans, Nederlands

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali

Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
11
40 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
31 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 39 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 44
23
11
The Public’s Image Of Metal Box | The PiL Classic 43-Years On
21
11
The Last Beat of My Heart by Siouxsie and the Banshees was released 34 years ago!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace

PHOTOS

25
11
QNTAL
Christuskirche Bochum
24
11
THE CURE
Sportpaleis Antwerpen
18
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Porta Nigra Autumn Passage
18
11
HEILUNG
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
EIVOR
Ruhrcongress Bochum
18
11
LILI REFRAIN
Ruhrcongress Bochum
15
11
VERSENGOLD
Ruhrcongress Bochum

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Sense
25
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
11
DARK POEM
Too Dark To See
23
11
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
(Let's Get) Physical
22
11
DOUBLE ECHO
Ancient Youth
21
11
NABTA
Drop The Mask
20
11
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt