tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this documentary review

06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali

CLARE LEWINS

I Am Ali

MovieDocumentary
DocumentarySport
Universal Pictures
06/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Forty years after Muhammad Ali recaptured his title of heavyweight-champion, thanks to a victory against George Foreman in The Rumble in the Jungle, Clare Lewin releases the documentary I Am Ali.

Family members and boxing legends like Mike Tyson, George Foreman and Gene Kilroy are interviewed, except Ali himself. The athlete is suffering from Parkinson's disease since the 80’s. The film is a documentary, but ii is actually more a tribute to a man who sometimes was incredibly arrogant, but who is also easily intimidatedt and who dedicated himself to charity work for minorities. In I Am Ali we interviews and a lot of unreleased material, but most important we discover Cassius Marcellus Clay (he changed his name to Muhammad Ali because Clay was his slave name ) as a human being, not as a sporter.

There is of course attention paid to his sporting achievements, but the film is mainly about his protest against the Vietnam War (as a result he lost his boxer's license for four years), his sympathy for the Nation of Islam and the masterful way in which he dealt with the media. Not everyone cherished him. When he entered the boxing ring with a crown on his head, he was pelted by many supporters and his statements were clear: I Am The Greatest , I Am The King...

Question is whether I Am Ali is also interesting for people who are not a boxing fan. Yes, because even if you do not understand why anyone has the teeth knocked out of his mouth for money, this is still a fascinating portrait.

On both the DVD and the Blu-ray you find these extras :

FIGHTER - The Legendary Boxer

BROTHER - The Civil Rights Supporter

LOVER - The People's Champion

FATHER - The Family Man

THE MUSIC - Telling The Story

 

Technical specifications:

DVD :

Running time : 107 '
Picture: 1.78: 1
Audio : French Dolby Digital 5.1 / English Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English for the hearing impaired , French, Dutch

Blu-ray :

Running time : 111 '
Picture: 1.78: 1 - 1080p
Sound: English DTS -HD Master Audio 5.1 / French Dolby Digital 5.1
Subtitles: English for the hearing impaired , French, Dutch

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


NL

Veertig jaar nadat Muhammad Ali zijn wereldtitel bij de zwaargewichten heroverde dankzij een overwinning tegen George Foreman in The Rumble in the Jungle, brengt Clare Lewins de documentaire I Am Ali op de markt. Iedereen komt aan het woord (familieleden en bokslegendes Mike Tyson, George Foreman en Gene Kilroy), behalve Ali zelf. De in 1942 geboren sporter lijdt aan de ziekte van Parkinson, een aandoening die bij hem al in de jaren 80 is geconstateerd.

De film is een documentaire, maar eigenlijk is het meer een eerbetoon aan een man die tegelijkertijd ongelooflijk arrogant was, die anderzijds een heel klein hartje had en zich heel zijn leven inzette voor minderheden. In I Am Ali krijgen we naast een heleboel interviews, ook heel wat onuitgebracht beeldmateriaal te zien, maar wat het belangrijkste is: we leren Cassius Marcellus Clay (hij veranderde z'n naam in Muhammad Ali omdat Clay zijn slavennaam was) als mens kennen.

Natuurlijk wordt er aandacht besteed aan zijn sportprestaties, maar het gaat vooral over hoe de bokser zich afzette tegen de Vietnamoorlog (en daardoor zijn bokservergunning voor vier jaar kwijt speelde), zijn sympathie voor de Nation of Islam en hoe hij meester was van de media. Niet iedereen liep hoog op met Ali. Toen hij de boksring met een kroon op zijn hoofd betrad werd hij door menig supporters bekogeld en ook zijn uitspraken logen er niet om: I Am The Greatest, I Am The King…

Vraag is nu of I Am Ali ook interessant is voor mensen die geen fan zijn van de man. Jazeker, want zelfs indien u niet begrijpt waarom iemand zijn tanden uit zijn bek laat slaan, is dit toch een fascinerend portret. De makers kozen wel een zeer veilige route, want een traditionelere aanpak is wellicht niet mogelijk, toch is deze documentaire meer dan de moeite waard.

Zowel op de dvd als de Blu-ray vind je deze extra's:

FIGHTER – The Legendary Boxer
BROTHER – The Civil Rights Supporter
LOVER – The People’s Champion
FATHER – The Family Man
THE MUSIC – Telling The Story

Technische specificaties:

DVD:

Speelduur: 107′
Beeld: 1.78:1
Geluid: Frans Dolby Digital 5.1/Engels Dolby Digital 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels voor doven en slechthorenden, Frans, Nederlands

Blu-ray:

Speelduur: 111′
Beeld: 1.78:1 – 1080p
Geluid: Engels DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1/Frans Dolby Digital 5.1
Ondertiteling: Engels voor doven en slechthorenden, Frans, Nederlands

Didier BECU
06/11/2014


06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali 06/11/2014 : CLARE LEWINS - I Am Ali

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf