tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2015 : INKUBUS SUKKUBUS - Mother Moon

INKUBUS SUKKUBUS

Mother Moon

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesGothicMedieval

[77/100]   

Resurrection Records
23/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Unbelievable how time passes, not? Meanwhile, the British gothact Inkubus Sukkubus was founded more than 26 years ago. Even if they never were on the radio or part of some trite top 100 list, Candia Ridley and Tony McKormack can say that they are one of the most popular groups of the British underground scene. This band from Manchester, with texts about paganism, witchcraft and the occult, has become one of the groups whose songs were officially downloaded more than any other. The trio (bassist Dave Saunders is with them) is still a welcome guests at many black parties and Mother Moon is their nineteenth album! And yes, it is still released on Resurrection Records, the label that also released theirbmost popular albums Heartbeat of the Earth and Vampyre Erotica.

Lyrically, not much has changed in the course of 26 years, as the trio still believes in surrendering yourself to the forces of nature, and musically there is little new to discover. One could accuse the band of not exploring new musical horizons, but their pagan rock always has been pure class. And so is Mother Moon, although this album consists mostly of acoustic songs (for example there is an acoustic version of their hit song Lose Yourself At The Nymphaeum included) which will please fans of All About Eve (and of course those of Inkubus Sukkubus).

 

 

 

Besides acoustic songs, there is also some goth rock, like the superb opener Mother Moon (mysticism, exciting and you can even dance to it), Shadows In The Darkness is actually Kate Bush with heavenly goth guitars (sublime), Dark Sisters is a beautiful medieval pearl, and the ingenious final song No End To War has just the same epic feel as a Death In June song (yes, you read it correctly). Old wine needs no bush, the same goes for Inkubus Sukkubus!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


NL

Ongelooflijk hoe de tijd voorbijraast, niet? De Britse gothact Inkubus Sukkubus is ondertussen al meer dan 26 jaar geleden opgericht. Ook al hoor je ze nooit op de radio of vind je ze niet terug in één of ander afgezaagd top 100-lijstje, kunnen Candia Ridley en Tony McKormack zeggen dat ze één van de populairste groepen uit de Britse undergroundscene zijn. Deze groep uit Manchester die het in zijn teksten graag over paganisme, hekserij en occultisme heeft, werd één van de groepen wier nummers het meest officieel zijn gedownload. Het trio (want ook bassist Dave Saunders zit erbij) zijn nog steeds graag geziene gasten op allerlei zwarte feestjes en Mother Moon is ondertussen hun negentiende album! En jawel, nog altijd uitgebracht door Resurrection Records, het label waarop zij tevens hun populairste albums Heartbeat of the Earth en Vampyre Erotica uitbrachten.

Qua teksten is er op 26 jaar niet veel veranderd, het trio blijft immers nog steeds volop geloven in de overgave aan de natuurkrachten en ook muzikaal is er weinig nieuws onder de zon. Je kan Inkubus Sukkubus misschien wel verwijten dat het net iets te weinig nieuwe muzikale horizonten heeft opgezocht in z'n carrière, wel hebben ze hun paganrock steeds met uitstekende klasse gebracht. Dat is op Mother Moon niet anders, ofschoon dit album grotendeels uit akoestische nummers bestaat (zo is er bijv. een akoestische bewerking van hun hitje Lose Yourself At The Nymphaeum) die de fans van All About Eve (en natuurlijk ook die van Inkubus Sukkubus) zonder twijfel zullen bekoren.

Naast akoestische nummers vind je ook stevige gothrock op dit schijfje, zoals de knappe opener Mother Moon (mystiek, opzwepend en je kan er zelfs op dansen), Shadows In The Darkness is eigenlijk Kate Bush met hemelse gothgitaren (subliem dus), Dark Sisters is een prachtige medieval parel en de geniale afsluiter No End To War ademt net dezelfde heroïsche sfeer uit als een Death In June-nummer (jawel, je leest dit goed). Als oude wijn geen krans behoeft, dan geldt dat ook voor Inkubus Sukkubus!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • Joyride
MILD CLUB HIGH • Timeline
OFFICIAL BURNT TOAST • Money As Debt
PARADOX OBSCUR • Anacrusis
SATORI • The Hanging
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER • All The Way Down
KONER • Die Babbie
WATCH THEM FADE • Welcome To My Void
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
JAMES WARREN • Honest Man (EP)

 

Other reviews from INKUBUS SUKKUBUS
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Review of the concert at the Café Bizarre in Dentergem on 30th March 2013
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • The Goat
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Dark Goddess

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice