tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2015 : INKUBUS SUKKUBUS - Mother Moon

INKUBUS SUKKUBUS

Mother Moon

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesGothicMedieval

[77/100]   

Resurrection Records
23/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Unbelievable how time passes, not? Meanwhile, the British gothact Inkubus Sukkubus was founded more than 26 years ago. Even if they never were on the radio or part of some trite top 100 list, Candia Ridley and Tony McKormack can say that they are one of the most popular groups of the British underground scene. This band from Manchester, with texts about paganism, witchcraft and the occult, has become one of the groups whose songs were officially downloaded more than any other. The trio (bassist Dave Saunders is with them) is still a welcome guests at many black parties and Mother Moon is their nineteenth album! And yes, it is still released on Resurrection Records, the label that also released theirbmost popular albums Heartbeat of the Earth and Vampyre Erotica.

Lyrically, not much has changed in the course of 26 years, as the trio still believes in surrendering yourself to the forces of nature, and musically there is little new to discover. One could accuse the band of not exploring new musical horizons, but their pagan rock always has been pure class. And so is Mother Moon, although this album consists mostly of acoustic songs (for example there is an acoustic version of their hit song Lose Yourself At The Nymphaeum included) which will please fans of All About Eve (and of course those of Inkubus Sukkubus).

 

 

 

Besides acoustic songs, there is also some goth rock, like the superb opener Mother Moon (mysticism, exciting and you can even dance to it), Shadows In The Darkness is actually Kate Bush with heavenly goth guitars (sublime), Dark Sisters is a beautiful medieval pearl, and the ingenious final song No End To War has just the same epic feel as a Death In June song (yes, you read it correctly). Old wine needs no bush, the same goes for Inkubus Sukkubus!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


NL

Ongelooflijk hoe de tijd voorbijraast, niet? De Britse gothact Inkubus Sukkubus is ondertussen al meer dan 26 jaar geleden opgericht. Ook al hoor je ze nooit op de radio of vind je ze niet terug in één of ander afgezaagd top 100-lijstje, kunnen Candia Ridley en Tony McKormack zeggen dat ze één van de populairste groepen uit de Britse undergroundscene zijn. Deze groep uit Manchester die het in zijn teksten graag over paganisme, hekserij en occultisme heeft, werd één van de groepen wier nummers het meest officieel zijn gedownload. Het trio (want ook bassist Dave Saunders zit erbij) zijn nog steeds graag geziene gasten op allerlei zwarte feestjes en Mother Moon is ondertussen hun negentiende album! En jawel, nog altijd uitgebracht door Resurrection Records, het label waarop zij tevens hun populairste albums Heartbeat of the Earth en Vampyre Erotica uitbrachten.

Qua teksten is er op 26 jaar niet veel veranderd, het trio blijft immers nog steeds volop geloven in de overgave aan de natuurkrachten en ook muzikaal is er weinig nieuws onder de zon. Je kan Inkubus Sukkubus misschien wel verwijten dat het net iets te weinig nieuwe muzikale horizonten heeft opgezocht in z'n carrière, wel hebben ze hun paganrock steeds met uitstekende klasse gebracht. Dat is op Mother Moon niet anders, ofschoon dit album grotendeels uit akoestische nummers bestaat (zo is er bijv. een akoestische bewerking van hun hitje Lose Yourself At The Nymphaeum) die de fans van All About Eve (en natuurlijk ook die van Inkubus Sukkubus) zonder twijfel zullen bekoren.

Naast akoestische nummers vind je ook stevige gothrock op dit schijfje, zoals de knappe opener Mother Moon (mystiek, opzwepend en je kan er zelfs op dansen), Shadows In The Darkness is eigenlijk Kate Bush met hemelse gothgitaren (subliem dus), Dark Sisters is een prachtige medieval parel en de geniale afsluiter No End To War ademt net dezelfde heroïsche sfeer uit als een Death In June-nummer (jawel, je leest dit goed). Als oude wijn geen krans behoeft, dan geldt dat ook voor Inkubus Sukkubus!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • Joyride
MILD CLUB HIGH • Timeline
OFFICIAL BURNT TOAST • Money As Debt
PARADOX OBSCUR • Anacrusis
SATORI • The Hanging
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER • All The Way Down
KONER • Die Babbie
WATCH THEM FADE • Welcome To My Void
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
JAMES WARREN • Honest Man (EP)

 

Other reviews from INKUBUS SUKKUBUS
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Review of the concert at the Café Bizarre in Dentergem on 30th March 2013
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • The Goat
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Dark Goddess

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
TWO WITCHES • The Undead
DARK • Nightmare
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her 39
02
07
New album from Xenturion Prime on Progress Productions
01
07
Legendary Goth Club ‘The Church’ Featured In Documentary Film
01
07
41 years of Incontinent by Fad Gadget!
30
06
Luscious Apparatus Addresses Rage Control With New Single
29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

03
07
WARDRUNA NORDIC LIGHT
Amphitheater Gelsenkirchen
30
06
AROMA DI AMORE
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
THE STRANGLERS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
STABBING WESTWARD
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
NOSFERATU
Sinner's Day Oostende
30
06
AESTHETIC PERFACTION
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
SPIRITUAL FRONT
Tenderness Through Violence
02
07
KATE BUSH
And Dream of Sheep
01
07
PJ HARVEY
The Orange Monkey
30
06
FIRST HATE
White Heron
29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)