tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

23/11/2015 : INKUBUS SUKKUBUS - Mother Moon

INKUBUS SUKKUBUS

Mother Moon

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesGothicMedieval

[77/100]   

Resurrection Records
23/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Unbelievable how time passes, not? Meanwhile, the British gothact Inkubus Sukkubus was founded more than 26 years ago. Even if they never were on the radio or part of some trite top 100 list, Candia Ridley and Tony McKormack can say that they are one of the most popular groups of the British underground scene. This band from Manchester, with texts about paganism, witchcraft and the occult, has become one of the groups whose songs were officially downloaded more than any other. The trio (bassist Dave Saunders is with them) is still a welcome guests at many black parties and Mother Moon is their nineteenth album! And yes, it is still released on Resurrection Records, the label that also released theirbmost popular albums Heartbeat of the Earth and Vampyre Erotica.

Lyrically, not much has changed in the course of 26 years, as the trio still believes in surrendering yourself to the forces of nature, and musically there is little new to discover. One could accuse the band of not exploring new musical horizons, but their pagan rock always has been pure class. And so is Mother Moon, although this album consists mostly of acoustic songs (for example there is an acoustic version of their hit song Lose Yourself At The Nymphaeum included) which will please fans of All About Eve (and of course those of Inkubus Sukkubus).

 

 

 

Besides acoustic songs, there is also some goth rock, like the superb opener Mother Moon (mysticism, exciting and you can even dance to it), Shadows In The Darkness is actually Kate Bush with heavenly goth guitars (sublime), Dark Sisters is a beautiful medieval pearl, and the ingenious final song No End To War has just the same epic feel as a Death In June song (yes, you read it correctly). Old wine needs no bush, the same goes for Inkubus Sukkubus!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


NL

Ongelooflijk hoe de tijd voorbijraast, niet? De Britse gothact Inkubus Sukkubus is ondertussen al meer dan 26 jaar geleden opgericht. Ook al hoor je ze nooit op de radio of vind je ze niet terug in één of ander afgezaagd top 100-lijstje, kunnen Candia Ridley en Tony McKormack zeggen dat ze één van de populairste groepen uit de Britse undergroundscene zijn. Deze groep uit Manchester die het in zijn teksten graag over paganisme, hekserij en occultisme heeft, werd één van de groepen wier nummers het meest officieel zijn gedownload. Het trio (want ook bassist Dave Saunders zit erbij) zijn nog steeds graag geziene gasten op allerlei zwarte feestjes en Mother Moon is ondertussen hun negentiende album! En jawel, nog altijd uitgebracht door Resurrection Records, het label waarop zij tevens hun populairste albums Heartbeat of the Earth en Vampyre Erotica uitbrachten.

Qua teksten is er op 26 jaar niet veel veranderd, het trio blijft immers nog steeds volop geloven in de overgave aan de natuurkrachten en ook muzikaal is er weinig nieuws onder de zon. Je kan Inkubus Sukkubus misschien wel verwijten dat het net iets te weinig nieuwe muzikale horizonten heeft opgezocht in z'n carrière, wel hebben ze hun paganrock steeds met uitstekende klasse gebracht. Dat is op Mother Moon niet anders, ofschoon dit album grotendeels uit akoestische nummers bestaat (zo is er bijv. een akoestische bewerking van hun hitje Lose Yourself At The Nymphaeum) die de fans van All About Eve (en natuurlijk ook die van Inkubus Sukkubus) zonder twijfel zullen bekoren.

Naast akoestische nummers vind je ook stevige gothrock op dit schijfje, zoals de knappe opener Mother Moon (mystiek, opzwepend en je kan er zelfs op dansen), Shadows In The Darkness is eigenlijk Kate Bush met hemelse gothgitaren (subliem dus), Dark Sisters is een prachtige medieval parel en de geniale afsluiter No End To War ademt net dezelfde heroïsche sfeer uit als een Death In June-nummer (jawel, je leest dit goed). Als oude wijn geen krans behoeft, dan geldt dat ook voor Inkubus Sukkubus!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • Joyride
MILD CLUB HIGH • Timeline
OFFICIAL BURNT TOAST • Money As Debt
PARADOX OBSCUR • Anacrusis
SATORI • The Hanging
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER • All The Way Down
KONER • Die Babbie
WATCH THEM FADE • Welcome To My Void
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
JAMES WARREN • Honest Man (EP)

 

Other reviews from INKUBUS SUKKUBUS
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Review of the concert at the Café Bizarre in Dentergem on 30th March 2013
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • The Goat
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Dark Goddess

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
DARKHER • Realms
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
DOUBLE ECHO • Ancient Youth
RAMMSIER • Blackflowers EP

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
BRODKA • Clashes
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection
TEARFUL MOON • Evocation
ASTARI NITE • Dreams Of Majesty
SUBTERFUGE • Blind To Reason
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEARFUL MOON • In The Dark Morning
BESTIAL MOUTHS • (Still) Heartless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Pale And Sick
PROJECT PITCHFORK • Wonderland/One Million Faces (Remastered And Extended)

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13
FEUERSCHWANZ • Auf's Leben
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading