tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2015 : INKUBUS SUKKUBUS - Mother Moon

INKUBUS SUKKUBUS

Mother Moon

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly VoicesGothicMedieval

[77/100]   

Resurrection Records
23/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Unbelievable how time passes, not? Meanwhile, the British gothact Inkubus Sukkubus was founded more than 26 years ago. Even if they never were on the radio or part of some trite top 100 list, Candia Ridley and Tony McKormack can say that they are one of the most popular groups of the British underground scene. This band from Manchester, with texts about paganism, witchcraft and the occult, has become one of the groups whose songs were officially downloaded more than any other. The trio (bassist Dave Saunders is with them) is still a welcome guests at many black parties and Mother Moon is their nineteenth album! And yes, it is still released on Resurrection Records, the label that also released theirbmost popular albums Heartbeat of the Earth and Vampyre Erotica.

Lyrically, not much has changed in the course of 26 years, as the trio still believes in surrendering yourself to the forces of nature, and musically there is little new to discover. One could accuse the band of not exploring new musical horizons, but their pagan rock always has been pure class. And so is Mother Moon, although this album consists mostly of acoustic songs (for example there is an acoustic version of their hit song Lose Yourself At The Nymphaeum included) which will please fans of All About Eve (and of course those of Inkubus Sukkubus).

 

 

 

Besides acoustic songs, there is also some goth rock, like the superb opener Mother Moon (mysticism, exciting and you can even dance to it), Shadows In The Darkness is actually Kate Bush with heavenly goth guitars (sublime), Dark Sisters is a beautiful medieval pearl, and the ingenious final song No End To War has just the same epic feel as a Death In June song (yes, you read it correctly). Old wine needs no bush, the same goes for Inkubus Sukkubus!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


NL

Ongelooflijk hoe de tijd voorbijraast, niet? De Britse gothact Inkubus Sukkubus is ondertussen al meer dan 26 jaar geleden opgericht. Ook al hoor je ze nooit op de radio of vind je ze niet terug in één of ander afgezaagd top 100-lijstje, kunnen Candia Ridley en Tony McKormack zeggen dat ze één van de populairste groepen uit de Britse undergroundscene zijn. Deze groep uit Manchester die het in zijn teksten graag over paganisme, hekserij en occultisme heeft, werd één van de groepen wier nummers het meest officieel zijn gedownload. Het trio (want ook bassist Dave Saunders zit erbij) zijn nog steeds graag geziene gasten op allerlei zwarte feestjes en Mother Moon is ondertussen hun negentiende album! En jawel, nog altijd uitgebracht door Resurrection Records, het label waarop zij tevens hun populairste albums Heartbeat of the Earth en Vampyre Erotica uitbrachten.

Qua teksten is er op 26 jaar niet veel veranderd, het trio blijft immers nog steeds volop geloven in de overgave aan de natuurkrachten en ook muzikaal is er weinig nieuws onder de zon. Je kan Inkubus Sukkubus misschien wel verwijten dat het net iets te weinig nieuwe muzikale horizonten heeft opgezocht in z'n carrière, wel hebben ze hun paganrock steeds met uitstekende klasse gebracht. Dat is op Mother Moon niet anders, ofschoon dit album grotendeels uit akoestische nummers bestaat (zo is er bijv. een akoestische bewerking van hun hitje Lose Yourself At The Nymphaeum) die de fans van All About Eve (en natuurlijk ook die van Inkubus Sukkubus) zonder twijfel zullen bekoren.

Naast akoestische nummers vind je ook stevige gothrock op dit schijfje, zoals de knappe opener Mother Moon (mystiek, opzwepend en je kan er zelfs op dansen), Shadows In The Darkness is eigenlijk Kate Bush met hemelse gothgitaren (subliem dus), Dark Sisters is een prachtige medieval parel en de geniale afsluiter No End To War ademt net dezelfde heroïsche sfeer uit als een Death In June-nummer (jawel, je leest dit goed). Als oude wijn geen krans behoeft, dan geldt dat ook voor Inkubus Sukkubus!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


 

Next reviews
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • Joyride
MILD CLUB HIGH • Timeline
OFFICIAL BURNT TOAST • Money As Debt
PARADOX OBSCUR • Anacrusis
SATORI • The Hanging
DEAD WHEN I FOUND HER • All The Way Down
KONER • Die Babbie
WATCH THEM FADE • Welcome To My Void
SOUL EMBRACE • Good Morning To Myself
JAMES WARREN • Honest Man (EP)

 

Other reviews from INKUBUS SUKKUBUS
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Review of the concert at the Café Bizarre in Dentergem on 30th March 2013
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • The Goat
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Dark Goddess

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
MANNEQUIN • Singles/Faction
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
DRAB MAJESTY • The Demonstration
THE INSIGHT • The Other Side
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD • Burning for the Ancient Connection

 

Same genre: MEDIEVAL
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
AN DANZZA • Whispers of the Forest
EPHYRA • Along The Path
SCHWARZBLUT • Judas EP
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13

Music reviews

20
02
UNIDENTIFIED MAN
Memento Mori
17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession