tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2015 : MILD CLUB HIGH - Timeline

MILD CLUB HIGH

Timeline

MusicCD
PopPsychedelic

[77/100]   

StonesThrowRecords
23/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Artists who have been on tour with the post punk icons Wire attract my attention. And to be honest, that also creates high expectations.

Mild High Club is actually the project of Alexander Brettin, a skilled jazz musician who moved to LA from the Midwest. He collected a Fostex 4 track cassette recorder, a Macbook, a 12-string guitar, a keyboard, a drum machine and some other instruments. After three years Timeline was ready.

The result is an album that is somewhere between the 60s and psychedelics. Additionally, you can hear Alexander’s jazz training, but everything is offered in indie pop song style with some Beatles influences (especially The White Album). Like on You and Me that has a nice atmosphere, but you're quickly getting tired of the song. Undeniable also works with dissonant sounds and is more interesting.. Timeline is beautifully done and there is a good balance between the atmosphere, the melody and the song. Actually, it is the best track on the album. Weeping Willow delivers what you expect of such a title: a weeping guitar and accompanying vocals. A little bit too predictable, but definitely not bad. The Chat is exciting electropop with good sounding synth sounds.

Mild High Club tries to find a new sound. This results at times in quite interesting tracks. It sounds vintage with some modern touches.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/11/2015


NL

Artiesten die op tournee zijn geweest met postpunkiconen Wire trekken natuurlijk mijn aandacht. En dat schept ook wel wat verwachtingen bij ondergetekende.

Mild Club High is eigenlijk het project van Alexander Brettin, een geschoolde jazzmuzikant die van de Midwest naar LA verhuisde. Hij verzamelde een Fostex 4-trackcassetterecorder, een Macbook, een 12-string gitaar, een keyboard, een drummachine en hier en daar nog een instrument. Na drie jaar was Timeline klaar.

Het resultaat is een album met 60s- en psychedelicageluiden. Daarnaast hoor je heel minimaal ook zijn jazzopleiding. Alles is in indiepopsongs gegoten met hier en daar wat Beatles-invloeden (vooral dan The White Album). Zoals bijv. You and Me, dat een geslaagde sfeer neerzet, maar je bent nogal snel uitgekeken op het nummer. Undeniable dat tevens met dissonante klanken werkt, is als song interessanter. Als ik het met moderner werk moet vergelijken, dan kom ik ergens bij Das Pop uit. Luister maar eens naar de titeltrack. Timeline is mooi uitgewerkt en er heerst een goed evenwicht tussen sfeer, melodie en song, en het is zowat het sterkste nummer op de plaat. Weeping Willow voldoet aan de verwachtingen voor een song met zo een titel: een wenende gitaar en bijhorende zang. Iets te voorspelbaar, maar zeker niet slecht. Afsluiter The Chat is boeiende electropop met goedklinkende synthsounds.

Mild Club High probeert een nieuw geluid te vinden. Dat levert bij momenten interessante nummers op. Het klinkt vintage met de nodige moderne toetsen. Niet wereldschokkend, wel een aangenaam debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/11/2015


Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s 31 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 39 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

19
07
SILENT RUNNERS
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
07
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
19
07
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus