tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2015 : MILD CLUB HIGH - Timeline

MILD CLUB HIGH

Timeline

MusicCD
PopPsychedelic

[77/100]   

StonesThrowRecords
23/11/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Artists who have been on tour with the post punk icons Wire attract my attention. And to be honest, that also creates high expectations.

Mild High Club is actually the project of Alexander Brettin, a skilled jazz musician who moved to LA from the Midwest. He collected a Fostex 4 track cassette recorder, a Macbook, a 12-string guitar, a keyboard, a drum machine and some other instruments. After three years Timeline was ready.

The result is an album that is somewhere between the 60s and psychedelics. Additionally, you can hear Alexander’s jazz training, but everything is offered in indie pop song style with some Beatles influences (especially The White Album). Like on You and Me that has a nice atmosphere, but you're quickly getting tired of the song. Undeniable also works with dissonant sounds and is more interesting.. Timeline is beautifully done and there is a good balance between the atmosphere, the melody and the song. Actually, it is the best track on the album. Weeping Willow delivers what you expect of such a title: a weeping guitar and accompanying vocals. A little bit too predictable, but definitely not bad. The Chat is exciting electropop with good sounding synth sounds.

Mild High Club tries to find a new sound. This results at times in quite interesting tracks. It sounds vintage with some modern touches.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/11/2015


NL

Artiesten die op tournee zijn geweest met postpunkiconen Wire trekken natuurlijk mijn aandacht. En dat schept ook wel wat verwachtingen bij ondergetekende.

Mild Club High is eigenlijk het project van Alexander Brettin, een geschoolde jazzmuzikant die van de Midwest naar LA verhuisde. Hij verzamelde een Fostex 4-trackcassetterecorder, een Macbook, een 12-string gitaar, een keyboard, een drummachine en hier en daar nog een instrument. Na drie jaar was Timeline klaar.

Het resultaat is een album met 60s- en psychedelicageluiden. Daarnaast hoor je heel minimaal ook zijn jazzopleiding. Alles is in indiepopsongs gegoten met hier en daar wat Beatles-invloeden (vooral dan The White Album). Zoals bijv. You and Me, dat een geslaagde sfeer neerzet, maar je bent nogal snel uitgekeken op het nummer. Undeniable dat tevens met dissonante klanken werkt, is als song interessanter. Als ik het met moderner werk moet vergelijken, dan kom ik ergens bij Das Pop uit. Luister maar eens naar de titeltrack. Timeline is mooi uitgewerkt en er heerst een goed evenwicht tussen sfeer, melodie en song, en het is zowat het sterkste nummer op de plaat. Weeping Willow voldoet aan de verwachtingen voor een song met zo een titel: een wenende gitaar en bijhorende zang. Iets te voorspelbaar, maar zeker niet slecht. Afsluiter The Chat is boeiende electropop met goedklinkende synthsounds.

Mild Club High probeert een nieuw geluid te vinden. Dat levert bij momenten interessante nummers op. Het klinkt vintage met de nodige moderne toetsen. Niet wereldschokkend, wel een aangenaam debuut.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/11/2015


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still