tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/11/2015 : SATORI - The Hanging

SATORI

The Hanging

MusicCD
Industrial

[84/100]   

Tesco
22/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Perhaps Satori is one of the most famous industrial acts. The project was founded in the early 80s by Dave Kirby and Rob Maycock. The group released its material on the famous Broken Flag label. Suddenly Maycock left the band and was replaced by Justin Mitchell (the label boss of Cold Spring), but eventually the band split in 1996.

Some years ago, Dave wanted to resurrect Satori, along with Neil Chaney of Pessary. A new album Kanashibari was released on (how could it be otherwise) Cold Spring, there was a split CD with Sutcliffe Jugend, and a live recording on Steinklang, but then the machines went silent.

Until now, because the renowned indus label Tesco just released The Hanging, an amazing album. The disc comes in a cardboard box, and each track has a special cover with photographs that show fear and psychosis. The album begins with a sacred Latin song, but after about two minutes everything degenerates into a mush of distorted electronic sounds that disorganizes your brain. Every sound seems like a drill that is looking for a way through your brain. It hurts, it is destructive, but the feeling is blissful.

Dave Kirby’s music is certainly not easy, the quiet passages that sound more like dark ambient, are rather scarce as on The Hanging distortion reigns. The music sounds like a wild beast, a lethal cancer that is attacking a defenseless body. Those who explore these dark sounds, will be rewarded. Highly recommended!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


NL

Satori is wellicht één van de bekendste industrial acts. Het project werd in het begin van de jaren 80 opgericht door Dave Kirby en Rob Maycock. De groep zat op het befaamde Broken Flag label. Plotseling hield Maycock het voor bekeken en hij werd vervangen door Justin Mitchell (de labelbaas van Cold Spring), maar uiteindelijk splitte de groep in 1996. Een paar jaar geleden besloot Dave om samen met Neil Chaney van Pessary Satori nieuw leven in te blazen. Kanashibari verscheen op (hoe kan het ook anders) Cold Spring, er kwam nog een split-cd met Sutcliffe Jugend uit, alsook een liveopname op Steinklang, maar toen werd het opnieuw eventjes stil.

Tot nu, want op het befaamde induslabel Tesco is net The Hanging uitgebracht. De uitgave is ronduit geweldig. Het schijfje zit in een kartonnen box, en voor iedere track is er een aparte hoes ontworpen met foto’s die angst en psychose uitstralen. De cd begint met een sacrale Latijnse zang, maar na een tweetal minuten ontaardt alles in een geluidsbrij van elektronische vervormde klanken die je denken desoriënteert. Iedere klank lijkt wel een aanslag, een drilboor die een weg zoekt door de kruin van je hersenen. Het doet pijn, het is destructief, maar het gevoel is zalig.

De muziek die Dave Kirby brengt is zeker niet eenvoudig, De rustige passages, die eerder als dark ambient klinken, zijn eerder schaars, op The Hanging heerst distortie. De muziek klinkt als een ontembaar beest, een dodende kanker die zich een weg baant door een weerloos lichaam. Wie de moeite doet om zich van deze donkere klanken meester te maken, zal er alleen maar rijker van worden. Absolute aanrader!

Didier BECU
22/11/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)