tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

07/08/2015 : JAN SWINBURNE - Consensual Enigmas

JAN SWINBURNE

Consensual Enigmas

MusicCD
AmbientElectronicsExperimental

[75/100]   

Alrealon Musique
07/08/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

John Swinburne is a Canadian video artist from Ontario (Canada). For his project Consensual Enigmas, he was inspired by the life and paintings of British painter Francis Bacon. The music associated with the video is now released as a remix CD in collaboration with Ryan Campos, Marco Fierro and Philippe Gerber/John 3:16. The result is a collection of four compositions.

First you hear the original mix of Consensual Enigmas by Jan Swinburne himself. It's a dreamy and atmospheric track with buzzing drones, cautiously added noise and short electro shocks, similar to the sound of trotting horses, complemented by fragile thunder-like drones, bells, tingling synths and little sounds, as the soundtrack for a video clip in which beige, blue and black dominate, with occasionally human forms between the bizarre shapes.

The Marco Fierro Remix sounds more emphatic, because the drones are mixed in the foreground and the synths sound like far-grinders and circular saws, always cautious and restrained. Noise, bells, and electro shocks are gone. The Ryan Campos Remix sounds more atmospheric. The drones sound close and even go crescendo, with the circular saw-like synths and the sparse percussion on the background. Halfway new synths are introduced and the track gets an almost religious character. We hear leftovers of noise and then silence.

The John 3:16 Remix puts a dark drone on the background and builds the track with good sounding metallic synths, pulsing electro shocks and abrasive noise. We hear bells and the sound of crows, piano and tingling synths. In terms of atmosphere, the track sounds a lot more cheerful and less dark than the original mix and the two remixes.

Tracklisting:
1. Consensual Enigmas (Original Mix) 4:36
2. Consensual Enigmas (Ryan Campos Remix) 4:40
3. Consensual Enigmas (Marco Fierro Remix) 4:37
4. Consensual Enigmas (Philippe Gerber/JOHN 3:16 Remix) 4:40

http://janswinburne.com/pages/consensual-enigmas-remix-project

William LIÉNARD
07/08/2015


NL

Jan Swinburne is een Canadese videokunstenaar uit Ontario (Canada). Voor z’n project Consensual Enigmas liet hij zich inspireren door het leven en de doeken van de Britse schilder Francis Bacon. De muziek die bij die video hoort is nu als remix-CD uitgebracht. Ryan Campos, Marco Fierro en Philippe Gerber/John 3:16 namen de track onderhanden en het resultaat is een verzameling van vier composities.

Eerst hoort u de originele mix van Consensual Enigmas door Jan Swinburne zelf. Het is een dromerige en atmosferische track met zoemende drones, voorzichtige noise en korte elektroplofjes die soms lijken op het geluid van dravende paarden, aangevuld met fragiele donderachtige drones, bellen, tintelende synths en kleine geluidjes als de soundtrack voor een videofragment waarin beige, blauw en zwart overheersen en tussen de bizarre vormen af en toe menselijke gedaanten waarneembaar zijn.

De Marco Fierro Remix klinkt nadrukkelijker, want de drones zijn soms meer op de voorgrond gemixt en de synths klinken als verre slijpmachines en cirkelzagen, altijd voorzichtig en ingetogen. Noise, bellen, elektroplofjes en de kleine geluidjes zijn verdwenen. De Ryan Campos Remix klinkt in vergelijking atmosferischer. De drones zitten vooraan en gaan zelfs een beetje crescendo, met cirkelzaagachtige synths en af en toe spaarzame percussie op de achtergrond. Halfweg worden hoger klinkende drones toegevoegd en krijgt de track zowaar een bijna religieus karakter. We horen nog overschotjes van noise en dan stilte.

De John 3:16 Remix gebruikt een donkere drone als achtergrond en bouwt de track op met goed klinkende, metaalachtige synths, pulserende elektroshockjes en schurende noisegeluidjes. We horen bellen en het geluid van kraaien, piano en tintelende synths tussendoor. Qua sfeer klinkt de track een stuk opgewekter en minder donker dan de originele mix en de beide remixen.

William LIÉNARD
07/08/2015


 

Next reviews
CLAUDE PINOTEAU • L'ETUDIANTE
XTC • Apple Venus & Wasp Star
ASHLEY DAYOUR (WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
SUNSHADOWS • Red Herring
PEGA MONSTRO • Alfarroba
ABDELLATIF KECHICHE • La Vie D'Adèle (Blue Is The warmest Color)
MIDIAN DITE • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
EIGHTY-TWELVE • Everyone is wrong
XANDRIA • Fire And Ashes EP
JOHN PADDY CARSTAIRS • Dancing With Crime

 

Same combination of genres: AMBIENT + ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
ALEXANDR VATAGIN • Serza

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design