tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2015 : NITE FIELDS - Depersonalisation

NITE FIELDS

Depersonalisation

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndieNew wave

[82/100]   

Lost Race Records
26/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On 2nd February this Australian band will release its debut album. Style? Wave/indie with a poppy touch. The lyrics are mostly about inner struggles and the search for identity. The album was recorded over a period of 4 years and at a variety of locations: garages or sheds, and that all results in a rich and varied sound. The production was done by Nigel Lee Yang, known of the cult band HTRK.

 Danny Venze's voice is rather introverted and sounds like that of Guy Chadwick (The House Of Love). There are many great moments on this album. Fill The Void is reminiscent to Echo & The Bunnymen and The Dandy Warhols. You I never Knew is a beautiful and dreamy song, and their first single. Comedown takes its influences from The Cure. Pay for strangers is again a nice instrumental. For me above Hell/Happy is one of the best songs on the album. Delicious, an album full of little gems.

I could make comparisons with many other bands. There certainly are influenced from wave bands from the 80, but, they definitely have their own sound, great songs and a great voice. A small, but fine album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDqJrsQx7T4

NL

Op 2 februari komt het debuut van deze Australische band uit. Hun stijl? Wave/indie met een toefje pop dat bij momenten zeer erg breekbaar klinkt. De teksten gaan vooral over innerlijke strubbelingen en het zoeken naar je identiteit. De plaat is in een tijdspanne van 4 jaar opgenomen op allerlei locaties: garages en opsloagplaatsen, en dat resulteert in een rijk en afwisselend geluid. De productie was in handen van Nigel Lee-Yang, bekend van de cult band HTRK.

De stem van Danny Venze is eerder introvert en heeft wat weg van die van Guy Chadwick (The House Of Love). Er zijn veel mooie momenten op dit album, bijv. Fill The Void, dat me aan Echo & the Bunnymen en The Dandy Warhols doet denken. You I never Knew is een mooie dromerige song en meteen ook hun eerste single. Come Down haalt z'n invloeden bij The Cure. Pay for strangers is dan weer een leuke instrumental. Voor mij is vooral Hell/Happy één van de beste songs op dit album. Lekkere gitaartje, sfeervolle synths met daarbovenop de stem van Venze. Heerlijk, en zo staat dit album vol met klein pareltjes.

Ik zou bij elk nummer vergelijkingen met andere bands kunnen maken. Om maar te zeggen dat ze duidelijk zijn beïnvloed door de wavebands uit de jaren 80. Toch zijn ze meer dan zo maar een eightieskloon. Ze hebben een eigen geluid, goede songs en een heerlijke stemgeluid. Het album overrompelt niet, maar kruipt telkens een beetje meer onder je huid bij elke beluistering. Een klein en fijn album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDqJrsQx7T4

 

Next reviews
ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK • Something Must Break
MARK BURGESS • View From A Hill
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III
JORG BUTTGEREIT • Nekromantik
AT THE HOLLOW • What I Hold Most Dear
TEXAS • Start A Family
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride
NORDIC GIANTS • Build Seas, Dismantle Suns
THE GRAND GESTURES • Into The Darkness We Go EP
CARL FRANKLIN • One False Move

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis