tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2015 : NITE FIELDS - Depersonalisation

NITE FIELDS

Depersonalisation

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndieNew wave

[82/100]   

Lost Race Records
26/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On 2nd February this Australian band will release its debut album. Style? Wave/indie with a poppy touch. The lyrics are mostly about inner struggles and the search for identity. The album was recorded over a period of 4 years and at a variety of locations: garages or sheds, and that all results in a rich and varied sound. The production was done by Nigel Lee Yang, known of the cult band HTRK.

 Danny Venze's voice is rather introverted and sounds like that of Guy Chadwick (The House Of Love). There are many great moments on this album. Fill The Void is reminiscent to Echo & The Bunnymen and The Dandy Warhols. You I never Knew is a beautiful and dreamy song, and their first single. Comedown takes its influences from The Cure. Pay for strangers is again a nice instrumental. For me above Hell/Happy is one of the best songs on the album. Delicious, an album full of little gems.

I could make comparisons with many other bands. There certainly are influenced from wave bands from the 80, but, they definitely have their own sound, great songs and a great voice. A small, but fine album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDqJrsQx7T4

NL

Op 2 februari komt het debuut van deze Australische band uit. Hun stijl? Wave/indie met een toefje pop dat bij momenten zeer erg breekbaar klinkt. De teksten gaan vooral over innerlijke strubbelingen en het zoeken naar je identiteit. De plaat is in een tijdspanne van 4 jaar opgenomen op allerlei locaties: garages en opsloagplaatsen, en dat resulteert in een rijk en afwisselend geluid. De productie was in handen van Nigel Lee-Yang, bekend van de cult band HTRK.

De stem van Danny Venze is eerder introvert en heeft wat weg van die van Guy Chadwick (The House Of Love). Er zijn veel mooie momenten op dit album, bijv. Fill The Void, dat me aan Echo & the Bunnymen en The Dandy Warhols doet denken. You I never Knew is een mooie dromerige song en meteen ook hun eerste single. Come Down haalt z'n invloeden bij The Cure. Pay for strangers is dan weer een leuke instrumental. Voor mij is vooral Hell/Happy één van de beste songs op dit album. Lekkere gitaartje, sfeervolle synths met daarbovenop de stem van Venze. Heerlijk, en zo staat dit album vol met klein pareltjes.

Ik zou bij elk nummer vergelijkingen met andere bands kunnen maken. Om maar te zeggen dat ze duidelijk zijn beïnvloed door de wavebands uit de jaren 80. Toch zijn ze meer dan zo maar een eightieskloon. Ze hebben een eigen geluid, goede songs en een heerlijke stemgeluid. Het album overrompelt niet, maar kruipt telkens een beetje meer onder je huid bij elke beluistering. Een klein en fijn album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDqJrsQx7T4

Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion