tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2015 : NITE FIELDS - Depersonalisation

NITE FIELDS

Depersonalisation

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndieNew wave

[82/100]   

Lost Race Records
26/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On 2nd February this Australian band will release its debut album. Style? Wave/indie with a poppy touch. The lyrics are mostly about inner struggles and the search for identity. The album was recorded over a period of 4 years and at a variety of locations: garages or sheds, and that all results in a rich and varied sound. The production was done by Nigel Lee Yang, known of the cult band HTRK.

 Danny Venze's voice is rather introverted and sounds like that of Guy Chadwick (The House Of Love). There are many great moments on this album. Fill The Void is reminiscent to Echo & The Bunnymen and The Dandy Warhols. You I never Knew is a beautiful and dreamy song, and their first single. Comedown takes its influences from The Cure. Pay for strangers is again a nice instrumental. For me above Hell/Happy is one of the best songs on the album. Delicious, an album full of little gems.

I could make comparisons with many other bands. There certainly are influenced from wave bands from the 80, but, they definitely have their own sound, great songs and a great voice. A small, but fine album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDqJrsQx7T4

NL

Op 2 februari komt het debuut van deze Australische band uit. Hun stijl? Wave/indie met een toefje pop dat bij momenten zeer erg breekbaar klinkt. De teksten gaan vooral over innerlijke strubbelingen en het zoeken naar je identiteit. De plaat is in een tijdspanne van 4 jaar opgenomen op allerlei locaties: garages en opsloagplaatsen, en dat resulteert in een rijk en afwisselend geluid. De productie was in handen van Nigel Lee-Yang, bekend van de cult band HTRK.

De stem van Danny Venze is eerder introvert en heeft wat weg van die van Guy Chadwick (The House Of Love). Er zijn veel mooie momenten op dit album, bijv. Fill The Void, dat me aan Echo & the Bunnymen en The Dandy Warhols doet denken. You I never Knew is een mooie dromerige song en meteen ook hun eerste single. Come Down haalt z'n invloeden bij The Cure. Pay for strangers is dan weer een leuke instrumental. Voor mij is vooral Hell/Happy één van de beste songs op dit album. Lekkere gitaartje, sfeervolle synths met daarbovenop de stem van Venze. Heerlijk, en zo staat dit album vol met klein pareltjes.

Ik zou bij elk nummer vergelijkingen met andere bands kunnen maken. Om maar te zeggen dat ze duidelijk zijn beïnvloed door de wavebands uit de jaren 80. Toch zijn ze meer dan zo maar een eightieskloon. Ze hebben een eigen geluid, goede songs en een heerlijke stemgeluid. Het album overrompelt niet, maar kruipt telkens een beetje meer onder je huid bij elke beluistering. Een klein en fijn album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDqJrsQx7T4

 

Next reviews
ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK • Something Must Break
MARK BURGESS • View From A Hill
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III
JORG BUTTGEREIT • Nekromantik
AT THE HOLLOW • What I Hold Most Dear
TEXAS • Start A Family
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride
NORDIC GIANTS • Build Seas, Dismantle Suns
THE GRAND GESTURES • Into The Darkness We Go EP
CARL FRANKLIN • One False Move

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
08
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
Jesus Alone
24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy