tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2015 : NITE FIELDS - Depersonalisation

NITE FIELDS

Depersonalisation

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndieNew wave

[82/100]   

Lost Race Records
26/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On 2nd February this Australian band will release its debut album. Style? Wave/indie with a poppy touch. The lyrics are mostly about inner struggles and the search for identity. The album was recorded over a period of 4 years and at a variety of locations: garages or sheds, and that all results in a rich and varied sound. The production was done by Nigel Lee Yang, known of the cult band HTRK.

 Danny Venze's voice is rather introverted and sounds like that of Guy Chadwick (The House Of Love). There are many great moments on this album. Fill The Void is reminiscent to Echo & The Bunnymen and The Dandy Warhols. You I never Knew is a beautiful and dreamy song, and their first single. Comedown takes its influences from The Cure. Pay for strangers is again a nice instrumental. For me above Hell/Happy is one of the best songs on the album. Delicious, an album full of little gems.

I could make comparisons with many other bands. There certainly are influenced from wave bands from the 80, but, they definitely have their own sound, great songs and a great voice. A small, but fine album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDqJrsQx7T4

NL

Op 2 februari komt het debuut van deze Australische band uit. Hun stijl? Wave/indie met een toefje pop dat bij momenten zeer erg breekbaar klinkt. De teksten gaan vooral over innerlijke strubbelingen en het zoeken naar je identiteit. De plaat is in een tijdspanne van 4 jaar opgenomen op allerlei locaties: garages en opsloagplaatsen, en dat resulteert in een rijk en afwisselend geluid. De productie was in handen van Nigel Lee-Yang, bekend van de cult band HTRK.

De stem van Danny Venze is eerder introvert en heeft wat weg van die van Guy Chadwick (The House Of Love). Er zijn veel mooie momenten op dit album, bijv. Fill The Void, dat me aan Echo & the Bunnymen en The Dandy Warhols doet denken. You I never Knew is een mooie dromerige song en meteen ook hun eerste single. Come Down haalt z'n invloeden bij The Cure. Pay for strangers is dan weer een leuke instrumental. Voor mij is vooral Hell/Happy één van de beste songs op dit album. Lekkere gitaartje, sfeervolle synths met daarbovenop de stem van Venze. Heerlijk, en zo staat dit album vol met klein pareltjes.

Ik zou bij elk nummer vergelijkingen met andere bands kunnen maken. Om maar te zeggen dat ze duidelijk zijn beïnvloed door de wavebands uit de jaren 80. Toch zijn ze meer dan zo maar een eightieskloon. Ze hebben een eigen geluid, goede songs en een heerlijke stemgeluid. Het album overrompelt niet, maar kruipt telkens een beetje meer onder je huid bij elke beluistering. Een klein en fijn album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDqJrsQx7T4

 

Next reviews
ESTER MARTIN BERGSMARK • Something Must Break
MARK BURGESS • View From A Hill
VARIOUS ARTISTS • La Guilde Folk - Wild Folk Pagan VOL III
JORG BUTTGEREIT • Nekromantik
AT THE HOLLOW • What I Hold Most Dear
TEXAS • Start A Family
MATTHEW WARCHUS • Pride
NORDIC GIANTS • Build Seas, Dismantle Suns
THE GRAND GESTURES • Into The Darkness We Go EP
CARL FRANKLIN • One False Move

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
RAT SCABIES • Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
STRUGGLER • The Gap
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
RULE OF THUMB • Rule Of Thumb
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
MOANING CITIES • D Klein
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
PIXIES • Head Carrier
SEVEN EYED CROW • Dark Ways to the Sun

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi