tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

26/01/2015 : NITE FIELDS - Depersonalisation

NITE FIELDS

Depersonalisation

MusicCD
Alternative RockIndieNew wave

[82/100]   

Lost Race Records
26/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

On 2nd February this Australian band will release its debut album. Style? Wave/indie with a poppy touch. The lyrics are mostly about inner struggles and the search for identity. The album was recorded over a period of 4 years and at a variety of locations: garages or sheds, and that all results in a rich and varied sound. The production was done by Nigel Lee Yang, known of the cult band HTRK.

 Danny Venze's voice is rather introverted and sounds like that of Guy Chadwick (The House Of Love). There are many great moments on this album. Fill The Void is reminiscent to Echo & The Bunnymen and The Dandy Warhols. You I never Knew is a beautiful and dreamy song, and their first single. Comedown takes its influences from The Cure. Pay for strangers is again a nice instrumental. For me above Hell/Happy is one of the best songs on the album. Delicious, an album full of little gems.

I could make comparisons with many other bands. There certainly are influenced from wave bands from the 80, but, they definitely have their own sound, great songs and a great voice. A small, but fine album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDqJrsQx7T4

NL

Op 2 februari komt het debuut van deze Australische band uit. Hun stijl? Wave/indie met een toefje pop dat bij momenten zeer erg breekbaar klinkt. De teksten gaan vooral over innerlijke strubbelingen en het zoeken naar je identiteit. De plaat is in een tijdspanne van 4 jaar opgenomen op allerlei locaties: garages en opsloagplaatsen, en dat resulteert in een rijk en afwisselend geluid. De productie was in handen van Nigel Lee-Yang, bekend van de cult band HTRK.

De stem van Danny Venze is eerder introvert en heeft wat weg van die van Guy Chadwick (The House Of Love). Er zijn veel mooie momenten op dit album, bijv. Fill The Void, dat me aan Echo & the Bunnymen en The Dandy Warhols doet denken. You I never Knew is een mooie dromerige song en meteen ook hun eerste single. Come Down haalt z'n invloeden bij The Cure. Pay for strangers is dan weer een leuke instrumental. Voor mij is vooral Hell/Happy één van de beste songs op dit album. Lekkere gitaartje, sfeervolle synths met daarbovenop de stem van Venze. Heerlijk, en zo staat dit album vol met klein pareltjes.

Ik zou bij elk nummer vergelijkingen met andere bands kunnen maken. Om maar te zeggen dat ze duidelijk zijn beïnvloed door de wavebands uit de jaren 80. Toch zijn ze meer dan zo maar een eightieskloon. Ze hebben een eigen geluid, goede songs en een heerlijke stemgeluid. Het album overrompelt niet, maar kruipt telkens een beetje meer onder je huid bij elke beluistering. Een klein en fijn album.

Wim GUILLEMYN
26/01/2015

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDqJrsQx7T4

Music reviews

04
12
MERZBOW
Screaming Dove
03
12
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Shadow Of Fear
02
12
DIVE
Where do we go from here
01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
12
This month, 33 years ago Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.
02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
Russian Dark Community in search of new blood
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
12
VIOLENCE
Illusions Vives
03
12
ORKESTRA OBSOLETE
Blue Monday
02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven