tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/09/2015 : DOWNPILOT - Radio Ghost

DOWNPILOT

Radio Ghost

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePop

[72/100]   

Tapete Records
22/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After four years there is suddenly a new album by artist Paul Hiraga. He got his inspiration from a painting by his father, a mountain that he often painted as a child when he was staying in a Japanese American internment camp in the Nevada desert during the war. An interesting point.

But what does that mean for the music? The album sounds dreamy and nostalgic, and does not immediately have something to do with the war. The voice reminds me a bit of Joost Zwegers of the Belgian band Novastar. The album has some slide guitars, with a style that is a mix of indie and singer songwriter.

Opener Radio Ghost is a kind of swinging tune and nice to start with. Then we get some weaker songs. Hallowed Ground has an ambient guitar, but also a sensitive voice and it is to me by far the best song of the album. Also Chutes, Ladders can tempt me, just like Paper Sons. The Collector seems a bit like an unfinished song, while Suzanne is a nice tune to finish with.

It is difficult to give a score to this record, but the album is definitely worth a listen. I can definitely recommend Hallowed Ground, but They Kind of Shine from 2009 is simply his best work to date.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


NL

Na vier jaar verschijnt er opeens een nieuwe plaat van de in Seattle wonende, artiest Paul Hiraga. Hij haalde zijn inspiratie uit een schilderij van zijn vader, die een berg schilderde die hij als kind dikwijls had getekend toen hij tijdens de oorlog in een Japans-Amerikaans interneringskamp in de Nevada woestijn verbleef. Een interessant uitgangspunt.

Maar wat betekent dat nu voor de muziek? Om te beginnen klinkt het album dromerig en nostalgisch en doet dus niet meteen aan de oorlog denken. De stem doet mij een beetje aan Joost Zwegers van Novastar denken. Het album heeft veel stemmige slidegitaarstukjes, met als stijl een mix van indie en singer songwriter.

Opener Radio Ghost heeft wel wat swing en is een fijn nummer om mee te beginnen. Daarna krijgen we enkele songs die mijn aandacht wat doen verslappen. Hallowed Ground heeft ook een stemmige gitaar, maar ook een gevoelige stem en is voor mij verreweg de beste song op het album. Ook Chutes, Ladders dat met een piano start kan mij bekoren, net als Paper Sons. The Collector lijkt mij een onafgewerkte song, terwijl Suzanne mooi is om mee af te sluiten.

Het is moeilijk om punten te geven aan deze plaat, maar ze blijft de moeite waard. Ik kan zeker Hallowed Ground aanbevelen, maar They Kind of Shine uit 2009 is toch zijn beste werk tot nu toe.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
• ENTREMURALHAS: A BLAST!
WAYNE HUSSEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HITHERSIDE • Hitherside
ELECTROGENIC • Double Exposure
W.A.S.P. • Golgotha
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)
LAURA CANNELL • Beneath Swooping Talons
T.A.N.K. • Symbiosis

 

Other reviews from DOWNPILOT
DOWNPILOT • New Great Lakes

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf