tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/09/2015 : DOWNPILOT - Radio Ghost

DOWNPILOT

Radio Ghost

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePop

[72/100]   

Tapete Records
22/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After four years there is suddenly a new album by artist Paul Hiraga. He got his inspiration from a painting by his father, a mountain that he often painted as a child when he was staying in a Japanese American internment camp in the Nevada desert during the war. An interesting point.

But what does that mean for the music? The album sounds dreamy and nostalgic, and does not immediately have something to do with the war. The voice reminds me a bit of Joost Zwegers of the Belgian band Novastar. The album has some slide guitars, with a style that is a mix of indie and singer songwriter.

Opener Radio Ghost is a kind of swinging tune and nice to start with. Then we get some weaker songs. Hallowed Ground has an ambient guitar, but also a sensitive voice and it is to me by far the best song of the album. Also Chutes, Ladders can tempt me, just like Paper Sons. The Collector seems a bit like an unfinished song, while Suzanne is a nice tune to finish with.

It is difficult to give a score to this record, but the album is definitely worth a listen. I can definitely recommend Hallowed Ground, but They Kind of Shine from 2009 is simply his best work to date.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


NL

Na vier jaar verschijnt er opeens een nieuwe plaat van de in Seattle wonende, artiest Paul Hiraga. Hij haalde zijn inspiratie uit een schilderij van zijn vader, die een berg schilderde die hij als kind dikwijls had getekend toen hij tijdens de oorlog in een Japans-Amerikaans interneringskamp in de Nevada woestijn verbleef. Een interessant uitgangspunt.

Maar wat betekent dat nu voor de muziek? Om te beginnen klinkt het album dromerig en nostalgisch en doet dus niet meteen aan de oorlog denken. De stem doet mij een beetje aan Joost Zwegers van Novastar denken. Het album heeft veel stemmige slidegitaarstukjes, met als stijl een mix van indie en singer songwriter.

Opener Radio Ghost heeft wel wat swing en is een fijn nummer om mee te beginnen. Daarna krijgen we enkele songs die mijn aandacht wat doen verslappen. Hallowed Ground heeft ook een stemmige gitaar, maar ook een gevoelige stem en is voor mij verreweg de beste song op het album. Ook Chutes, Ladders dat met een piano start kan mij bekoren, net als Paper Sons. The Collector lijkt mij een onafgewerkte song, terwijl Suzanne mooi is om mee af te sluiten.

Het is moeilijk om punten te geven aan deze plaat, maar ze blijft de moeite waard. Ik kan zeker Hallowed Ground aanbevelen, maar They Kind of Shine uit 2009 is toch zijn beste werk tot nu toe.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
• ENTREMURALHAS: A BLAST!
WAYNE HUSSEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HITHERSIDE • Hitherside
ELECTROGENIC • Double Exposure
W.A.S.P. • Golgotha
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)
LAURA CANNELL • Beneath Swooping Talons
T.A.N.K. • Symbiosis

 

Other reviews from DOWNPILOT
DOWNPILOT • New Great Lakes

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo