tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/09/2015 : DOWNPILOT - Radio Ghost

DOWNPILOT

Radio Ghost

MusicCD
DreampopIndiePop

[72/100]   

Tapete Records
22/09/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

After four years there is suddenly a new album by artist Paul Hiraga. He got his inspiration from a painting by his father, a mountain that he often painted as a child when he was staying in a Japanese American internment camp in the Nevada desert during the war. An interesting point.

But what does that mean for the music? The album sounds dreamy and nostalgic, and does not immediately have something to do with the war. The voice reminds me a bit of Joost Zwegers of the Belgian band Novastar. The album has some slide guitars, with a style that is a mix of indie and singer songwriter.

Opener Radio Ghost is a kind of swinging tune and nice to start with. Then we get some weaker songs. Hallowed Ground has an ambient guitar, but also a sensitive voice and it is to me by far the best song of the album. Also Chutes, Ladders can tempt me, just like Paper Sons. The Collector seems a bit like an unfinished song, while Suzanne is a nice tune to finish with.

It is difficult to give a score to this record, but the album is definitely worth a listen. I can definitely recommend Hallowed Ground, but They Kind of Shine from 2009 is simply his best work to date.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


NL

Na vier jaar verschijnt er opeens een nieuwe plaat van de in Seattle wonende, artiest Paul Hiraga. Hij haalde zijn inspiratie uit een schilderij van zijn vader, die een berg schilderde die hij als kind dikwijls had getekend toen hij tijdens de oorlog in een Japans-Amerikaans interneringskamp in de Nevada woestijn verbleef. Een interessant uitgangspunt.

Maar wat betekent dat nu voor de muziek? Om te beginnen klinkt het album dromerig en nostalgisch en doet dus niet meteen aan de oorlog denken. De stem doet mij een beetje aan Joost Zwegers van Novastar denken. Het album heeft veel stemmige slidegitaarstukjes, met als stijl een mix van indie en singer songwriter.

Opener Radio Ghost heeft wel wat swing en is een fijn nummer om mee te beginnen. Daarna krijgen we enkele songs die mijn aandacht wat doen verslappen. Hallowed Ground heeft ook een stemmige gitaar, maar ook een gevoelige stem en is voor mij verreweg de beste song op het album. Ook Chutes, Ladders dat met een piano start kan mij bekoren, net als Paper Sons. The Collector lijkt mij een onafgewerkte song, terwijl Suzanne mooi is om mee af te sluiten.

Het is moeilijk om punten te geven aan deze plaat, maar ze blijft de moeite waard. Ik kan zeker Hallowed Ground aanbevelen, maar They Kind of Shine uit 2009 is toch zijn beste werk tot nu toe.

Wim GUILLEMYN
22/09/2015


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Jon Savage's Secret History Of Second Wave Psychedelia 1988-93
AMBER ASYLUM, CAMERATA MEDIOLANENSE, EMPYRIUM, DARKHER, TENHI • Prophecy Fest @ Balver Höhle in Balve 19/09/2015
• ENTREMURALHAS: A BLAST!
WAYNE HUSSEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HITHERSIDE • Hitherside
ELECTROGENIC • Double Exposure
W.A.S.P. • Golgotha
MONSTER MAGNET • Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)
LAURA CANNELL • Beneath Swooping Talons
T.A.N.K. • Symbiosis

 

Other reviews from DOWNPILOT
DOWNPILOT • New Great Lakes

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection