tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/09/2015 : HITHERSIDE - Hitherside

HITHERSIDE

Hitherside

MusicCD
Hard RockRock

[71/100]   

Self-released
21/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It probably has something to do with the typical (nice) voice of Jennifer, but the Belgian band Hitherside always reminds me a bit of The Cranberries. And we don’t mean that in a bad way, because everyone was once bewitched by the sound of Dolores O'Riordan. But even if you do not belong to this category of music lovers, then you do not have to despair, as these four musicians do something totally different.

Earlier Hitherside could convince us with its first EP, and the debut album hits the same way. If you’re keen on a strong dose of rock with a gothic touch, then you definitely will be pleased with the songs that Jennifer, Sam, Josh and Stefan are presenting on this record. Perhaps the first two songs are a little too much inspired by Rage Against The Machine, but the other ten tracks are great straightforward rock songs with great melodies that are stuck in your head after five spins (or less). If you want to meet the Flemish counterpart of Evanescence, you will have to give this debut a chance.

Didier BECU
21/09/2015


NL

Het zal allemaal wel iets met de typische (mooie) stem van Jennifer te maken hebben, maar de Belgische band Hitherside doet mij altijd een beetje aan The Cranberries denken. En dat bedoelen we niet eens slecht, want iedereen was ooit wel eens betoverd door de klanken van Dolores O’Riordan. Maar zelfs indien je niet tot deze categorie van muziekliefhebbers behoort, hoef je niet te wanhopen, want dit viertal tapt muzikaal toch uit een heel ander vaatje.

Eerder kon Hitherside ons al met z'n allereerste EP overtuigen, en nu is er de eerste cd die dezelfde weg inslaat. Wie van een stevige portie rock met een gothictintje houdt, zal beslist te vinden zij voor de nummers die Jennifer, Sam, Josh en Stefan op deze plaat brengen. De eerste twee nummers klinken misschien net iets te veel als een doorslagje van Rage Against The Machine, maar eens daarna krijg je tien heerlijke rechttoe rechtaan rocksongs met knappe melodieën die na vijf luisterbeurten (of minder) in je hoofd blijven hangen. Wie kennis wil maken met de Vlaamse evenknie van Evanescence kan dit debuut alvast in huis halen.

Didier BECU
21/09/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane