tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/09/2015 : HITHERSIDE - Hitherside

HITHERSIDE

Hitherside

MusicCD
Hard RockRock

[71/100]   

Self-released
21/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It probably has something to do with the typical (nice) voice of Jennifer, but the Belgian band Hitherside always reminds me a bit of The Cranberries. And we don’t mean that in a bad way, because everyone was once bewitched by the sound of Dolores O'Riordan. But even if you do not belong to this category of music lovers, then you do not have to despair, as these four musicians do something totally different.

Earlier Hitherside could convince us with its first EP, and the debut album hits the same way. If you’re keen on a strong dose of rock with a gothic touch, then you definitely will be pleased with the songs that Jennifer, Sam, Josh and Stefan are presenting on this record. Perhaps the first two songs are a little too much inspired by Rage Against The Machine, but the other ten tracks are great straightforward rock songs with great melodies that are stuck in your head after five spins (or less). If you want to meet the Flemish counterpart of Evanescence, you will have to give this debut a chance.

Didier BECU
21/09/2015


NL

Het zal allemaal wel iets met de typische (mooie) stem van Jennifer te maken hebben, maar de Belgische band Hitherside doet mij altijd een beetje aan The Cranberries denken. En dat bedoelen we niet eens slecht, want iedereen was ooit wel eens betoverd door de klanken van Dolores O’Riordan. Maar zelfs indien je niet tot deze categorie van muziekliefhebbers behoort, hoef je niet te wanhopen, want dit viertal tapt muzikaal toch uit een heel ander vaatje.

Eerder kon Hitherside ons al met z'n allereerste EP overtuigen, en nu is er de eerste cd die dezelfde weg inslaat. Wie van een stevige portie rock met een gothictintje houdt, zal beslist te vinden zij voor de nummers die Jennifer, Sam, Josh en Stefan op deze plaat brengen. De eerste twee nummers klinken misschien net iets te veel als een doorslagje van Rage Against The Machine, maar eens daarna krijg je tien heerlijke rechttoe rechtaan rocksongs met knappe melodieën die na vijf luisterbeurten (of minder) in je hoofd blijven hangen. Wie kennis wil maken met de Vlaamse evenknie van Evanescence kan dit debuut alvast in huis halen.

Didier BECU
21/09/2015


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
10
DIE KRUPPS
To The Hilt
24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On