tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/09/2015 : HITHERSIDE - Hitherside

HITHERSIDE

Hitherside

MusicCD
Hard RockRock

[71/100]   

Self-released
21/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It probably has something to do with the typical (nice) voice of Jennifer, but the Belgian band Hitherside always reminds me a bit of The Cranberries. And we don’t mean that in a bad way, because everyone was once bewitched by the sound of Dolores O'Riordan. But even if you do not belong to this category of music lovers, then you do not have to despair, as these four musicians do something totally different.

Earlier Hitherside could convince us with its first EP, and the debut album hits the same way. If you’re keen on a strong dose of rock with a gothic touch, then you definitely will be pleased with the songs that Jennifer, Sam, Josh and Stefan are presenting on this record. Perhaps the first two songs are a little too much inspired by Rage Against The Machine, but the other ten tracks are great straightforward rock songs with great melodies that are stuck in your head after five spins (or less). If you want to meet the Flemish counterpart of Evanescence, you will have to give this debut a chance.

Didier BECU
21/09/2015


NL

Het zal allemaal wel iets met de typische (mooie) stem van Jennifer te maken hebben, maar de Belgische band Hitherside doet mij altijd een beetje aan The Cranberries denken. En dat bedoelen we niet eens slecht, want iedereen was ooit wel eens betoverd door de klanken van Dolores O’Riordan. Maar zelfs indien je niet tot deze categorie van muziekliefhebbers behoort, hoef je niet te wanhopen, want dit viertal tapt muzikaal toch uit een heel ander vaatje.

Eerder kon Hitherside ons al met z'n allereerste EP overtuigen, en nu is er de eerste cd die dezelfde weg inslaat. Wie van een stevige portie rock met een gothictintje houdt, zal beslist te vinden zij voor de nummers die Jennifer, Sam, Josh en Stefan op deze plaat brengen. De eerste twee nummers klinken misschien net iets te veel als een doorslagje van Rage Against The Machine, maar eens daarna krijg je tien heerlijke rechttoe rechtaan rocksongs met knappe melodieën die na vijf luisterbeurten (of minder) in je hoofd blijven hangen. Wie kennis wil maken met de Vlaamse evenknie van Evanescence kan dit debuut alvast in huis halen.

Didier BECU
21/09/2015


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
08
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
Jesus Alone
24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy