tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/09/2015 : HITHERSIDE - Hitherside

HITHERSIDE

Hitherside

MusicCD
Hard RockRock

[71/100]   

Self-released
21/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It probably has something to do with the typical (nice) voice of Jennifer, but the Belgian band Hitherside always reminds me a bit of The Cranberries. And we don’t mean that in a bad way, because everyone was once bewitched by the sound of Dolores O'Riordan. But even if you do not belong to this category of music lovers, then you do not have to despair, as these four musicians do something totally different.

Earlier Hitherside could convince us with its first EP, and the debut album hits the same way. If you’re keen on a strong dose of rock with a gothic touch, then you definitely will be pleased with the songs that Jennifer, Sam, Josh and Stefan are presenting on this record. Perhaps the first two songs are a little too much inspired by Rage Against The Machine, but the other ten tracks are great straightforward rock songs with great melodies that are stuck in your head after five spins (or less). If you want to meet the Flemish counterpart of Evanescence, you will have to give this debut a chance.

Didier BECU
21/09/2015


NL

Het zal allemaal wel iets met de typische (mooie) stem van Jennifer te maken hebben, maar de Belgische band Hitherside doet mij altijd een beetje aan The Cranberries denken. En dat bedoelen we niet eens slecht, want iedereen was ooit wel eens betoverd door de klanken van Dolores O’Riordan. Maar zelfs indien je niet tot deze categorie van muziekliefhebbers behoort, hoef je niet te wanhopen, want dit viertal tapt muzikaal toch uit een heel ander vaatje.

Eerder kon Hitherside ons al met z'n allereerste EP overtuigen, en nu is er de eerste cd die dezelfde weg inslaat. Wie van een stevige portie rock met een gothictintje houdt, zal beslist te vinden zij voor de nummers die Jennifer, Sam, Josh en Stefan op deze plaat brengen. De eerste twee nummers klinken misschien net iets te veel als een doorslagje van Rage Against The Machine, maar eens daarna krijg je tien heerlijke rechttoe rechtaan rocksongs met knappe melodieën die na vijf luisterbeurten (of minder) in je hoofd blijven hangen. Wie kennis wil maken met de Vlaamse evenknie van Evanescence kan dit debuut alvast in huis halen.

Didier BECU
21/09/2015


Music reviews

03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination