tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/09/2015 : HITHERSIDE - Hitherside

HITHERSIDE

Hitherside

MusicCD
Hard RockRock

[71/100]   

Self-released
21/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

It probably has something to do with the typical (nice) voice of Jennifer, but the Belgian band Hitherside always reminds me a bit of The Cranberries. And we don’t mean that in a bad way, because everyone was once bewitched by the sound of Dolores O'Riordan. But even if you do not belong to this category of music lovers, then you do not have to despair, as these four musicians do something totally different.

Earlier Hitherside could convince us with its first EP, and the debut album hits the same way. If you’re keen on a strong dose of rock with a gothic touch, then you definitely will be pleased with the songs that Jennifer, Sam, Josh and Stefan are presenting on this record. Perhaps the first two songs are a little too much inspired by Rage Against The Machine, but the other ten tracks are great straightforward rock songs with great melodies that are stuck in your head after five spins (or less). If you want to meet the Flemish counterpart of Evanescence, you will have to give this debut a chance.

Didier BECU
21/09/2015


NL

Het zal allemaal wel iets met de typische (mooie) stem van Jennifer te maken hebben, maar de Belgische band Hitherside doet mij altijd een beetje aan The Cranberries denken. En dat bedoelen we niet eens slecht, want iedereen was ooit wel eens betoverd door de klanken van Dolores O’Riordan. Maar zelfs indien je niet tot deze categorie van muziekliefhebbers behoort, hoef je niet te wanhopen, want dit viertal tapt muzikaal toch uit een heel ander vaatje.

Eerder kon Hitherside ons al met z'n allereerste EP overtuigen, en nu is er de eerste cd die dezelfde weg inslaat. Wie van een stevige portie rock met een gothictintje houdt, zal beslist te vinden zij voor de nummers die Jennifer, Sam, Josh en Stefan op deze plaat brengen. De eerste twee nummers klinken misschien net iets te veel als een doorslagje van Rage Against The Machine, maar eens daarna krijg je tien heerlijke rechttoe rechtaan rocksongs met knappe melodieën die na vijf luisterbeurten (of minder) in je hoofd blijven hangen. Wie kennis wil maken met de Vlaamse evenknie van Evanescence kan dit debuut alvast in huis halen.

Didier BECU
21/09/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger