tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/09/2015 : UNITARY - Unafraid EP

UNITARY

Unafraid EP

MusicCD
EBMFuture Pop

[79/100]   

Self-released
20/09/2015, Didier BECU

EBM fanatics might be familiar with the name Johan Hansson who operates under the name of Unitary. Many references are made, but the Swedish musician describes his music simply as Emotional Body Music. Don’t worry as this is not about ballads: Unitary doesn't forget the pounding beats, Johan just creates, well... emotional songs.

Unafraid is Unitary’s newest EP, featuring seven tracks and what a blast it is! Perfect electro-pop that sounds like a perfect mixture between old school EBM and melodic future-pop.

The melody of Unafraid is catchy and born to be a killer on the alternative dancefloor. The sole song that isn’t a remix of the main song is Subversion. Magnificent electro-pop in a sort of Mesh-style, but with more beats and (yes) the same emotions. As said, you get 5 other versions of Unafraid. No panic though as the song is so strong that it never bores and the remixes are diverse too.One of the EBM masters is Autodafeh and with them it’s no surprise that this track suddenly sounds like Front 242! The best remix (but also the most poppy one) is the one by Assemblage 23.The Dekad remix is more Kraftwerk-like, and with the usual boom boom tschak sounds this song gets another (great) life. By hearing this EP, you know there’s a future for Unitary in the EBM world. Tip!

Didier BECU
20/09/2015


 

Next reviews
SONIC YOUTH • Goo
ONMENS • Misdracht
L'ASSASSINS • Fire Of Love
FEVER THE GHOST • 1518
ANDREA DI STEFANO • Escobar: Paradise Lost
• SUPERNATURAL SEASON 10
CASABLANCA • Miskatonic Graffiti
MAURIZIO BLANCO (KLANGSTABIL) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
BORIS MAY (KLANGSTABIL) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
LEAETHER STRIP • Talk Talk Revisited

 

Other reviews from UNITARY
UNITARY • Misanthropy
UNITARY • Safe From Harm

 

Same combination of genres: EBM + FUTURE POP
RECTOR SCANNER • Herzschlag
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Dependence 2015
XP8 • Nigredo EP
BRUDERSCHAFT • Return
VIRGINS O.R. PIGEONS • Bleed to lead
TRAKKTOR • Force Majeure
HOCICO • Bite me EP
DARK UNSPOKEN • Diode in your head?
ACCESSORY • Underbeat

 

Same genre: EBM
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
DARKNESS ON DEMAND • Back To Psychoburbia
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
STRONG PRODUCT • Product III
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

Music reviews

20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
15
10
BAUHAUS
Bela Lugosi’s Dead

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!
03
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Right before their performance at W-Fest A Slice Of Life released their debut album Restless which turns out to be an excellent post-punk record. Dark Entries was curious about the band’s history and the album, and had

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido
16
10
DUSK
The Next Me