tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/11/2013 : BRUDERSCHAFT - Return

BRUDERSCHAFT

Return

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMFuture PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[100/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/11/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Super-charity group BRUDERSCHAFT strikes back with “Return”! Just like for the hyper successful “Forever” EP released some 10 years ago, all net profits of this new album will go to various cancer charities for the purposes of research and treatment, and to assist families with loved ones who are suffering from cancer so that they can be there to provide comfort in their time of need.

Famous New York DJ and artist Rexx Arkana managed to gather VNV NATION, COVENANT, APOPTYGMA BERZERK and ICON OF COIL members for the “Forever” EP. Similarly the “Return” album adds his FGFC820 partner in crime Dräcos as a full-time band member and features a host of powerhouse artists and contributors fueled by the vocal contributions of talented singers from renown bands like ASSEMBLAGE 23, BEBORN BETON, HAUJOBB, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, COLONY 5, SYSTEM SYN, SYRIAN and IEN OBLIQUE. Amongst the musicians / songwriters, besides the original contributors of Joakim Montelius (COVENANT) and Sebastian Komor (ICON OF COIL, ZOMBIE GIRL, KOMOR KOMMANDO) we will also notice the contribution of Daniel Myer (HAUJOBB), Johann Sebastian (STATE OF THE UNION) and Maze (BLANK).

 “So much has changed in the ten years since this journey began”, says Rexx Arkana. “As my father and so many others stricken by cancer have discovered, life doesn’t always go according to plan. Neither did this record, but in the end I think we triumphed and the result is worth it. It is my sincerest wish that – someday – we might be able to say the same thing about this horrific deadly disease”.

What Rexx pointed out made me review this one! Making promotion for this record should be a major job for everyone. I think nowadays none escaped being touched by cancer or having a close family member been touched by it. I must say that at some point a doctor pointed out at me that I might have some in me. Luckily once it got cut out its seemed to be something harmless. Cancer is well spread, so helping fighting against it is starting a holy war! I hope you all join, read and share the message!

Time to get on with the music, time to focus on the 9 well-crafted and well worked out songs with a very high emotional layer. 'Trigger' is a typical VNV Nation song, with the up-tempo beats and a nice voice. Tom Shear's unique voice is part of "Return" pushing the ASSEMBLAGE 23 singer into the driving seat and also on the upgraded album version of "Forever2013". The sound is very poppy, the voice melancholic. And it's that same magic recipe that triumphantly gets used on every song with each singer perfectly capturing the raw emotions of the lyrics and contributing to the forceful depth of this beautiful album. Whether with Stefan Netschio of BEBORN BETON on the touching "6AM" (sounds a lot like Covenant during a great day in the studio), with Daniel Myer of HAUJOBB for the alluring and intricate "Falling", with Daniel Graves of AESTHETIC PERFECTION for the EBM-pop pearl "Dead Tomorrow" (during this one I think it not also can talk about cancer, but also about a merciful dead on demand). Love the voice, the beats, the melancholic sound, can't say anything else but: FANTASTIC work! SYRIAN's Andylab's take on THE HUMAN LEAGUE's classic cover "The Things That Dreams Are Made Of" is also great, just as 'Goodbye' (IenOblique Vocal or even the version with Colony 5 on vocals: this last one is to me simply the best as the music and the voice sounds as if they are made for each other)... All great songs.

The first edition of "Return" is also available as a limited carton box with bonus disc featuring the remix work of some 12 bands including MESH, FUNKER VOGT, IMPERATIVE REACTION and EDGE OF DAWN to only cite a few.

 So read this review, like the idea, share it & buy it... I am sold to this one and the positive action undertaken by simply great artists!

CD 2 – bonus disc only available in the limited carton box edition

Return (IMPERATIVE REACTION remix)

Dead Tomorrow (V1RTUAL D3SCENT remix)

6AM (Noise Suppression Mix by R010R)

Return (MESH mix)

Goodbye (FRONTAL BOUNDARYremix)

Falling (Hopeless Mix by ARMOR)

Trigger (EDGE OF DAWN mix)

Return (CEPHALGY remix)

Falling (ENTER AND FALL remix)

Goodbye (AESTHETIC PERFECTION mix)

Forever (HEAD-LESS mix)

Return (FUNKER VOGT remix)

You can order the full HQ audio download on the Alfa Matrix Bandcamp page or on CD via the Alfa Matrix webstore.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
09/11/2013


 

Next reviews
ONEIROGEN • Kiasma
PHASENMENSCH • Tagebuch Eines Eremiten
DIV I DER • Minimal distraction EP
FALKENBACH • Asa
REGIMEN • S-T
TEMPERS • Eyes Wide Wider & Strange Harvest
SANDOR STERN • Pin
BEN LUKAS BOYSEN • Gravity
HYDRUS • Nodes
WES CRAVEN • The people under the stairs

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + FUTURE POP + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
XP8 • Nigredo EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Same genre: EBM
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism
SYNAPSCAPE • Rhythm Age

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty