tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/11/2013 : BRUDERSCHAFT - Return

BRUDERSCHAFT

Return

MusicCD
Dark ElectroEBMFuture PopIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[100/100]   

Alfa-Matrix
09/11/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Super-charity group BRUDERSCHAFT strikes back with “Return”! Just like for the hyper successful “Forever” EP released some 10 years ago, all net profits of this new album will go to various cancer charities for the purposes of research and treatment, and to assist families with loved ones who are suffering from cancer so that they can be there to provide comfort in their time of need.

Famous New York DJ and artist Rexx Arkana managed to gather VNV NATION, COVENANT, APOPTYGMA BERZERK and ICON OF COIL members for the “Forever” EP. Similarly the “Return” album adds his FGFC820 partner in crime Dräcos as a full-time band member and features a host of powerhouse artists and contributors fueled by the vocal contributions of talented singers from renown bands like ASSEMBLAGE 23, BEBORN BETON, HAUJOBB, AESTHETIC PERFECTION, COLONY 5, SYSTEM SYN, SYRIAN and IEN OBLIQUE. Amongst the musicians / songwriters, besides the original contributors of Joakim Montelius (COVENANT) and Sebastian Komor (ICON OF COIL, ZOMBIE GIRL, KOMOR KOMMANDO) we will also notice the contribution of Daniel Myer (HAUJOBB), Johann Sebastian (STATE OF THE UNION) and Maze (BLANK).

 “So much has changed in the ten years since this journey began”, says Rexx Arkana. “As my father and so many others stricken by cancer have discovered, life doesn’t always go according to plan. Neither did this record, but in the end I think we triumphed and the result is worth it. It is my sincerest wish that – someday – we might be able to say the same thing about this horrific deadly disease”.

What Rexx pointed out made me review this one! Making promotion for this record should be a major job for everyone. I think nowadays none escaped being touched by cancer or having a close family member been touched by it. I must say that at some point a doctor pointed out at me that I might have some in me. Luckily once it got cut out its seemed to be something harmless. Cancer is well spread, so helping fighting against it is starting a holy war! I hope you all join, read and share the message!

Time to get on with the music, time to focus on the 9 well-crafted and well worked out songs with a very high emotional layer. 'Trigger' is a typical VNV Nation song, with the up-tempo beats and a nice voice. Tom Shear's unique voice is part of "Return" pushing the ASSEMBLAGE 23 singer into the driving seat and also on the upgraded album version of "Forever2013". The sound is very poppy, the voice melancholic. And it's that same magic recipe that triumphantly gets used on every song with each singer perfectly capturing the raw emotions of the lyrics and contributing to the forceful depth of this beautiful album. Whether with Stefan Netschio of BEBORN BETON on the touching "6AM" (sounds a lot like Covenant during a great day in the studio), with Daniel Myer of HAUJOBB for the alluring and intricate "Falling", with Daniel Graves of AESTHETIC PERFECTION for the EBM-pop pearl "Dead Tomorrow" (during this one I think it not also can talk about cancer, but also about a merciful dead on demand). Love the voice, the beats, the melancholic sound, can't say anything else but: FANTASTIC work! SYRIAN's Andylab's take on THE HUMAN LEAGUE's classic cover "The Things That Dreams Are Made Of" is also great, just as 'Goodbye' (IenOblique Vocal or even the version with Colony 5 on vocals: this last one is to me simply the best as the music and the voice sounds as if they are made for each other)... All great songs.

The first edition of "Return" is also available as a limited carton box with bonus disc featuring the remix work of some 12 bands including MESH, FUNKER VOGT, IMPERATIVE REACTION and EDGE OF DAWN to only cite a few.

 So read this review, like the idea, share it & buy it... I am sold to this one and the positive action undertaken by simply great artists!

CD 2 – bonus disc only available in the limited carton box edition

Return (IMPERATIVE REACTION remix)

Dead Tomorrow (V1RTUAL D3SCENT remix)

6AM (Noise Suppression Mix by R010R)

Return (MESH mix)

Goodbye (FRONTAL BOUNDARYremix)

Falling (Hopeless Mix by ARMOR)

Trigger (EDGE OF DAWN mix)

Return (CEPHALGY remix)

Falling (ENTER AND FALL remix)

Goodbye (AESTHETIC PERFECTION mix)

Forever (HEAD-LESS mix)

Return (FUNKER VOGT remix)

You can order the full HQ audio download on the Alfa Matrix Bandcamp page or on CD via the Alfa Matrix webstore.

Filip VAN MUYLEM
09/11/2013


 

Next reviews
ONEIROGEN • Kiasma
PHASENMENSCH • Tagebuch Eines Eremiten
DIV I DER • Minimal distraction EP
FALKENBACH • Asa
REGIMEN • S-T
TEMPERS • Eyes Wide Wider & Strange Harvest
SANDOR STERN • Pin
BEN LUKAS BOYSEN • Gravity
HYDRUS • Nodes
WES CRAVEN • The people under the stairs

 

Same combination of genres: DARK ELECTRO + EBM + FUTURE POP + IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC) + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
XP8 • Nigredo EP

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden

 

Same genre: EBM
AD:KEY • Resonanz
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires

 

Same genre: FUTURE POP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
KOMPUTERGIRL • Lightbody
NATURE OF WIRES FT. COUNTESSM. • Cyber Rendezvous
MIRANDA CARTEL • Divert EP
SINESTAR • Evolve
EISFABRIK • Walking Towards The Sun
PARRALOX • Wildlife
NOVA-SPES • A Dog And His Boy

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
ERASURE • THE NEON
AUGER • Insurgence
COLD IN MAY • Koma:Redux
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything

Music reviews

01
12
THE MARS MODEL
Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

02
12
This month it’s 36 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.
01
12
50 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
12
GROUND NERO
Plethora
01
12
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
30
11
DIVE
Black Star (Official Music Video)
30
11
POPTONE
Slice Of Life
29
11
CUELEBRE
Fodder for the raven
28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights