tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

03/11/2013 : HUNTER COMPLEX - Heat

HUNTER COMPLEX

Heat

MusicVinyl
Ambient PopSoundtrackSynthpop

[85/100]   

Narrominded
03/11/2013, Chris KONINGS

The second album for Lars Meijer's solo project, he now investigates 80's soundtracks. With his first album he distilled synthpop from bands like Pet Shop Boys, Depeche Mode and Level 42, now the artwork tells you a lot about his influences. Stills from movies like "They Live", "Capricorn One", "Prince Of Darkness" and others suggest a soundtrack fitting for series like Airwolf, Miami Vice and McGyver. And apart from the few songs where he sings, it is exactly that.

At first I did not think much of it, I'm not waiting for a visit into Jan Hammer's mind... But there's more to this album, if you are patient enough, you can peel away those layers of amateur synth bliss and discover some truly honest and profound emotions. "Daylight" is the most rewarding song, I love the scant specks of guitar, it gives it a whole new dimension. After that you can lay back in your Cadillac and glide through the landscape that's vibrating with heat (Highway Hypnosis).

Sure it's crummy and naive, as well as completely superfluous. So why is it I like this album? Well I guess Lars is just an honest guy with lots of love for this kind of music and that love seeps through the seams of kitsch... And didn't we all love Mickey Rourke, David Hasselhoff and Tom Selleck? A good one!

Oh yeah, don't doubt for too long, it's available since september and only 100 copies each in transparent or black vinyl... And if you want to see him live, 7 december he plays @ Kinkystar in Gent! More info here.

Chris KONINGS
03/11/2013


 

Next reviews
FREAKANGEL • The ones to Fall
TECHNOIR • We fall apart
CONTROL • Transgression
MOOSE PATROL • Drowning EP
CHELSEA WOLFE & RUSSIAN CIRCLES • Review of the concert at Vooruit in Ghent on 30th October 2013
HENRY ALEX RUBIN • Disconnect
PHOSPHOR • Youth & Immortality
AMBASSADOR 21 • X
GREGG ARAKI • Nowhere
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert at Het Depot in Leuven on 24th October 2013

 

Other reviews from HUNTER COMPLEX
HUNTER COMPLEX • Hours (Single)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty