tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

03/11/2013 : HUNTER COMPLEX - Heat

HUNTER COMPLEX

Heat

MusicVinyl
Ambient PopSoundtrackSynthpop

[85/100]   

Narrominded
03/11/2013, Chris KONINGS

The second album for Lars Meijer's solo project, he now investigates 80's soundtracks. With his first album he distilled synthpop from bands like Pet Shop Boys, Depeche Mode and Level 42, now the artwork tells you a lot about his influences. Stills from movies like "They Live", "Capricorn One", "Prince Of Darkness" and others suggest a soundtrack fitting for series like Airwolf, Miami Vice and McGyver. And apart from the few songs where he sings, it is exactly that.

At first I did not think much of it, I'm not waiting for a visit into Jan Hammer's mind... But there's more to this album, if you are patient enough, you can peel away those layers of amateur synth bliss and discover some truly honest and profound emotions. "Daylight" is the most rewarding song, I love the scant specks of guitar, it gives it a whole new dimension. After that you can lay back in your Cadillac and glide through the landscape that's vibrating with heat (Highway Hypnosis).

Sure it's crummy and naive, as well as completely superfluous. So why is it I like this album? Well I guess Lars is just an honest guy with lots of love for this kind of music and that love seeps through the seams of kitsch... And didn't we all love Mickey Rourke, David Hasselhoff and Tom Selleck? A good one!

Oh yeah, don't doubt for too long, it's available since september and only 100 copies each in transparent or black vinyl... And if you want to see him live, 7 december he plays @ Kinkystar in Gent! More info here.

Chris KONINGS
03/11/2013


 

Next reviews
FREAKANGEL • The ones to Fall
TECHNOIR • We fall apart
CONTROL • Transgression
MOOSE PATROL • Drowning EP
CHELSEA WOLFE & RUSSIAN CIRCLES • Review of the concert at Vooruit in Ghent on 30th October 2013
HENRY ALEX RUBIN • Disconnect
PHOSPHOR • Youth & Immortality
AMBASSADOR 21 • X
GREGG ARAKI • Nowhere
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert at Het Depot in Leuven on 24th October 2013

 

Other reviews from HUNTER COMPLEX
HUNTER COMPLEX • Hours (Single)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
ARMONITE • The Sun is New Each Day

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow
14
10
IN DEED
Everest - Expanded Edition
13
10
REACTOR7X
Are You My Bitch
13
10
WALTER CELI
Blend
12
10
YATES AND YOUNG
Splinters Ep
12
10
AIMAPROJECT
Di AimA Il Segno

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses
10
10
PET SHOP BOYS
Domino Dancing (Extended Version)
09
10
ALISON MOYET
Is This Love
08
10
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?