tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

03/11/2013 : HUNTER COMPLEX - Heat

HUNTER COMPLEX

Heat

MusicVinyl
Ambient PopSoundtrackSynthpop

[85/100]   

Narrominded
03/11/2013, Chris KONINGS

The second album for Lars Meijer's solo project, he now investigates 80's soundtracks. With his first album he distilled synthpop from bands like Pet Shop Boys, Depeche Mode and Level 42, now the artwork tells you a lot about his influences. Stills from movies like "They Live", "Capricorn One", "Prince Of Darkness" and others suggest a soundtrack fitting for series like Airwolf, Miami Vice and McGyver. And apart from the few songs where he sings, it is exactly that.

At first I did not think much of it, I'm not waiting for a visit into Jan Hammer's mind... But there's more to this album, if you are patient enough, you can peel away those layers of amateur synth bliss and discover some truly honest and profound emotions. "Daylight" is the most rewarding song, I love the scant specks of guitar, it gives it a whole new dimension. After that you can lay back in your Cadillac and glide through the landscape that's vibrating with heat (Highway Hypnosis).

Sure it's crummy and naive, as well as completely superfluous. So why is it I like this album? Well I guess Lars is just an honest guy with lots of love for this kind of music and that love seeps through the seams of kitsch... And didn't we all love Mickey Rourke, David Hasselhoff and Tom Selleck? A good one!

Oh yeah, don't doubt for too long, it's available since september and only 100 copies each in transparent or black vinyl... And if you want to see him live, 7 december he plays @ Kinkystar in Gent! More info here.

Chris KONINGS
03/11/2013


 

Next reviews
FREAKANGEL • The ones to Fall
TECHNOIR • We fall apart
CONTROL • Transgression
MOOSE PATROL • Drowning EP
CHELSEA WOLFE & RUSSIAN CIRCLES • Review of the concert at Vooruit in Ghent on 30th October 2013
HENRY ALEX RUBIN • Disconnect
PHOSPHOR • Youth & Immortality
AMBASSADOR 21 • X
GREGG ARAKI • Nowhere
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert at Het Depot in Leuven on 24th October 2013

 

Other reviews from HUNTER COMPLEX
HUNTER COMPLEX • Hours (Single)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
ARMONITE • The Sun is New Each Day

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray

Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery