tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

29/10/2013 : LINEA ASPERA - II

LINEA ASPERA

II

MusicVinyl
MinimalNoiseSynth Wave

[80/100]   

Weyrd Son Records
29/10/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

This vinyl reissue of Linea Aspera's second EP, originally released on cassette, is the third release of Weyrd Son Records, the label created by my good friend Weyrd Son, aka Michael Thiel, the son of the late Micky Mike (Snowy Red).

I had introduced Michael to the music of Linea Aspera in January 2013 and we had been lucky to attend Linea Aspera's last concert in Amsterdam and to make a great interview with Alison Lewis, the band's singer. I am therefore very proud to have contributed, in a modest way, to the present release.

"II" was in a way Linea Aspera's "swan song", the epitaph of a legendary band which unfortunately separated much too soon. For Weyrd Son Records, it was therefore a must to do this last EP justice by releasing it on vinyl. And not any kind of vinyl: again, Weyrd Son produced a wonderful object, a single-sided clear vinyl with artwork printed on PVC sleeve and tracing paper insert.

The first song, Kinabalu, is amazing: the menacing, noisy intro leads into an upbeat rhythm of 147 BPM and a minimal sound that immediately evoke The Normal ("Warm Leatherette") and early Mute releases. Alison Lewis' repetitive vocals bathe in vintage reverb effects and we also think of Suicide. The atmosphere is eerie, industrial and after only 2 minutes the song is plunged in a sea of noises, analog explosions, and a clock ticking sound. This lasts for more than 4 minutes until the final shrieking feedback noises. I can't help thinking that this unleashed violence evokes another violence, that of separation.

The second track is a more 'classic' song on which Ryan Ambridge combines an EBM beat with 80ies synths sounds reminiscent of Depeche Mode and Yazoo. Lewis' sexy and emotional voice hovers beautifully over the music and you quickly find yourself dancing like crazy. A dancefloor killer!

The final track, "Royal Straight" brings back the "Mute" feeling: it's an instrumental featuring minimal analog sounds and drone noise effects, which end with a gunshot.

As a conclusion: a very strange final EP, which includes two must-have songs but the whole appears a bit like an "unfinished symphony". It makes us regret even more that this very promising band called it quits. Anyway, this beautiful vinyl is definitely a collector's item. Rush to buy it at Weyrd Son Records before the stock of 300 handnumbered albums is sold out.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
29/10/2013




 

Next reviews
KRAFTWERK • Eindhoven, Evoluon (18/10/2013)
THE EXPLODING BOY • Four
THE DARLING BUDS • Pop Said
FRANTISEK VLACIL • The White Dove
NIGHT
AVIATORS • Mirrors (Deluxe version)
WALTER HILL • STREETS OF FIRE
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP
TRAFFIC A.M. • Left Behind Left Within

 

Other reviews from LINEA ASPERA
LINEA ASPERA • Linea Aspera

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

 

Same genre: NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked