tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

29/10/2013 : LINEA ASPERA - II

LINEA ASPERA

II

MusicVinyl
MinimalNoiseSynth Wave

[80/100]   

Weyrd Son Records
29/10/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

This vinyl reissue of Linea Aspera's second EP, originally released on cassette, is the third release of Weyrd Son Records, the label created by my good friend Weyrd Son, aka Michael Thiel, the son of the late Micky Mike (Snowy Red).

I had introduced Michael to the music of Linea Aspera in January 2013 and we had been lucky to attend Linea Aspera's last concert in Amsterdam and to make a great interview with Alison Lewis, the band's singer. I am therefore very proud to have contributed, in a modest way, to the present release.

"II" was in a way Linea Aspera's "swan song", the epitaph of a legendary band which unfortunately separated much too soon. For Weyrd Son Records, it was therefore a must to do this last EP justice by releasing it on vinyl. And not any kind of vinyl: again, Weyrd Son produced a wonderful object, a single-sided clear vinyl with artwork printed on PVC sleeve and tracing paper insert.

The first song, Kinabalu, is amazing: the menacing, noisy intro leads into an upbeat rhythm of 147 BPM and a minimal sound that immediately evoke The Normal ("Warm Leatherette") and early Mute releases. Alison Lewis' repetitive vocals bathe in vintage reverb effects and we also think of Suicide. The atmosphere is eerie, industrial and after only 2 minutes the song is plunged in a sea of noises, analog explosions, and a clock ticking sound. This lasts for more than 4 minutes until the final shrieking feedback noises. I can't help thinking that this unleashed violence evokes another violence, that of separation.

The second track is a more 'classic' song on which Ryan Ambridge combines an EBM beat with 80ies synths sounds reminiscent of Depeche Mode and Yazoo. Lewis' sexy and emotional voice hovers beautifully over the music and you quickly find yourself dancing like crazy. A dancefloor killer!

The final track, "Royal Straight" brings back the "Mute" feeling: it's an instrumental featuring minimal analog sounds and drone noise effects, which end with a gunshot.

As a conclusion: a very strange final EP, which includes two must-have songs but the whole appears a bit like an "unfinished symphony". It makes us regret even more that this very promising band called it quits. Anyway, this beautiful vinyl is definitely a collector's item. Rush to buy it at Weyrd Son Records before the stock of 300 handnumbered albums is sold out.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
29/10/2013




 

Next reviews
KRAFTWERK • Eindhoven, Evoluon (18/10/2013)
THE EXPLODING BOY • Four
THE DARLING BUDS • Pop Said
FRANTISEK VLACIL • The White Dove
NIGHT
AVIATORS • Mirrors (Deluxe version)
WALTER HILL • STREETS OF FIRE
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP
TRAFFIC A.M. • Left Behind Left Within

 

Other reviews from LINEA ASPERA
LINEA ASPERA • Linea Aspera

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

 

Same genre: NOISE
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
LADYTRON • Ladytron
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl