tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

29/10/2013 : LINEA ASPERA - II

LINEA ASPERA

II

MusicVinyl
MinimalNoiseSynth Wave

[80/100]   

Weyrd Son Records
29/10/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

This vinyl reissue of Linea Aspera's second EP, originally released on cassette, is the third release of Weyrd Son Records, the label created by my good friend Weyrd Son, aka Michael Thiel, the son of the late Micky Mike (Snowy Red).

I had introduced Michael to the music of Linea Aspera in January 2013 and we had been lucky to attend Linea Aspera's last concert in Amsterdam and to make a great interview with Alison Lewis, the band's singer. I am therefore very proud to have contributed, in a modest way, to the present release.

"II" was in a way Linea Aspera's "swan song", the epitaph of a legendary band which unfortunately separated much too soon. For Weyrd Son Records, it was therefore a must to do this last EP justice by releasing it on vinyl. And not any kind of vinyl: again, Weyrd Son produced a wonderful object, a single-sided clear vinyl with artwork printed on PVC sleeve and tracing paper insert.

The first song, Kinabalu, is amazing: the menacing, noisy intro leads into an upbeat rhythm of 147 BPM and a minimal sound that immediately evoke The Normal ("Warm Leatherette") and early Mute releases. Alison Lewis' repetitive vocals bathe in vintage reverb effects and we also think of Suicide. The atmosphere is eerie, industrial and after only 2 minutes the song is plunged in a sea of noises, analog explosions, and a clock ticking sound. This lasts for more than 4 minutes until the final shrieking feedback noises. I can't help thinking that this unleashed violence evokes another violence, that of separation.

The second track is a more 'classic' song on which Ryan Ambridge combines an EBM beat with 80ies synths sounds reminiscent of Depeche Mode and Yazoo. Lewis' sexy and emotional voice hovers beautifully over the music and you quickly find yourself dancing like crazy. A dancefloor killer!

The final track, "Royal Straight" brings back the "Mute" feeling: it's an instrumental featuring minimal analog sounds and drone noise effects, which end with a gunshot.

As a conclusion: a very strange final EP, which includes two must-have songs but the whole appears a bit like an "unfinished symphony". It makes us regret even more that this very promising band called it quits. Anyway, this beautiful vinyl is definitely a collector's item. Rush to buy it at Weyrd Son Records before the stock of 300 handnumbered albums is sold out.

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
29/10/2013




 

Next reviews
KRAFTWERK • Eindhoven, Evoluon (18/10/2013)
THE EXPLODING BOY • Four
THE DARLING BUDS • Pop Said
FRANTISEK VLACIL • The White Dove
NIGHT
AVIATORS • Mirrors (Deluxe version)
WALTER HILL • STREETS OF FIRE
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities
ESBEN SVANE • The sudden stop EP
TRAFFIC A.M. • Left Behind Left Within

 

Other reviews from LINEA ASPERA
LINEA ASPERA • Linea Aspera

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus

 

Same genre: NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
APSURDE • See Me Coming
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
CONFRONTATIONAL • The Burning Dawn
SUFFOCATING MINDS • SFMD (Suffocating Minds) + Shakes release party
STRUCKTURA • Satues Also Die
PEINE PERDUE • Histoire d'une Âme
SINE SILEX • Schachmatt
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
THE HUMAN LEAGUE + EKKOES • Borgerhout, De Roma (16/11/2016)

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules