tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

31/10/2013 : CONTROL - Transgression

CONTROL

Transgression

MusicCD
IndustrialPower Electronics

[80/100]   

Ant-Zen
31/10/2013, Chris KONINGS

After ten years the industrial project of Thomas Garrison found its way to Ant-Zen, after beind on the roll with Misantrophe Studios (his own label), Freak Animal Records and a few other noble unknowns. His music hovers between dark ambient and power electronics so it's an unusual genre for Ant-Zen.

Structurally, most songs are similar with a slow build-up of forces and then unleashed at its unsuspecting victims. Very organic sounds as well , with lots of pitchshifting and pulsating highlights. Most power electronics or industrial artists just make heaps and heaps of noise with a minimum of structure but Thomas his work is similar to Orphx, always adding and subtracting sounds/effects.

I really like the whole album, it;s very well balanced with terrifying and insane parts strengthened by his maniacal vocals. Other songs are calm, still dark and ominous but no onslaught to your senses, so there are different moods to get shoved into. For instance, "Arise Lies" has a very slow and ominous build-up, only to result in slabs of noise and his insane screams. A good way to describe a world of lies IMHO... Another slow but relentless song is "Transgression".

Harsher and more agressive is the sharp edged "Mechanical Suffocation", the name says it all, machinery like grinders and breakers doing a dance of death and you are on the receiving end. The same goes for "Cruel Intent" and also the last song "The New Death", the apotheosis of a very powerful album.

Live I've seen him twice now, in Wommelgem (Belgium) and also at Maschinenfest. I liked the Wommelgem gig best, a small basement remains the best place for such performances... Also Thomas seemed more at ease and the crowd was actually responding to his music... So if you get a chance, check him out, he's pretty great at what he does!

Chris KONINGS
31/10/2013


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide
18
06
JO QUAIL
Tu Florentine (Live 2013)