tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

30/10/2013 : PHOSPHOR - Youth & Immortality

PHOSPHOR

Youth & Immortality

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveDarkwaveSynth WaveSynthpop

[95/100]   

Desire Records
30/10/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Better late than never... This album was released in March 2013 but I only noticed a few days ago that it hadn't been reviewed by our editors yet. A shame because it's simply one of the five best albums of 2013, in my humble opinion.

PHOSPHOR was formed in 2011 in London by Nathalia Bruno and Jake Ambridge, the brother of Ryan Ambridge (Hetaera & I.F.A. Electronics, ex-Linea Aspera). Hélène de Thoury, from France, joined the duo a few months later. The band released two EP's and one of their song, "Skull" received some exposure thanks, a.o., to its presence on the Mannequin Records compilation curated by Mushy: "The End of Civilization".

"Youth & Immortality", their first LP, was released by the French label Desire Records and it's an amazing album. It can be described as a combination between top-notch synth-pop and darkwave with a touch of shoegaze psychedelia. The fact that Jake and Ryan Ambridge are brothers is no coincidence: in PHOSPHOR, you find the same brilliant drum and synth arrangements as in Linea Aspera. Another resemblance is that both bands rely on the quality of vocals, lyrics and melodies. But both bands differ in the presence of Jake's shoegaze/postpunk guitar and in the overall atmosphere: PHOSPHOR has a more "dark emotional", "gothic" feeling, while Alison Lewis' universe is colder, more academic and industrial.

"One Night In Rome" is an upbeat song that evokes the Cure and Tropic of Cancer: a great opener! With "Entropy", we enter a dark and ghostly world dominated by drone synths, a robotic snare drum sound and hypnotic, reverberated vocals much in the style of Cocteau Twins.

"Rotary" is my favorite track: the chorus "You can't control what you feel inside" really takes you far away thanks to Nathalia Bruno's ethereal vocals and Hélène de Thoury's beautiful synth melody. The song as a whole has a very nice fetish and gothic flavor which made me think of Die Form, Athamay, Tristesse De La Lune, Love Is Colder Than Death,... "City Lights" evokes perfectly the loneliness that the band experienced when they moved to London: a droning bass leads you into yet another luminescent chorus adorned with regal synth chords.

"Tortured Soul" starts like a modern Dead Can Dance tune: slow, majestic and mesmerizing. Nathalia's voice is sepulchral, in the style of Zola Jesus and the overall feeling is appropriately witchy... The title song is probably the most poppish, with its nice syncopated drums and 80ies keyboards. The chorus is immediately memorable and has the same seductive effect as Sally Dige's "Immaculate Deception". To close the album beautifully, "Dark of Summer" is another gem of romantic synth-pop while the Curesque "Internal" features Jake Ambridge's heavily flangered guitar and verses nicely sung in French.

As a conclusion; this debut album is simply a masterpiece. A must-have for all lovers of synth-pop with a dark edge. I had the opportunity to meet the band after their concert in Köln: they are very nice people! Check the interview here!

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
30/10/2013


 

Next reviews
AMBASSADOR 21 • X
GREGG ARAKI • Nowhere
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert at Het Depot in Leuven on 24th October 2013
DOBERMANN CULT • Lions share of The Dogs Years
GREGG ARAKI • The Doom Generation
LINEA ASPERA • II
KRAFTWERK • Eindhoven, Evoluon (18/10/2013)
THE EXPLODING BOY • Four
THE DARLING BUDS • Pop Said
FRANTISEK VLACIL • The White Dove

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac
MORE EPHEMEROL • Obituary Templates
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi