tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

30/10/2013 : PHOSPHOR - Youth & Immortality

PHOSPHOR

Youth & Immortality

MusicVinyl
Cold WaveDarkwaveSynth WaveSynthpop

[95/100]   

Desire Records
30/10/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Better late than never... This album was released in March 2013 but I only noticed a few days ago that it hadn't been reviewed by our editors yet. A shame because it's simply one of the five best albums of 2013, in my humble opinion.

PHOSPHOR was formed in 2011 in London by Nathalia Bruno and Jake Ambridge, the brother of Ryan Ambridge (Hetaera & I.F.A. Electronics, ex-Linea Aspera). Hélène de Thoury, from France, joined the duo a few months later. The band released two EP's and one of their song, "Skull" received some exposure thanks, a.o., to its presence on the Mannequin Records compilation curated by Mushy: "The End of Civilization".

"Youth & Immortality", their first LP, was released by the French label Desire Records and it's an amazing album. It can be described as a combination between top-notch synth-pop and darkwave with a touch of shoegaze psychedelia. The fact that Jake and Ryan Ambridge are brothers is no coincidence: in PHOSPHOR, you find the same brilliant drum and synth arrangements as in Linea Aspera. Another resemblance is that both bands rely on the quality of vocals, lyrics and melodies. But both bands differ in the presence of Jake's shoegaze/postpunk guitar and in the overall atmosphere: PHOSPHOR has a more "dark emotional", "gothic" feeling, while Alison Lewis' universe is colder, more academic and industrial.

"One Night In Rome" is an upbeat song that evokes the Cure and Tropic of Cancer: a great opener! With "Entropy", we enter a dark and ghostly world dominated by drone synths, a robotic snare drum sound and hypnotic, reverberated vocals much in the style of Cocteau Twins.

"Rotary" is my favorite track: the chorus "You can't control what you feel inside" really takes you far away thanks to Nathalia Bruno's ethereal vocals and Hélène de Thoury's beautiful synth melody. The song as a whole has a very nice fetish and gothic flavor which made me think of Die Form, Athamay, Tristesse De La Lune, Love Is Colder Than Death,... "City Lights" evokes perfectly the loneliness that the band experienced when they moved to London: a droning bass leads you into yet another luminescent chorus adorned with regal synth chords.

"Tortured Soul" starts like a modern Dead Can Dance tune: slow, majestic and mesmerizing. Nathalia's voice is sepulchral, in the style of Zola Jesus and the overall feeling is appropriately witchy... The title song is probably the most poppish, with its nice syncopated drums and 80ies keyboards. The chorus is immediately memorable and has the same seductive effect as Sally Dige's "Immaculate Deception". To close the album beautifully, "Dark of Summer" is another gem of romantic synth-pop while the Curesque "Internal" features Jake Ambridge's heavily flangered guitar and verses nicely sung in French.

As a conclusion; this debut album is simply a masterpiece. A must-have for all lovers of synth-pop with a dark edge. I had the opportunity to meet the band after their concert in Köln: they are very nice people! Check the interview here!

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
30/10/2013


 

Next reviews
AMBASSADOR 21 • X
GREGG ARAKI • Nowhere
STEVEN WILSON • Review of the concert at Het Depot in Leuven on 24th October 2013
DOBERMANN CULT • Lions share of The Dogs Years
GREGG ARAKI • The Doom Generation
LINEA ASPERA • II
KRAFTWERK • Eindhoven, Evoluon (18/10/2013)
THE EXPLODING BOY • Four
THE DARLING BUDS • Pop Said
FRANTISEK VLACIL • The White Dove

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
DARK • Nightmare
LA SCALTRA • Cabaret
CARNAL MACHINERY • Cluster A
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER • Lost Feelings
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall

 

Same genre: SYNTH WAVE
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Melancholic Maniac

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design