tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

21/09/2015 : W.A.S.P. - Golgotha

W.A.S.P.

Golgotha

MusicCD
Hard Rock

[80/100]   

Napalm Records
21/09/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

In 1984 W.A.S.P released its first self-titled album. After the previous album Babylon, there was a huge gap of 6 years which has now come to an end. The new W.A.S.P album is born and named Golgotha, which refers to the mountain where Jesus was crucified. Since the early eighties, the band is known for his true American heavy metal. During that period they stayed loyal to their own sound. From the very first note of the album, they take you by the throat and drag you along their rollercoaster of West Coast heavy metal.

Blackie Lawless proves again that he still has a great voice, and also the other musicians do everything to bring back that typical eighties heavy metal sound. Sometimes the guitars sound easy, but with magnificent solos, which results in a varied album. The opening track Scream starts at high speed, which they hold on for a few songs, till they arrive at the slow Miss You. But mind you, there is no much time to relax. The band pulls up the speed on the next track Fallen Under. Slaves Of The New World Under starts calm and easy, but that’s just the start! This is the song in which they show what W.A.S.P. is all about. Along with Miss You it is one of the highlights on the album.

With Golgotha, W.A.S.P delivers a very nice and varied album. The fans of American metal know what to do! Six years is a long wait, but after listening to this album, you soon forget that! A typical timeless W.A.S.P album.

Ruben SAEY
21/09/2015


NL

In 1984 verscheen het eerste album van W.A.S.P. Het is ondertussen al zes jaar geleden dat deze band het album Babylon op de wereld losliet. Sinds het begin van de jaren tachtig staat de band garant voor degelijke American heavy metal en bleef al die tijd z'n eigen geluid trouw. Vanaf de eerste noot van het nieuwe album Golgotha word je meteen meegenomen op de rollercoaster van deze West Coast heavy metal band. Golgotha wordt op deze manier een waardig vervolg op het album Babylon. 

Zanger Blackie Lawless laat hier horen dat hij nog steeds over een goede stem beschikt en ook de muzikanten trekken alle registers open om het typische eightiesmetalgeluid op zijn best te laten klinken. Ingetogen begeleidende gitaren worden afgewisseld met schitterende solo’s. Het album opent meteen met het vrij stevig nummer Scream en gaat zo nog enkele nummers op dat tempo door om dan even uit te rusten bij de toch wel gevoelige ballade Miss You. Met Fallen Under wordt meteen het tempo weer wat opgetrokken. Slaves Of The New World Under begint wat voorzichtig, maar laat je niet misleiden: hier wordt het tempo optimaal gebruikt, wat mij betreft samen met het gevoelige Miss You één van de hoogtepunten van deze plaat.

W.A.S.P levert met dit album, een meer dan degelijke schijf af. De fans van Amerikaanse metal komen hier zeker goed aan hun trekken. Mooie, lange gitaarsolo’s aangevuld met lekkere drumpartijen, overgoten met meer dan degelijke vocalen. Zes jaar is lang, maar dat is na het beluisteren van dit album zo weer vergeten. Hier heeft de tijd blijkbaar geen vat op. De release van dit album is voorzien voor 2 oktober 2015.

Ruben SAEY
21/09/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain