tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SPOOKYLAND - Beauty Already Beautiful

SPOOKYLAND

Beauty Already Beautiful

MusicCD
Indie

[66/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What do you do when you are eleven? Well, you write some songs with your brothers. No, it is certainly not an evey day fact, but the Australian Marcus Gordon did it and today, he and his brother Liam are at the helm of a band that, according to conoisseurs, could be a big name in indie land.

After some fiddling on MySpace (that’s the Facebook of about ten years ago, if you remember the name!) and the release of some EP's, Spookyland released its debut Beauty Already Beautiful, that features eleven songs. The tracks are inspired by the novel The Death Of Virgil of the Jewish writer Hermann Broch and Patti Smith. The first influence we understand less (except that the music is as complex as the book), but the second is obvious: Spookyland offers rock 'n roll with a dirty touch. The album was recorded in America (Omaha) at the famous Saddle Creek studios and even Mike Mogis of Bright Eyes was a guest musician.

The tracks need some spins before you discover their beauty, and occasionally it feels like you miss that piece of magic which is necessary to make your heart melt for the mix of Americana and indie romantic pop, full of nihilism. Especially the very distinctive voice of Marcus needs some time, a voice that is very similar to Lee Mavers of The La's (indeed that band of There She Goes).

Beauty Already Beautiful surely is not a record of ready-made indie pop songs. It is even hard to find a song for the radio, but fans of a nice mix of Americana and rock will be satisfied with this album.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Wat doe je als je elf bent? Wel, dan schrijf je gewoon samen met je broers wat songs. Neen, alledaags is het zeker niet, maar de Australiër Marcus Gordon deed het wel en het gevolg is dat hij vandaag samen met zijn broer Liam aan het roer staat van een band waarvan kenners beweren dat hij in indieland wel eens groot zouden kunnen worden.

Na wat gepruts op MySpace (de Facebook van zo’n tien jaar geleden, als de naam je nog iets zegt) en het uitbrengen van wat ep’s, is er nu het debuut Beauty Already Beautiful waarop elf songs prijken. Het zijn tracks die geïnspireerd zijn door de roman The Death Of Virgil van de Joodse schrijver Hermann Broch en Patti Smith. Dat eerste begrijpen we minder (behalve dat de muziek even complex is als het boek), maar het tweede is overduidelijk: Spookyland brengt rock ’n roll met een vuil kantje. De plaat is opgenomen in Amerika (Omaha) in de fameuze Saddle Creek-studio’s en zelfs Mike Mogis van Bright Eyes speelt er eventjes op mee.

De tracks hebben wel wat luisterbeurten nodig vooraleer je schoonheid ontdekt, en af en toe rijden ze zich vast omdat er een stukje magie ontbreekt die je doet smelten voor de mix van Americana en romantische indiepop vol nihilisme. Vooral is het wennen aan de zeer aparte stem van Marcus, die enorm veel lijkt op die van Lee Mavers van The La’s (inderdaad dat bandje van There She Goes).

Beauty Already Beautiful is zeker geen plaat vol kant-en-klare indiepopsongs. Het is zelfs eventjes zoeken naar een song die het op de radio zou kunnen doen, maar wie soelaas vindt in een leuke mix van Americana en rock zal hier wel mee tevreden zijn.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

12
06
12
06
12
06
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
NACHTMAHR
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
GROUND NERO
Westbad, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis
10
06
HANTE
Noir
09
06
DEZ MONA
Close To You