tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SPOOKYLAND - Beauty Already Beautiful

SPOOKYLAND

Beauty Already Beautiful

MusicCD
Indie

[66/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What do you do when you are eleven? Well, you write some songs with your brothers. No, it is certainly not an evey day fact, but the Australian Marcus Gordon did it and today, he and his brother Liam are at the helm of a band that, according to conoisseurs, could be a big name in indie land.

After some fiddling on MySpace (that’s the Facebook of about ten years ago, if you remember the name!) and the release of some EP's, Spookyland released its debut Beauty Already Beautiful, that features eleven songs. The tracks are inspired by the novel The Death Of Virgil of the Jewish writer Hermann Broch and Patti Smith. The first influence we understand less (except that the music is as complex as the book), but the second is obvious: Spookyland offers rock 'n roll with a dirty touch. The album was recorded in America (Omaha) at the famous Saddle Creek studios and even Mike Mogis of Bright Eyes was a guest musician.

The tracks need some spins before you discover their beauty, and occasionally it feels like you miss that piece of magic which is necessary to make your heart melt for the mix of Americana and indie romantic pop, full of nihilism. Especially the very distinctive voice of Marcus needs some time, a voice that is very similar to Lee Mavers of The La's (indeed that band of There She Goes).

Beauty Already Beautiful surely is not a record of ready-made indie pop songs. It is even hard to find a song for the radio, but fans of a nice mix of Americana and rock will be satisfied with this album.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Wat doe je als je elf bent? Wel, dan schrijf je gewoon samen met je broers wat songs. Neen, alledaags is het zeker niet, maar de Australiër Marcus Gordon deed het wel en het gevolg is dat hij vandaag samen met zijn broer Liam aan het roer staat van een band waarvan kenners beweren dat hij in indieland wel eens groot zouden kunnen worden.

Na wat gepruts op MySpace (de Facebook van zo’n tien jaar geleden, als de naam je nog iets zegt) en het uitbrengen van wat ep’s, is er nu het debuut Beauty Already Beautiful waarop elf songs prijken. Het zijn tracks die geïnspireerd zijn door de roman The Death Of Virgil van de Joodse schrijver Hermann Broch en Patti Smith. Dat eerste begrijpen we minder (behalve dat de muziek even complex is als het boek), maar het tweede is overduidelijk: Spookyland brengt rock ’n roll met een vuil kantje. De plaat is opgenomen in Amerika (Omaha) in de fameuze Saddle Creek-studio’s en zelfs Mike Mogis van Bright Eyes speelt er eventjes op mee.

De tracks hebben wel wat luisterbeurten nodig vooraleer je schoonheid ontdekt, en af en toe rijden ze zich vast omdat er een stukje magie ontbreekt die je doet smelten voor de mix van Americana en romantische indiepop vol nihilisme. Vooral is het wennen aan de zeer aparte stem van Marcus, die enorm veel lijkt op die van Lee Mavers van The La’s (inderdaad dat bandje van There She Goes).

Beauty Already Beautiful is zeker geen plaat vol kant-en-klare indiepopsongs. Het is zelfs eventjes zoeken naar een song die het op de radio zou kunnen doen, maar wie soelaas vindt in een leuke mix van Americana en rock zal hier wel mee tevreden zijn.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls