tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SPOOKYLAND - Beauty Already Beautiful

SPOOKYLAND

Beauty Already Beautiful

MusicCD
Indie

[66/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What do you do when you are eleven? Well, you write some songs with your brothers. No, it is certainly not an evey day fact, but the Australian Marcus Gordon did it and today, he and his brother Liam are at the helm of a band that, according to conoisseurs, could be a big name in indie land.

After some fiddling on MySpace (that’s the Facebook of about ten years ago, if you remember the name!) and the release of some EP's, Spookyland released its debut Beauty Already Beautiful, that features eleven songs. The tracks are inspired by the novel The Death Of Virgil of the Jewish writer Hermann Broch and Patti Smith. The first influence we understand less (except that the music is as complex as the book), but the second is obvious: Spookyland offers rock 'n roll with a dirty touch. The album was recorded in America (Omaha) at the famous Saddle Creek studios and even Mike Mogis of Bright Eyes was a guest musician.

The tracks need some spins before you discover their beauty, and occasionally it feels like you miss that piece of magic which is necessary to make your heart melt for the mix of Americana and indie romantic pop, full of nihilism. Especially the very distinctive voice of Marcus needs some time, a voice that is very similar to Lee Mavers of The La's (indeed that band of There She Goes).

Beauty Already Beautiful surely is not a record of ready-made indie pop songs. It is even hard to find a song for the radio, but fans of a nice mix of Americana and rock will be satisfied with this album.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Wat doe je als je elf bent? Wel, dan schrijf je gewoon samen met je broers wat songs. Neen, alledaags is het zeker niet, maar de Australiër Marcus Gordon deed het wel en het gevolg is dat hij vandaag samen met zijn broer Liam aan het roer staat van een band waarvan kenners beweren dat hij in indieland wel eens groot zouden kunnen worden.

Na wat gepruts op MySpace (de Facebook van zo’n tien jaar geleden, als de naam je nog iets zegt) en het uitbrengen van wat ep’s, is er nu het debuut Beauty Already Beautiful waarop elf songs prijken. Het zijn tracks die geïnspireerd zijn door de roman The Death Of Virgil van de Joodse schrijver Hermann Broch en Patti Smith. Dat eerste begrijpen we minder (behalve dat de muziek even complex is als het boek), maar het tweede is overduidelijk: Spookyland brengt rock ’n roll met een vuil kantje. De plaat is opgenomen in Amerika (Omaha) in de fameuze Saddle Creek-studio’s en zelfs Mike Mogis van Bright Eyes speelt er eventjes op mee.

De tracks hebben wel wat luisterbeurten nodig vooraleer je schoonheid ontdekt, en af en toe rijden ze zich vast omdat er een stukje magie ontbreekt die je doet smelten voor de mix van Americana en romantische indiepop vol nihilisme. Vooral is het wennen aan de zeer aparte stem van Marcus, die enorm veel lijkt op die van Lee Mavers van The La’s (inderdaad dat bandje van There She Goes).

Beauty Already Beautiful is zeker geen plaat vol kant-en-klare indiepopsongs. Het is zelfs eventjes zoeken naar een song die het op de radio zou kunnen doen, maar wie soelaas vindt in een leuke mix van Americana en rock zal hier wel mee tevreden zijn.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

10
04
HYSTERY
Duiel
09
04
DDDJMX
Oceaned
31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
04
Rabia Sorda strikes back with new single!
06
04
Blutengel and Hocico, have recorded the single 'Obscured' in collaboration!
04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
04
NZ
Attitude And Passion
30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
09
04
DAVID A. LINE
Der dunkelste Tag
08
04
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
07
04
HAUSCHKA
My Kids Live On Mars
06
04
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
05
04
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL