tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SPOOKYLAND - Beauty Already Beautiful

SPOOKYLAND

Beauty Already Beautiful

MusicCD
Indie

[66/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What do you do when you are eleven? Well, you write some songs with your brothers. No, it is certainly not an evey day fact, but the Australian Marcus Gordon did it and today, he and his brother Liam are at the helm of a band that, according to conoisseurs, could be a big name in indie land.

After some fiddling on MySpace (that’s the Facebook of about ten years ago, if you remember the name!) and the release of some EP's, Spookyland released its debut Beauty Already Beautiful, that features eleven songs. The tracks are inspired by the novel The Death Of Virgil of the Jewish writer Hermann Broch and Patti Smith. The first influence we understand less (except that the music is as complex as the book), but the second is obvious: Spookyland offers rock 'n roll with a dirty touch. The album was recorded in America (Omaha) at the famous Saddle Creek studios and even Mike Mogis of Bright Eyes was a guest musician.

The tracks need some spins before you discover their beauty, and occasionally it feels like you miss that piece of magic which is necessary to make your heart melt for the mix of Americana and indie romantic pop, full of nihilism. Especially the very distinctive voice of Marcus needs some time, a voice that is very similar to Lee Mavers of The La's (indeed that band of There She Goes).

Beauty Already Beautiful surely is not a record of ready-made indie pop songs. It is even hard to find a song for the radio, but fans of a nice mix of Americana and rock will be satisfied with this album.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Wat doe je als je elf bent? Wel, dan schrijf je gewoon samen met je broers wat songs. Neen, alledaags is het zeker niet, maar de Australiër Marcus Gordon deed het wel en het gevolg is dat hij vandaag samen met zijn broer Liam aan het roer staat van een band waarvan kenners beweren dat hij in indieland wel eens groot zouden kunnen worden.

Na wat gepruts op MySpace (de Facebook van zo’n tien jaar geleden, als de naam je nog iets zegt) en het uitbrengen van wat ep’s, is er nu het debuut Beauty Already Beautiful waarop elf songs prijken. Het zijn tracks die geïnspireerd zijn door de roman The Death Of Virgil van de Joodse schrijver Hermann Broch en Patti Smith. Dat eerste begrijpen we minder (behalve dat de muziek even complex is als het boek), maar het tweede is overduidelijk: Spookyland brengt rock ’n roll met een vuil kantje. De plaat is opgenomen in Amerika (Omaha) in de fameuze Saddle Creek-studio’s en zelfs Mike Mogis van Bright Eyes speelt er eventjes op mee.

De tracks hebben wel wat luisterbeurten nodig vooraleer je schoonheid ontdekt, en af en toe rijden ze zich vast omdat er een stukje magie ontbreekt die je doet smelten voor de mix van Americana en romantische indiepop vol nihilisme. Vooral is het wennen aan de zeer aparte stem van Marcus, die enorm veel lijkt op die van Lee Mavers van The La’s (inderdaad dat bandje van There She Goes).

Beauty Already Beautiful is zeker geen plaat vol kant-en-klare indiepopsongs. Het is zelfs eventjes zoeken naar een song die het op de radio zou kunnen doen, maar wie soelaas vindt in een leuke mix van Americana en rock zal hier wel mee tevreden zijn.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On