tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : SPOOKYLAND - Beauty Already Beautiful

SPOOKYLAND

Beauty Already Beautiful

MusicCD
Indie

[66/100]   

PIAS
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

What do you do when you are eleven? Well, you write some songs with your brothers. No, it is certainly not an evey day fact, but the Australian Marcus Gordon did it and today, he and his brother Liam are at the helm of a band that, according to conoisseurs, could be a big name in indie land.

After some fiddling on MySpace (that’s the Facebook of about ten years ago, if you remember the name!) and the release of some EP's, Spookyland released its debut Beauty Already Beautiful, that features eleven songs. The tracks are inspired by the novel The Death Of Virgil of the Jewish writer Hermann Broch and Patti Smith. The first influence we understand less (except that the music is as complex as the book), but the second is obvious: Spookyland offers rock 'n roll with a dirty touch. The album was recorded in America (Omaha) at the famous Saddle Creek studios and even Mike Mogis of Bright Eyes was a guest musician.

The tracks need some spins before you discover their beauty, and occasionally it feels like you miss that piece of magic which is necessary to make your heart melt for the mix of Americana and indie romantic pop, full of nihilism. Especially the very distinctive voice of Marcus needs some time, a voice that is very similar to Lee Mavers of The La's (indeed that band of There She Goes).

Beauty Already Beautiful surely is not a record of ready-made indie pop songs. It is even hard to find a song for the radio, but fans of a nice mix of Americana and rock will be satisfied with this album.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Wat doe je als je elf bent? Wel, dan schrijf je gewoon samen met je broers wat songs. Neen, alledaags is het zeker niet, maar de Australiër Marcus Gordon deed het wel en het gevolg is dat hij vandaag samen met zijn broer Liam aan het roer staat van een band waarvan kenners beweren dat hij in indieland wel eens groot zouden kunnen worden.

Na wat gepruts op MySpace (de Facebook van zo’n tien jaar geleden, als de naam je nog iets zegt) en het uitbrengen van wat ep’s, is er nu het debuut Beauty Already Beautiful waarop elf songs prijken. Het zijn tracks die geïnspireerd zijn door de roman The Death Of Virgil van de Joodse schrijver Hermann Broch en Patti Smith. Dat eerste begrijpen we minder (behalve dat de muziek even complex is als het boek), maar het tweede is overduidelijk: Spookyland brengt rock ’n roll met een vuil kantje. De plaat is opgenomen in Amerika (Omaha) in de fameuze Saddle Creek-studio’s en zelfs Mike Mogis van Bright Eyes speelt er eventjes op mee.

De tracks hebben wel wat luisterbeurten nodig vooraleer je schoonheid ontdekt, en af en toe rijden ze zich vast omdat er een stukje magie ontbreekt die je doet smelten voor de mix van Americana en romantische indiepop vol nihilisme. Vooral is het wennen aan de zeer aparte stem van Marcus, die enorm veel lijkt op die van Lee Mavers van The La’s (inderdaad dat bandje van There She Goes).

Beauty Already Beautiful is zeker geen plaat vol kant-en-klare indiepopsongs. Het is zelfs eventjes zoeken naar een song die het op de radio zou kunnen doen, maar wie soelaas vindt in een leuke mix van Americana en rock zal hier wel mee tevreden zijn.

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline